We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of loftlan travel hostel

Hostel | 262 west 38th street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10018

65.4% Overall Rating

5 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2012)

Clare Crummy thinks…

"I liked the set up on our 'dorm'. It was a one bedroom apartment in the centre on NYC, right near Time Square. I was lucky to only have two other girls staying in there with me at the time, which was…"

Read all loftlan travel hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Chelsea Star Hotel
16.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
55.94 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
Hotel 31
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.8% 946 reviews
Chelsea Inn
49.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 71.3% 248 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

5 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'loftlan travel hostel'

Atmosphere
66.7%
Location
93.3%
Facilities
55.6%
Cleanliness
53.3%
Staff
64.4%
Value
62.2%
Safety
62.2%
Refine your results Showing 6 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Baumann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, close to subway, Timesquare, lots of shops

Disliked: small common area, bunkbeds are very shaking if somebodys as the top

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Clare Crummy

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the set up on our 'dorm'. It was a one bedroom apartment in the centre on NYC, right near Time Square. I was lucky to only have two other girls staying in there with me at the time, which was the perfect amount of people in this small apartment. It did have potential to have 10 people, but this would have been too squashy. I liked the set up for the time that I was there, liked the proximity to everything, and the staff was helpful to me.

Disliked: I found that the apartment could have been over filled, if there was any time that over 4 or 6 people were staying in there. There was not a lot of room for luggage, so after 3 people took up the space, there would be no more for anyone else. There was only one small wall with windows that were to ventilate the whole apartment, so it was quite hot and stuffy at times. Also the internet and TV only worked on intervals. There was also barely any cutlery, i think there was one fork, a knife and two teaspoons for the whole apartment to use. However this was not an issue while I was there as we were not in the apartment enough for it to really matter.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Carroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012

Liked: Location was close to Times Square and rooms had a tv, fridge and kitchen

Disliked: The place is filthy, run down and unprofessional. Only stay here if you absolutely have to. The office is on 38th st whereas the actual rooms are on 35th, so you have to lug your stuff back and forth. After my 3rd night, they emailed me to ask me to change rooms as something needed to be fixed in my room. When I got back later that night, there was 4 new people in my supposedly unsuitable room, and when I emailed asking about it they said the new group was men and women so I should Move to be more comfortable. I moved to a new room which stank of cigarette smoke, the tv did not work and a vent was leaking water in the bathroom. The next day, I had just showered and someone knocked on the door saying it was the plumber. I told them I had just showered and was not dressed and to come back. Two minutes later, they knocked again and unlocked the door themselves, luckily I had put the chain on the door so it only opened a fraction before I had to yell at them that I was not dressed and to go away. There was also a pipe in the bathroom running from floor to ceiling which was burning hot. They also do not clean the rooms everyday.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ekaterina Moskvina

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2012

Liked: I liked a close location. I walked just few minutes from Times square and Theatre District, the Rockefeller Centre, Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Empire state building. I departed from Port Authority Bus Terminal to Washington D C by bus.

Disliked: I did not like that Loftlan hostel was not clean, comfortable. Room is 7 block away from the main office. Kitchen did not have cups, forks, spoons, knives, plates. I could not cook.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alysia Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2012 Alysia would recommend this property

Liked: This location I had was 2 blocks from Times Square, so very convenient to subway stations, activities, etc (without being too close for noise reasons).

Disliked: We ran out of toilet paper and had to wait a day for more rolls as it was a Sunday. You would think that there would always be a supply on hand in a drawer or cabinet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vasiliki Fosses

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2012 Vasiliki would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that there was a kitchen-many hostels I have stayed at are just bedrooms, but having a kitchen is helpful when staying in a city for an extended period of time.

Disliked: Nothing.