We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Twelve Towns YMCA

Hostel | 570 Jamaica Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 11208

52.7% Overall Rating

70 out of 138 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2012)

"I liked that hostel stayers could use the gym facilities for free. I liked that my stuff was safe locked in a private room. I liked that they subway train ran to the area 24hours a day. The staff are friendly. The…"

Read all Twelve Towns YMCA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Gym
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the floors are separated by gender, and so if you wish to book the double room, you must be of the same gender

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
28.13 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
Adventurehostel JFK/NYC
25.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 322 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 84.8% 443 reviews
NY Moore Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 156 reviews
Kamway Lodge
29.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
NYC Guesthouse
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 345 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.7%

Overall Rating

70 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Twelve Towns YMCA'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
40.8%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
54.4%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 75 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed and sheets were clean

Disliked: The carpets in the halls were dirty

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: gym and classes available

Disliked: no elevator.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that hostel stayers could use the gym facilities for free. I liked that my stuff was safe locked in a private room. I liked that they subway train ran to the area 24hours a day. The staff are friendly. The neighbourhood feels a little unsafe at night, but I had no troubles at all.

Disliked: Room could have been a little cleaner, especially the floor. Their is no wifi and the computer room opens late and closes early which is tough when you are a traveler wanting to figure out where you are going! Also their is no elevator, climbing up two flights of stairs with a heavy suitcase sucked! This hostel is about a 45 - 60m subway ride out from the city

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

daniel flower

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities for the price and was pretty easy to get to for a first timer in new york.

Disliked: The computer room could have been opened a bit longer as I needed to stay in contact with friends about plans for next day travel and check out is at 10am which is very early.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Eyuel Bekele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011

Liked: the people staying in the hostel weren't bad and there was a gym, computer room, and other facilities

Disliked: alot the staff was rude and uncaring, the room was dirty, I mean real dirty. Overall this was a pretty bad experience for me to be honest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, free internet, good value for New York, near subway line

Disliked: our bed wasn't made... levels are split between male and female, although they did make an exception for us

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Marco Pangallo

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Single room

Disliked: My room wasn't cleaned when I arrived.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Magnus Nyander Poulsen

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2010 Magnus Nyander would recommend this property

Liked: The lowest priced singleroom I could find in NY Area. The room had a good size and I liked, that the temperature there was 30 Celcius in there, even when I turned the heat of.

Disliked: fun place, kitchenfacilities

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Abraham Jacobus Wondergem

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

06 November 2010

Liked: The price.

Disliked: The whole building is shabby, dirty, paint is peeling from the wall, floors are dirty, spotted and sticky. The toilet certainly isn't cleaned every day and I think it is only cleaned once a week. The mattress is stained and gave me a hip problem after 5 days. The sheets are soft cotton and I am a bit allergic to that. They could not be replaced. After about 5 days the sheet stuck to the blanket. I had to separate the two by tearing them apart. The sheets had holes in them as well and the fitted sheet that covers the mattress could not be attached firmly because of poor quality of the elastique. The drawers of the closet are not moving smoothly and it takes some skill to open them. The drawers of the desk are difficult to open because there is no good grip to open them. It doesn't feel safe when other people are talking about their fears of being thrown out for lack of payment. Showers are either cold or really to hot. Not all toilet seats fit to the pot. Quite recent stings on the toilet floer are not removed within a few days. There is only one sink with the option to mix warm and cold water. I got only one towel in 8 days and my room was never cleaned. The heating is on during the night and couldn't be turned off. I asked staff and they said they couldn't help me with that. So it was either cooking at night or listening to the ongoing traffic outside. Very low flexibility of staff as when I suggested to trade off the inconveniences with a free luggage deposit they really didn't give in at all. I had to pay 10 dollars more and they were even having difficulties figuring out where and how to do so.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010

Liked: The front desk staff were extremely freindly and helpful.

Disliked: The neighborhood felt unsafe, and the property was not really secure; anyone could walk in off the street at any hour. Plus there are no catering facilities, and I didn't a lot of eating options nearby. Plus, it's a long train trip from lower Manhattan.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gilles Simard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2010 Gilles would recommend this property

Liked: Bed sheets were clean and the place was ok for a few days. The price was fine considering the limited amenities. Its closeness to the Norwood subway station, a few blocks away, which goes straight to lower Manhattan is a plus. You must plan one hour to reach Grand Central (42nd St and 5th Ave) from the North Brooklin YMCA.

Disliked: I missed a wash basin in the room. Some simili-wood panels covering the walls were loose. The greatest problem was to get there by cab: drivers are having difficulty finding the place, mixing it up with another YMCA in Queens. We had to argue with a cab driver and we finish the ride on foot the first night, after two phone calls to the Y reception.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

08 September 2010

Liked: The price.

Disliked: They said I hadn'booked whereas I did ! The place is too hot, too noisy. The bathroom is awful ! Pour les francais : un coin paume, certes pas cher, mais a eviter !!!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: no air cond, not even a fan, it was extremely hot at nite. shared bathroom cant be locked, location doesnt seem so safe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Dellario

24 May 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the money

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jacob hvidtfeldt

14 October 2009 jacob would recommend this property

Liked: The good and lively atmosphere, and the very friendly staff!

Disliked: jacob left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Lange

18 August 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has some great facilities as there are a pool and a gym you can use for free. You also have free internet connection, but the computer room is not open at any time. The personnel is very friendly and the rooms are great. In a couple of weeks there should be digital TV in every room. But keep in mind the neighborhhod is not the safest and it takes up to 60 minutes to get to Midtown by subway. The good things is that your stay will help the YMCA to take care of the Brooklyn kids in need.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Dellario

08 June 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: I stay here alot, it's a great place for the cost.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

paul mooij

18 May 2009 paul would recommend this property

Liked: It is simple but clean and a lot of sports going on. cheap daily close by as well as the J train for a good connection to JF Kennedy (airtrain via sutphin blvd) and Manhattan via the Williamsbridge.. The stop for the hostel is Norwood Avenue. I spent 4 usd for my trip to manhattan and 7 usd to Jfk

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 November 2008

Liked: lot of sport stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

22 October 2008

Liked: the staff there, they are friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlotte Storm van s Gravesande

30 September 2008 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Verry nice staff! Verry helpfull. close to the trainstation

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

reimond vandecasteele

02 July 2008 reimond would recommend this property

Liked: control and safety ! a bad thing for disabled people is, there is no elevator. the basic-elements for a back-packer are good. and you have seen an amazing city for a low price!!

Disliked: reimond left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeroen Bos

01 May 2008 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, lots of facilities. It is however a bit far from manhatten, so if you want to explore the city it takes some time to get there. On the other hand it is worth to see "normal life" instead of the rush and succes driven island of manhatten.

Disliked: Jeroen left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brian ogden

30 April 2008 brian would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly staff,good computer room, excellent value for money

Disliked: brian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is cheap and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.