We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New York Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 449 West 51 St., Bell # 1R First Floor, New York City, New York, USA 10019

63.4% Overall Rating

7 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

michaela ublová thinks…

"the best location for exploring NY!!!!quite clean and cheap. good, if you want only sleep there. definitly not for romantic or family holiday."

Read all New York Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Adults only from 18-55 years old - Cancellations: 3 days before arrival (by email) - Identification: valid passport or photo id required at check-in: - Restrictions: no smoking and no drinking. Please note for booking over $1000 will need to pay in advance and New Year Eve Holiday season as well.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

The Local NYC
44.00 USD

Hostel 95.0% 40 reviews
Hotel 31
59.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.3% 945 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
112.44 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Q4 Hostel
208.00 USD

Hostel 86.1% 60 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
Times Square Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.4%

Overall Rating

7 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New York Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
57.3%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
53.3%
Value
61.3%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014

Liked: Great people I was sharing with. Good location, close to Times Square

Disliked: The owner and not having a bed the first night. Had to sleep on the couch. Was not all females and was very unclean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

michaela ublová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

15 April 2014 michaela would recommend this property

Liked: the best location for exploring NY!!!!quite clean and cheap. good, if you want only sleep there. definitly not for romantic or family holiday.

Disliked: michaela left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

17 March 2014

Liked: Fridge, stove and microwave was working

Disliked: no clean toilet and shower, unfriendly staff, overcrowded, not enough toilet paper (had to go and buy it myself), way to hot at night in one part of the apartment.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreea Teodorescu

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Andreea would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's located in a real good area in Manhattan, really close to Times Square. It's like your own apartament in New York.

Disliked: Andreea left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DAVID PEARSON

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Times Square and the theatres. It was warm and had a good hot shower.

Disliked: A neighbour played his TV very loudly at 3 am or 4:30 am. There was nowhere to hang towels or clothes in the bathroom and the bath taps wouldn't turn off.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Heesun Jeong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012

Liked: good location. i could go to time square everyday.

Disliked: not clean, the worst one among three hostels I've stayed in NY.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: This Guesthouse was in a great location for visiting NYC, close to Times Square. The manager was very nice and helpful. No complaints about this place, price was also very fair.

Disliked: None

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's was in a great neighborhoud, just on walking distance from Times Square. It was also close to ninth avenue, were a lot of nice eateries are. The place was kind of an apartment that you shared with other girls. It was nice to get home to.

Disliked: If all the six beds were occupied it's a bit small to store youre luggage properly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2011

Liked: The location was great to get to see most of the attractions New York has to offer. Luckily the girls we were sharing with were all very nice.

Disliked: It was dirty - The bathroom especially was really small and dirty. We were told the cleaner would be coming every day but she didn't. Nobody threw the old food out or cleaned the floors. There were mice at the property and when we complain about it the owner made us feel like it was our fault. There was always a bad smell as well! The office opens at 10.30am. If we had a problem we would have to wait until then to go and see someone which wastes a whole morning of enjoying your time in New York. No safes or lockers to keep anything secure. We paid extra for a 4 bed female dorm rather than a 6 bed. What the hostel actually is is just an apartment in which they have placed beds. The room we were were in had 5 girls in total staying there, and there was a door leading to a private room for 3 people. We all had to share one very small bathroom in which the hot water would switch off. When we complained the owners did not want to know and because you pay before you see the room (as the office is in a different location) there's nothing you can do about it. If you are going to book this hostel do not pay any extra as there seems to be no 4 bed female dorm, only a 6 bed dorm! I would only recommend this place for its location, nothing else.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011

Liked: the people that were also in the hostel

Disliked: NOT CLEAN, you had to wait an hour to take a shower after someone else, and the whole bathroom and floor in the appartement is really dirty!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. We were at most 6 girls sharing a bathroom and a small kitchen with the major appliances. It was basically an apartment shared by us girls.

Disliked: When all beds (i.e. 6) were occupied, it got a little tight.