We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

87.7% Overall Rating

282 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

Emmanuel Darrisaw thinks…

"I liked the common room. Easily the best part of the place.The owner was friendly and helpful."

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
70.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.0% 49 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
38.95 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 339 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

282 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 238 of 306 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Emmanuel Darrisaw

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2014

Liked: I liked the common room. Easily the best part of the place.The owner was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Although the owner tried very hard to keep place clean you are so close in the room with other people you will smell a lot of disgusting things. Could not ever sleep because the room had 3 loud snorers. One guy came home drunk and would pass out and all you could smell was his breath which smelled like alcohol. The beds are extremely noisy also. One day I came and the doorknob was missing on the bedroom door the screen door to balcony was laying on common room floor. Lots of flies here. Don't suggest putting your food in the fridge

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marius Wolters

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2014 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful, the bedrooms were alright, and the staff always kept everything clean. The area looks a little shady, but is actually safe, there was never a problem. The walking distance to the bus is very short, and it just takes a few blocks to the L-Train. Will definitely come back.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very relaxed atmosphere away from the craziness of the city

Disliked: nothin

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Austin Marhold

Alone

City break

08 September 2014 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Staff did a good job of keeping the peace. Had a really nice TV and sound system. Several Balconies. Really nice shower. Good Wifi. Comfortable Bunk Beds.

Disliked: Doesn't take credit cards, I would gladly pay a fee to have used my card for payment. On the 3rd Floor but the staff offered to help carry it so that is only a very slight dislike. If you are bothered by snoring/other people in general then you shouldn't be going to a hostel. You share a room with others, it is what it is. You should expect any hostel to be crowed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caglayan Arslan

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 September 2014 Caglayan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is unlike any other I have been before.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Shaik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere . Clean friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing it provided everything that I was looking for,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Lomax

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: the property was very well equipped with a great common room for relaxation and a kitchen to cook any foods. there is a plaza right across the road with various chains and places to get food etc. the restrooms were very clean as was the bedroom. the staff were very friendly and even drove us to a carnival in the local area which was awesome. overall for the price you pay this hostel is great value for money.

Disliked: more of an inconvenience than a dislike is the location of the hostel, i takes one short bus ride and a train service into Manhattan.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a large TV with surround sound, a little balcony, and a few stores nearby for snacks or necessities. It is also within walking distance of the train. Kitchen and wifi access with little trouble.

Disliked: It was a bit dingy/old, but still clean. If you don't remember to ask for a towel while the staff is on site, you will be drying with your shirt (personal experience).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Jacob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Nice environment, great people...would definitely visit again:-)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karolina briejnev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 karolina would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were nice and strict about the rules and i just loved the bathroom ! If you look for comfort, quietness and a clean place then you should stay there. I will most definitely be back, do not let the outside appearance fool you give a chance i did not regret I did !

Disliked: that i had to leave this cozy hostel :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and fell like home more your own flat with roommates than a typical hostel.

Disliked: nothing-

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really nice, clean and homeyy, the staff is really helpful. I just loved it

Disliked: None

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2014

Liked: For the price, this hostel is very clean, comfortable and nice guy. Feels like home. OK neighborhood.

Disliked: This hostel is WAY too far from town. It's an endless 1h ride plus a 12 blocks walk. Check-in is only permitted at the time you previously specified by email. Payment by cash only. No air con. Don't go that far, it's ridiculous!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Carlson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Safe Location. Not too far from train. Clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Carlson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Short train ride to downtown manhattan

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel located quiet place near supermarket. Bed, bathroom and living room are so clean.

Disliked: It takes to go to Manhattan about 1hour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Lemay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Warm atmosphere, quiet area and clean place !

Disliked: the walk to the train but once you discover the bus that take you there its easier. I love to walk and explore places so it was not an issue for me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ownerof the hostel. A really cool and friendly guy.

Disliked: This hostel wasso far away to get to manhatten or the other typical sights.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and accessible

Disliked: It was difficult to check in and is also a bit far from the subway stop

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location. good friendly service.

Disliked: nothing it was all good.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

haluk baysal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: I absolutely do not recommend this crazy place for anyone. For an example, hostel guy searched my bag and found a bottle of water! and said if he finds it again I cant stay there anymore. Simply because it is against their rule. He even tried to show me how to open doors etc. Place is really insane.I am so unhappy that I spent (had to) my 4 nights there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muntasir Abdelrahman

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 December 2013 Muntasir would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, they keep the place nice, clean and tidy and they enforce very simple basic rules to their guest to keep it that way

Disliked: Muntasir left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 October 2013

Liked: the hostel itself is well equipt and really orgenize and cleen

Disliked: the staff isn't service oriented and the location is far from the city and the airport

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suresh kahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 suresh would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is kept very tidy and the atmosphere is very relaxing its like being home, it is also pretty organize with basics rules that have to be followed to keep the place that way. Personally i followed them and really enjoyed my stay ! the area is quiet and staff helpful. Will definitely be back guys ! keep up the good work !

Disliked: a good 30-40 min trip to get to the city, but on the other hand I got to explore more of brooklyn and the L train goes straight to downtown manhattan...