HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

88.1% Overall Rating

272 out of 307 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

karolina briejnev thinks…

"the staff were nice and strict about the rules and i just loved the bathroom ! If you look for comfort, quietness and a clean place then you should stay there. I will most definitely be back, do not…"

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 53.8% 11 reviews
AAE Hostels New York JFK
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
50.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
62.50 USD

Apartment 93.0% 47 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 75.8% 11 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
55.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
26.95 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 330 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

272 out of 307 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 294 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karolina briejnev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 karolina would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were nice and strict about the rules and i just loved the bathroom ! If you look for comfort, quietness and a clean place then you should stay there. I will most definitely be back, do not let the outside appearance fool you give a chance i did not regret I did !

Disliked: that i had to leave this cozy hostel :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and fell like home more your own flat with roommates than a typical hostel.

Disliked: nothing-

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really nice, clean and homeyy, the staff is really helpful. I just loved it

Disliked: None

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2014

Liked: For the price, this hostel is very clean, comfortable and nice guy. Feels like home. OK neighborhood.

Disliked: This hostel is WAY too far from town. It's an endless 1h ride plus a 12 blocks walk. Check-in is only permitted at the time you previously specified by email. Payment by cash only. No air con. Don't go that far, it's ridiculous!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Carlson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Safe Location. Not too far from train. Clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Carlson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Short train ride to downtown manhattan

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel located quiet place near supermarket. Bed, bathroom and living room are so clean.

Disliked: It takes to go to Manhattan about 1hour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Lemay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Warm atmosphere, quiet area and clean place !

Disliked: the walk to the train but once you discover the bus that take you there its easier. I love to walk and explore places so it was not an issue for me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ownerof the hostel. A really cool and friendly guy.

Disliked: This hostel wasso far away to get to manhatten or the other typical sights.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and accessible

Disliked: It was difficult to check in and is also a bit far from the subway stop

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location. good friendly service.

Disliked: nothing it was all good.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

haluk baysal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: I absolutely do not recommend this crazy place for anyone. For an example, hostel guy searched my bag and found a bottle of water! and said if he finds it again I cant stay there anymore. Simply because it is against their rule. He even tried to show me how to open doors etc. Place is really insane.I am so unhappy that I spent (had to) my 4 nights there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muntasir Abdelrahman

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 December 2013 Muntasir would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, they keep the place nice, clean and tidy and they enforce very simple basic rules to their guest to keep it that way

Disliked: Muntasir left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 October 2013

Liked: the hostel itself is well equipt and really orgenize and cleen

Disliked: the staff isn't service oriented and the location is far from the city and the airport

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suresh kahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 suresh would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is kept very tidy and the atmosphere is very relaxing its like being home, it is also pretty organize with basics rules that have to be followed to keep the place that way. Personally i followed them and really enjoyed my stay ! the area is quiet and staff helpful. Will definitely be back guys ! keep up the good work !

Disliked: a good 30-40 min trip to get to the city, but on the other hand I got to explore more of brooklyn and the L train goes straight to downtown manhattan...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastien Uribarrena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2013 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the roommates, the helpfulness and friendliness of the owner, David. The fact that you will feel at home (kitchen, TV, Videogames, ...). The BBQ and the beers box on the balcony! The free computer! It's a very good place to be!

Disliked: Very far of Manhattan. And a little far of the subway. But considering the price, it's not complain! So, if it's your first time in NYC, it can be interesting to book, first, an hostel in Manhattan (very expensives compared therewith) for a few days, time to get around it and to go to Harlem, and to go, after, at the Adventurehosteljfk/NYC to visit Brooklyn and Queens and relax you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elodie canty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 elodie would recommend this property

Liked: home away from home ! so comfy ! the fact that we can use the kitchen and the bathroom is nice and clean. The area is quiet.

Disliked: everything was good to me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Kuehn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that we could use the internet and the whole accomadation like kitchen that you could print things for your use and you meet alot of people.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and David was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Masayo Kimura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 Masayo would recommend this property

Liked: It's confutable.

Disliked: Masayo left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 June 2013

Liked: The owner David was a really nice and friendly person.

Disliked: The location was absolutely terrible. Takes an hour or more to get to lower manhattan by subway. Most importantly, the hostel is 15 MIN AWAY FROM THE SUBWAY ON FOOT. Such a hassle to travel daily. And i'm not even a slow walker.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very clean hostel. Very nicely decorated and modern. It feels very homey. David the staff member is very helpful.

Disliked: If it is your first time in New York then you might be better off staying in Manhattan. It takes about almost an hour to get from the hostel to Manhattan. However it is pretty close to the JFK airport so that's a plus. Check in is a problem here. Even I had confirmed the time of arrival I still had to wait for 90 min before I could check in, simply because no one was answering the door. I can accept a non 24 hour reception but there has to be someone on duty during the day in case some one needs to check in or have enquiries etc. This is something they need to work on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the fact that it was clean and that very warm, welcoming atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Krumme

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: It is not a typical hostel, but more of a shared appartment you usually know from your studying period. I really felt like home and you can easily get in touch with your "hostel mates". The atmosphere always gave you a feeling that you were at home when coming back from the city.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far off and it takes you up to 40 minutes to get to Manhatten by subway. However, it's a good opportunity to get some rest and quiet from the hectic city.