HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

88.1% Overall Rating

272 out of 307 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

karolina briejnev thinks…

"the staff were nice and strict about the rules and i just loved the bathroom ! If you look for comfort, quietness and a clean place then you should stay there. I will most definitely be back, do not…"

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 53.8% 11 reviews
AAE Hostels New York JFK
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
50.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
62.50 USD

Apartment 93.0% 47 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 75.8% 11 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
55.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
Seven Days Suites Hotel
28.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

272 out of 307 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 294 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Billet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: everyone has the posibility to meet other people, it is a really friendly ambiance, in a safe and nice place, it is like a family ! Everything is made for you, to feel good !

Disliked: nothing !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is really a super nice place. It is in a suburban, very friendly neighborhood. It is much cozier than on the photos!

Disliked: Even the typical Brooklyn destinations are quite far from there. In one room the Aircon is at the foot/head of one of the beds so the person there has to deal with this. One shower for up to 14 people is not much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zara kordas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 zara would recommend this property

Liked: this is a very nice hostel, very homely, was like a home away from home.. and david is amazing.. he was very helpful with every thing... and its not far from nyc center, its a train ride i was there every day.. very easy to get a round, i would recommend this place to any one... dave i the man!! zara aussy...!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Amanda is the shit! :) She's the coolest French momma ever to grace the hostel scene. It was a thoroughly great experience. I felt at home the whole time I was there. David is the most accommodating host and will make your experience better.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dave, The Proprieter*, and the Whole Staff, Amanda* & Skyler*, are Very Kind* & HelpFull* in assisting us Guests to have an EnJoyable*, Nice*, Fun*, Clean*, HelpFull* Lodging to Stay* & Feel Appreciated* & WellComed In*!~** I Highly* Recommend People* Coming To Stay In This Nice*! Place*! To Stay* & Have Great Rest* & Fun*! In The New Place To Be*!:Brooklyn*!,NYC*!,New York*!~You*ll Have A Great Time*!~**

Disliked: I'd Liked EveryThing Pretty Much About The Property*!~***

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Gogic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in this hostel. I was really feeling like i was in my own house. The hosts were all friendly and helpful. It was really cozy and i loved the TV, playstation and movies in the evening after a long day of sightseeing in New York. I would recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: Bit far from Manhattan.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben dyson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, staff go out of their way to help. Feels like staying in a friends home.

Disliked: Location a bit out of the way from Manhattan if you plan on spending most of your time there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Letitia Jones

Alone

Events / festivals

14 July 2011 Letitia would recommend this property

Liked: Well I liked all the movie channels, free wifi and cable.

Disliked: It was so hot! Its the middle of the summer and it was well over 90 degree everyday and I had to beg them to turn the air on. And even then they kept it on for maybe an hour and then turned it off. I mean it was difficult to wear clothes, and it was always cooler outside than it was inside! The fridge in the kitchen had a sour smell to it and the main bathroom with the shower was nasty. The only person who could answer questions, Dave, was hardly there. And if you called and asked a question the staff couldn't answer your question. This hostel was well over an hour from Manhattan, and it was like 16 blocks from the subway. And at least 7 or 8 blocks from anything worth eating. I mean for a traveler with no car this place is the nexus of hell. Spend the extra money and stay in Manhattan, you will spend the money getting back and forth from the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpfull, You can use the kitchen as you want, come back at the time you want and meet other people in a easy way. It's a very very nice place!

Disliked: It's too far from the subway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Weekiat Quek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Weekiat would recommend this property

Liked: I like the whole atmosphere of the place. It has everything you would love to have in your own home, PS3, wii, a large flat screen tv, wifi, and not forgetting a big shower with bath tub and nice kitchen..its a small place but this also means its a good place to meet people as everyone basically hangs out in the living room in the evening.

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and well equiped

Disliked: A little pricy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabrizio Ferrari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: David and Kelly really make you feel at home, I'll be missing them!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool people

Disliked: long walks to the metro and from there a long drive to city area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near JFK Int'l Airport! Good internet set-up.

Disliked: Too crowded (of course, it was a Saturday night!)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so helpful and welcoming. An awsome guy. The social/communal areas are great, kitchen is big.

Disliked: Only one bathroom. the rooms are too cramped. Not the best location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ed Harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Everyone was s friendly and dave the owner is the most helpful guy. He took us for a night out in Brooklyn and was always on hand to offer you advice and answer any questions you have. Forget the negatives about location. Yes, it is about 30-40mins form Manhattan but Brooklyn is a great neighbourhood and there is so much to do there and the people are so much more friendly than the locals in Manhattan! And the Carribean food is amzing there!!

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Gardner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked the most about adventure hostel jfk was that it was just overall what could best be described as very...real. It was just such a relaxed atmosphere, and the staff were fun, engaging, helpful, and so incredibly friendly. It felt good to be in an atmosphere where it was so easy to talk to people and make friends.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brecht Lenaers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Brecht would recommend this property

Liked: heel gezellige plaats om te verblijve niet te groot zodat je heel gemaklijk nieuwe contacten legt met de medebewoners.

Disliked: /

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner/manager is incredibly friendly and helpful, makes you feel really welcome. The whole hostel is a 2 bedroom apartment and it feels like you're a guest in someone's home.

Disliked: The bedrooms are crowded - luggage takes up all the available floor space. Only one shower. Biggest problem was lack of aircon/fans.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Romero

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2011 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: nice ans spacious. good bathroom shower. free coffee and tea. very clean

Disliked: nothing. all was fine

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly, welcoming, helpful family orientated. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: It was farhter away than I expected

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unlike any hostel i've ever stayed at. Very friendly owner, great place to relax and meet other people.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisette hamers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 lisette would recommend this property

Liked: It's very nice, It is really like a house cause it's an appartment with 2 big rooms with bunkbeds in it, it's very clean and the staff is AMAZING! Dave is a really nice guy. There's a big flatscreen TV with all sorts of games you can play, you can watch a lot of DVD's an Netflix. It's a great place to meet people and it's a good naborhood, there's really nothing wrong with Brooklyn!

Disliked: For some people that really want to go to manhatten it's far for some, but there's a lot to do in manhatten. They do not have a lot of activities but Dave's inproving that! :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really very nice, and totally according to the described. Danid is really a very cool guy and he makes your staying even better. Good atmosphere. I really recommend!

Disliked: It is a little far from NYC but so close to the subway station. Safe area in order you can go back late.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iman Noshadi

Alone

Business / conference

15 May 2011 Iman would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing