We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

87.7% Overall Rating

282 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Marius Wolters thinks…

"The staff was really nice and helpful, the bedrooms were alright, and the staff always kept everything clean. The area looks a little shady, but is actually safe, there was never a problem. The…"

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
70.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.0% 49 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
38.95 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 339 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

282 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 238 of 306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maryna Chudnetsova

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 August 2011 Maryna would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean hostel, very nice people! I felt like at home!

Disliked: the subway is in 15 minutes from hostel, It's not so far but U should walk with luggages.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 August 2011

Liked: The spacious sitting room

Disliked: there are 2 bedrooms stffed with bunk beds nOt enough space to do much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlena Rademacher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Marlena would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a friendly, cheap and safe place to stay the Adventure Hostel is the right place to be! David and Amanda are awesome and give you the feeling of being part of a family. David can give you lots of insider information, drives you to the airport/trainstation etc. and organises parties in local bars. The hostel itself is small but cosy and I really enjoyed my stay there. After a full day of walking and sightseeing it's like "coming home". :) And to all the people that complained about the distance to the metro. It's a 20 minute walk and you can drive straight into the City. For a nice and cheap location in New York this is definitly a plus point. All the other cheap places are way out of town while this one here is quite central. Brooklyn itself offers quite a lot and it's easy to spent a day there. There's a diner, a few shops and fast food restaurants around the corner and the area is quite nice and safe (for all those that think N.Y. is a dangerous place) So what are you waiting for??? Book your stay and you'll enjoy it! :)

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Penrose

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 August 2011 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere within the hostel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, they knew alot of things to do and see in the area. The hostel is only a 10 minute walk from the train, which brings you into the heart of manhattan, only 2 hours by train to the Deer Park Shopping Outlets, where you can get brand name clothes for cheap prices. The services the hostel provides are great: sat tv, netflix, ps3, range of blu-ray movies and games and much more. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing, I had a great time at the Hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, it is very clean and fun to stay there

Disliked: Location if you want to see only Manhattan, it is around 40 min away with subway, also the subway station is a bit far from the hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are friendly.

Disliked: location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being small, the staff, the cleanness.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who run it!

Disliked: It is a bit difficult to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Borjas

Alone

Partying / nightlife

04 August 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: it's a great place to stay

Disliked: is far from manhattan

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Billet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: everyone has the posibility to meet other people, it is a really friendly ambiance, in a safe and nice place, it is like a family ! Everything is made for you, to feel good !

Disliked: nothing !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is really a super nice place. It is in a suburban, very friendly neighborhood. It is much cozier than on the photos!

Disliked: Even the typical Brooklyn destinations are quite far from there. In one room the Aircon is at the foot/head of one of the beds so the person there has to deal with this. One shower for up to 14 people is not much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zara kordas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 zara would recommend this property

Liked: this is a very nice hostel, very homely, was like a home away from home.. and david is amazing.. he was very helpful with every thing... and its not far from nyc center, its a train ride i was there every day.. very easy to get a round, i would recommend this place to any one... dave i the man!! zara aussy...!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Amanda is the shit! :) She's the coolest French momma ever to grace the hostel scene. It was a thoroughly great experience. I felt at home the whole time I was there. David is the most accommodating host and will make your experience better.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dave, The Proprieter*, and the Whole Staff, Amanda* & Skyler*, are Very Kind* & HelpFull* in assisting us Guests to have an EnJoyable*, Nice*, Fun*, Clean*, HelpFull* Lodging to Stay* & Feel Appreciated* & WellComed In*!~** I Highly* Recommend People* Coming To Stay In This Nice*! Place*! To Stay* & Have Great Rest* & Fun*! In The New Place To Be*!:Brooklyn*!,NYC*!,New York*!~You*ll Have A Great Time*!~**

Disliked: I'd Liked EveryThing Pretty Much About The Property*!~***

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Gogic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in this hostel. I was really feeling like i was in my own house. The hosts were all friendly and helpful. It was really cozy and i loved the TV, playstation and movies in the evening after a long day of sightseeing in New York. I would recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: Bit far from Manhattan.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben dyson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, staff go out of their way to help. Feels like staying in a friends home.

Disliked: Location a bit out of the way from Manhattan if you plan on spending most of your time there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Letitia Jones

Alone

Events / festivals

14 July 2011 Letitia would recommend this property

Liked: Well I liked all the movie channels, free wifi and cable.

Disliked: It was so hot! Its the middle of the summer and it was well over 90 degree everyday and I had to beg them to turn the air on. And even then they kept it on for maybe an hour and then turned it off. I mean it was difficult to wear clothes, and it was always cooler outside than it was inside! The fridge in the kitchen had a sour smell to it and the main bathroom with the shower was nasty. The only person who could answer questions, Dave, was hardly there. And if you called and asked a question the staff couldn't answer your question. This hostel was well over an hour from Manhattan, and it was like 16 blocks from the subway. And at least 7 or 8 blocks from anything worth eating. I mean for a traveler with no car this place is the nexus of hell. Spend the extra money and stay in Manhattan, you will spend the money getting back and forth from the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpfull, You can use the kitchen as you want, come back at the time you want and meet other people in a easy way. It's a very very nice place!

Disliked: It's too far from the subway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Weekiat Quek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Weekiat would recommend this property

Liked: I like the whole atmosphere of the place. It has everything you would love to have in your own home, PS3, wii, a large flat screen tv, wifi, and not forgetting a big shower with bath tub and nice kitchen..its a small place but this also means its a good place to meet people as everyone basically hangs out in the living room in the evening.

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and well equiped

Disliked: A little pricy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabrizio Ferrari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: David and Kelly really make you feel at home, I'll be missing them!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool people

Disliked: long walks to the metro and from there a long drive to city area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near JFK Int'l Airport! Good internet set-up.

Disliked: Too crowded (of course, it was a Saturday night!)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so helpful and welcoming. An awsome guy. The social/communal areas are great, kitchen is big.

Disliked: Only one bathroom. the rooms are too cramped. Not the best location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ed Harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Everyone was s friendly and dave the owner is the most helpful guy. He took us for a night out in Brooklyn and was always on hand to offer you advice and answer any questions you have. Forget the negatives about location. Yes, it is about 30-40mins form Manhattan but Brooklyn is a great neighbourhood and there is so much to do there and the people are so much more friendly than the locals in Manhattan! And the Carribean food is amzing there!!

Disliked: none