We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

87.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 322 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/11/2014)

"What can I say? Start with the booking, after you reserve it, you will receive another invoice with another price 20% more expensive. When you arrive: You need to walk a lot to arrive at the place, 20 minutes…"

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
28.13 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
60.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.3% 50 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
20.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 345 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 309 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Airport pickup. Films and computer games offered.

Disliked: Size - small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Ive never felt more welcome.

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Ben McFeeters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: David the owner is a great guy. It is just like staying with a friend. Very small so you get to know the other guests.

Disliked: Just too expensive. The facilities did not match the price. No free breakfast. Located far outside the city centre in a residential area. It was far but I did feel safe walking alone at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pedro Manuel Guirado Gomez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Pedro Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, best staff!!

Disliked: A bit far from downtown

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming, relaxed place to stay. David is a great guy, really makes everyone feel welcome and seeks to help everyone have a safe and enjoyable stay. The hostel is clean and tidy, has free wifi, use of the kitchen, and a big screen surround sound entertainment system. The area, though a little out of the way, is actually very pleasant, quiet and safe.

Disliked: One shower for 12 people is a bit limited, and the subway station is a good 15 minute walk away.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Van Vliet

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to modes of transportation.

Disliked: No problems.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cheuk Kin Kwan

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 October 2011 Cheuk Kin would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs here are really nice and they will help you whenever you got into any trouble.

Disliked: A bit far from the station but it's acceptable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011

Liked: There was a large TV and space to store food.

Disliked: Staff - David (the owner of the apartment) is obsessed with tidiness and treats anyone who makes his apartment untidy quite rudely. He insists the guests make their bed everyday and becomes highly irritated if they don't. I was made to pay for my whole six night stay the day I checked in, so had no option to leave without forfeiting my money. He sleeps in a bunk in the same rooms as the guests and was by far the noisiest person in the dorm, striking up conversations in the bedrooms at 7am, turning the noisy a/c on for 20 minutes at 4am, and storming into the room late at night. David was the only staff member there the whole week I stayed. Facilities - while it technically does have air-conditioning, it was only on for about an hour throughout my entire stay. This was despite the cramped rooms being so hot that I was sweating and struggling to sleep in the New York heat. This is partly because the hostel owner doesn't like it on to save money and also because it's very rattley, hard to reach (there was no remote) and directly above the top pillow of one bunk-bed. Instead the window is left open and everyone gets bitten/kept awake by mosquitos. The beds are very cheap, with hard-mattresses, wobbly frames that shake whenever someone moves slightly, and very woolly pillows. Don't stay here if you're not a very heavy sleeper. Security - there is no secure area to keep your luggage and not many lockers (when I asked if there was someone I could put my valuables, David told me no). Instead they are kept under the beds (and I got a telling off the one time I forgot to push it back under). Atmosphere - David rarely smiles and acts very coldly to guests he does not like. As there are very few guests, the atmosphere really changes depending on who stays. As the entire premises is two small bedrooms and a combined TV room and kitchen, it matters greatly who the other 14 are.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011

Liked: Huge TV

Disliked: Staff overall bossy and unfriendly but artificially caring and friendly at checkout time when insisting for positive feedback on hostelbooker

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the guy running the hostel is very nice and helps with evertything

Disliked: little too far away if you want to visit manhattan, but good subway connection

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Nilsson

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very friendly place to feel at home far away. The appartment is very cozy and the hostelhost David is always ready to help you out in any way. My second stay there during my time in New York I was a bit ill, but the staff took very good care of me.

Disliked: It's a bit far of from Manhattan.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff, cosy place

Disliked: Just a litlle far from Manhattan, but still worth it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emma Bentley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is basically an apartment that has been designed to cater for a small number of backpackers. The location is in Brooklyn, with easy access to buses and the metro, as well as shops, laundrette and ATM`s. The hostel itself is one of the best I have stayed in during a year`s travelling. It is immaculately kept and the owner is super friendly and helpful. All you had to do was ask and David would help you to plan out your trip in NYC, as well as promoting the area of Brooklyn, which I never realised had so much to offer! I would definitely reccommend this place and look forward to staying there again!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere.

Disliked: It takes some time to get there by public transport.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy on staff was really friendly and helpful with where to go and how to get there throughout the city. It was easy to find and not too bad of a walk. They have some shared food which is nice and a grill out on the balcony which would come in handy if staying for a longer period. There was a nice (smaller but nice) shared area with plenty of entertainment options.

Disliked: It is a bit off location wise. It does have good access to the subway but is only serviced by one line. While there, that line ("L" line) was under construction which made venturing into Manhattan difficult. The beds could have been more comfortable too.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamas Sarkadi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Tamas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a really nice surprise. And it really is a surprise because you wouldn't expect a hostel to look anything like this. It basically resembles to an appartement with all the advantages of one: friendly, family-like atmosphere, nice, cosy bedrooms, well-equipped common bathroom, kitchen and living room. From the four hostels I visited in the US, it was hands down the best place to stay.

Disliked: I can only complain about the location.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011

Liked: people (staff)

Disliked: size, area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kateryna Mekhnina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Kateryna would recommend this property

Liked: Dave and Amanda are amazing! all people from hostel too! I felt something like I was living at my university friend or a group mate. the atmosphere was really amazing! it is near the subway. and very convenient to go from jfk. i liked this place very much)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james howie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: It had alot of character in a very interesting area , the owner Dave was very welcoming and extremely helpful, there is a sitting room and kitchen with everything you need including TV , Playstation, Internet. Moreover the family environment, proximity to eh airport and value for money was excellent , if you want to see brooklyn and you in a group i strongly suggest you use this hostel. Great Place.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Karle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! Very very friendly staff, nice location with nice neighbourhood, 35 minutes to manhatten by train. Free high speed wifi and a free use computer. Amazing big TV with lots of BD, PS2, PS3, WII! Balkony for smokers, BBQ nice kitchen and clean bathrooms. 5 star hostel - nice price.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was perfect..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: David and Amanda make you feel very welcome, there's no awkwardness in using the facilities. They have lots of information available on what to do including maps, guidebooks and pamphlets for a whole variety of things.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter van IJperen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff truly knows and loves New York, especially Brooklyn. And I really felt home there. Great facilities, both in kitchen and living room. Finally, great to get to know another neighbourhood in NY.

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Adventure Hostel was a really nice place to stay in Brooklyn. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The whole athmosphere is friendly and familiar. It really worth the money.

Disliked: It's a bit far from Manhattan

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noah Truman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: it's great value and really clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hostel has some great facilities.

Disliked: it's kind of out of the way, though not too long of a walk from a near-by subway station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you feel like at home...

Disliked: it's far to Manhattan