We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

90.1% Overall Rating

284 out of 321 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

Jolanta Herma thinks…

"David who was a manager of a hostel was really friendly and helpful from the first day. He helped me with carrying my suitcase and he borrowed me his charger. He is the best person on this position."

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
28.13 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
60.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.3% 50 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
29.95 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 344 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

284 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 308 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sana Ullah

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2012 Sana would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very friendly. Also the it seems like the we were living at home which made it relaxing. The train and bus was easy to find and manage. It was neat and clean....

Disliked: Sana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei Zhong Goh

Alone

City break

15 January 2012 Wei Zhong would recommend this property

Liked: Living area, furnished with kitchen; comfortable heating; friendly environment. Will recommend.

Disliked: Location; not signposted so please remember the address: number 538

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That was my second stay in this hostel and everything was great as usual !!

Disliked: nothing at all !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself and the staff are all good.

Disliked: It is very far from Manhattan.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: laid back ,clean, very homelike place. warm, well heated in the cold winter nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mariko Kondo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Mariko would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is really relaxing and staffs are friendly and helpfull. I made two friends at this hostel. The hostel is in an ordinary apartment, so the hostel itself is a house.

Disliked: There are two bedrooms, but they were not separated for men and wemen. The bedrooms are unisex. The bedroom was a little bit stinky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jang Seong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Jang would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Owner David is Absolutely nice guy!!! First i worried about the location but it's not difficult i think.(Even if I am a First Visit in America), Objectively It's not too far from Manhattan either. I perfectly feel comfortable in this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne caruso

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable ....met the most interesting people ever.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdullah Metwally

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Abdullah would recommend this property

Liked: It just like home

Disliked: Abdullah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staf and people there

Disliked: A bit dificult to find, the street around it are very similar beetween them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Wood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very laid back and friendly. David is awesome. He helped us out with anything and everything. After our first conversation with him we felt comfortable and settled in. He goes out of his way to make your stay better for you.The subway is also very nearby and easy to walk to (you can take the L train right into the city). It is a safe and secure environment to leave your valuables lying around, while going into the city for the day. We had an awesome stay.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Williams

Alone

Business / conference

19 November 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Great price ,great staff,free Internet. Big flat screen tv. Free phone.

Disliked: Location a bit far ,but worth it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Glauco Chiyaki Sesta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

13 November 2011 Glauco Chiyaki would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciated the cozy atmosphere, the big living room, the fact that there was a free protected wireless internet connection, the other fellow travellers, most of whom were nice people, the managers (David and Amanda), who were helpful, the fact that we could use the fridge and had some room on a shelf for our own food, the fact that there was a kitchen shelf for food that past travellers had left over, which saved us from starvation on our first night and breakfast.

Disliked: There's no sign outside the hostel building so we had to get off the taxi and walk to the building door to make sure that that was the place. At the entrance door of the small, 3-story tall building, there was an intercom with a faded writing on it saying "Adventure Hostel". Definitely something you could work on, David, and make more visible. There wasn't much room in the dorms so taking out stuff from our bags was a bit tricky. Sometimes the TV would stay on for no reason when nobody was watching it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

30 October 2011

Liked: the owner. David's a reqally funny person

Disliked: location)))

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Srdan Marosan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Srdan would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cheap and very clean place to stay in NY, 15min walk to metro station, kind and friendly staff. You're practically sharing apartment with 12 people the most, so it's a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Even though it's close to metro station, a ride to Manhattan is gonna be 45min.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Taubert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: After I travelled arround in New England and Canada i went back to NYC. I needed a place to stay for 3 nights and found Adventure Hostels - JFK Airport / Canarsie Pier in the web. Its a amazing place - totally different compared to the other hostels a stayed. Like a living room. David, the Host is living there, too, which seemed to me a little strange at first. But when I met David that changed absolutely: Davis is a great guy with a big sense of humor. And I was really surprised, how clean this place was. Every day when I came back from the city my bed was fresh. Its a bit small, but the other people in the hostel were great - not that typical hostel - maniacs!

Disliked: A bit far away from Manhattan. Its the last stop of the L-Train. It takes about 40 min down to Manhattan and in the late hours (11pm) the L-Train often has long Delays. I recommend to take the bus or another sub, when you want to get back really late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Stone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The atmosphere of the hostel is evident from the moment you enter. It is a deceiving place, located alongside flats, however it is obvious that there is a lot of love put into the creation of this hostel. The fact that it is small allows for sociable interactions unlike any other hostel i have stayed in in USA. The owner, David, is a fantastic guy too and he will go out of his way to ensure that your time at the hostel, and NYC in general, is smooth and very enjoyable. He wants you to feel comfortable exploring the city, without being intimidated as some traveller's may be.

Disliked: The location is not ideal. However, having stayed there for a week, the character of the hostel completely makes up for the commute into manhattan.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011

Liked: I liked the place for the cosy atmosphere until what happened at the end. David had been helpful with information and so on till my second day.

Disliked: On my first night I inquired and was told that I can stay one more night. The next day just before I was going out which is almost 1:00pm I was told that it was full house. It was too late to look for any other accommodation for me on web site, but I tried wasting my outing time while he didn't do anything to sort out the situation. At the end I suggested to stay in living room on sofa. He tried charged me $58 first and later reduced to $50!!! still!! for sleeping on sofa in living room for 3 hrs!!! He said it was penalty as he doesn't want to anyone sleep on sofa any more! penalty on me when he caused the double booking situation and not doing anything to sort out the situation!! Also two people working there go out at the same time, so you don't have 24hrs access with staff if they are out together even during day time. When the above problem happened he also went out and didn't come back by the time he said he would. I wasted lots of afternoon by trying to find accommodation and waiting for him on my only full afternoon in NYC. He also turned off the mobile too so you can't communicate with him.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely homey and welcoming. I instantly felt comfortable there

Disliked: It was a 15 minute walk from the train station, the location is okay, but at night, as a girl alone, it was a little uncomfortable walking there. However, that would be true for anywhere.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel was very clean, a friendly atmosphere also and I met a lot of people from different countries.

Disliked: To the nearest Metro station you have to walk about 15-20 minutes, is not so good when you have some luggage.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: The host (David) is very friendly and helpful. Because it's so small, you get to meet all the guests. Relatively close to JFK airport (the bus is two stops on the L-line and then takes about 20mins, or probably easier to travel a few extra stops and use the A-train). Excellent facilities inside with PC, wi-fi, cable TV and videogames. Homely feel does provide a unique experience.

Disliked: It's more a guest-house than a hostel, being essentially a 2br suburban apartment. More independent-minded travellers won't appreciate the fact that the host lives with guests and always mingling. The air-con was an old, noisy type unit, and needed to be on in stuffy rooms on warm nights. Needs a modern quiet one, and fly-screen needs to be fixed. The bunks were creaky when anyone moved. No credit card facilities just isn't good enough these days. Without enough money, upon arrival you had to walk to an ATM. The distance, especially the solid 15min walk after a 40min ride to the end of L-line, is an issue for Manhattan goers. Too expensive compared to options in Manhattan that also offer free breakfast. The host needs to promote more the features of Brooklyn, maybe offer group excursions and have deals with local attractions that supposedly gives the "adventure" to the hostel name. Otherwise, little benefit to this hostel other than being nearer to JFK or as a last resort.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben fenton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Dave is a exellent host, the place is clean with a good atmosphere. If im in N y again , i shall stay there again and would recomend to a friend.

Disliked: No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stanislav Panasyuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

12 October 2011 Stanislav would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! I came back here again because my first stay was awesome, i really felt like i was at home. And i will definitely stay here again once i'm in New York. Staff is not a staff, they're like members of the family, they're always near when anybody needs help. I travel a lot and usually stay in hostels. This was my best experience.

Disliked: i don't have any dislikes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Airport pickup. Films and computer games offered.

Disliked: Size - small.