HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

86.1% Overall Rating

275 out of 310 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

"There is a large TV with surround sound, a little balcony, and a few stores nearby for snacks or necessities. It is also within walking distance of the train. Kitchen and wifi access with little trouble."

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
50.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.0% 49 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 76.7% 12 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.8% 333 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

275 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 231 of 296 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shaun waters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and always helpful with directions, things to do and anything else that you could need. Had full access to the facilities, including free tea and coffee, and cooking equipment which was really nice. The whole place felt very homely and welcoming.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdelfettah Saadna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Abdelfettah would recommend this property

Liked: the stuff were really cool an the price was really cheap. the atmosphere is good, its like a small familly. the nigheberhood is really calm and there is no noise there.

Disliked: a little bit far but that does not matter if you are here to visite NYC.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lau Kia Yong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 December 2012 Lau would recommend this property

Liked: David is a really nice host and the price is pretty reasonable

Disliked: Nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily managed and easy to reach. Great atmosphere and very helpful staff. David's a pretty great guy and I am lucky to have gotten to know him.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petrina Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2012 Petrina would recommend this property

Liked: Dave was really nice and very fun to talk to. We had a nice dinner and watched a good show!

Disliked: The hostel was a little far from my previous place of stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a pretty small, home-like hostel. From the entrance you realize David takes his business very seriously. It was very cosy and the best part was it was very clean.

Disliked: The floor in the room could have been less noisy however it doesn't matter that much once you sleep.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012

Liked: friendly guy

Disliked: one room for all the visitors. to small! far away!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Soares

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 November 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel, David, takes this business with a great load of professionalism and attempts to keep a comforting and organized atmosphere.

Disliked: I was unfamiliar with the location overall, but, then again, I'm not even from the country.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it! It had the same ambience as the Brighton Beach Hostel, both we excellent and affordable, I just loved them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is really nice. The owner is a great guy and the place is very pleasant.

Disliked: It's a bit far out from Manhattan. Takes about an hour from the hostel to the sights. Subway runs often though and 24/7.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything someone like me needs - a safe and comfortable spot to sleep at night with wifi.

Disliked: Quite far from the city. But, that gives you an option to get to know the area better.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Carlson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price. close to Subway.. L train 35 minute ride to manhattan

Disliked: its in canarsie..area gets wierd late at night

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: I think I got eaten by bed bugs or mosqitos but the bites we together in one area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Perkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs it, David is a really nice guy, New York born and raised and runs a clean and very friendly hostel.

Disliked: The property had very little to dislike, but it's at the end of a line in a safe part of town so it takes maybe a little bit of time to get into town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being in the hostel feels like coming back to a familiar place. I suppose I would have said it feels like coming home. However, the environment created in the hostel is one that many homes strive for but somehow have not yet attained. They have shown that ‘things don’t make a home’. The hosts are accepting of individual differences and find the best way to perk up your stay, weather it is suggesting a more beautiful route to your day’s destinations or looking for things to do that somehow fit your own peculiar preferences. The owners are truly in a hospitality league of their own and seemed to have inspired their guest to exhibit the more beautiful aspects of the human personality. The notion that there could be something like a fantastic host has personally inspired me to be the best guest I can be where ever I go. The ‘host-inspired’ camaraderie between people from various nations seemed to suggest that with enough good people in the world we will attain world peace.

Disliked: I couldn’t work it into my schedule to stay longer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is small and cosy so you can easily meet people, you have free access to internet through a computer that you can use. The place is safe, I returned my bed at 5am, nothing to worry about.

Disliked: Too far from the city center and even far from a subway stop. I guess the price isn't competitive enough compare to hostels close to Manhattan, it's the same price actually. I would say it's not worth this amount of money even though it's New York and blablabla.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Its very cosy and fun, having lots of likeminded travelling people in close proximity means that everyone gets to know everyone and it has a really nice relaxed feel in the common space. The owner Dave is very friendly and helpful as well and joins in with all the people in the hostel.

Disliked: The only downside to this place is the location, it isn't in an unsafe location, its just very far away from everything for tourists. It is roughly a 15min walk to the subway, then a 1hr journey into manhattan on the subway.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, homey atmosphere. Everyone friendly, hanging out together. The owner organizes activities for everyone. It's really a home away from home- wish I could have stayed more nights. Tonight they're having a BBQ!

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the metro.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hogan

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is small, extremely cozy and very clean with a luxurious living room, comfortable sofa and a wide screen TV. The owner Dave is a very friendly person.

Disliked: There is no direct bus service to the hostel and the nearest subway station is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FRIENDLY AND SECURE WITH KITCHEN , INTERNET ETC

Disliked: Distance from manhatten.15 minute walk to the final stop on the awkward l line

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Adventure Life Hostel NYC. Dave was extremely kind and courteous, the atmosphere was chill and has everything you need to enjoy your stay. The hostel was not overbooked so I had a room almost entirely to myself. Although, it would be cool if a few more people stayed there so we could grill out on the balcony, enjoy the movie collection, party with some music, etc.

Disliked: If you look at the map, you see the location in Brooklyn. But if you've ever lived in New York, you know that taking the subway is kind of normal. And there is a great (Sicilian) pizza joint right next to the station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

leandro pagano

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 leandro would recommend this property

Liked: I like that, is very clean and comfortable, David is an great guy!

Disliked: There is more expensive that others cities, but NY expensive too

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and the fact that the facilities was comforting to use was like being in a house. This was a nice hostel.

Disliked: nothing really. Location could be a little better.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Svetlana Jefimova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012

Liked: David is a really nice and caring host.

Disliked: The location-its really in the end of Brooklyn. I was arriving late at night and it was quite scary to go on your own. It took us also more then 1 h to get to the city center.