We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

90.1% Overall Rating

284 out of 321 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

Jolanta Herma thinks…

"David who was a manager of a hostel was really friendly and helpful from the first day. He helped me with carrying my suitcase and he borrowed me his charger. He is the best person on this position."

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
70.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.0% 49 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
29.95 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 343 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

284 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 308 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was quiet, and guests were pleasant. All required amenities were there, even dvds and games. The common areas, esp the bathroom and living area were quite nice.

Disliked: I did not really dislike anything, but BEWARE, rules and instructions MUST be followed. Show up with cash in hand. You will end up finding another place to stay if you don't. They do NOT accept credit cards.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host, David was awesome!!! He was very friendly, helpful and gave me some great tips. The place was very homely and the bathroom was so nice!!! - very clean, great big shower and awesome shower pressure! Best hostel bathroom experience to date!

Disliked: I thought the location was a bit sketchy. I was assured it was fine and had no problems but I didn't feel very comfortable walking around, especially at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luke Durston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The host was very nice in person (not so much over the building's intercom) and gave me a free brand-new pair of snow boats that someone had left at the hostel! The flat itself is super homely and a nice place to chill out at in the evening. It takes about an hour to get the bus/subway to Manhattan but it's very easy to do. Neighbourhood feels safe and has everything you need close by. Beds were comfy and kitchen was well equipped.

Disliked: We emailed asking if we could arrive before the check-in time of midday and did not receive a reply until the day itself when we did not have access to email. So we went to the hostel in the morning and at 10am were told we couldn't come in to drop our bags so had to wait 'til 12. If you find yourselves in this position it isn't so bad because there's a nice warm diner on the corner of the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is making you feel very comfortable, it felt like home. the proximity to JFK Airport.

Disliked: i had a short stay but i will definitely come back...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place make me feel warmand comfortable.

Disliked: A little far from subway station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever been too. The neighborhood was surprising quiet and peaceful. Also I was happy to be in brooklyn because I was able to visit the brand new Barclays Center !

Disliked: nothing really, maybe the 15 min walk to the train but if you ask the staff they tell you how to get a bus to the train.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charline Fortin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Charline would recommend this property

Liked: Chaleureuse auberge, bon marche dans brooklyn, quartier agreable et staff tres sympa ! a recommander pour visiter new york sans se ruiner

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff (David) was very nice and helpful. Great value for the money. Good range of facilities, including kitchen.

Disliked: Location was a bit sketchy. Also, doesn't have some kind of sign in front, so make sure you know the address number when looking for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANTO JESON RAJ ROBERT RAJ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2013 ANTO JESON RAJ would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really good. My living experience was really worth the amount.

Disliked: The only disadvantage i faced was the place was far away from the railway station. Other than that it was all fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shaun waters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and always helpful with directions, things to do and anything else that you could need. Had full access to the facilities, including free tea and coffee, and cooking equipment which was really nice. The whole place felt very homely and welcoming.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdelfettah Saadna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Abdelfettah would recommend this property

Liked: the stuff were really cool an the price was really cheap. the atmosphere is good, its like a small familly. the nigheberhood is really calm and there is no noise there.

Disliked: a little bit far but that does not matter if you are here to visite NYC.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lau Kia Yong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 December 2012 Lau would recommend this property

Liked: David is a really nice host and the price is pretty reasonable

Disliked: Nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily managed and easy to reach. Great atmosphere and very helpful staff. David's a pretty great guy and I am lucky to have gotten to know him.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petrina Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2012 Petrina would recommend this property

Liked: Dave was really nice and very fun to talk to. We had a nice dinner and watched a good show!

Disliked: The hostel was a little far from my previous place of stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a pretty small, home-like hostel. From the entrance you realize David takes his business very seriously. It was very cosy and the best part was it was very clean.

Disliked: The floor in the room could have been less noisy however it doesn't matter that much once you sleep.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012

Liked: friendly guy

Disliked: one room for all the visitors. to small! far away!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Soares

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 November 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel, David, takes this business with a great load of professionalism and attempts to keep a comforting and organized atmosphere.

Disliked: I was unfamiliar with the location overall, but, then again, I'm not even from the country.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it! It had the same ambience as the Brighton Beach Hostel, both we excellent and affordable, I just loved them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is really nice. The owner is a great guy and the place is very pleasant.

Disliked: It's a bit far out from Manhattan. Takes about an hour from the hostel to the sights. Subway runs often though and 24/7.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has everything someone like me needs - a safe and comfortable spot to sleep at night with wifi.

Disliked: Quite far from the city. But, that gives you an option to get to know the area better.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Carlson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price. close to Subway.. L train 35 minute ride to manhattan

Disliked: its in canarsie..area gets wierd late at night

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: I think I got eaten by bed bugs or mosqitos but the bites we together in one area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Perkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs it, David is a really nice guy, New York born and raised and runs a clean and very friendly hostel.

Disliked: The property had very little to dislike, but it's at the end of a line in a safe part of town so it takes maybe a little bit of time to get into town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being in the hostel feels like coming back to a familiar place. I suppose I would have said it feels like coming home. However, the environment created in the hostel is one that many homes strive for but somehow have not yet attained. They have shown that ‘things don’t make a home’. The hosts are accepting of individual differences and find the best way to perk up your stay, weather it is suggesting a more beautiful route to your day’s destinations or looking for things to do that somehow fit your own peculiar preferences. The owners are truly in a hospitality league of their own and seemed to have inspired their guest to exhibit the more beautiful aspects of the human personality. The notion that there could be something like a fantastic host has personally inspired me to be the best guest I can be where ever I go. The ‘host-inspired’ camaraderie between people from various nations seemed to suggest that with enough good people in the world we will attain world peace.

Disliked: I couldn’t work it into my schedule to stay longer.