HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

87.0% Overall Rating

274 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

"There is a large TV with surround sound, a little balcony, and a few stores nearby for snacks or necessities. It is also within walking distance of the train. Kitchen and wifi access with little trouble."

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
50.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.0% 49 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 76.7% 12 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 332 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

274 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 231 of 296 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the fact that it was clean and that very warm, welcoming atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Krumme

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: It is not a typical hostel, but more of a shared appartment you usually know from your studying period. I really felt like home and you can easily get in touch with your "hostel mates". The atmosphere always gave you a feeling that you were at home when coming back from the city.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far off and it takes you up to 40 minutes to get to Manhatten by subway. However, it's a good opportunity to get some rest and quiet from the hectic city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoran Slamkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and homey. It is a good break from the hassle of other hostels. Everything is clean and the bathroom is great. It feels good to come back to this place after a long day in Manhattan.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yakup Sari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Yakup would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was so friendly...

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elseline Van Ommen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2013 Elseline would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, even though it was a little far from Manhattan. I felt really at home, and David, the owner, is so nice. I felt like I could talk to him for hours. And he even took us to nights out and everything. I met the nicest people there. I had so much fun. I would give everything do it again. If I ever come back to NYC, and I know that I would, I would go to this hostel. Thanks David for all the joy!

Disliked: Elseline left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Operated out of what used to be an appartment, this hostel looks, and feels like a family business, ran by young people for adventurous travellers. Located in a quiet neighboorhood of brooklyn, and, though small, very clean. One of the best prices in New-York, too!

Disliked: So far, nothing. I would have liked it to be entirely free of charge, maybe?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Powell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

24 April 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: David's the best!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devin Little

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very cozy and comfortable, not like the typical large dorm room/barrack type hostels. It's warm, and feels like home. The management is great! Kind, friendly and knowledgeable. I would absolutely stay here again.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Bryant

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly manager, pretty nice neighborhood, great atmosphere. It really did feel like I was arriving at my own house. The hostel was incredibly clean. There are plenty of cheap Chinese restaurants nearby, as well as serveral Caribbean/West Indian restaurants, fast food, and grocery stores.

Disliked: The distance to the main area is a bit long, and some aspects of the accommodations reminded me how much I paid for it, but I still give this place a solid recommendation and would definitely stay here again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jacob Johannes Peter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

14 April 2013

Liked: The bathrooms were very clean and nicely furnished. The kitchen is well equipped.

Disliked: I've already been to a few hostels but I never experienced so unfriendly staff. The staff was hardly around. Check-in and Check-out are done by letters and envelopes which have to be put under the office door. When I wanted to check-out I still had some questions and waited for the staff. When the owner showed up he was directly offending me why I did not already leave the property. When I tried to talk to him and explain that I wanted to leave my suitcase at the hostel during the day he became even more angry and almost kicked me out. Its unbelievable how rude this staff is. Even though the hostel is relatively near to JFK airport by linear distance, it's far away from a metro station. So it is unconvenient when you have a lot of luggage. Storing your suitcase at the hostel after check-out costs extra 5$. The owner is very strict with the check-out times. After check-out you cannot stay at the communal area and have to leave the premises.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel

Disliked: About an hour from city centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place clean, homely atmosphere and organized overall.

Disliked: nothing in particular.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is so quite and clean and big bathroom.

Disliked: it is in Brooklyn, so far from Manhattan which is the real NYC important part.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Zorzetto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very good, neat and clean.

Disliked: The bedroom is too small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alfredo Ribeiro

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Too far

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosco Kasujja

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 March 2013 Rosco would recommend this property

Liked: Everything they promised they would do, they delivered. The staff are very helpful and are available when you need help. I came all the way from Africa-Uganda but felt at home while at Adventure HostelJFK. David is particularly very friendly which is calming.

Disliked: Well, there's not much to say other than the fact that its 15 minutes away from the sub-way. If someone doesn't love walking, its always going to be a problem. On a positive note, the walk to and from the hostel helped me think about the day and other things.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was quiet, and guests were pleasant. All required amenities were there, even dvds and games. The common areas, esp the bathroom and living area were quite nice.

Disliked: I did not really dislike anything, but BEWARE, rules and instructions MUST be followed. Show up with cash in hand. You will end up finding another place to stay if you don't. They do NOT accept credit cards.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host, David was awesome!!! He was very friendly, helpful and gave me some great tips. The place was very homely and the bathroom was so nice!!! - very clean, great big shower and awesome shower pressure! Best hostel bathroom experience to date!

Disliked: I thought the location was a bit sketchy. I was assured it was fine and had no problems but I didn't feel very comfortable walking around, especially at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luke Durston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The host was very nice in person (not so much over the building's intercom) and gave me a free brand-new pair of snow boats that someone had left at the hostel! The flat itself is super homely and a nice place to chill out at in the evening. It takes about an hour to get the bus/subway to Manhattan but it's very easy to do. Neighbourhood feels safe and has everything you need close by. Beds were comfy and kitchen was well equipped.

Disliked: We emailed asking if we could arrive before the check-in time of midday and did not receive a reply until the day itself when we did not have access to email. So we went to the hostel in the morning and at 10am were told we couldn't come in to drop our bags so had to wait 'til 12. If you find yourselves in this position it isn't so bad because there's a nice warm diner on the corner of the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is making you feel very comfortable, it felt like home. the proximity to JFK Airport.

Disliked: i had a short stay but i will definitely come back...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place make me feel warmand comfortable.

Disliked: A little far from subway station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever been too. The neighborhood was surprising quiet and peaceful. Also I was happy to be in brooklyn because I was able to visit the brand new Barclays Center !

Disliked: nothing really, maybe the 15 min walk to the train but if you ask the staff they tell you how to get a bus to the train.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charline Fortin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Charline would recommend this property

Liked: Chaleureuse auberge, bon marche dans brooklyn, quartier agreable et staff tres sympa ! a recommander pour visiter new york sans se ruiner

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff (David) was very nice and helpful. Great value for the money. Good range of facilities, including kitchen.

Disliked: Location was a bit sketchy. Also, doesn't have some kind of sign in front, so make sure you know the address number when looking for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANTO JESON RAJ ROBERT RAJ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2013 ANTO JESON RAJ would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really good. My living experience was really worth the amount.

Disliked: The only disadvantage i faced was the place was far away from the railway station. Other than that it was all fine.