HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel | 538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, New York, USA NY 11236

90.1% Overall Rating

284 out of 321 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2014)

Jolanta Herma thinks…

"David who was a manager of a hostel was really friendly and helpful from the first day. He helped me with carrying my suitcase and he borrowed me his charger. He is the best person on this position."

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

METHOD OF PAYMENT: CASH ONLY!!! Please READ following content before BOOKING. CHECK-INS : You MUST specify your ARRIVAL TIME or run the risk of NOT BEING CHECKED-IN as staff might NOT be present at your arrival. (in case of delay we strongly advise guest to notify the hostel as 1 hour delay will signal a no-show). TIME FRAME WHEN YOU CAN SCHEDULE YOUR CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 12.00 PM (noon) -11.00 PM (night) also, NO CHECK-INS CAN BE SCHEDULE OUTSIDE THOSE HOURS. NO EXCEPTIONS ! We do NOT offer 24hours reception . Please note we will not be able to accommodate New York STATE resident. Rates do not include New York State and local taxes 14.75%+ 5.25% bed tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 65.1% 30 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
70.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.3% 50 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Twelve Towns YMCA
60.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
32.95 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 344 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

284 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurehostel JFK/NYC'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 308 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 October 2013

Liked: the hostel itself is well equipt and really orgenize and cleen

Disliked: the staff isn't service oriented and the location is far from the city and the airport

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suresh kahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 suresh would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is kept very tidy and the atmosphere is very relaxing its like being home, it is also pretty organize with basics rules that have to be followed to keep the place that way. Personally i followed them and really enjoyed my stay ! the area is quiet and staff helpful. Will definitely be back guys ! keep up the good work !

Disliked: a good 30-40 min trip to get to the city, but on the other hand I got to explore more of brooklyn and the L train goes straight to downtown manhattan...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastien Uribarrena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2013 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the roommates, the helpfulness and friendliness of the owner, David. The fact that you will feel at home (kitchen, TV, Videogames, ...). The BBQ and the beers box on the balcony! The free computer! It's a very good place to be!

Disliked: Very far of Manhattan. And a little far of the subway. But considering the price, it's not complain! So, if it's your first time in NYC, it can be interesting to book, first, an hostel in Manhattan (very expensives compared therewith) for a few days, time to get around it and to go to Harlem, and to go, after, at the Adventurehosteljfk/NYC to visit Brooklyn and Queens and relax you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elodie canty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 elodie would recommend this property

Liked: home away from home ! so comfy ! the fact that we can use the kitchen and the bathroom is nice and clean. The area is quiet.

Disliked: everything was good to me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Kuehn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that we could use the internet and the whole accomadation like kitchen that you could print things for your use and you meet alot of people.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and David was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Masayo Kimura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 Masayo would recommend this property

Liked: It's confutable.

Disliked: Masayo left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 June 2013

Liked: The owner David was a really nice and friendly person.

Disliked: The location was absolutely terrible. Takes an hour or more to get to lower manhattan by subway. Most importantly, the hostel is 15 MIN AWAY FROM THE SUBWAY ON FOOT. Such a hassle to travel daily. And i'm not even a slow walker.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very clean hostel. Very nicely decorated and modern. It feels very homey. David the staff member is very helpful.

Disliked: If it is your first time in New York then you might be better off staying in Manhattan. It takes about almost an hour to get from the hostel to Manhattan. However it is pretty close to the JFK airport so that's a plus. Check in is a problem here. Even I had confirmed the time of arrival I still had to wait for 90 min before I could check in, simply because no one was answering the door. I can accept a non 24 hour reception but there has to be someone on duty during the day in case some one needs to check in or have enquiries etc. This is something they need to work on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the fact that it was clean and that very warm, welcoming atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Krumme

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: It is not a typical hostel, but more of a shared appartment you usually know from your studying period. I really felt like home and you can easily get in touch with your "hostel mates". The atmosphere always gave you a feeling that you were at home when coming back from the city.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far off and it takes you up to 40 minutes to get to Manhatten by subway. However, it's a good opportunity to get some rest and quiet from the hectic city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoran Slamkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and homey. It is a good break from the hassle of other hostels. Everything is clean and the bathroom is great. It feels good to come back to this place after a long day in Manhattan.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yakup Sari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Yakup would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was so friendly...

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elseline Van Ommen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2013 Elseline would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, even though it was a little far from Manhattan. I felt really at home, and David, the owner, is so nice. I felt like I could talk to him for hours. And he even took us to nights out and everything. I met the nicest people there. I had so much fun. I would give everything do it again. If I ever come back to NYC, and I know that I would, I would go to this hostel. Thanks David for all the joy!

Disliked: Elseline left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Operated out of what used to be an appartment, this hostel looks, and feels like a family business, ran by young people for adventurous travellers. Located in a quiet neighboorhood of brooklyn, and, though small, very clean. One of the best prices in New-York, too!

Disliked: So far, nothing. I would have liked it to be entirely free of charge, maybe?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Powell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

24 April 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: David's the best!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devin Little

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very cozy and comfortable, not like the typical large dorm room/barrack type hostels. It's warm, and feels like home. The management is great! Kind, friendly and knowledgeable. I would absolutely stay here again.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Bryant

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly manager, pretty nice neighborhood, great atmosphere. It really did feel like I was arriving at my own house. The hostel was incredibly clean. There are plenty of cheap Chinese restaurants nearby, as well as serveral Caribbean/West Indian restaurants, fast food, and grocery stores.

Disliked: The distance to the main area is a bit long, and some aspects of the accommodations reminded me how much I paid for it, but I still give this place a solid recommendation and would definitely stay here again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jacob Johannes Peter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

14 April 2013

Liked: The bathrooms were very clean and nicely furnished. The kitchen is well equipped.

Disliked: I've already been to a few hostels but I never experienced so unfriendly staff. The staff was hardly around. Check-in and Check-out are done by letters and envelopes which have to be put under the office door. When I wanted to check-out I still had some questions and waited for the staff. When the owner showed up he was directly offending me why I did not already leave the property. When I tried to talk to him and explain that I wanted to leave my suitcase at the hostel during the day he became even more angry and almost kicked me out. Its unbelievable how rude this staff is. Even though the hostel is relatively near to JFK airport by linear distance, it's far away from a metro station. So it is unconvenient when you have a lot of luggage. Storing your suitcase at the hostel after check-out costs extra 5$. The owner is very strict with the check-out times. After check-out you cannot stay at the communal area and have to leave the premises.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel

Disliked: About an hour from city centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place clean, homely atmosphere and organized overall.

Disliked: nothing in particular.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is so quite and clean and big bathroom.

Disliked: it is in Brooklyn, so far from Manhattan which is the real NYC important part.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Zorzetto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very good, neat and clean.

Disliked: The bedroom is too small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alfredo Ribeiro

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Too far

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosco Kasujja

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 March 2013 Rosco would recommend this property

Liked: Everything they promised they would do, they delivered. The staff are very helpful and are available when you need help. I came all the way from Africa-Uganda but felt at home while at Adventure HostelJFK. David is particularly very friendly which is calming.

Disliked: Well, there's not much to say other than the fact that its 15 minutes away from the sub-way. If someone doesn't love walking, its always going to be a problem. On a positive note, the walk to and from the hostel helped me think about the day and other things.