We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NYC Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 272 Putnam Ave, New York City, New York, USA 11216

81.4% Overall Rating

302 out of 392 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

"The staff were friendly and hung out with the guests. There's also a nice back yard. When I stayed, they had a cookout and it was a fun night."

Read all NYC Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

“PLEASE NOTE: After booking you will receive our e-mail address. To fully secure your booking, you’ll need to e-mail your card security code of the card you used when booking (the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) and your zip code (postal code of the address on record with your credit card). This is to ensure that you are the legitimate card-holder who made the booking. Failure to do so can result in losing your reservation.” If you want to CANCEL or CHANGE your reservation, you must notify us at least 3 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL, so that an alternate can be found to take your spot. We reserve the right to charge your credit card in full for cancellations made less than 3 days before arrival. Note: TAXES ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE BOOKING PRICE. The New York Tax for accommodations less than 30 days is 14.75%.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Five Spot Loft
38.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 132 reviews
NY Moore Hostel
48.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 176 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
43.95 USD

Hostel 83.1% 208 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 453 reviews
Serenity at Home
50.00 USD

Apartment 91.4% 52 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Pacific Loft Apartments
40.00 USD

Apartment 60.5% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

302 out of 392 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NYC Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 290 of 352 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and hung out with the guests. There's also a nice back yard. When I stayed, they had a cookout and it was a fun night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and it's close to the subway. Staff were friendly and it made the place. Really close to Williamsburg, which was where I spent most of my time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff and close to the subway. The rooms are clean and they have a backyard protected from the street.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

19 August 2015

Liked: They property we were moved to was very clean and tidy and staff very helpful. No positive feedback on original place

Disliked: Two many people. Having to take shoes off at the door. Unclean toilets. Smelly

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alexander White

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2015

Liked: Nice atmosphere, staff friendly

Disliked: Dishonestly with advertising a hostel that we we're meet actually going to stay at. Very basic room, beds noisy when you move, air conditioning noisy. Breakfast was awful/virtually non existent: porridge oats with water or plain pancakes with water mix.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, quite close to a metro station and not too many stops away from Manhattan. The athmosphere was nice and really youth-oriented.

Disliked: The toilets and showers were not in a very good condition, the one in my room was so small I could hardly turn around. There was however one good shower in the guesthouse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists are very nice and warm and helpful, and offer very useful information. The roommates are also great. Thank you Kailynn.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere, some partying at night but couldn't be heard from the dorms. Very close to supermarket and subway.

Disliked: The subway to Manhattan was less reliable than other lines and took close to an hour to get to some parts of Manhattan. As mentioned, breakfast is just either pancake mix or oats with no milk.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La limpieza de los lugares

Disliked: La zona en la que esta ubicado. No me senti segura.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT PEOPLE

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Rusch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2015 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and caring staff, a subway Station is very close, clean rooms!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SANG JUN LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 SANG JUN would recommend this property

Liked: I like this guesthouse. I made a lot of friend here and had great time while staying here. Guesthouse Assistance Mark was so kind and friendly. If I have a chance to come back to NY, I will be back here again.

Disliked: Nothing. It's my favorite place ever after.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and clean room. Everyone was nice and it was easy to talk to people. THey also have free bikes to use if you ask the staff. The location is close to the subway and easy to get to Williamsburg, where I spent most of my time on this trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

30 June 2015

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Very small room, not to clean, changing Adress, bathrooms outside...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iwan Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Iwan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Shuttle service amazing and all staff friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Iwan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how there were really nice people to hang out with and also loved the fact that it felt like a home. You could do whatever and people and guests who lived there really cared about you and gave you feedback and suggestions.

Disliked: I think probably the only thing that I disliked about the property was one staff. Everyone seemed really cool and willing to talk except one staff who worked there.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 June 2015

Liked: The younger staff there were nice and friendly. People staying in the hostel were also cool.

Disliked: Main woman ('boss') has a really bad attitude, she is rude. If you are thinking of booking 14 people room - avoid it, don't know about the rest of the rooms but the one I stayed in with 14 beds stinks with mould, dirty, bad ventilation and mattresses are all collapsed in the middle. I travelled this world a lot and stayed in some cheapest hostels in Asia, which were probably still better that this hostel in NEW YORK. Oh and breakfast buffet? - it's a joke. If you like jokes you, you will probably stop liking jokes after you see only oak cereal (no milk nothing). Late night checkins - another joke. There are always guys chilling in the open space (they work till 1am every day). So amount of effort it takes for them to check you in is same if you come at 3pm, 9pm or midnight. I don't blame the guys that work there, probably they just following the crazy rules of that rude woman or the hostel owner... In summary - if you like mould and smell of sweat, dirt, enjoy back pains after sleeping on those "mattresses" and like paying extra for all the costs+taxes+late checkins then this place is for you. Try smelling their couch in the living area and you will not want to smell things around again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lemuel Hill

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 June 2015 Lemuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to help me out and make my visit better. Property was well looked after and enjoyable to stay in. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: The only thing I would improve if I had to be picky is better air conditioning!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Paraguassu

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2015 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: I lovely people work there

Disliked: It all was pretty goog

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kanishk Tripathi

Alone

Business / conference

20 May 2015 Kanishk would recommend this property

Liked: They had renovation going on at the listing mentioned on HostelBookers and accommodated me to their alternative location. They were prompt to inform me about that and directions to reach there as soon as I booked. I had a 10 bed dorm reservation but they upgraded me to a 6 bed dorm for first night. The staff was good, the dorms and bathrooms were clean and the atmosphere was very friendly. It was nice to meet and talk with travelers from different parts of the world. Great for backpackers, students and budget travelers. Very close to subway, so getting anywhere is not an issue at all.

Disliked: None in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalia Bykova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: I like stuff! They were super nice and helpfull! They were creating really friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aneta Cieslik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2015 Aneta would recommend this property

Liked: Living room always full with friendly people, comfy couch, books, music, kitchen has everything you need, you can have tea, coffee, pancakes, oatmeal whenever you want, it's clean and you can always find something to do!

Disliked: Sometimes in the morning it gets really hot in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alana Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are absolutely awesome at this place. Smaller hostel basically a house but good this way as everyone talks to one another.

Disliked: Squeaky beads but that happens in most hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Millen

Alone

Events / festivals

03 May 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: On first impression walking through the door, the house was incredibly clean and very aesthetically pleasing. This was my first hostel experience ever, and after this experience, I would rather stay in hostels than hotel rooms--hopefully they're all as awesome as NYC Guesthouse! Everything was up-to-date, and the garden and lounge areas made it very easy to socialize with the guest-assistants and other travelers. I just felt very welcome, and enjoyed getting to know a lot of great people. I would definitely go back, if I get the chance.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything about NYC Guesthouse.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly ambience

Disliked: The subway station was close, but the G line sometimes there's a long wait.