We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NYC Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 272 Putnam Ave, New York City, New York, USA 11216

80.0% Overall Rating

292 out of 379 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2015)

SANG JUN LEE thinks…

"I like this guesthouse. I made a lot of friend here and had great time while staying here. Guesthouse Assistance Mark was so kind and friendly. If I have a chance to come back to NY, I will be back…"

Read all NYC Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

“PLEASE NOTE: After booking you will receive our e-mail address. To fully secure your booking, you’ll need to e-mail your card security code of the card you used when booking (the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) and your zip code (postal code of the address on record with your credit card). This is to ensure that you are the legitimate card-holder who made the booking. Failure to do so can result in losing your reservation.” If you want to CANCEL or CHANGE your reservation, you must notify us at least 3 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL, so that an alternate can be found to take your spot. We reserve the right to charge your credit card in full for cancellations made less than 3 days before arrival. Note: TAXES ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE BOOKING PRICE. The New York Tax for accommodations less than 30 days is 14.75%.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Five Spot Loft
33.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 129 reviews
NY Moore Hostel
55.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 171 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
39.95 USD

Hostel 85.5% 195 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 450 reviews
Serenity at Home
50.00 USD

Apartment 92.0% 51 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 60.5% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

292 out of 379 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NYC Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 339 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SANG JUN LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 SANG JUN would recommend this property

Liked: I like this guesthouse. I made a lot of friend here and had great time while staying here. Guesthouse Assistance Mark was so kind and friendly. If I have a chance to come back to NY, I will be back here again.

Disliked: Nothing. It's my favorite place ever after.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and clean room. Everyone was nice and it was easy to talk to people. THey also have free bikes to use if you ask the staff. The location is close to the subway and easy to get to Williamsburg, where I spent most of my time on this trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

30 June 2015

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Very small room, not to clean, changing Adress, bathrooms outside...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iwan Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Iwan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Shuttle service amazing and all staff friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Iwan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how there were really nice people to hang out with and also loved the fact that it felt like a home. You could do whatever and people and guests who lived there really cared about you and gave you feedback and suggestions.

Disliked: I think probably the only thing that I disliked about the property was one staff. Everyone seemed really cool and willing to talk except one staff who worked there.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 June 2015

Liked: The younger staff there were nice and friendly. People staying in the hostel were also cool.

Disliked: Main woman ('boss') has a really bad attitude, she is rude. If you are thinking of booking 14 people room - avoid it, don't know about the rest of the rooms but the one I stayed in with 14 beds stinks with mould, dirty, bad ventilation and mattresses are all collapsed in the middle. I travelled this world a lot and stayed in some cheapest hostels in Asia, which were probably still better that this hostel in NEW YORK. Oh and breakfast buffet? - it's a joke. If you like jokes you, you will probably stop liking jokes after you see only oak cereal (no milk nothing). Late night checkins - another joke. There are always guys chilling in the open space (they work till 1am every day). So amount of effort it takes for them to check you in is same if you come at 3pm, 9pm or midnight. I don't blame the guys that work there, probably they just following the crazy rules of that rude woman or the hostel owner... In summary - if you like mould and smell of sweat, dirt, enjoy back pains after sleeping on those "mattresses" and like paying extra for all the costs+taxes+late checkins then this place is for you. Try smelling their couch in the living area and you will not want to smell things around again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lemuel Hill

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 June 2015 Lemuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to help me out and make my visit better. Property was well looked after and enjoyable to stay in. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: The only thing I would improve if I had to be picky is better air conditioning!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Paraguassu

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2015 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: I lovely people work there

Disliked: It all was pretty goog

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kanishk Tripathi

Alone

Business / conference

20 May 2015 Kanishk would recommend this property

Liked: They had renovation going on at the listing mentioned on HostelBookers and accommodated me to their alternative location. They were prompt to inform me about that and directions to reach there as soon as I booked. I had a 10 bed dorm reservation but they upgraded me to a 6 bed dorm for first night. The staff was good, the dorms and bathrooms were clean and the atmosphere was very friendly. It was nice to meet and talk with travelers from different parts of the world. Great for backpackers, students and budget travelers. Very close to subway, so getting anywhere is not an issue at all.

Disliked: None in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalia Bykova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: I like stuff! They were super nice and helpfull! They were creating really friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aneta Cieslik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2015 Aneta would recommend this property

Liked: Living room always full with friendly people, comfy couch, books, music, kitchen has everything you need, you can have tea, coffee, pancakes, oatmeal whenever you want, it's clean and you can always find something to do!

Disliked: Sometimes in the morning it gets really hot in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alana Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are absolutely awesome at this place. Smaller hostel basically a house but good this way as everyone talks to one another.

Disliked: Squeaky beads but that happens in most hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Millen

Alone

Events / festivals

03 May 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: On first impression walking through the door, the house was incredibly clean and very aesthetically pleasing. This was my first hostel experience ever, and after this experience, I would rather stay in hostels than hotel rooms--hopefully they're all as awesome as NYC Guesthouse! Everything was up-to-date, and the garden and lounge areas made it very easy to socialize with the guest-assistants and other travelers. I just felt very welcome, and enjoyed getting to know a lot of great people. I would definitely go back, if I get the chance.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything about NYC Guesthouse.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly ambience

Disliked: The subway station was close, but the G line sometimes there's a long wait.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Arango Villegas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean place to stay. The room I was in was very cosy. They upgraded me to a room with fewer beds than I booked. Also the staff was pretty friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2015

Liked: Interesting area and friendly volunteering stuff.

Disliked: very dirty and mould in bathrooms ( not the fault of volunteers because it is already long lasting) - no professional cleaning stuff - some very old mattresses which make your back hurt - there are two additional places ( "Garage" and basement wäre they also host guests) In general it just seems that they want to make money without any Investments.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gallego Novas Cesar

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2015

Liked: It´s close to a subway station.

Disliked: The host, as explained above. I didn´t like the fact that the hostel wasn´t properly advertised outside. It was cold at night (insufficient heating). Oh! And the worst thing was the HUGE CAT that was on the ground floor, leaving hair everywhere (especially on the common couch where we had to sit to get the WIFI) and intimidating with its presence all the time. How can there be such an animal in a space opened to people of all kinds, people that may dislike pets? Certainly, I can´t believe it. Please, do something about all these comments. Thank you very much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked the 4 persons shared dorm and it was nice and cozy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness of staff, hospitable ambiance

Disliked: Girl's underwear beneath our bed the first night, should set up a 20-minute limit for bathroom usage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean. I stayed in the winter so not that many people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Serpe Boyer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 February 2015 Serpe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great.

Disliked: Serpe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy hostel and I love Brooklyn. The subway was really close and there are shops/cafes nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Filipe Filipovitz Vollmer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2015 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is generally friendly.

Disliked: The breakfast that they claim to be 24 hours is actually only Cereal. Don't really count with it. They also do not accept credit cards you have to bring money and there's a 14.8% tax that is not well specified on here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has very kind staff.

Disliked: It doesnt any event.