HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NYC Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 272 Putnam Ave, New York City, New York, USA 11216

79.8% Overall Rating

258 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

"It was one of the cheapest hostels so great value. The place is chill and the staff were friendly."

Read all NYC Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

“PLEASE NOTE: After booking you will receive our e-mail address. To fully secure your booking, you’ll need to e-mail your card security code of the card you used when booking (the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) and your zip code (postal code of the address on record with your credit card). This is to ensure that you are the legitimate card-holder who made the booking. Failure to do so can result in losing your reservation.” If you want to CANCEL or CHANGE your reservation, you must notify us at least 3 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL, so that an alternate can be found to take your spot. We reserve the right to charge your credit card in full for cancellations made less than 3 days before arrival. Note: TAXES ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE BOOKING PRICE. The New York Tax for accommodations less than 30 days is 14.75%.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Portobello 805
22.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Portobello 898
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.0% 7 reviews
Five Spot Loft
38.00 USD

Hostel 85.0% 89 reviews
NY Moore Hostel
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.0% 153 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
41.95 USD

Hostel 75.0% 131 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
55.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 440 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.0% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

258 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NYC Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 242 of 295 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the cheapest hostels so great value. The place is chill and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Barbara Alvarez Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Little and cozy property, it felt like home. Easy to meet other travellers. Yard, kitchen

Disliked: Breakfast is not really included, there was only coffee, tea and oats. Only one bathroom for 15 people. Not very clean, but not dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: The hostel is close to public transport, but on the G-Line. Which is very unreliable, we waited an hour & a half for a train on a Friday evening! The rooms are tiny, one of the beds had a bent leg. There was not enough room for the amount of beds. We also had a group tun up at 2 am and as you have to make the bed yourselves we were woken up. ( if the hostel knows people are checking I late, they should per make the beds!!!!)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesca Giglia

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact that there was a cat, called Jarrod, so beautiful. So it was a homely atmosphere.

Disliked: That there was no TV. TV would of been good to watch at night after a long day sightseeing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andres Arredondo Ramirez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: The show era are ok and it was not that mess as orher hostels at night

Disliked: The crew is not that helpful and the breakfast was only oat, not even milk

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a home, which is much needed during a long backpacking trip. It was a homey place, and I was pleasantly surprised, since I was expecting NYC to be all urban. It was nice to be in a place with a yard and a cat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and there were computers we could use for free. I stayed in a few other hostels in NYC that would charge you for everything, including usage of computer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean friendly staff market and metro one block away

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2014

Liked: The people from Europe staying there.

Disliked: It seemed to be a construction zone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was comfortable and the staff were nice. It's a small hostel so if you were expecting tours and events, you should stay at the larger hostels. Also, it's for people who are into exploring the culture of real NYC living. Not just going out to the bars and getting drunk everyday.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, staff and cat

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was nice

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this guesthouse in January and March and both times was nice. The first time it was january so it wasn't that full, but March was very lively and I met some great people. If you travel by yourself it's great to have a homey communal vibe at the guesthouse.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff were friendly, and met some great people to see the city with. The property is close to the subway, easy access to Williamsburg and union square.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostel experience that I've had. They have a nice outdoor space in the back and the atmosphere was very relaxed. It was great to get to experience real NYC by staying in Brooklyn

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice and it was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014

Liked: It was pretty clean.

Disliked: The staff, especially the manager. From the get-go, we were bombarded with e-mail and texts asking when we were going to get to the hostel, presumably because they wanted to leave before their shift was over. When we got there, the worker said he just did what the computer told him to and couldn't answer any questions. We had a question about payment so waited to talk to the manager, who didn't come to her shift on time and wasted our whole morning just waiting. Then, we got a hostile e-mail from her, complete with angry voicemails telling us we would have to leave because we didn't pay the 80 out of 280, because we were still waiting to talk to her about what was going on (the payment showed up less on the website then they asked for when we got there). When we finally talked to her in person, she straight-up lied about the services and blamed hostelbookers.com. We told her how we felt and she nodded, glassy-eyed, not taking anything in. All she cares about is the money, period. Afterwards I heard her gossiping to another co-worker about us, in the middle of the common area! How this place managed to win Best Atmosphere is beyond me, I felt like I was being bullied by a stuck-up middle schooler.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bob marley said life is oe big road with lots of signs. this is a small hostel with lots of signs.. all over place.. on wall and cabinets.. so u know what to do .. ok its not very big.. its in ok hood.. near subway cheap if u sgtay five nights.. cheaper... not extrodinary.. i thought it was going to be different. just a town house or duplex ... and basics...

Disliked: it was small rooms and kind of cramp , but somewhat clean.. mix dorms. cash only.. small kitchen and eat area for all those people.. well allot of signos all over telling you where stuff is and other.. u can only check in certain hours.. or fees occur. i dont know where the 24 seven maker ur own breakfast was about..?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan McDonald

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2014 Meghan would recommend this property

Liked: Very homey

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the guests and staff were great. Very relaxed environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is clean and had great people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and close to subway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily one of the best hostels as far as small hostels go. It's a relaxed vibe so if you were expecting a large party hostel, this is not for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014

Liked: good atmosphere and cheap.

Disliked: after made reservation i was moved to nother hostel. beds very cramped, Slept in basement with no window and a wáter pipe bove my head which made a horrible sound all the time. seriously overcrowded kitchen. location quite far out