We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NYC Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 272 Putnam Ave, New York City, New York, USA 11216

79.8% Overall Rating

274 out of 353 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2015)

"Very cosy hostel and I love Brooklyn. The subway was really close and there are shops/cafes nearby."

Read all NYC Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

“PLEASE NOTE: After booking you will receive our e-mail address. To fully secure your booking, you’ll need to e-mail your card security code of the card you used when booking (the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) and your zip code (postal code of the address on record with your credit card). This is to ensure that you are the legitimate card-holder who made the booking. Failure to do so can result in losing your reservation.” If you want to CANCEL or CHANGE your reservation, you must notify us at least 3 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL, so that an alternate can be found to take your spot. We reserve the right to charge your credit card in full for cancellations made less than 3 days before arrival. Note: TAXES ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE BOOKING PRICE. The New York Tax for accommodations less than 30 days is 14.75%.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Five Spot Loft
25.00 USD

Hostel 76.5% 103 reviews
NY Moore Hostel
34.00 USD

Hostel 89.6% 165 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
36.95 USD

Hostel 86.2% 159 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
50.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 446 reviews
Serenity at Home
62.50 USD

Apartment 92.3% 50 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
50.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Pacific Loft Apartments
30.00 USD

Apartment 65.8% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

274 out of 353 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NYC Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 260 of 314 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness of staff, hospitable ambiance

Disliked: Girl's underwear beneath our bed the first night, should set up a 20-minute limit for bathroom usage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean. I stayed in the winter so not that many people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Serpe Boyer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 February 2015 Serpe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great.

Disliked: Serpe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy hostel and I love Brooklyn. The subway was really close and there are shops/cafes nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Filipe Filipovitz Vollmer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2015 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is generally friendly.

Disliked: The breakfast that they claim to be 24 hours is actually only Cereal. Don't really count with it. They also do not accept credit cards you have to bring money and there's a 14.8% tax that is not well specified on here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has very kind staff.

Disliked: It doesnt any event.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jordano lucero

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2014 jordano would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Maybe a little bit of powder if you're allergic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The room was small but cute.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 September 2014

Liked: I met some nice people. The room was clean. The manager help me out even though I had a lot of questions :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the property with my friend. The staff was nice and helpful even though we booked the wrong dates. The room was clean and there is a nice backyard.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Brooklyn. Close to subway

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2014

Liked: small place, smaller rooms are on first floor where it's a bit quieter and private

Disliked: very small, very unprofessional, responsible staff is not around all the time, cash payment only, extra fee if you stay less than 5 nights, free breakfast is just cereals and pancake mix and you have to bring your own milk, yogurt, ...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014

Liked: Not alot

Disliked: To over crowded ! Unorganised and it smelt bad

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nils Lehmbruck

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Nils would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is like a big family here with a common living room and kitchen. There's even a common cat. On hot days you can sit and relax in the backyard

Disliked: The rooms are to small for so many beds. The showers were filthy. Breakfast is not really breakfast. You just get cereals (without milk), coffee and do-it-yourself pancakes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fun time staying here. Room was clean, fast internet, and great people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good experience overall. It was very social and the backyard was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and the staff were nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Scott Backler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff! Great facilities that work well!

Disliked: No wifi from my bed - not the end of the world just an added bonus if you could get wifi there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the cheapest hostels so great value. The place is chill and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Barbara Alvarez Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Little and cozy property, it felt like home. Easy to meet other travellers. Yard, kitchen

Disliked: Breakfast is not really included, there was only coffee, tea and oats. Only one bathroom for 15 people. Not very clean, but not dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: The hostel is close to public transport, but on the G-Line. Which is very unreliable, we waited an hour & a half for a train on a Friday evening! The rooms are tiny, one of the beds had a bent leg. There was not enough room for the amount of beds. We also had a group tun up at 2 am and as you have to make the bed yourselves we were woken up. ( if the hostel knows people are checking I late, they should per make the beds!!!!)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francesca Giglia

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact that there was a cat, called Jarrod, so beautiful. So it was a homely atmosphere.

Disliked: That there was no TV. TV would of been good to watch at night after a long day sightseeing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andres Arredondo Ramirez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: The show era are ok and it was not that mess as orher hostels at night

Disliked: The crew is not that helpful and the breakfast was only oat, not even milk

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a home, which is much needed during a long backpacking trip. It was a homey place, and I was pleasantly surprised, since I was expecting NYC to be all urban. It was nice to be in a place with a yard and a cat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.