HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Boutiques Hostel

Hostel | 450 West 46th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10036

63.7% Overall Rating

116 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2013)

"Fantastic location, felt very safe which was important to me for being alone in NYC. Main contact person was fairly amiable for a NewYorker. Even though it didn't have a traditional hostel setup, I was fortunate to stay…"

Read all Boutiques Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Specifications: Booking: online booking only. - No walk-in reservation. - Minimum stay: 5 nights for reservations - Maximum stay: 30 nights - Monthly stays also available Please note for booking over $1000 will need to pay in advance and New Year Eve Holiday season Important info: Adults only from 18-50 years old - Cancellations: 3 days before arrival (by email) - Identification: valid passport or photo id required at check-in: - Check in: 2:00pm - Check out: 11:00am - Restrictions: no smoking and no drinking. Daily office hours are from 10:00am to 11:00pm. All check-ins after 11:00pm must notify us and pay a late fee $20 Payment methods: Only Cash or Travellers’ Checks Accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

AWA New York Downtown Hostel
78.54 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 45.1% 19 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
36.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.0% 11 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
38.75 USD

Hotel 67.2% 243 reviews
Hotel 31
59.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 942 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 77.3% 333 reviews
Hotel 309
46.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.7%

Overall Rating

116 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Boutiques Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
66.4%
Value
56.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 158 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, felt very safe which was important to me for being alone in NYC. Main contact person was fairly amiable for a NewYorker. Even though it didn't have a traditional hostel setup, I was fortunate to stay with great international company throughout the two weeks that I was there.

Disliked: bathroom was kind of dirty, saw some ants crawling around, garbage kind of over flowed

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013

Liked: Really good location, for me right next to Times Square and Central Park and the subway (although to be fair, everything in Manhattan is a good location). Beds were comfortable. Free wi-fi. Owner was quite helpful and friendly. Comfortable bed sheets and towels provided.

Disliked: Hardly any atmosphere (although might have just been the housemates I had). Dirty bathroom, and gammy taps, was there for a week and never saw a cleaner. General air of dodginess - in an email, many basic spelling errors, including misspelling of Google Maps (how do you get that wrong??) and had to pay in cash once I got there (after I had to wait out the front for the owner). No front desk or reception, only phone number of owner given. There was a kitchen, but there were about 5 implements, and only plastic cutlery. Also, incredibly dark - only one window (although not seeing the sun might be a New York thing)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012

Liked: The location was excellent, on a quiet street but only a street or 2 away from Time Square and the Rockefeller Centre

Disliked: Firstly, the man who ran the apartments only accepted cash or travellers cheque, so that resulted in me running around New York searching for ATMs to withdraw over $1000 for my week stay rather than pay the lot by card which would have taken less than a minute. The room was tiny with a set of bunk beds and no air conditioning, only a small desk fan. As a result, in the height of summer, I got barely any sleep. The window didn't open and it faced onto a brick wall. This is not a hostel, it is a couple of apartments. I was texted from the owner a week or so before I arrived to tell me a change in location, which made me nervous to say the least. The value for money was awful. Yes it is close to Time Square, but it just simply isn't worth it for that money and discomfort. Save an extra couple of hundred dollars and stay in a proper hotel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

LIU HAO

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 July 2012

Liked: no

Disliked: no

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Johnny was friendly, prompt to answer questions or concerns. Went out of his way to be helpful...Thank you Johnny

Disliked: NO TV

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alicia Sampedro Montañés

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012

Liked: The location, but it's not worthy...

Disliked: The whole experience was awful, but I'll tell you the whole story We were 8 people going to New York so we booked 2 apartments, one for 6 people and one for 5 people, because we wanted to have space and 2 bathrooms. After we booked, the owner wrote me an email to ask if we wanted to stay together in an 8 people apartment, but we refused the offer beacuse WE WANTED 2 BATHROOMS. Then, the day before we travelled he wrote me to say that the two apartments we have rented were unavaliable and that we had to stay together in one apartment. I had to say that we agreed because it was high season and we hadn't time to search for another thing, but we didn't want to stay in just one apartment. When we arrived there, things got worst. the apartment for 8 people was really tiny, with, believe me, one bed in the kicthen and three bulk beds. It was imposible that 8 people could stay there for one week. We tried to look for something else but all hostels were full, and when we were about to leave, suddenly, he says that he has another apartment in another building for 4 people, and that we can split and stay 4 people in the "8 apartment"and 4 in the other one. Why did he wait so long to tell us this? I suppouse that he was waiting to see if we stayed in the apartment so he could rent the other one and earn more money... The other apartment was tiny, with just one room with 2 double beds and kitchen, but at least, we could have 2 bathrooms. Also, both apartments were really really dirty,even the bed clothes were dirty, one smell tobacco that even with the window open the whole week we still could smell it, there were clothes in the closet (I think somebody used to live there and he left this week to rent the apartment, that's the only explanation I found) and worst of all, there were cockroaches in one of them running in the kitchen... So please, if you go to New York, don't stay here, don't make the same mistake we did...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 March 2012

Liked: close to times square

Disliked: the supposed "deluxe twin room" is just a small room with no windows and a bunk bed, with 4 other people sleeping in the same apartment with you so there is still no privacy. for the price (around 1000 USD with tax) might as well just top up a bit more and stay in a motel.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012

Liked: the only things good about this property (as you cannot call it a hostel) are location and comfortable mattresses

Disliked: this is not a real hostel but a small flat where 6 beds have been put in! there's no reception which means that you might end up waiting outside if you arrive a bit earlier than originally planned. no socialising either as there's no place to meet other travellers or talk to staff. no laundry facilities. it's dirty and the owner doesn't care about this at all saying it's 'new york standard'. it's all fraud!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: DO NOT GO THERE, THERE ARE BED BUGS EVERYWHERE!! I HAVE TO CHANGE OF LOCATION BECAUSE I HAD BED BUGS ALL OVER MY BODY, I HAD TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL AND TO CHANGE MY FLIGHT TO COME BACK EARLIER!! IT IS A NIGHTMARE!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location. It's within walking distance from Central Park and Times Square and everything like Grocery Store, Drug Store, Bakery etc. are just around the corner.The staff members were friendly and also very helpful.I'd definitely recommend this hostel to everyone.It's the best hostel I've ever stayed in in NYC.

Disliked: That I had to leave.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Mak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect.

Disliked: No negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence Yeh

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to times square, the staff was also helpful. Very nice set up as you see in the picture and pretty clean. Had a great time here.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is very cleaned, the bedroom was confortable and we have a little kitchen and living room in each apartment. And the best is the location, pretty close to Times Squares and subway.

Disliked: No negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and comfortable beds. Cool economic accomodation, simple yet very surprising. NYC right on your doorstep.

Disliked: Pretty much nothing to dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had an amazing location - far enough from touristy areas to be quiet at night and safe, but close enough to Times Square and other areas for a short, easy, walk! Owner is helpful & quite friendly, no curfew or anything so we could come and go as we liked and it was also helpful to be able to leave our bags there after 'check-out' time (so it's not as strict on the check-out time)

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked about this property was it had a slight cleanliness issue - this may have been due to the girls we were staying with. On the whole the cleanliness was fine and the sheets were clean and stuff but on occasion the bathroom had hairs everywhere etc.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: it's not a hostel! it is a couple of apartments in a building with no reception and no common area. so if want to go in a hostel and meet people there, thats the wrong place for you. the apartment kitchen is very bad equipped.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Peyman Fattahieh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Peyman would recommend this property

Liked: Very good matress hot water good location comfortable

Disliked: No atmosphete no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Lewis

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2011 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location close to Times Square and all attraction. Very well organize and clean. The staff answer all of our question and was very helpful. Great place to stay for the New Year Drop.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location...very close to Times Square!

Disliked: Not really a hostel! it is more an apartment!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and very safe

Disliked: you have to go through other bedroom to use toilet and shower whi h is extrmely small! landlord also used the appartment as office so not very private!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Duccio Alabiso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011

Liked: very clean... the day we arrived. then the staff never showed up to clean.

Disliked: it's just a shared apartment. saw the staff only the day we arrived. 7 people in our "4 people" room and in the 6 nights we spent there nobody came to clean up. and that's despite the absurd price of 50 $/night/person.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: The free internet

Disliked: It's not a hostel, there is no communal area for meeting people. I was in a 6man apartment and my bunk was basically in the corridor/kitchen. I checked-in in one building and then had to trek 4 blocks to where I was actually staying, so it's not the address given on the website. There was no cutlery, just a couple of plastic forks, no cooking equipment although there was a gas cooker. I did email the 'hostel' but had no replies to any of my emails regarding cleaning and kitchen equipment. The girls I was sharing with, two of them had to move apartments for their last night which was highly inconvenient for them. If you are looking for an actual hostel do not stay here! book in advance and stay somewhere else!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Angelique Nonorgue

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Angelique would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price.

Disliked: My bed wasn't a matress but a springer very hard and unconfortable!! The "room" wasn't clean every day and if you had dirty roomates, you had dirty room!! No good isolation around the window and it was cold inside the room

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wir haben dieses Hostel ok gefunden. Der Vermieter erwartete uns und führte uns zu unserem 3 Blocks entfernten Appartment! Wir waren zu 3t und teilten uns ein 5 Bett appartment! wobei zu sagen ist, wenn dort 5 Personen in einem raum wohnen wirds sehr eng! ein Pärchen war im Privat Room! Das blöde war das wir nach 4 tagen umziehen mussten, angeblich weil die Rohre im Haus saniert werden! Das zweite Appartment war noch kleiner aber auch ok! Noch etwas zur Sauberkeit: vom Boden würd ich nicht essen wollen, aber sonst ok!

Disliked: Das wir umziehen mussten war nicht besonders angenehm aber verlief ohne probleme. Und die Sauberkeit, aber nicht so das man sich eckelt!