We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Boutiques Hostel

Hostel | 450 West 46th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10036

61.5% Overall Rating

116 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2013)

"Fantastic location, felt very safe which was important to me for being alone in NYC. Main contact person was fairly amiable for a NewYorker. Even though it didn't have a traditional hostel setup, I was fortunate to stay…"

Read all Boutiques Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Specifications: Booking: online booking only. - No walk-in reservation. - Minimum stay: 5 nights for reservations - Maximum stay: 30 nights - Monthly stays also available Please note for booking over $1000 will need to pay in advance and New Year Eve Holiday season Important info: Adults only from 18-50 years old - Cancellations: 3 days before arrival (by email) - Identification: valid passport or photo id required at check-in: - Check in: 2:00pm - Check out: 11:00am - Restrictions: no smoking and no drinking. Daily office hours are from 10:00am to 11:00pm. All check-ins after 11:00pm must notify us and pay a late fee $20 Payment methods: Only Cash or Travellers’ Checks Accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Times Square House
69.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
72.89 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
16.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 71.3% 248 reviews
Hotel 31
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.8% 946 reviews
Chelsea Inn
49.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.5%

Overall Rating

116 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Boutiques Hostel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
53.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 159 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Klaus-Tilmann Meinhof

22 June 2010 Klaus-Tilmann would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the fact that I was given my own keys for the house so that I could come and go whenever I pleased.

Disliked: Klaus-Tilmann left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tia Jackson

22 June 2010 Tia would recommend this property

Liked: The location was ideal, one of the nicest and most confortable hostels I have stayed in. I stayed in an all girls dorm, there was 6 of us there we had our own bathroom and kitchen to ourselves, a huge flatscreen TV, and a nice little courtyard out the back!! I really liked this place and would definitely stay here again if I happen to go back to NY. Johnny the manager was really lovely and very helpful and happy to accommodate. I definitely rate this place and it would be the first place I go to if I stay in NY again.

Disliked: Tia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is a kitchen, but no equipment... - so what is the kitchen for?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 June 2010

Liked: This place is conveniently located, but if you want a place that's fun to stay rather than just a bed to sleep in, give it a miss. Make sure to arrive at the time you specified at booking, otherwise it''s likely the owner will not be there. Also, write down their number before you arrive so that if you know you're getting there later or earlier, you can tell them and they won't charge you fees or threaten to give away your room (the latter of which happened to us). We booked two beds in a six-bed dorm room. We were given a three-bed room instead, but with a double bunk-bed and we were told to share the bottom. While it was nice to have a smaller room, no one else stayed in our room the three nights we were there, so there was no reason we couldn't have used separate beds like we paid for.The bathrooms are some of the worst we've seen in New York. Our shared bathroom was tiny, and it was not cleaned during our stay. This was particularly evident from their 'Don't flush the toilet paper in the the toilet. throw it in this bin' policy. That bin was not emptied.There is airconditioning, linen, and a computer with Internet as well as Wifi, and it is pretty close to restaurants and public transport. If that's all you want, then it's fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.... Perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its very comfortable, close to times square, the staff is very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

29 March 2010

Liked: the only employee i met, johnny, was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to touristic places in manhattan

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

11 January 2010

Liked: not much. I liked the location. The guy who ran the place was friendly but chain smoked and the hostel just stank of cigarettes. I found the quality of the place to be very poor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location , clean . Downside, the owner is rude and there are no signs indicating it is a hostel from the outside of the building .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hian Kai Kwa

04 January 2010 Hian Kai would recommend this property

Liked: No lockers available. Facilities good and clean. Could use more toilets per guest, the morning rush for bathrooms takes a long time.

Disliked: Hian Kai left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 January 2010

Liked: Location, but definitely not the amentities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.