HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Boutiques Hostel

Hostel | 450 West 46th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10036

63.1% Overall Rating

115 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2013)

"Fantastic location, felt very safe which was important to me for being alone in NYC. Main contact person was fairly amiable for a NewYorker. Even though it didn't have a traditional hostel setup, I was fortunate to stay…"

Read all Boutiques Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Specifications: Booking: online booking only. - No walk-in reservation. - Minimum stay: 5 nights for reservations - Maximum stay: 30 nights - Monthly stays also available Please note for booking over $1000 will need to pay in advance and New Year Eve Holiday season Important info: Adults only from 18-50 years old - Cancellations: 3 days before arrival (by email) - Identification: valid passport or photo id required at check-in: - Check in: 2:00pm - Check out: 11:00am - Restrictions: no smoking and no drinking. Daily office hours are from 10:00am to 11:00pm. All check-ins after 11:00pm must notify us and pay a late fee $20 Payment methods: Only Cash or Travellers’ Checks Accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Times Square House
55.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 211 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.8% 199 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
101.14 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 46.2% 12 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Equity Point New York @ Times Square
68.25 USD

Hostel 83.2% 192 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.1%

Overall Rating

115 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Boutiques Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
66.4%
Value
56.8%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 156 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: shared bathroom for private room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

winnie lin

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2010 winnie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people here. Great location close to everything and clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter kau

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location! Only two block from times square. Comfortable beds and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The hostel was not clean. The bathroom on our floor didn't work so we had to go up 2 floors to use another bathroom. There were also bare wires hanging from light fittings and a large hole in the wall of every room - presumably for ventilation?! The location of the hostel building was also not where we were told it would be. Luckily, it was in an equally good location as the main hostel address.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Malene Lundsgaard

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 November 2010 Malene would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. We only saw the staff when arriving, but the guy who took us to "our" appartment was frindly. Nice with the free internet connection.

Disliked: It wasn't that clean, they didn't change our towels or the kitchen towel eventhoug it was dirty. They had forgotten to give us linen. One day there wasn't any hot water or heat on. It would be nice with a chair in the private bedroom.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gonzalo Gallardo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 November 2010

Liked: The Hostel has high rates for the quality of the service... it was the worst and the most expensive experience in hostels.It's not a hostel. Basicly the owner just gave me the room keys and I didn't see him again. There's not any staff...

Disliked: The bathroom was filthy and stinking. The room was small, without air conditioning system and with a window that allows the mosquitos entrance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Meijer

Alone

City break

07 November 2010 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and very save!

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: The private double room was as big as the bed itself. There was no cupboards in the room to store luggage.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

julie watson

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 October 2010 julie would recommend this property

Liked: the shower was great - very hot and good pressure. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and they were always friendly when we saw them, and had access to the computer and kitchenette. Everything was kept clean and our room was big enough for 3. Great location only 15 min walk to time square and central park, realtively quiet outside.

Disliked: Kitchenette only had a microwave, so no cooking meals - good enough to prepare cereal for breakfast though. Matresses very very hard but you get used to it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CELY LUZ DEINNY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 October 2010 CELY would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, we had always clean's towels during the stay.

Disliked: CELY left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The appartment was very unclean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chantelle Lloyd

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2010 Chantelle would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, free internet and friendly staff.

Disliked: There are no signs letting you know of their presence. I walked all the way to the end of the avenue before asking a local! The bathroom is tiny!!!!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2010

Liked: the location was quite ok.

Disliked: you stay in your apartment rooms, there is no other place to stay and sit down for a while. not personal.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 September 2010

Liked: Room I stayed in on the 2nd and 3rd night was clean.

Disliked: I arrived and wasdumped in a room without being told where I was in the city or where the bathroom and kitchen was. The staff who greeted me were rude and unhelpful. There was no atmosphere untilI changed rooms on the 2nd day. If you want a lively place where you can meet other people and have helpful staff then stay somewhere else!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is clean.

Disliked: I lived for only 3 days, but I have to change my room from 53 street to 40 street. Although I changed to a better location and a better room, I really want to stay in the same room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, nice and clean hostel, great rooms with own kitchen, friendly staff, etc, etc

Disliked: I liked everything, but I heard that other people did not like the lack of community areas in the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really kind and helpfull. Me and my friend met nice people. We could use the computer for free and make abroad calls for cheap prices.

Disliked: The bathroom was small and not that clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Songyao Jiang

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

04 August 2010 Songyao would recommend this property

Liked: no comments

Disliked: no comments

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, great location, great value

Disliked: No complaints

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Nee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 July 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the female dorms- which are REALLY nice! I've stayed in a lot of different hostels in New York and this one was by far the nicest! It's more like an apartment except with bunk beds. There's a private kitchen and bathroom. I didn't have any problems with having to wait around to use the bathroom or kitchen but I'd imagine if the hostel was full it could be annoying! It's more expensive but it's in the heart of things and only a couple of blocks from the subway.

Disliked: There's nothing I particularly disliked. The beds were comfortable enough, not the worst, but not the best either! It's up to your room mates to clean up after themselves and keep the place clean so that could be a bit of a problem. Apart from that it was an enjoyable stay!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 July 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: kitchen, cleanliness of bathroom, no enterainment, wifi didn't work

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Svante Hedtröm

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2010 Svante would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. Central and well communicated. Price wasn't too bad either considering this. Nice beds, well air-conditioned.

Disliked: One single bathroom with shower for too many guests. Lines formed to go to the bathroom, and it quickly got a little unclean in there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for eveyone who wants to be in the city centre.

Disliked: It appears that you are checked in to a four bed room and suddenly staying there for five.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. I got a really good night sleep. When I come back to New York I'm going stay here at Boutiques again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.