We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Boutiques Hostel

Hostel | 450 West 46th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10036

61.5% Overall Rating

116 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2013)

"Fantastic location, felt very safe which was important to me for being alone in NYC. Main contact person was fairly amiable for a NewYorker. Even though it didn't have a traditional hostel setup, I was fortunate to stay…"

Read all Boutiques Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Specifications: Booking: online booking only. - No walk-in reservation. - Minimum stay: 5 nights for reservations - Maximum stay: 30 nights - Monthly stays also available Please note for booking over $1000 will need to pay in advance and New Year Eve Holiday season Important info: Adults only from 18-50 years old - Cancellations: 3 days before arrival (by email) - Identification: valid passport or photo id required at check-in: - Check in: 2:00pm - Check out: 11:00am - Restrictions: no smoking and no drinking. Daily office hours are from 10:00am to 11:00pm. All check-ins after 11:00pm must notify us and pay a late fee $20 Payment methods: Only Cash or Travellers’ Checks Accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Times Square House
69.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
72.89 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
16.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 71.3% 248 reviews
Hotel 31
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.8% 946 reviews
Chelsea Inn
49.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.5%

Overall Rating

116 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Boutiques Hostel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
53.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 159 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, it's really near Time Square.

Disliked: My room was nothing to do with the pictures in the website. It wasn't cleaned every day and I have to buy toilet paper. There was no locker and we had no internet access during one day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - 51st Street is walking distance to Times Square and surrounds. My sister and I shared a private twin room within a larger apartment that had 4 other girls coming and going, and though we shared the bathroom, the kitchen was just like a normal apartment.

Disliked: Boutique Hostels has several different locations, and I don't think there's a way to guarantee which one you'll stay at. When we arrived we were told we'd be staying on 46th Street for one night then we'd be moved to 51st Street the next day. This was inconvenient - I asked for and received a discount - but once established at 51st Street we had a great stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sabrina Ramiles

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price

Disliked: The cleaner dont go everyday

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well situated

Disliked: bathroom very small and not clean

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nick Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011

Liked: Hostel was in a good location as described. Close to most central attractions and only short walk from most transport links.

Disliked: The room was not very clean. The bathroom was falling apart and far from clean; I had strong suspicions that a Yeti had been living in the room prior to our arrival. The bunks we had were in dire need of some maintenance as they creaked with every movement. The front door and hallway areas were in need of smartening up. Upon our arrival we questioned exactly what we had gotten ourselves into. After reaching the room we realised it wasn't all that bad, but still left a lot to be desired.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect only a few blocks from times square!

Disliked: The bathroom was not cleaned! There was no toilet paper and the shower was distuguisting!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was really good location just around the corner from time square! It had a kitchen but it didn't have any pots or pans to cook with, which makes the kitchen pointless.....

Disliked: No pots...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not clean, also I was meant to be in a 3 female bedroom dorm but we were actually sharing with 2 other people, one being a male.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location- a five minute walk from Times Square. Good wifi Large fridge Comfortable beds Seperate room

Disliked: Poor cleanliness No cutlery, very few plates/bowls considering it is advertised for five people. Shower was scalding and intermitant Air conditioning in seperate room was broken

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sang mi park

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011 sang mi would recommend this property

Liked: it was safe a good location near to everything, kind people, I love it

Disliked: its nice with that price!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, my appartment was just 3 blocks from Times Square. Had very nice roommates.

Disliked: It wasn't really a hostel, more like appartments throughout the area that are rented as hostel rooms. There wasn't a reception where you could go and get some information, only the phone number of the owner. It was alright because it was my second time in New York and I knew my way around, but I would not recommend this hostel for first time visitors.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Julia Kelly

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME location! 10-15 minute to Times Square, 20 minute walk to Central Park, really happy with the location. The hostel room i stayed in was like an apartment so had a kitchenette with a fridge, a very welcome sight! Bunk beds comfy.

Disliked: Bathroom old and very dirty

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the beds are really comfortable and the girls usually are nice as well.

Disliked: They don't clean much, the bathroom is horrible! The bulding inside is falling apart and have a renovation going on right now so expect a lot of noise very early in the morning. The walls are very thin so u can rear everything that's going on in the bulding. The bedroom was really hot! No ac, no fan only a whole that he expected to make cooler... :-( The living room is def not a bad option.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: After I checked out, it was not easy to leave the luggage there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with modern facilities. There were two bunk beds in the lounge room and a separate 1 bedroom for couples. I shared the lounge room with 3 others. There was plenty of room when full. The kitchen was also great. Microwave, fridge and stove/oven.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome roomates and wonderful staff.

Disliked: Pretty much nothing to dislike other than super thin toilet paper

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location with walking distance to anything.

Disliked: No safety lookers so you have to trust your room mates (which you can do most of the times). The kitchen isn't really functional. There are a lot of bunk beds in a small room. You get what you pay for. You get a clean bed. It's expencive, but NYC IS expencive.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2011

Liked: location excellent

Disliked: Dirty

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011

Liked: Wasnt anywhere near as close to Times Square as we were told but it wasnt a bad walk.

Disliked: The apartment wasnt clean. We had trouble getting in and out multiple times as the door/door handle kept stuffing up. We had to wait for one of the girls staying inside to wake up one night so that she could open the door for us. There was no mutual area to hang out. Very stuffy inside the private room. No towels. Wi-fi was unreliable. There was a disgusting smell at times, this probably resulting from a build up of trash over numerous days. We ran out of toilet paper and had to wait at least a day for the manager to come replace. Very tiny bathroom with suspicious looking objects above the shower. We were supposed to stay there 11 nights but we ended up staying 3.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is just the best place to stay in NYC. It´s in very short walking distance to time square, in walking distance to central park and close to several little grocery stores as well as little cafés, restaurants and bars. Johnny, the host is awesome. We were delayed (arrived by train) and he waited for us right in front of the apartment so we didn´t had to go to the office first. Our apartment was very clean, well eqipped and lovely decorated with aircondition which was absolutely necessary and a lot of space for our luggage. We just loved it and will definately return to this place on our next trip to New York.

Disliked: That we had to leave it :)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Not crowd. Good if you want a quiet night

Disliked: Long walk from subway. Real lack of common space and cooking facilities.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Vogan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It was central, clean and in a nice neighbourhood.

Disliked: It was under development at the time, there was a full kitchen, cooker and fridge but no pots, pans, plates etc. I asked for some and received a stack of paper plates and a few plastic forks. Don't know how I can cook pasta with that?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is more like a flat that you would share with the others guests as it's small -8 guests max - so you get at once a friendly atmosphere. The place is nice: lots of space, big kitchen and flat screen, wireless internet... Location is great, near Central Park and Times Square, and with all transportation facilities.

Disliked: I'm not sure the place has been cleaned everyday. Was fine though as we guests were clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was overall a satisfactory experience and this place really suited me well. The location was really perfect, Midtown Manhattan! Metro is just a few blocks away and the whole neighborhood seemed to be a very safe area. Boutiques Hostel isn't really an ordinary hostel. It is an apartment type which gave me a lot of freedom. The staff handed me the keys for the apartment so I could come back at any time I wanted. Although I stayed in a shared dorm, none of my stuff got lost or stolen. Also, the complementary high speed Wi-Fi service was very nice. I'll definitely come back to stay at this place next time I visit NYC!! :)

Disliked: I stayed at a shared room. So inevitably, I had to wait for my turn to use the bathroom in the morning and it would've been better if they gave more towels. Oh well, you'll need to make some compromises if you're staying in a hostel and especially in a shared dorm.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was the location.

Disliked: Not a hostel but an apartment, so, no reception, no safety cause all your belongs stay inside the apartment with NO LOCKER and as everybody has a key you`re never sure if you`re gonna come back and find all your luggage there once there is no reception and nobody looking to that.