We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
24.50 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
54.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI - New York City NYC Hostel
54.99 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 679 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 1178 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very easy to locate. clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: lots of doors banging during the night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: good location very close to central park and subway access. You can take the 1 train all the way downtown to battery park.

Disliked: only 1 bathroom for many people. if someone is showering you have to wait to use the toilet.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gregory Wolf

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 August 2011 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: the beds seemed clean

Disliked: there were a few cockroach spottings

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gareth Askew

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 August 2011 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and easy going atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathrooms were very basic and in need of renovation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: I like the stuff especially the guy at the registrer, David, was very helpful and nice

Disliked: They don't check id of every person who live on their property. In our room money were stolen and one guy disappear, when they tried to find him they didn't have his id number.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 August 2011

Liked: el trato con los otros viajeros.

Disliked: el hotel nos volvió a cobrar el 10% que ya nos había cobrado Bookers!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, almost new bathrooms.

Disliked: Location is pretty far away from centre, But can be reached by the metro.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Boswarva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 August 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It was in an excellent location, authentically new york. Everything about my stay was enjoyable. The staff were lovely and very helpful. I felt safe and secure and it was very clean

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was dirty, very very old.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to two subway stations. It has locker inside the rooms and free wifi.

Disliked: I booked an ensuite room, but there are no ensuite rooms in this hotel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Siobhan Beaton

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2011 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was a big benefit for this hostel. It is located one street away from Broadway and one street away from the Metro.

Disliked: The decor is very erratic, the room I was in was very basic but serviceable although there was a hole in the ceiling. The bathrooms are not all up to the same standard although apparently this is a work in progress, however there are simply not enough bathrooms to go around and the lack of separate toilets is a huge inconvenience. The minimum wait each morning for the bathroom was 20 mins even after canvassing each floor for an available bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff it's Excellent!!!

Disliked: the Cleanliness of their bathrooms it's not too good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Booth

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the subway. My room was clean and tidy

Disliked: I missed having an urn or electric jug to fill my coffee plunger and there was no bulb in my bed side light. I have no idea what accommodation costs are in New York but Jazz on Amsterdam was the most expensive place I have ever stayed in. I will probably not return to New York because most of my money went on accommodation.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient to go into Midtown, Downtown or Uptown within minutes by Metro and also bus stops right around the corner to take you to Times Square and/or other well known NYC attractions

Disliked: the air-condition should work in ALL rooms, I've heard many complaints from other guests and on my first night I myself was in a room where the AC did not work. At 90 degrees Fahrenheit outside, it felt like more than 100 degrees Fahrenheit INSIDE the room, which was extremely hard to sustain!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: the facilities and the price. much to expensive!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011

Liked: The stuff was kind, there was a lounge with a big TV and the hostel was near the Central Park

Disliked: Das war keine Küche, sondern nur zwei elektrische Herdplatten, die nicht funktionieren und außerdem war es viel zu teuer. Beim buchen wurde uns gesagt, dass es 40 $ kostet, aber da kamen dann nich die Steuern + 3,5 $ pro Bett hinzu und außerdem kostet es am Wochenende nochmal mehr.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly good location, close to the subway so it's easy to get around.

Disliked: There aren't enough bathrooms, there was a line up every morning. One of them didn't have any soap the whole time I was there even though I told the guy at the front desk it needed refilling. And in another one the shower flooded every time. Cleanliness wasn't too bad but it could've been much better. The wifi wasn't working very well and was only available in the basement.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011

Liked: It is close to Central Park and two subway stations.

Disliked: About half the bathrooms were ´being renovated` but they were just old and not renovated in the 10 days I was there. There were no curtains on the windows so we were woken up by the early morning sun. It was very expensive for what it was.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maron van der Krieken

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011

Liked: The metro was close and you could be in Central Park in 10 minutes.

Disliked: The pictures show a nice, clean and modern hostel. In reality, it was a dirty, small and old place where I would never return to. They show great pictures that don't match the reality. They say they are close to everything, in a nice neighbourhood, but is reality it's a 45 minute walk to Times Square and the bars etc. they mention aren't that great. The museums they mention are not at a 10 minute walk, but at a 30 minute walk. The floor of our room was very dirty; there was a hairball on the floor. What they didn't mention on the site was that there are a lot of people living in the building, it is not only a hostel. The people that live there have cats and so there was a lot of cat hair in the hall. Last but not least, there's no airconditioning in every room. When we were in New York, there was a heatwave and even in the middle of the night it was still 35 degrees celcius. If we had known that there was no airconditioning, we would've never booked the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the lounge, the kitchen, the fridge inside the room

Disliked: the bathroom, some places need to be refurbished

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Central Park but be aware that the subway does not run to the closest station at night and you have to catch an express train further north then transit back down south on a local train - may be considered unsafe for single or female travelers. Linen and breakfast provided free. Good wifi in lounge or reception area. Very helpful front desk staff.

Disliked: Make sure your room has air conditioning in summers peak season as it gets quite hot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That there was shower and toilet inside the room

Disliked: Male staff entering the female room without waiting for being allowed in the room. Very bad. That the price I was given when I arrived was higher than what I arranged on the website. Quite disappointing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 July 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: The lights and air conditioning were not working on the night of my stay. The staff did not really do anything about the issue. It was almost impossible to sleep in the heat and was not worth the high price we paid.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: free Wi-fi lounge

Disliked: restrooms 4th floor no aircondition in the bedrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011

Liked: some of the staff is helpful. kitchen is alright. guys i know this is like the cheapest one of hostelbooker but there are plenty cheap hostels in nyc and they are way better! im glad i only booked for 3 days. Even though some of them are full online but actually u can always find 1 bed even during weekends at other hostels. So just book for 1 or 2 nights and start looking for when u get here.

Disliked: bed is tiny and smells so bad! so overcharged.