We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

70.1% Overall Rating

299 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2014)

Leonid Rapoport thinks…

"Great location, friendly staff and excellent value for money make this hotel an excellent choice for a stay at NYC. Would come back."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
23.75 USD

Hostel 67.1% 30 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
22.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 139 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
27.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1488 reviews
Morningside Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Jazz on the Park
20.00 USD

Hostel 75.3% 1190 reviews
Times Square Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.1%

Overall Rating

299 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thais Karine de Paulo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Thais Karine would recommend this property

Liked: localization, clean and lounge.

Disliked: the bathroom on second floor is terrible, old and disgusting, but the bathroom in the other floors it's ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Forrest Pruitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 October 2011 Forrest would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to subway, good people, new renovations (paint, shower hardware, etc), computers available at a pretty decent rate downstairs in the lounge with wifi, snack machines, big tv, couches. Left my card in the room twice, front desk guy helped me out without hesitation- From my experience in this situation in hostels, He was one of the most polite front desk guys around. Safe- Swipe-to-enter card system for all rooms and front door. A seemingly LIMITLESS supply of hot water, which automatically makes me want to return (not a ton of hostels I've stayed at can boast)

Disliked: The new hot pink paint is kinda ugly, but really, that's just a personal preference. Other than that, this was a pretty fantastic property.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 October 2011

Liked: location, they gave me a towel, cleanliness

Disliked: 2 bathrooms per floor, meaning 2 rooms, each one with toilet, shower and sink, so if someone just needs to go to the loo or brush their teeth, they have to wait for the only bathroom to be free. Taking a shower in the morning is a real challenge. Also, the dorms should separated for females and males, given the paucity of bathrooms, where are we supposed to get undressed? Finally, I asked for a blanked and they didn´t have any, they gave me an empty duvet cover made of cotton. How do they cope with cold in the winter?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The price and the limited facilities

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some small rooms so less people per area. Elevator is kind of cool. Neighborhood is great and safe. All types of stores and eating nearby. Close to subway.

Disliked: No wifi in room. Lounges are skimpy and crowded. Cockroach sightings midday in kitchen. Doors are loud when slam. Nearly impossible to find restroom not being used sometimes....I reported a girl in my room who continually propped the door open with her shoe and also snuck a friend into her bed. The guy at the desk did not care one bit. But these things are illegal for good reason.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristína Šušlíková

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Kristína would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were a decent size and bedding was clean. Safe location.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, and they were not very clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, close to subway, lots of restaurants, bars and take-outs available in the area

Disliked: girl at the check-in counter has got the "New Yorker attitude" down pretty well despite being a German... bathrooms could be cleaner, consistent problems with the keycards to open the front door / room door

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, nice rooms, safe, great place to stay when you are visiting NY for few days....

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 October 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: really too expensive for its value !!!! cockroach in bedroom horrible bathroom (bathtub to be thrown), no toilet paper, no mirrors, no bins

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room were mixt.

Disliked: Can't find back my shoes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable showers. Perfect for short stays.

Disliked: The staff is not very friendly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Pauline Rizzo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011

Liked: Unfortunately the location was the only thing. The bathrooms were decent if u could get 1.

Disliked: The hostel in general. The staff @ times seemed as though they had no idea and even the simplest question was answered with a blank stare. Our room had no lockup security and they let a tradesman come and work in our room not notifying us and wen we did return our door was left wide open this happened twice

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011

Liked: It's downtown, close to the subway, and it's really easy to visit the city from that place.

Disliked: first of all, when we arrived, we had to pay for 100% of the price of the bed while we had already paid 10% on the internet ... then it has been a hard time to make them understand and to have your money back (not in cash while we had paid cash) the second disgusting stuff was the bathroom ... the floor of the bath was almost black and we couldn't imagine taking a shower, besides, there was little bugs on the wall ...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Benjamin Hardy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice, clean rooms.

Disliked: Terrible and too few bathrooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011

Liked: location is very good .it is near to subways and central park

Disliked: some of toilets and bathrooms are very old to use them...4th floor toilets are belong to 80's bathrooms..but 1st floor is very good there is no bathrooms in rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Gyorgy Reti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011

Liked: Have to say, the location is AWESOME. Free wifi and towels are nice.

Disliked: Staff definitely could be more FRIENDLY. Found it too expensive in comparision for other upper west side hostels value for money. Sometimes other guests yelling for half an hour in the middle of the night, and nobody cares from staff. (Yeah I know it's a HOSTEL, but it's basically for sleeping in the night, most guest doing that). In a nutshell, It didn't worth 60 dollar + huge tax per day. It doesn't really good choice for one guest, because of dorm prices.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

samantha Gaiser

Alone

Business / conference

21 September 2011 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lounge in the basement but just one tv sOmeone dominated with soccer

Disliked: The front door isn't not secured it has a key pass on it but it's broken so anybody can walk in They say the lockers are free but you must bring a pad lock which I didn't see online but only when I arrived

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tracy Manke

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2011 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: the workers were VERY friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The security on the door was broken...did not need a card to get in. And there was no toilet paper in the bathrooms on the floor...and the guy at the front desk did not have a key to get us any.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Bastiaan Spil

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011

Liked: Location. That's all

Disliked: noise at night (hard slamming doors), price much more expensive than portrayed on internet because of all the taxes, very dirty bathrooms, bathrooms always always occupied, hot rooms (no ventilation), no kitchen with good fecilities, mediocre service.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011

Liked: it was close to main streets in Manhattan where i could find things that were interesting for me.

Disliked: not so good looking bathrooms, there was no info about whether i'm gonna be in one room mix ppl (boys and girls) or only girls and i think i should be clearly submitted.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Monica Bliss

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: elevator, kitchen plus separate lounge area, very thorough cleaning staff

Disliked: only a couple of bathrooms on each floor (though they were great bathrooms) there was often a wait if you wanted a morning or evening shower - best to shower at abstract times.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good, close to subway lines and Central Park.

Disliked: Washrooms were dirty and there is no mirrors.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefan Eich

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 September 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: it was what I expected

Disliked: The change machine was not working