HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

73.4% Overall Rating

280 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"Its in a good spot on the upper west, subways are close by, walking anywhere is pretty easy."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 113 reviews
Hostelling International - New York
58.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1464 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 69.7% 1142 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

280 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 380 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefan Eich

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 September 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: it was what I expected

Disliked: The change machine was not working

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Aleece Dening

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 September 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: 1 member of staff when i was checking out was high. There was only 2 bathrooms per floor and the bathroom on my floor was broken. The bathrooms never had toilet paper and were always dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, cleaner as I expected

Disliked: no safe place for leave luggage

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: nothing special

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lounge has fridge, cooking facilities, large TV and free wireless. The rooms are spacious, and the beds are very comfy!

Disliked: Some bathrooms were unclean

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: No air con or fan in rooms despite the heat, insufficient bathrooms and rude staff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Hugo de Jong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Terrible rooms, lack of showers, aircon that hardly worked...completely overpriced for what it offered and a communal room the size of a postage stamp

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very easy to locate. clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: lots of doors banging during the night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: good location very close to central park and subway access. You can take the 1 train all the way downtown to battery park.

Disliked: only 1 bathroom for many people. if someone is showering you have to wait to use the toilet.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gregory Wolf

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 August 2011 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: the beds seemed clean

Disliked: there were a few cockroach spottings

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gareth Askew

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 August 2011 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and easy going atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathrooms were very basic and in need of renovation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: I like the stuff especially the guy at the registrer, David, was very helpful and nice

Disliked: They don't check id of every person who live on their property. In our room money were stolen and one guy disappear, when they tried to find him they didn't have his id number.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 August 2011

Liked: el trato con los otros viajeros.

Disliked: el hotel nos volvió a cobrar el 10% que ya nos había cobrado Bookers!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, almost new bathrooms.

Disliked: Location is pretty far away from centre, But can be reached by the metro.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Boswarva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 August 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It was in an excellent location, authentically new york. Everything about my stay was enjoyable. The staff were lovely and very helpful. I felt safe and secure and it was very clean

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was dirty, very very old.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to two subway stations. It has locker inside the rooms and free wifi.

Disliked: I booked an ensuite room, but there are no ensuite rooms in this hotel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Siobhan Beaton

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2011 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was a big benefit for this hostel. It is located one street away from Broadway and one street away from the Metro.

Disliked: The decor is very erratic, the room I was in was very basic but serviceable although there was a hole in the ceiling. The bathrooms are not all up to the same standard although apparently this is a work in progress, however there are simply not enough bathrooms to go around and the lack of separate toilets is a huge inconvenience. The minimum wait each morning for the bathroom was 20 mins even after canvassing each floor for an available bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff it's Excellent!!!

Disliked: the Cleanliness of their bathrooms it's not too good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Booth

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the subway. My room was clean and tidy

Disliked: I missed having an urn or electric jug to fill my coffee plunger and there was no bulb in my bed side light. I have no idea what accommodation costs are in New York but Jazz on Amsterdam was the most expensive place I have ever stayed in. I will probably not return to New York because most of my money went on accommodation.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient to go into Midtown, Downtown or Uptown within minutes by Metro and also bus stops right around the corner to take you to Times Square and/or other well known NYC attractions

Disliked: the air-condition should work in ALL rooms, I've heard many complaints from other guests and on my first night I myself was in a room where the AC did not work. At 90 degrees Fahrenheit outside, it felt like more than 100 degrees Fahrenheit INSIDE the room, which was extremely hard to sustain!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: the facilities and the price. much to expensive!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011

Liked: The stuff was kind, there was a lounge with a big TV and the hostel was near the Central Park

Disliked: Das war keine Küche, sondern nur zwei elektrische Herdplatten, die nicht funktionieren und außerdem war es viel zu teuer. Beim buchen wurde uns gesagt, dass es 40 $ kostet, aber da kamen dann nich die Steuern + 3,5 $ pro Bett hinzu und außerdem kostet es am Wochenende nochmal mehr.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly good location, close to the subway so it's easy to get around.

Disliked: There aren't enough bathrooms, there was a line up every morning. One of them didn't have any soap the whole time I was there even though I told the guy at the front desk it needed refilling. And in another one the shower flooded every time. Cleanliness wasn't too bad but it could've been much better. The wifi wasn't working very well and was only available in the basement.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011

Liked: It is close to Central Park and two subway stations.

Disliked: About half the bathrooms were ´being renovated` but they were just old and not renovated in the 10 days I was there. There were no curtains on the windows so we were woken up by the early morning sun. It was very expensive for what it was.