HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

66.6% Overall Rating

284 out of 420 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is good and near subway. It is good for travellers who didn't have a car."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
49.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 125 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 1469 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Jazz on the Park
38.00 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1151 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.6%

Overall Rating

284 out of 420 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 395 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The subway was really near.

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Udesh Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Udesh would recommend this property

Liked: Located near central Park and the subway. Within easy walk to many bars and food shops. great place to meet people.

Disliked: Udesh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is affordable. Location is great, near to major tourist spots and train stations. Free wifi, lounge area and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good value for the money, nice shared bathroom, red line just around the corner

Disliked: rooms are small and the ensuite had only a tiny, old bath. the shared bathroom was often occupied but nice and big

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hearty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: My room was always clean & the staff were really helpful plus it was in a good part of town always felt safe when i went out, will be coming back to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Natalie Swan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: WIFI was bad in all the rooms, not enough bathrooms, the bathrooms that were in the rooms were NOT clean, only one staff member was helpful, location wasnt that awesome but thankfully there was a subway stop a little over a block away

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the facilities were in good shape and clean.

Disliked: lack of cooking facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lounge

Disliked: Luggage room is 4$!!! Not really a party hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephanie Adamek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the local area has loads of bars and shops. The rooms are very plesent and well decorated.

Disliked: The only problem is not enough bathrooms!, it would be useful to have a couple of toilets for the people who dont want a shower in the morning!.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous location in the upper west side near the park and subway.

Disliked: "mixed dorm" turned out to be me and 5 boys.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Staff are helpful!

Disliked: The toilets are always occupied, maybe due to the design of the toilet.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paul Corris

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

30 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The fact that although my girlfriend and I booked a 2 bed dorm( so the room was ours) 2 nights on the bounce they checked someone in to our bed. Never got an apology and although several messages were left the manager kept dodging me. We hadto pay to put our bags in lockup the day we left. Never had that. This place has a lot of problems, I've no doubt once people write what thy think they will struggle to operate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thais Karine de Paulo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Thais Karine would recommend this property

Liked: localization, clean and lounge.

Disliked: the bathroom on second floor is terrible, old and disgusting, but the bathroom in the other floors it's ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Forrest Pruitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 October 2011 Forrest would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to subway, good people, new renovations (paint, shower hardware, etc), computers available at a pretty decent rate downstairs in the lounge with wifi, snack machines, big tv, couches. Left my card in the room twice, front desk guy helped me out without hesitation- From my experience in this situation in hostels, He was one of the most polite front desk guys around. Safe- Swipe-to-enter card system for all rooms and front door. A seemingly LIMITLESS supply of hot water, which automatically makes me want to return (not a ton of hostels I've stayed at can boast)

Disliked: The new hot pink paint is kinda ugly, but really, that's just a personal preference. Other than that, this was a pretty fantastic property.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 October 2011

Liked: location, they gave me a towel, cleanliness

Disliked: 2 bathrooms per floor, meaning 2 rooms, each one with toilet, shower and sink, so if someone just needs to go to the loo or brush their teeth, they have to wait for the only bathroom to be free. Taking a shower in the morning is a real challenge. Also, the dorms should separated for females and males, given the paucity of bathrooms, where are we supposed to get undressed? Finally, I asked for a blanked and they didn´t have any, they gave me an empty duvet cover made of cotton. How do they cope with cold in the winter?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The price and the limited facilities

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some small rooms so less people per area. Elevator is kind of cool. Neighborhood is great and safe. All types of stores and eating nearby. Close to subway.

Disliked: No wifi in room. Lounges are skimpy and crowded. Cockroach sightings midday in kitchen. Doors are loud when slam. Nearly impossible to find restroom not being used sometimes....I reported a girl in my room who continually propped the door open with her shoe and also snuck a friend into her bed. The guy at the desk did not care one bit. But these things are illegal for good reason.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristína Šušlíková

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Kristína would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were a decent size and bedding was clean. Safe location.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, and they were not very clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, close to subway, lots of restaurants, bars and take-outs available in the area

Disliked: girl at the check-in counter has got the "New Yorker attitude" down pretty well despite being a German... bathrooms could be cleaner, consistent problems with the keycards to open the front door / room door

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, nice rooms, safe, great place to stay when you are visiting NY for few days....

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 October 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: really too expensive for its value !!!! cockroach in bedroom horrible bathroom (bathtub to be thrown), no toilet paper, no mirrors, no bins

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room were mixt.

Disliked: Can't find back my shoes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable showers. Perfect for short stays.

Disliked: The staff is not very friendly.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Pauline Rizzo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011

Liked: Unfortunately the location was the only thing. The bathrooms were decent if u could get 1.

Disliked: The hostel in general. The staff @ times seemed as though they had no idea and even the simplest question was answered with a blank stare. Our room had no lockup security and they let a tradesman come and work in our room not notifying us and wen we did return our door was left wide open this happened twice