We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

67.4% Overall Rating

293 out of 432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
41.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 136 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
54.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI - New York City NYC Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 90.9% 1482 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.0% 678 reviews
Jazz on the Park
32.00 USD

Hostel 76.2% 1177 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.4%

Overall Rating

293 out of 432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
56.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 405 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alexander morris

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are kind. It is in a safe neighborhood and in a secure safe building. It is a social place. The travelers are friendly.

Disliked: The beds are somewhat uncomfortable and the pillows are thin. Breakfast consists of a bagel. The wireless internet was not working. However, last time I stayed here it was working. The bathrooms need a little work. Not gross, but I just wanted a basic bathroom. Nothing fancy and some of the bathrooms felt like they had been neglected for a long time.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap and we got a private room. The location is also good. The area felt vey safe. That we were able to split the payment.

Disliked: There was no toilet paper on the toilet. And no soap. Also, the door to the toilet didn't close properly. The room didn't have curtains and there was not many furniture except for the beds. NO mirror which sucked because the bathroom was occupied most of the time. Also, the shower was really dirty and cold. There was a electric cord hanging down from the wall in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rattana Mayteekriengkrai

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012

Liked: nothing I like

Disliked: room , dirty bathroom, poor staff, location is fair

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms good location, 1 min to subway and main shopping street good internet connection

Disliked: bath rooms on the corridor, 3 for whole floor and one shower was not working

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maya Furuta

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: good location ; one block from metro good price

Disliked: nothing to say

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucy Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very much a hostel, with all the amenities a good hostel has.

Disliked: Only worth it to a single traveller because it is very expensive for just a bunk bed and shared bathroom; 2 people could easily get an actual hotel for less each.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the place was generally clean with the exception of the bathrooms, however they are clean compared to other hostels. The staff was nice and helpful, and the people staying there were friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't much to dislike, except that the internet was really slow and didn't work in the rooms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The subway was really near.

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Udesh Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Udesh would recommend this property

Liked: Located near central Park and the subway. Within easy walk to many bars and food shops. great place to meet people.

Disliked: Udesh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is affordable. Location is great, near to major tourist spots and train stations. Free wifi, lounge area and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good value for the money, nice shared bathroom, red line just around the corner

Disliked: rooms are small and the ensuite had only a tiny, old bath. the shared bathroom was often occupied but nice and big

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hearty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: My room was always clean & the staff were really helpful plus it was in a good part of town always felt safe when i went out, will be coming back to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Natalie Swan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: WIFI was bad in all the rooms, not enough bathrooms, the bathrooms that were in the rooms were NOT clean, only one staff member was helpful, location wasnt that awesome but thankfully there was a subway stop a little over a block away

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the facilities were in good shape and clean.

Disliked: lack of cooking facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lounge

Disliked: Luggage room is 4$!!! Not really a party hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephanie Adamek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the local area has loads of bars and shops. The rooms are very plesent and well decorated.

Disliked: The only problem is not enough bathrooms!, it would be useful to have a couple of toilets for the people who dont want a shower in the morning!.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous location in the upper west side near the park and subway.

Disliked: "mixed dorm" turned out to be me and 5 boys.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Staff are helpful!

Disliked: The toilets are always occupied, maybe due to the design of the toilet.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paul Corris

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

30 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The fact that although my girlfriend and I booked a 2 bed dorm( so the room was ours) 2 nights on the bounce they checked someone in to our bed. Never got an apology and although several messages were left the manager kept dodging me. We hadto pay to put our bags in lockup the day we left. Never had that. This place has a lot of problems, I've no doubt once people write what thy think they will struggle to operate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thais Karine de Paulo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Thais Karine would recommend this property

Liked: localization, clean and lounge.

Disliked: the bathroom on second floor is terrible, old and disgusting, but the bathroom in the other floors it's ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Forrest Pruitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 October 2011 Forrest would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to subway, good people, new renovations (paint, shower hardware, etc), computers available at a pretty decent rate downstairs in the lounge with wifi, snack machines, big tv, couches. Left my card in the room twice, front desk guy helped me out without hesitation- From my experience in this situation in hostels, He was one of the most polite front desk guys around. Safe- Swipe-to-enter card system for all rooms and front door. A seemingly LIMITLESS supply of hot water, which automatically makes me want to return (not a ton of hostels I've stayed at can boast)

Disliked: The new hot pink paint is kinda ugly, but really, that's just a personal preference. Other than that, this was a pretty fantastic property.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 October 2011

Liked: location, they gave me a towel, cleanliness

Disliked: 2 bathrooms per floor, meaning 2 rooms, each one with toilet, shower and sink, so if someone just needs to go to the loo or brush their teeth, they have to wait for the only bathroom to be free. Taking a shower in the morning is a real challenge. Also, the dorms should separated for females and males, given the paucity of bathrooms, where are we supposed to get undressed? Finally, I asked for a blanked and they didn´t have any, they gave me an empty duvet cover made of cotton. How do they cope with cold in the winter?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The price and the limited facilities

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some small rooms so less people per area. Elevator is kind of cool. Neighborhood is great and safe. All types of stores and eating nearby. Close to subway.

Disliked: No wifi in room. Lounges are skimpy and crowded. Cockroach sightings midday in kitchen. Doors are loud when slam. Nearly impossible to find restroom not being used sometimes....I reported a girl in my room who continually propped the door open with her shoe and also snuck a friend into her bed. The guy at the desk did not care one bit. But these things are illegal for good reason.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristína Šušlíková

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Kristína would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing