We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

71.9% Overall Rating

300 out of 441 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2014)

Leonid Rapoport thinks…

"Great location, friendly staff and excellent value for money make this hotel an excellent choice for a stay at NYC. Would come back."

Read all Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
21.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
27.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 142 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
57.99 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1490 reviews
Morningside Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1196 reviews
Times Square Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

300 out of 441 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 January 2012

Liked: The room was cleaned most days. It was sizable and comfortable. The heating was good.

Disliked: Facilities that didn't work. The change machine in the washing room was permanently "temporarily out of order". The lamp in my room went out on Saturday. I was told I would have to wait until Monday for a technician to come and put a new bulb in. I went and bought one and put it in myself. What's the problem? Is this a union issue? How about having some bulbs on hand and letting the staff change them? Is this too much to ask? Breakfast!!!!! A pile of bagels. Really? I took one look and went to the nearest coffee shop. Staff. Can we have some motivation please? If you don't like working there, let someone else do it. Price. Already quite pricy for what it is. I sent an email telling whoever reads emails that I would be arriving about midnight. I got a nice email back telling me that that was no trouble. The email didn't tell me that I would be charged extra for being "late". The elevator! Please put this in a museum now. By the way, is there stair access to the basement lounge? If there is, I couldn't find it. Fire hazard? Tourism is a service industry. People don't usually complain. They vote with their feet.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

guillaume darnajou

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the odor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: the hey room doesn't work all the time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: The staff was completely rude and unhelpful. The fire alarm was beeping whole night and when I asked them in the morning what are they gonna do abt it, they only said "we can do nothing abt it"...no apologize or compensation. Would not stay at this hostel again...its not even value for money breakfast was crap...bagel and coffee,dont even know which was worse...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hayley Moffat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are adequate and clean. Bathrooms are also clean. Its great that there is a subway stop only 1 block away which takes you straight to times square! Included breakfast (Bagels and cream cheese) was also nice.

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mark hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: too busy

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alexander morris

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are kind. It is in a safe neighborhood and in a secure safe building. It is a social place. The travelers are friendly.

Disliked: The beds are somewhat uncomfortable and the pillows are thin. Breakfast consists of a bagel. The wireless internet was not working. However, last time I stayed here it was working. The bathrooms need a little work. Not gross, but I just wanted a basic bathroom. Nothing fancy and some of the bathrooms felt like they had been neglected for a long time.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap and we got a private room. The location is also good. The area felt vey safe. That we were able to split the payment.

Disliked: There was no toilet paper on the toilet. And no soap. Also, the door to the toilet didn't close properly. The room didn't have curtains and there was not many furniture except for the beds. NO mirror which sucked because the bathroom was occupied most of the time. Also, the shower was really dirty and cold. There was a electric cord hanging down from the wall in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rattana Mayteekriengkrai

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012

Liked: nothing I like

Disliked: room , dirty bathroom, poor staff, location is fair

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms good location, 1 min to subway and main shopping street good internet connection

Disliked: bath rooms on the corridor, 3 for whole floor and one shower was not working

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maya Furuta

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: good location ; one block from metro good price

Disliked: nothing to say

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucy Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very much a hostel, with all the amenities a good hostel has.

Disliked: Only worth it to a single traveller because it is very expensive for just a bunk bed and shared bathroom; 2 people could easily get an actual hotel for less each.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the place was generally clean with the exception of the bathrooms, however they are clean compared to other hostels. The staff was nice and helpful, and the people staying there were friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't much to dislike, except that the internet was really slow and didn't work in the rooms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The subway was really near.

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathrooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Udesh Naidoo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Udesh would recommend this property

Liked: Located near central Park and the subway. Within easy walk to many bars and food shops. great place to meet people.

Disliked: Udesh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is affordable. Location is great, near to major tourist spots and train stations. Free wifi, lounge area and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good value for the money, nice shared bathroom, red line just around the corner

Disliked: rooms are small and the ensuite had only a tiny, old bath. the shared bathroom was often occupied but nice and big

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hearty

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: My room was always clean & the staff were really helpful plus it was in a good part of town always felt safe when i went out, will be coming back to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Natalie Swan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: WIFI was bad in all the rooms, not enough bathrooms, the bathrooms that were in the rooms were NOT clean, only one staff member was helpful, location wasnt that awesome but thankfully there was a subway stop a little over a block away

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the facilities were in good shape and clean.

Disliked: lack of cooking facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lounge

Disliked: Luggage room is 4$!!! Not really a party hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephanie Adamek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the local area has loads of bars and shops. The rooms are very plesent and well decorated.

Disliked: The only problem is not enough bathrooms!, it would be useful to have a couple of toilets for the people who dont want a shower in the morning!.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous location in the upper west side near the park and subway.

Disliked: "mixed dorm" turned out to be me and 5 boys.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Staff are helpful!

Disliked: The toilets are always occupied, maybe due to the design of the toilet.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Paul Corris

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

30 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The fact that although my girlfriend and I booked a 2 bed dorm( so the room was ours) 2 nights on the bounce they checked someone in to our bed. Never got an apology and although several messages were left the manager kept dodging me. We hadto pay to put our bags in lockup the day we left. Never had that. This place has a lot of problems, I've no doubt once people write what thy think they will struggle to operate.