HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.9% Overall Rating

284 out of 421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is good and near subway. It is good for travellers who didn't have a car."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
49.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 126 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1470 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Jazz on the Park
38.00 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1151 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

284 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 395 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vincent Elzain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Everything else

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Siwakorn Tarawatcharasart

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff rudeness, space, etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Arosemena Velasco

Alone

Business / conference

20 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay

Disliked: True, no cold water on the shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Liesching

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location. In walking distance of great shops, bars and historical NYC sites!

Disliked: The dorm room was very small and the beds very squeaky!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean bathrooms and good price.

Disliked: The lounge was very small, at 8:30 or 9:00 there's no breakfast and the staff don't worry about it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

gianni muratore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012

Liked: some of the staff was helpful

Disliked: some of the staff was useless, no good communication between members of the staff. The wi fi signal was olly working in the kitchen which was very small (only 6 chairs and one table for the entire hostel) farthermore the kithchen was closing at 11 pm, even if it was without doors the staff were kicking us out...! umbeliveable...!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEJIDE AINA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 YEJIDE would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic!. the hotel is clean and neat.staff is friendly especially a guy named Q, he is very helpful.

Disliked: the first staff i met was totally rubish. he told me i cant have kesy to the locker in my room., meanwhile i paid for it. he asked me to be keeping my stuff downstairs. whatrubish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite bathroom made it so much nicer than having to walk down the hall to shower and use the restroom!

Disliked: ZERO signage outside the building, they don't tell you that the building is 1/2 hostel, 1/2 apartments-people scoweld like we were in THEIR house...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, atmosphere of hostel was great. It was cozy to relax after my trip and had clean bathroom. Also, Staffs were very kind. Moreover, location was wonderful. It was just 5 minutes from subway station.

Disliked: I strongly recommend this hostel to my friend.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jessie Vanderelst

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 jessie would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean place to stay and the location is really good

Disliked: not being able to use internet after 11pm and some of the staff arent very helpful

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012

Liked: the location is good

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and very crowed in the morning, not enough space; the breakfast which claimed to serve from 8:00-10:00, always run out before ten. No activities for us. Even charged 5 dollars for storing the luggage, which I do not think is reasonable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ciaran Meyers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012

Liked: The location, it is close to Central Park.

Disliked: They under order for breakfast so you are not guaranteed to get anything. The beds are uncomfortable and make a lot of noise if anyone moves. There are insufficient bathrooms for the number of rooms/guests on each floor. The bathroom are not clean and the hostel is not very secure - someone came into our room at 5:00am and tried to steal my roommate's IPhone. The lockers in the rooms are small and you can only store a small amount of possessions in them.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 January 2012

Liked: The room was cleaned most days. It was sizable and comfortable. The heating was good.

Disliked: Facilities that didn't work. The change machine in the washing room was permanently "temporarily out of order". The lamp in my room went out on Saturday. I was told I would have to wait until Monday for a technician to come and put a new bulb in. I went and bought one and put it in myself. What's the problem? Is this a union issue? How about having some bulbs on hand and letting the staff change them? Is this too much to ask? Breakfast!!!!! A pile of bagels. Really? I took one look and went to the nearest coffee shop. Staff. Can we have some motivation please? If you don't like working there, let someone else do it. Price. Already quite pricy for what it is. I sent an email telling whoever reads emails that I would be arriving about midnight. I got a nice email back telling me that that was no trouble. The email didn't tell me that I would be charged extra for being "late". The elevator! Please put this in a museum now. By the way, is there stair access to the basement lounge? If there is, I couldn't find it. Fire hazard? Tourism is a service industry. People don't usually complain. They vote with their feet.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

guillaume darnajou

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the odor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: the hey room doesn't work all the time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: The staff was completely rude and unhelpful. The fire alarm was beeping whole night and when I asked them in the morning what are they gonna do abt it, they only said "we can do nothing abt it"...no apologize or compensation. Would not stay at this hostel again...its not even value for money breakfast was crap...bagel and coffee,dont even know which was worse...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hayley Moffat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are adequate and clean. Bathrooms are also clean. Its great that there is a subway stop only 1 block away which takes you straight to times square! Included breakfast (Bagels and cream cheese) was also nice.

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mark hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: too busy

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alexander morris

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are kind. It is in a safe neighborhood and in a secure safe building. It is a social place. The travelers are friendly.

Disliked: The beds are somewhat uncomfortable and the pillows are thin. Breakfast consists of a bagel. The wireless internet was not working. However, last time I stayed here it was working. The bathrooms need a little work. Not gross, but I just wanted a basic bathroom. Nothing fancy and some of the bathrooms felt like they had been neglected for a long time.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap and we got a private room. The location is also good. The area felt vey safe. That we were able to split the payment.

Disliked: There was no toilet paper on the toilet. And no soap. Also, the door to the toilet didn't close properly. The room didn't have curtains and there was not many furniture except for the beds. NO mirror which sucked because the bathroom was occupied most of the time. Also, the shower was really dirty and cold. There was a electric cord hanging down from the wall in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rattana Mayteekriengkrai

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012

Liked: nothing I like

Disliked: room , dirty bathroom, poor staff, location is fair

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms good location, 1 min to subway and main shopping street good internet connection

Disliked: bath rooms on the corridor, 3 for whole floor and one shower was not working

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maya Furuta

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: good location ; one block from metro good price

Disliked: nothing to say

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucy Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very much a hostel, with all the amenities a good hostel has.

Disliked: Only worth it to a single traveller because it is very expensive for just a bunk bed and shared bathroom; 2 people could easily get an actual hotel for less each.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the place was generally clean with the exception of the bathrooms, however they are clean compared to other hostels. The staff was nice and helpful, and the people staying there were friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't much to dislike, except that the internet was really slow and didn't work in the rooms.