We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
30.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 680 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 78.9% 1179 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, close to Central Park and subway.

Disliked: En suite bathrrom very old and had no sink!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2012

Liked: the price, the location

Disliked: the cleanliness

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I could stay in a two person dorm, so only share with one person I didn't know. I thought everything was adequate

Disliked: There seemed to be some issues with the heating. My room was really hot. I turned the radiator off at the tap, but the room was still really warm and we had to turn the a/c fan on. Apparently other rooms are cold. There were also not many bathrooms for the number of people, so there were queues for showers in the morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dmitrii Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

03 March 2012 Dmitrii would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: a bit too expensive on weekends... I would not close the kitchen/dining area after 11 pm, 1 am sound more convenient for the city that "never sleeps"... esp. since there is no internet access on the higher floors... I was never able to log in to network in the basement lounge area...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

james kaiserski

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: Value (I paid $24), location, staff

Disliked: kitchen and downstairs lounge were too small to accommodate many guests but otherwise were nice

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O atendimento

Disliked: Nao tinha toalhas limpas

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The safety seemed low

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vincent Elzain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Everything else

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Siwakorn Tarawatcharasart

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff rudeness, space, etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Arosemena Velasco

Alone

Business / conference

20 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay

Disliked: True, no cold water on the shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Liesching

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location. In walking distance of great shops, bars and historical NYC sites!

Disliked: The dorm room was very small and the beds very squeaky!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean bathrooms and good price.

Disliked: The lounge was very small, at 8:30 or 9:00 there's no breakfast and the staff don't worry about it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

gianni muratore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012

Liked: some of the staff was helpful

Disliked: some of the staff was useless, no good communication between members of the staff. The wi fi signal was olly working in the kitchen which was very small (only 6 chairs and one table for the entire hostel) farthermore the kithchen was closing at 11 pm, even if it was without doors the staff were kicking us out...! umbeliveable...!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEJIDE AINA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 YEJIDE would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic!. the hotel is clean and neat.staff is friendly especially a guy named Q, he is very helpful.

Disliked: the first staff i met was totally rubish. he told me i cant have kesy to the locker in my room., meanwhile i paid for it. he asked me to be keeping my stuff downstairs. whatrubish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite bathroom made it so much nicer than having to walk down the hall to shower and use the restroom!

Disliked: ZERO signage outside the building, they don't tell you that the building is 1/2 hostel, 1/2 apartments-people scoweld like we were in THEIR house...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, atmosphere of hostel was great. It was cozy to relax after my trip and had clean bathroom. Also, Staffs were very kind. Moreover, location was wonderful. It was just 5 minutes from subway station.

Disliked: I strongly recommend this hostel to my friend.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jessie Vanderelst

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 jessie would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean place to stay and the location is really good

Disliked: not being able to use internet after 11pm and some of the staff arent very helpful

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012

Liked: the location is good

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and very crowed in the morning, not enough space; the breakfast which claimed to serve from 8:00-10:00, always run out before ten. No activities for us. Even charged 5 dollars for storing the luggage, which I do not think is reasonable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ciaran Meyers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012

Liked: The location, it is close to Central Park.

Disliked: They under order for breakfast so you are not guaranteed to get anything. The beds are uncomfortable and make a lot of noise if anyone moves. There are insufficient bathrooms for the number of rooms/guests on each floor. The bathroom are not clean and the hostel is not very secure - someone came into our room at 5:00am and tried to steal my roommate's IPhone. The lockers in the rooms are small and you can only store a small amount of possessions in them.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

29 January 2012

Liked: The room was cleaned most days. It was sizable and comfortable. The heating was good.

Disliked: Facilities that didn't work. The change machine in the washing room was permanently "temporarily out of order". The lamp in my room went out on Saturday. I was told I would have to wait until Monday for a technician to come and put a new bulb in. I went and bought one and put it in myself. What's the problem? Is this a union issue? How about having some bulbs on hand and letting the staff change them? Is this too much to ask? Breakfast!!!!! A pile of bagels. Really? I took one look and went to the nearest coffee shop. Staff. Can we have some motivation please? If you don't like working there, let someone else do it. Price. Already quite pricy for what it is. I sent an email telling whoever reads emails that I would be arriving about midnight. I got a nice email back telling me that that was no trouble. The email didn't tell me that I would be charged extra for being "late". The elevator! Please put this in a museum now. By the way, is there stair access to the basement lounge? If there is, I couldn't find it. Fire hazard? Tourism is a service industry. People don't usually complain. They vote with their feet.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

guillaume darnajou

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the odor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: the hey room doesn't work all the time

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: The staff was completely rude and unhelpful. The fire alarm was beeping whole night and when I asked them in the morning what are they gonna do abt it, they only said "we can do nothing abt it"...no apologize or compensation. Would not stay at this hostel again...its not even value for money breakfast was crap...bagel and coffee,dont even know which was worse...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hayley Moffat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are adequate and clean. Bathrooms are also clean. Its great that there is a subway stop only 1 block away which takes you straight to times square! Included breakfast (Bagels and cream cheese) was also nice.

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mark hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: too busy