We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

71.1% Overall Rating

302 out of 443 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2014)

Leonid Rapoport thinks…

"Great location, friendly staff and excellent value for money make this hotel an excellent choice for a stay at NYC. Would come back."

Read all Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
32.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
39.50 USD

Hostel 80.3% 149 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.7% 125 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
51.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1492 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
26.00 USD

Hostel 72.9% 1201 reviews
Times Square House
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.1%

Overall Rating

302 out of 443 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 326 of 416 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, friendly, close to metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shuk Ting Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Shuk Ting would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed on the second floor. The room was new, spacious and clean. The bathroom was also nice. Breakfast was provided provided every morning.

Disliked: Nth

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012

Liked: I liked the 24/7 Front Desk. The lounge is ok and the TV offers are fairly ok. Jazz on Amsterdam is located in a very nice area. There are lots of shops, bars and cafés around.

Disliked: The staff didn't put enough emphasize on the house rules and quiet hours. Some rooms were playing loud music until 5 am. Further there was a radiator pipe going through our room which was very loud. The noise made it hard and uncomfortable to sleep. When informing the staff about the situation the answers were rude and not helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that you could have a room with only two people in the room. This allows for a good night sleep with minimal disturbance.

Disliked: The kitchen facilities were in poor condition. The electric cooker did not work, the toaster was very old, and overall in general the whole place needs to be repainted.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location wise this property is great. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the subway line. It's also about a 10 minute walk to central park. Room was good - great shower!

Disliked: Staff were not particularly friendly. There is a free breakfast but when we were there, they ran out before the end and they said they wouldn't provide any more

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A lot of noise, bathrooms not very clean, sometimes tha water was cold

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dmitrii Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

12 March 2012 Dmitrii would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: they underutilize their facilites/potential (e.g., closing socializing in the dining room at 11 pm is ridiculous in the the city that never sleeps...)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, close to Central Park and subway.

Disliked: En suite bathrrom very old and had no sink!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2012

Liked: the price, the location

Disliked: the cleanliness

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I could stay in a two person dorm, so only share with one person I didn't know. I thought everything was adequate

Disliked: There seemed to be some issues with the heating. My room was really hot. I turned the radiator off at the tap, but the room was still really warm and we had to turn the a/c fan on. Apparently other rooms are cold. There were also not many bathrooms for the number of people, so there were queues for showers in the morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dmitrii Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

03 March 2012 Dmitrii would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: a bit too expensive on weekends... I would not close the kitchen/dining area after 11 pm, 1 am sound more convenient for the city that "never sleeps"... esp. since there is no internet access on the higher floors... I was never able to log in to network in the basement lounge area...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

james kaiserski

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: Value (I paid $24), location, staff

Disliked: kitchen and downstairs lounge were too small to accommodate many guests but otherwise were nice

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O atendimento

Disliked: Nao tinha toalhas limpas

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The safety seemed low

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vincent Elzain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Everything else

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Siwakorn Tarawatcharasart

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff rudeness, space, etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Arosemena Velasco

Alone

Business / conference

20 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay

Disliked: True, no cold water on the shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Liesching

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location. In walking distance of great shops, bars and historical NYC sites!

Disliked: The dorm room was very small and the beds very squeaky!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean bathrooms and good price.

Disliked: The lounge was very small, at 8:30 or 9:00 there's no breakfast and the staff don't worry about it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

gianni muratore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012

Liked: some of the staff was helpful

Disliked: some of the staff was useless, no good communication between members of the staff. The wi fi signal was olly working in the kitchen which was very small (only 6 chairs and one table for the entire hostel) farthermore the kithchen was closing at 11 pm, even if it was without doors the staff were kicking us out...! umbeliveable...!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEJIDE AINA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 YEJIDE would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic!. the hotel is clean and neat.staff is friendly especially a guy named Q, he is very helpful.

Disliked: the first staff i met was totally rubish. he told me i cant have kesy to the locker in my room., meanwhile i paid for it. he asked me to be keeping my stuff downstairs. whatrubish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite bathroom made it so much nicer than having to walk down the hall to shower and use the restroom!

Disliked: ZERO signage outside the building, they don't tell you that the building is 1/2 hostel, 1/2 apartments-people scoweld like we were in THEIR house...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, atmosphere of hostel was great. It was cozy to relax after my trip and had clean bathroom. Also, Staffs were very kind. Moreover, location was wonderful. It was just 5 minutes from subway station.

Disliked: I strongly recommend this hostel to my friend.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jessie Vanderelst

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 jessie would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean place to stay and the location is really good

Disliked: not being able to use internet after 11pm and some of the staff arent very helpful

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012

Liked: the location is good

Disliked: the kitchen is too small and very crowed in the morning, not enough space; the breakfast which claimed to serve from 8:00-10:00, always run out before ten. No activities for us. Even charged 5 dollars for storing the luggage, which I do not think is reasonable.