We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

73.7% Overall Rating

304 out of 445 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2015)

Lorraine Akasiobi thinks…

"It's actually a good and secure environment and the staff are friendly and eager to please and satisfy guests"

Read all Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
32.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
39.50 USD

Hostel 80.3% 149 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.1% 127 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
51.99 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1493 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 72.9% 1201 reviews
Times Square House
55.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

304 out of 445 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 418 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERIC SALHA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 ERIC would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement est idéal dans un quarter calme à 5 mns de Central park, 2 mns du métro et on trouve à proximité de nombreux restaurants sympas.

Disliked: Ras

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: dicht bij central park

Disliked: Er wordt weinig gedaan met de gemeenschappelijke ruimtes, moeilijk om andere reizigers te leren kennen. Slechte matras!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Safe location. No problems

Disliked: The room was HOT! Didn't get much sleep because of the heat.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

22 June 2012

Liked: Almost nothing

Disliked: everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: De ne pas voir de "couvre-feu" et de pouvoir aller, venir quand bon nous semble.

Disliked: Le fait de savoir partager notre chambre avec des gars.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Madeleine Holgersson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice with only two beds in the room.

Disliked: Madeleine left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Peter Edwards

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2012

Liked: The subway was conveniently located and the 24-hour access to our rooms was an advantage.

Disliked: The allocated rooms given to us were not what we had booked or what had been confirmed beforehand and amounted to a breach of faith.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emiliano Marello

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Emiliano would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: The rules were stupid: after 11 pm you have to go to your room or elsewhere because there were noy any common space to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

NAI CHUAN LIN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 NAI CHUAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice location and free breakfast!

Disliked: the same breakfast everyday~~~! There is a hot water hose in 6-beds dorm, It makes loud noise in the early morning!.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Baron

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: - good price - good location - nice decoration in bedroom

Disliked: - very simple breakfast - windows in bedroom did not close - water dripping from ceiling in bathroom

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2012

Liked: Location was all that was good, beds were adequate. Elevator worked!!!!

Disliked: Shower rooms and toilets on my floor were constantly out of commission when they did work they could have done with a clean or a complete refurbishment. There appeared to be notices from various departments of the City Authority alluding to a number of rooms being in a dangerous condition and eviction notices pinned to other doors,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hostel environment. Great way to meet people.

Disliked: The location is a bit off, but for its price is good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Hakim Tazi

Alone

City break

09 May 2012 Hakim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel for one night on may 7 2012. The room was clean, bed confy but there was no hot water and the shawer was durty. The breackfast was very simple. There was a lot of noise in my room around 7am because of the construction around

Disliked: The bathroom and shower

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Asma Nadifi

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012

Liked: I mainly liked how the staff was friendly, cool and very helpful. I am thinking about David who was very charming and extremely helpful. He was in charge of events whithin the hostel and made our journey fun and interesting. He loved his job and was very dynamic, taking initiative and passionate at every thing he was accomplishing

Disliked: The hostel was extremely noisy, old and not at all confortable. The cleanness was contestable.....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Omer Sevinc

Alone

City break

22 April 2012 Omer would recommend this property

Liked: location is so good you can walk to central walk 5-10 min. Subway staion is so close like 2 min. It is a safe place. It is clean . Staff so helpfull, especially David is so friendly, he helps you and behave very well. Also Q is very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Baths could be cleaner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Janet BArker

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for : a clean , safe place that is cheap! The staff was extrememly helpful and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: It was a hostel and I am afraid i am used to tthe Ritz. The kids were used to more too. BUT they did not complain about the basic bunk beds and run-down surroundings. We had bagels and rolls for breakfast. The coffee was surprisingly good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WOLBERG JULIETTE

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2012 WOLBERG would recommend this property

Liked: cheap but very good location, friendly and helpful !!

Disliked: bathroom.... the most minimum

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Ladd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the 1 train subway station which takes you almost anywhere! Staff seemed nice and helpful allowed me to drop of my backpack before check in time which really helped! Free breakfast was extremly basic, bagels and coffee only! this hostel is still in the process of upgrading and remodeling seem like they are almost done! So some bathrooms were remodeled while others were not those that were not were in sad shape but clean, with nice and hot water! Saw cleaning staff on two ocasions which is good compared to other stories I have read about other hostels! Felt safe and secure was in a four share room, clean, small lockers in room, some rooms have basins, ours did not! This side of Manhatten is a nice area, close to Stawberry Fields I would rate this a 7 out of 10. once remodeling is done and a better effort for breakfast a 8 or 9 would be fair!

Disliked: Not really!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2012

Liked: Breakfast was included (a toasted bagel).

Disliked: The room we stayed in had a pipe which banged really loudly and kept us awake ALL NIGHT. When we asked the dopey guy at the front desk the next morning if we could move rooms he explained that it was "just the heating". We said we'd rather be freezing cold than have another night of not sleeping at all (seriously we heard it even with earplugs in) so the next night they turned the heating off. What are you meant to be paying for if not a room which you can actually sleep in? Also they charge $4 for bag check but I asked the guy if he put tags with peoples names on on the bags and he said no, so I asked how he knew he was giving the bags to the right person and he said he didn't. So what exactly are you paying for?! We went to another dedicated bag check place nearby which was the same price and much more secure.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location for the price you pay. Easy to get to on the subway from the touristy parts of the city. Awesome walking distance to Central Park and across to the museums in Upper East Side. Should advertise that a bit more.

Disliked: There is a massive noise issue with the pipes and radiators. Which tends to start about 6am every morning. Its louder than is acceptable and heard throughout the whole hostel. Have been told its just the old building and the way the pipes were made back then. So nothing can be done to fix it. They should probably warn you of this noise before you book. There is no way people would put up with this sort of noise in their home, so why put up with it in a commercial building? Other than that, a great place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Jazz, the staff was very nice and helpful, the location is great, the room was clean and breakfast is included. I was able to use kitchen to cook, and the shared bathroom was clean. I really liked their welcome and polite staff, they did everything to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Disliked: My room was cold, I don't know if they have any problems with heating, it was freezing to sleep, but the staff provided me with additional blankets so I managed to sleep in warm conditions))))

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guests were very nice

Disliked: No visible sign outside. fire safety issues

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is realy good.

Disliked: Não há muito espaço para conversar com os outros hospedes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefanie Mueller

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location on the Upper West Side right next to Central Park, Hudson River and the Subway is amazing.

Disliked: I was in a room with an ensuite bathroom but that was a joke. The bathroom was tiny and did not have a sink or mirror. Luckily there were two large bathrooms on the floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -