We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
30.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 680 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 78.9% 1179 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

NAI CHUAN LIN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 NAI CHUAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice location and free breakfast!

Disliked: the same breakfast everyday~~~! There is a hot water hose in 6-beds dorm, It makes loud noise in the early morning!.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Baron

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: - good price - good location - nice decoration in bedroom

Disliked: - very simple breakfast - windows in bedroom did not close - water dripping from ceiling in bathroom

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2012

Liked: Location was all that was good, beds were adequate. Elevator worked!!!!

Disliked: Shower rooms and toilets on my floor were constantly out of commission when they did work they could have done with a clean or a complete refurbishment. There appeared to be notices from various departments of the City Authority alluding to a number of rooms being in a dangerous condition and eviction notices pinned to other doors,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hostel environment. Great way to meet people.

Disliked: The location is a bit off, but for its price is good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Hakim Tazi

Alone

City break

09 May 2012 Hakim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel for one night on may 7 2012. The room was clean, bed confy but there was no hot water and the shawer was durty. The breackfast was very simple. There was a lot of noise in my room around 7am because of the construction around

Disliked: The bathroom and shower

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Asma Nadifi

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012

Liked: I mainly liked how the staff was friendly, cool and very helpful. I am thinking about David who was very charming and extremely helpful. He was in charge of events whithin the hostel and made our journey fun and interesting. He loved his job and was very dynamic, taking initiative and passionate at every thing he was accomplishing

Disliked: The hostel was extremely noisy, old and not at all confortable. The cleanness was contestable.....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Omer Sevinc

Alone

City break

22 April 2012 Omer would recommend this property

Liked: location is so good you can walk to central walk 5-10 min. Subway staion is so close like 2 min. It is a safe place. It is clean . Staff so helpfull, especially David is so friendly, he helps you and behave very well. Also Q is very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Baths could be cleaner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Janet BArker

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for : a clean , safe place that is cheap! The staff was extrememly helpful and the beds comfortable.

Disliked: It was a hostel and I am afraid i am used to tthe Ritz. The kids were used to more too. BUT they did not complain about the basic bunk beds and run-down surroundings. We had bagels and rolls for breakfast. The coffee was surprisingly good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WOLBERG JULIETTE

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2012 WOLBERG would recommend this property

Liked: cheap but very good location, friendly and helpful !!

Disliked: bathroom.... the most minimum

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Ladd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the 1 train subway station which takes you almost anywhere! Staff seemed nice and helpful allowed me to drop of my backpack before check in time which really helped! Free breakfast was extremly basic, bagels and coffee only! this hostel is still in the process of upgrading and remodeling seem like they are almost done! So some bathrooms were remodeled while others were not those that were not were in sad shape but clean, with nice and hot water! Saw cleaning staff on two ocasions which is good compared to other stories I have read about other hostels! Felt safe and secure was in a four share room, clean, small lockers in room, some rooms have basins, ours did not! This side of Manhatten is a nice area, close to Stawberry Fields I would rate this a 7 out of 10. once remodeling is done and a better effort for breakfast a 8 or 9 would be fair!

Disliked: Not really!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2012

Liked: Breakfast was included (a toasted bagel).

Disliked: The room we stayed in had a pipe which banged really loudly and kept us awake ALL NIGHT. When we asked the dopey guy at the front desk the next morning if we could move rooms he explained that it was "just the heating". We said we'd rather be freezing cold than have another night of not sleeping at all (seriously we heard it even with earplugs in) so the next night they turned the heating off. What are you meant to be paying for if not a room which you can actually sleep in? Also they charge $4 for bag check but I asked the guy if he put tags with peoples names on on the bags and he said no, so I asked how he knew he was giving the bags to the right person and he said he didn't. So what exactly are you paying for?! We went to another dedicated bag check place nearby which was the same price and much more secure.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location for the price you pay. Easy to get to on the subway from the touristy parts of the city. Awesome walking distance to Central Park and across to the museums in Upper East Side. Should advertise that a bit more.

Disliked: There is a massive noise issue with the pipes and radiators. Which tends to start about 6am every morning. Its louder than is acceptable and heard throughout the whole hostel. Have been told its just the old building and the way the pipes were made back then. So nothing can be done to fix it. They should probably warn you of this noise before you book. There is no way people would put up with this sort of noise in their home, so why put up with it in a commercial building? Other than that, a great place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Jazz, the staff was very nice and helpful, the location is great, the room was clean and breakfast is included. I was able to use kitchen to cook, and the shared bathroom was clean. I really liked their welcome and polite staff, they did everything to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Disliked: My room was cold, I don't know if they have any problems with heating, it was freezing to sleep, but the staff provided me with additional blankets so I managed to sleep in warm conditions))))

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guests were very nice

Disliked: No visible sign outside. fire safety issues

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is realy good.

Disliked: Não há muito espaço para conversar com os outros hospedes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefanie Mueller

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location on the Upper West Side right next to Central Park, Hudson River and the Subway is amazing.

Disliked: I was in a room with an ensuite bathroom but that was a joke. The bathroom was tiny and did not have a sink or mirror. Luckily there were two large bathrooms on the floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Only 2 out of the 6 lockers were usable due to broken locks in my room. Poor communication by staff when checking in, not everything was explained (towels, breakfast)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, friendly, close to metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shuk Ting Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Shuk Ting would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed on the second floor. The room was new, spacious and clean. The bathroom was also nice. Breakfast was provided provided every morning.

Disliked: Nth

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012

Liked: I liked the 24/7 Front Desk. The lounge is ok and the TV offers are fairly ok. Jazz on Amsterdam is located in a very nice area. There are lots of shops, bars and cafés around.

Disliked: The staff didn't put enough emphasize on the house rules and quiet hours. Some rooms were playing loud music until 5 am. Further there was a radiator pipe going through our room which was very loud. The noise made it hard and uncomfortable to sleep. When informing the staff about the situation the answers were rude and not helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that you could have a room with only two people in the room. This allows for a good night sleep with minimal disturbance.

Disliked: The kitchen facilities were in poor condition. The electric cooker did not work, the toaster was very old, and overall in general the whole place needs to be repainted.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location wise this property is great. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the subway line. It's also about a 10 minute walk to central park. Room was good - great shower!

Disliked: Staff were not particularly friendly. There is a free breakfast but when we were there, they ran out before the end and they said they wouldn't provide any more

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A lot of noise, bathrooms not very clean, sometimes tha water was cold

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dmitrii Sidorov

Alone

Business / conference

12 March 2012 Dmitrii would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: they underutilize their facilites/potential (e.g., closing socializing in the dining room at 11 pm is ridiculous in the the city that never sleeps...)