We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT Youth Hotel

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

69.7% Overall Rating

321 out of 468 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

EVELYN RIOS MENDOZA thinks…

"Excellent location, just 2 blocks from Central Park and 1 from subway. Nice and helpful staff with which you can communicate well in Spanish :)"

Read all FIT Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.2% 33 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
32.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 156 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 131 reviews
HI NYC Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1520 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.1% 683 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
42.00 USD

Hostel 75.9% 1212 reviews
Jazz on Columbus Circle
65.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

321 out of 468 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 442 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Samantha Belgart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: The size of the rooms, the breakfast and the kitchen was fine too. It was not that noisy outside and quite in the night.

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty. The shower was cold in the evening, but I don´t know, maybe I just did´t get how to use it right. We had little cockroachs in our room, who were hiding under our bags and could lay eggs in our stuff.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

11 June 2013

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: The property is really shabby. A throwback to the SROs (Single room residence hotels) of the 1970s. Obviously they just took one over with the minimum of renovations. They seemed to take no thought about putting me in a room with a woman (I am a man). This seemed inconsiderate to female modesty and insecurity: to throw a woman into a shared room (bunk bed) with an unknown man.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

06 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff does not how to attend to the customer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome. My room was nicely decorated.

Disliked: Staff was friendly and helpful, except a lady with glasses in the front desk.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna-Maija Suutarinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Anna-Maija would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lot's of locker room in two people dorms!

Disliked: Internet wasn't working at the downtown computers, so I paid for it for nothing...Staff was rude, didn't speak very good English and were not very helpful at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: The lockers in the room

Disliked: Breakfast was just bad coffee and muffin, common bathrooms werent' clean, the same as the room. People on the front desk weren't nice.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alejandro Rosman

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 May 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The beds are really bad and uncomfortable. The light in the room wasn't working so I manage to get some light with my iPhone. It's not worth what I pay for.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: It was alright nothing wow but did the job. Good tv lounge on 1st floor, good computers for internet and printing

Disliked: Room without blinds, just translucent drapes. Tight, very tight bathroom on private double room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hans Kristian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013

Liked: The location is strategic, near the 86st Subway untrained & unfriendly staff

Disliked: the bathroom is broken, the internet is not free, there is no safe locker

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 April 2013

Liked: Location close to subway

Disliked: Poor breakfast Poor maintainace Not value for money

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jason Stanton

Alone

City break

12 April 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Jadia on the counter was awesome.

Disliked: My key card stopped working quite a lot.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Manuela Rubio Gomes

Alone

City break

02 April 2013

Liked: nothing, the location was OK

Disliked: Everything! I feel betrayed by HostelBookers for offering such a horrid place to stay. I have trusted HostelBookers but since my stay at the Jazz Hostel I will review my trust and inform whoever I can of this fact. Jazz Hostel should NOT be open in such poor conditions and with a undertrained staff. Not only the night receptionist who identify himself only as Q mock my lack of sleep at 2am but the morning receptionist Sarah was completely rude and unhelpful when I first complaint. The noises at 2am or midnight are unbearable and deprive me of 2 nights of sleep. The showers are disgusting and don’t have even a full curtain! How much does a curtain cost? Why they keep a destroyed curtain?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAMAL JAMES

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

21 March 2013 JAMAL would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: shady guests

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there for one night on st. paddys day. I just needed a place to sleep and a hot shower. Thats what I got, so Im satisfied. I didn't check out anything else. Location is okay. Shower was hot, but there was just one bathroom at the floor. I was lucky that there were no people waiting.

Disliked: It was really dirty in the room. There were 2 drinks, I guess from a party 2 months ago behind the curtain. I don't think that anybody cleans the room. They didn't let me check in at 2.30pm, because check in is at 3pm. But I don't know whats the problem, they don't clean the rooms anyway. So staff was very unfriendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013

Liked: The common room was a good size with couches and a large t.v

Disliked: My room had a hot water pipe of some sort running through the room, all night there was a click, click sound and it genreated sooooo much heat in the room that it made it a very uncomfortable night sleep both noise wise and temperature wise. There were also no curtains in the room to block out the sun; so when the sun rose you woke up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Claudio M Padilha

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Antonio Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central park, cheap

Disliked: Building is old, hot water in the shower only comes after some time you let the water go

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, breakfasst

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as arrived, I was truly impressed with everything... And I mean everything... Knowing that I only paid $30 a night, the services seemed like luxury. Great location, clean and warm rooms, shared bathroom was even clean and with hot showers!Only the breakfast in the morning wasn't enough for all the visitors. Jazz on Amsterdam has truly made me love my tight-budget trip to NYC even more. Great location, safe, clean and cheap! I have already suggested it to most of my friends!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2013

Liked: The location, TV room are the strengh of the hostel, noting more.

Disliked: Dirty rooms, cold, rude staff, poor breakfast, etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Frankenne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: just good, friendly and helpfull

Disliked: a bit expensive, but that s the price in NY

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, and in general the premises were kept to a very high degree of hygiene and cleanliness. The bathroom/shower combinations were almost always vacant (though that may have had more to do with the season than anything else) and the lounge in the basement, while a bit small (two couches and a dinner table) featured a flat-screen television and wall shelves stacked with books.

Disliked: Due to the smaller dimensions of its common areas (including the kitchen off the lobby/reception area) the hostel made meeting and socializing with others a bit difficult. Jazz is better suited to your needs if you simply want a convenient, clean place to sleep and store your luggage while you explore the city.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephane LE DOUJET

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not very clean, very old bathroom, no toilet paper, I found a cockroach in my room, breakfast not good, and very short time to take it (between 8 and 10, which is not compatible with the great NY night life...)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really riendly and helpful. Daily cleaning was indeed done, and beds made every day. We did not even had to take off the linen or put it on ourselves. The guests were real travellers, that is at least in the dorm where I stayed. Their elevator actually worked :-). There was (a kind of :-) breakfast actually. The bathrooms that were renovated (most of them were) were indeed very nice (the old ones were not).

Disliked: Extra charges for leaving bags the same day after check out, extra charge for even wireless Internet on own computers. A lot of taxes on top of room rate. Cockroaches (although they were small and ran away fast :-). TV in the lounge did not have cable signal, thus there was no use of it (and the manager did not seem terribly eager to call the cable company to get it fixed).