We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
24.50 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
54.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI - New York City NYC Hostel
54.99 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 679 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 1178 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GEORGINA LABORIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 GEORGINA would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, the rooms are basic, and affordable price!

Disliked: GEORGINA left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 June 2013

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: It is poorly maintained. - There is no toilet paper - Dirty towels all over bathroom floor - Garbage spilling over -3,4th floor showers and faucets do not work

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Lubryka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, possibility of baggage storage.

Disliked: low standard of bathrooms, windows with no possibility to lock, laud climatization,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Samantha Belgart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: The size of the rooms, the breakfast and the kitchen was fine too. It was not that noisy outside and quite in the night.

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty. The shower was cold in the evening, but I don´t know, maybe I just did´t get how to use it right. We had little cockroachs in our room, who were hiding under our bags and could lay eggs in our stuff.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

11 June 2013

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: The property is really shabby. A throwback to the SROs (Single room residence hotels) of the 1970s. Obviously they just took one over with the minimum of renovations. They seemed to take no thought about putting me in a room with a woman (I am a man). This seemed inconsiderate to female modesty and insecurity: to throw a woman into a shared room (bunk bed) with an unknown man.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

06 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff does not how to attend to the customer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome. My room was nicely decorated.

Disliked: Staff was friendly and helpful, except a lady with glasses in the front desk.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna-Maija Suutarinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Anna-Maija would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lot's of locker room in two people dorms!

Disliked: Internet wasn't working at the downtown computers, so I paid for it for nothing...Staff was rude, didn't speak very good English and were not very helpful at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: The lockers in the room

Disliked: Breakfast was just bad coffee and muffin, common bathrooms werent' clean, the same as the room. People on the front desk weren't nice.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alejandro Rosman

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 May 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The beds are really bad and uncomfortable. The light in the room wasn't working so I manage to get some light with my iPhone. It's not worth what I pay for.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: It was alright nothing wow but did the job. Good tv lounge on 1st floor, good computers for internet and printing

Disliked: Room without blinds, just translucent drapes. Tight, very tight bathroom on private double room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hans Kristian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013

Liked: The location is strategic, near the 86st Subway untrained & unfriendly staff

Disliked: the bathroom is broken, the internet is not free, there is no safe locker

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 April 2013

Liked: Location close to subway

Disliked: Poor breakfast Poor maintainace Not value for money

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jason Stanton

Alone

City break

12 April 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Jadia on the counter was awesome.

Disliked: My key card stopped working quite a lot.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Manuela Rubio Gomes

Alone

City break

02 April 2013

Liked: nothing, the location was OK

Disliked: Everything! I feel betrayed by HostelBookers for offering such a horrid place to stay. I have trusted HostelBookers but since my stay at the Jazz Hostel I will review my trust and inform whoever I can of this fact. Jazz Hostel should NOT be open in such poor conditions and with a undertrained staff. Not only the night receptionist who identify himself only as Q mock my lack of sleep at 2am but the morning receptionist Sarah was completely rude and unhelpful when I first complaint. The noises at 2am or midnight are unbearable and deprive me of 2 nights of sleep. The showers are disgusting and don’t have even a full curtain! How much does a curtain cost? Why they keep a destroyed curtain?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAMAL JAMES

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

21 March 2013 JAMAL would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: shady guests

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there for one night on st. paddys day. I just needed a place to sleep and a hot shower. Thats what I got, so Im satisfied. I didn't check out anything else. Location is okay. Shower was hot, but there was just one bathroom at the floor. I was lucky that there were no people waiting.

Disliked: It was really dirty in the room. There were 2 drinks, I guess from a party 2 months ago behind the curtain. I don't think that anybody cleans the room. They didn't let me check in at 2.30pm, because check in is at 3pm. But I don't know whats the problem, they don't clean the rooms anyway. So staff was very unfriendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013

Liked: The common room was a good size with couches and a large t.v

Disliked: My room had a hot water pipe of some sort running through the room, all night there was a click, click sound and it genreated sooooo much heat in the room that it made it a very uncomfortable night sleep both noise wise and temperature wise. There were also no curtains in the room to block out the sun; so when the sun rose you woke up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Claudio M Padilha

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Antonio Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central park, cheap

Disliked: Building is old, hot water in the shower only comes after some time you let the water go

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, breakfasst

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as arrived, I was truly impressed with everything... And I mean everything... Knowing that I only paid $30 a night, the services seemed like luxury. Great location, clean and warm rooms, shared bathroom was even clean and with hot showers!Only the breakfast in the morning wasn't enough for all the visitors. Jazz on Amsterdam has truly made me love my tight-budget trip to NYC even more. Great location, safe, clean and cheap! I have already suggested it to most of my friends!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2013

Liked: The location, TV room are the strengh of the hostel, noting more.

Disliked: Dirty rooms, cold, rude staff, poor breakfast, etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Frankenne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: just good, friendly and helpfull

Disliked: a bit expensive, but that s the price in NY

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.