HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

73.4% Overall Rating

280 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"Its in a good spot on the upper west, subways are close by, walking anywhere is pretty easy."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 113 reviews
Hostelling International - New York
58.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1464 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1141 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

280 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 380 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Claudio M Padilha

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Antonio Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central park, cheap

Disliked: Building is old, hot water in the shower only comes after some time you let the water go

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, breakfasst

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as arrived, I was truly impressed with everything... And I mean everything... Knowing that I only paid $30 a night, the services seemed like luxury. Great location, clean and warm rooms, shared bathroom was even clean and with hot showers!Only the breakfast in the morning wasn't enough for all the visitors. Jazz on Amsterdam has truly made me love my tight-budget trip to NYC even more. Great location, safe, clean and cheap! I have already suggested it to most of my friends!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2013

Liked: The location, TV room are the strengh of the hostel, noting more.

Disliked: Dirty rooms, cold, rude staff, poor breakfast, etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominique Frankenne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: just good, friendly and helpfull

Disliked: a bit expensive, but that s the price in NY

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, and in general the premises were kept to a very high degree of hygiene and cleanliness. The bathroom/shower combinations were almost always vacant (though that may have had more to do with the season than anything else) and the lounge in the basement, while a bit small (two couches and a dinner table) featured a flat-screen television and wall shelves stacked with books.

Disliked: Due to the smaller dimensions of its common areas (including the kitchen off the lobby/reception area) the hostel made meeting and socializing with others a bit difficult. Jazz is better suited to your needs if you simply want a convenient, clean place to sleep and store your luggage while you explore the city.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stephane LE DOUJET

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not very clean, very old bathroom, no toilet paper, I found a cockroach in my room, breakfast not good, and very short time to take it (between 8 and 10, which is not compatible with the great NY night life...)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really riendly and helpful. Daily cleaning was indeed done, and beds made every day. We did not even had to take off the linen or put it on ourselves. The guests were real travellers, that is at least in the dorm where I stayed. Their elevator actually worked :-). There was (a kind of :-) breakfast actually. The bathrooms that were renovated (most of them were) were indeed very nice (the old ones were not).

Disliked: Extra charges for leaving bags the same day after check out, extra charge for even wireless Internet on own computers. A lot of taxes on top of room rate. Cockroaches (although they were small and ran away fast :-). TV in the lounge did not have cable signal, thus there was no use of it (and the manager did not seem terribly eager to call the cable company to get it fixed).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angelique carosin

Alone

City break

13 October 2012 angelique would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful and always available, even at 2 o'clock in the morning!! rooms were clean and warm and bed was very comfy.

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Márcia Oliveira

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Márcia would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: No one

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012

Liked: location fine for manhattan

Disliked: Exceptionally unprofessional and rude staff - I emailed early in the morning to say I would not be arriving that evening as booked but I understood I would be charged, but to confirm I would be arrriving early the next morning. Arrived early the next morning to be told they do not read their emails (?!) and had cancelled my booking entirely AND charged me for both nights - leaving me homeless in new york on a saturday night - all other hostels booked so ended up having to pay $300 for hotel! Staff exceptionally rude and refused to assist, offer any sympathy or even acknowledge it was poor service - the guy merely blamed the fact he had not been working the day before so "not his problem". Spoke to other travellers in the lobby for help and they were helpful but agreed staff lousy and atmosphere/cleanliness poor. DONT TRUST THEM!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yini Yang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Yini would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the location is good. Actually I read a lot of scary reviews before I went here. But turn out that it is still ok. Not good, but Ok. I guess you got what you paid for?

Disliked: No free Wi-fi, you would have to pay for it. Not very clean toilet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, free breakfast

Disliked: No mirror in bedroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Gray

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The double/queen room was spacious...

Disliked: The ensuite was ridiculously small...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacinta Garry

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: We paid for a 6 bed female dorm and were delighted when they gave us a twin room at no extra charge. Fabulous staff, amazing value for money and a perfect location. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: We had some issues with the keys not always working to our room but this was a minor, insignificant issue.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is ideally located in Manhatan, just one block from the subway, you can go anywher in NYC from there. There is an efficient 24h check in, and a nice staff to welcome you. The kitchen / dining room is small, but you have a fridge and some dishes.

Disliked: The building is hard to find, because there is no sign on the door, so you don't really know that it is a hostel. The breakfast is not really satisfying (just bagels and coffe). Too bad that the independant shower downstairs is broken (it could be useful to shower up while the others in the room are still sleeping).

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 August 2012

Liked: I liked the location.

Disliked: I disliked the structure, bedrooms, restrooms cleanliness and breakfast.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: You have to pay for everything: leaving a luggage, internet etc Staff is unfriendly and doesn't help.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ali Mollahosseini

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: I don't know the prices in NYC, but as far as I searched is one of the cheapest you can find there. For the price you pay don't expect any fancy. Just normal. (Although I payed the same price in Washington but the place was much better). The staffs are kind and were super helpful to me. The breakfast is as simple as you can imagine, but it includes breakfast :-p. The location is good. Near to the train station and central park. The rooms are not super clean but enough good and they provide you free clean towel each day. I am just telling if you don't want to pay a lot and want just a place to stay don't hesitate.

Disliked: The only thing I don't like was internet. It is not very expensive for a hostel to provide internet. You can buy internet from a third company cost around 2.50 each day. I would prefer to stay in a place have internet even slow one. because many times in trip you want to search where to go etc. and 2.50 each day is a lot. I payed the 2.50 each day for Starbucks on 88 and Broadway Ave. and have both WiFi and coffee :-p

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Varga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: It was quit close for center. Helpful staff. I could leave my pack until i went to wolk in the city.

Disliked: Maybe the prize was a bit high but i can't say anything, it was NY :D.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. It is close to the subway and central park in the Upper west side.

Disliked: I cannot think of anything that I disliked.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Matthew Handel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012

Liked: Cleanliness was good, also location was close to subways and some ok bars and restaurants

Disliked: Quite expensive for what it was. Staff were not particularly friendly or overly helpful, was disappointed that the wifi was not complimentary. Had to have a few cold showers, and plumbing in the showers was blocked and backs up. There was a locker in my dorm but it could not be padlocked and staff were unable to give me a key for it so it was useless. Not a good building layout, the common area is down in the basement so nobody seems to go there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERIC SALHA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 ERIC would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement est idéal dans un quarter calme à 5 mns de Central park, 2 mns du métro et on trouve à proximité de nombreux restaurants sympas.

Disliked: Ras