We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
37.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
54.99 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 679 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 1178 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014

Liked: It was close to a subway station

Disliked: The hostel was dirty, you got dirty towels and the carpets in the rooms looked like the have not been vacuumed for years. The rooms were too hot even if you would have the window open all the time. In general the staff there was nice and helpful except on girl, she had absolutely no idea how to check us in and she did not helped us with anything. She was unfriendly and blamed me for things just because she did not tell us all the rules of the hostel. The door to our was really hard to lock and unlock, we had to the reception a few times to ask for help.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kimberly Haines

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Fit Hostel for five days. The location was conviently located in a safe neighborhood walking distance from Central Park and only one block from the subway. I was put in my own private room with my own bathroom which was awesome! Clean towels and breakfast every morning was a huge plus. The hostel staff were so delightful! Valerie and Salome were gems! They were very knowledgable about the city and approachable. I will definietly stay here again when "I go back to New York City!

Disliked: The elevator was a bit slow, old and in use a lot.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staf was OK! The bed a bit hard, one Wakes up a couple of times every night.

Disliked: THE BED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 December 2013

Liked: The atmosphere is good and its a safe place.

Disliked: The heaters click at night are so loud they woke me up (ear plugs recommended). The bathrooms are old and were relatively clean. The bathroom windows are at seat level and the shades don't completely cover the window (not private).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Graham King

Alone

Business / conference

09 December 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: It is what it claims to be: a hostel in the neighborhoody upper west side

Disliked: Needs to fix the repairs it started.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EUDES JUNQUEIRA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 EUDES would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and safe...the free internet helps a lot.

Disliked: EUDES left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Scott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable. Great location. Free breakfast! What a value in NYC!

Disliked: There are extra charges because it goes through London. I paid cash at the desk to avoid those charges.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoav Heertz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Yoav would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel look like somebody really thought about the visitors. Beside being cleen it's designed and beautiful. The service was amazing. It felt almost like home.

Disliked: Nothing.... I loved it, loved it, loved it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iliyan Petkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Iliyan would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi

Disliked: No towels provided

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Rothschild

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good all around. Stylish.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and very helpful, the room was big enough.

Disliked: The location of the hostel was far from bars, clubs, restaurant, etc. But it was close to subway.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YONGSIN YANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 YONGSIN would recommend this property

Liked: good location, just few blocks away from the Metro / Central park. CVS open 24hrs just cross street. Staff are friendly, too.

Disliked: the kitchen is very small and no WIFI access in room. it makes us have more chance to talk to ppl though....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean enough and for a cheap night in nyc is a great place to stay. Free breakfast is always a bonus

Disliked: Lift is horrendous and staff are miserable

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: I did not like this property at all, within 2 hours I had relocated and got a refund

Disliked: It's small unsafe and in a neighbourhood where I personally felt scared it was not advertised as described on the website and it was unclean. I had on pillow which was stained and no real bed sheet further there was no space to put my luggage in the room let aloneyself and one other female.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

callum gamble

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 callum would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to restauarants and bars, it had good access to central park and the subway was only 2 blocks away. it was very secure and i enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

karina percival

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: location.

Disliked: everything else.!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niels Soto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: first of all especially in new york city for me it was not much about the place i was staying but about the perfect location. due to the fact that i only spend time in the hotel to have breakfast and sleep it was more important where it was located. the location was pretty much perfect. upper westside means no big traffic, small and quiet streets, 1 minute to CVS (24/7 grocery and pharmacy), 2 minutes to the metro station (red line - 86th street), 5 minutes to central park and about 15-20 minutes from the hotel to times square. the "red line" stops at the best stops for sightseeing. we had a 2-bed room with A/C and lockers. includes breakfast and free towels and wifi. a "lounge" in the basement with computers, printers, laundry facilities, tv, books, games, etc.

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst hostel I have ever stayed. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. Staff are really unfriendly and unkind. Wifi was so week, poor interiror, not enough washrooms. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. They have a luggage room but never locked. It was always opened. Even I talked about it they didn't lock it but they said to me it's safe and I have to pay 4 dollars to use it after check out. Compare to the other hostel, this one was more expensive but really horrible, the worst one. Never recommand.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only two people In a room

Disliked: At first they overcharged me , but at last they gave me a refund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: They cheated on the prices, since they appear as the cheapest hostel but afterwards you need to add taxes, so this is not fair compared with the rest of hostels in the website which does include these taxes. At the end, the price I had to pay was way more than the email I received. Besides, the staff was absolutely unfriendly. They even had a wifi working for free, every one had the password (AMSt3rdm or something similar) and they kept on saying there was no Internet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (as I love the Upper West Side). It was a crazy hot week in NYC and the rooms all had excellent A/C, for which I was enormously grateful.

Disliked: Shortage of bathrooms on each floor made for some waiting time (unless one wanted to use early in the morning or late at night). No power outlets in the rooms. Lockers in rooms are really small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LUCAS NARIMATSU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 LUCAS would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the room, mostly. The bed is very comfortable, with all clean and good smell. There's a good air conditioner and shower.

Disliked: The elevator is small and old. The bathroom is old too and doesn't look very nice.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mariane Hungele

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2013

Liked: The Area is good. It's a walking distance to Central Park and just 10 minutes to Midtown. The muffins for breakfast.

Disliked: The bathrooms are just disgusting. They probably never clean it. The room doesn't have any closet or shelves for storage even it's a huge room. I had too keep all my stuff in my suitcase. The staff is rude! Especially the girl with the glasses and the guy with the cap!! Wifi is very expensive!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Wellington Francisco de Jesus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Wellington would recommend this property

Liked: hostel with a good localization and good neigthborwood

Disliked: the window does not open. only air conditioning

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are good. its not a 5 star hotel but it is still quiet good.

Disliked: the lady at the reception is rude and unhelpful. No one deserves to be treated the way she treats people. especially if all you've done is book a stay at this hostel. I am not just wincing about it. I know for a fact that if anyone treated a customer like that in Australia you'd be fired.