We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

70.1% Overall Rating

299 out of 440 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2014)

Leonid Rapoport thinks…

"Great location, friendly staff and excellent value for money make this hotel an excellent choice for a stay at NYC. Would come back."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
26.25 USD

Hostel 67.1% 30 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
22.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 139 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1488 reviews
Morningside Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Jazz on the Park
20.00 USD

Hostel 75.4% 1192 reviews
Times Square Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.1%

Overall Rating

299 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast(bagle , muffin) coffee and tea included

Disliked: The location is too far to walk from midtown.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jamie Berry

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean the hostel was kept. After staying in allot of dirty hostels previously it was nice to stay in a well maintained hostel.

Disliked: The pictures online do not look like the rooms or the hostel as at all. It's beat up and rough and the rooms are no way near te size advertised. It was like living in a shoe box. Anyone who has used the pictures as anything to go by will get a nasty shock however I was only here for a week an didn't min due to the location.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice room.

Disliked: not always breakfast for everyone because few quantities and it should be served before 8am, like 7 or 7:30am.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a good location, close to the subway station and couple places of interests, such as cnetral park, the Met. And I was surprised that it has so many bars, grocery shops, and restaurant around by too. If you're looking for a cheap hotel with good location to visit New York City it maybe a good choice for you.

Disliked: The bathroom is so tiny! It is the smallest bathroom I've ever seen. Anything is sooooo tiny. The breakfast was gone so quickly, if you get up around 8:30, then there is probably nothing left. The wifi is only working in the lobby area but not the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014

Liked: Subway is near

Disliked: Locations

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

WEI-HSIN TAI

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014

Liked: no comments

Disliked: no Hair dryer

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014

Liked: It was close to a subway station

Disliked: The hostel was dirty, you got dirty towels and the carpets in the rooms looked like the have not been vacuumed for years. The rooms were too hot even if you would have the window open all the time. In general the staff there was nice and helpful except on girl, she had absolutely no idea how to check us in and she did not helped us with anything. She was unfriendly and blamed me for things just because she did not tell us all the rules of the hostel. The door to our was really hard to lock and unlock, we had to the reception a few times to ask for help.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kimberly Haines

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Fit Hostel for five days. The location was conviently located in a safe neighborhood walking distance from Central Park and only one block from the subway. I was put in my own private room with my own bathroom which was awesome! Clean towels and breakfast every morning was a huge plus. The hostel staff were so delightful! Valerie and Salome were gems! They were very knowledgable about the city and approachable. I will definietly stay here again when "I go back to New York City!

Disliked: The elevator was a bit slow, old and in use a lot.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staf was OK! The bed a bit hard, one Wakes up a couple of times every night.

Disliked: THE BED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 December 2013

Liked: The atmosphere is good and its a safe place.

Disliked: The heaters click at night are so loud they woke me up (ear plugs recommended). The bathrooms are old and were relatively clean. The bathroom windows are at seat level and the shades don't completely cover the window (not private).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Graham King

Alone

Business / conference

09 December 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: It is what it claims to be: a hostel in the neighborhoody upper west side

Disliked: Needs to fix the repairs it started.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EUDES JUNQUEIRA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 EUDES would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and safe...the free internet helps a lot.

Disliked: EUDES left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Scott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable. Great location. Free breakfast! What a value in NYC!

Disliked: There are extra charges because it goes through London. I paid cash at the desk to avoid those charges.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoav Heertz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Yoav would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel look like somebody really thought about the visitors. Beside being cleen it's designed and beautiful. The service was amazing. It felt almost like home.

Disliked: Nothing.... I loved it, loved it, loved it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iliyan Petkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Iliyan would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi

Disliked: No towels provided

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Rothschild

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good all around. Stylish.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and very helpful, the room was big enough.

Disliked: The location of the hostel was far from bars, clubs, restaurant, etc. But it was close to subway.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YONGSIN YANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 YONGSIN would recommend this property

Liked: good location, just few blocks away from the Metro / Central park. CVS open 24hrs just cross street. Staff are friendly, too.

Disliked: the kitchen is very small and no WIFI access in room. it makes us have more chance to talk to ppl though....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean enough and for a cheap night in nyc is a great place to stay. Free breakfast is always a bonus

Disliked: Lift is horrendous and staff are miserable

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: I did not like this property at all, within 2 hours I had relocated and got a refund

Disliked: It's small unsafe and in a neighbourhood where I personally felt scared it was not advertised as described on the website and it was unclean. I had on pillow which was stained and no real bed sheet further there was no space to put my luggage in the room let aloneyself and one other female.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

callum gamble

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 callum would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to restauarants and bars, it had good access to central park and the subway was only 2 blocks away. it was very secure and i enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

karina percival

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: location.

Disliked: everything else.!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niels Soto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: first of all especially in new york city for me it was not much about the place i was staying but about the perfect location. due to the fact that i only spend time in the hotel to have breakfast and sleep it was more important where it was located. the location was pretty much perfect. upper westside means no big traffic, small and quiet streets, 1 minute to CVS (24/7 grocery and pharmacy), 2 minutes to the metro station (red line - 86th street), 5 minutes to central park and about 15-20 minutes from the hotel to times square. the "red line" stops at the best stops for sightseeing. we had a 2-bed room with A/C and lockers. includes breakfast and free towels and wifi. a "lounge" in the basement with computers, printers, laundry facilities, tv, books, games, etc.

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst hostel I have ever stayed. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. Staff are really unfriendly and unkind. Wifi was so week, poor interiror, not enough washrooms. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. They have a luggage room but never locked. It was always opened. Even I talked about it they didn't lock it but they said to me it's safe and I have to pay 4 dollars to use it after check out. Compare to the other hostel, this one was more expensive but really horrible, the worst one. Never recommand.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only two people In a room

Disliked: At first they overcharged me , but at last they gave me a refund.