HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

66.6% Overall Rating

284 out of 420 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is good and near subway. It is good for travellers who didn't have a car."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
49.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 125 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 1469 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Jazz on the Park
38.00 USD

Hostel 76.8% 1150 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.6%

Overall Rating

284 out of 420 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 394 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iliyan Petkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Iliyan would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi

Disliked: No towels provided

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Rothschild

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good all around. Stylish.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and very helpful, the room was big enough.

Disliked: The location of the hostel was far from bars, clubs, restaurant, etc. But it was close to subway.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YONGSIN YANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 YONGSIN would recommend this property

Liked: good location, just few blocks away from the Metro / Central park. CVS open 24hrs just cross street. Staff are friendly, too.

Disliked: the kitchen is very small and no WIFI access in room. it makes us have more chance to talk to ppl though....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean enough and for a cheap night in nyc is a great place to stay. Free breakfast is always a bonus

Disliked: Lift is horrendous and staff are miserable

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013

Liked: I did not like this property at all, within 2 hours I had relocated and got a refund

Disliked: It's small unsafe and in a neighbourhood where I personally felt scared it was not advertised as described on the website and it was unclean. I had on pillow which was stained and no real bed sheet further there was no space to put my luggage in the room let aloneyself and one other female.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

callum gamble

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 callum would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to restauarants and bars, it had good access to central park and the subway was only 2 blocks away. it was very secure and i enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

karina percival

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013

Liked: location.

Disliked: everything else.!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niels Soto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: first of all especially in new york city for me it was not much about the place i was staying but about the perfect location. due to the fact that i only spend time in the hotel to have breakfast and sleep it was more important where it was located. the location was pretty much perfect. upper westside means no big traffic, small and quiet streets, 1 minute to CVS (24/7 grocery and pharmacy), 2 minutes to the metro station (red line - 86th street), 5 minutes to central park and about 15-20 minutes from the hotel to times square. the "red line" stops at the best stops for sightseeing. we had a 2-bed room with A/C and lockers. includes breakfast and free towels and wifi. a "lounge" in the basement with computers, printers, laundry facilities, tv, books, games, etc.

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst hostel I have ever stayed. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. Staff are really unfriendly and unkind. Wifi was so week, poor interiror, not enough washrooms. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. They have a luggage room but never locked. It was always opened. Even I talked about it they didn't lock it but they said to me it's safe and I have to pay 4 dollars to use it after check out. Compare to the other hostel, this one was more expensive but really horrible, the worst one. Never recommand.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only two people In a room

Disliked: At first they overcharged me , but at last they gave me a refund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: They cheated on the prices, since they appear as the cheapest hostel but afterwards you need to add taxes, so this is not fair compared with the rest of hostels in the website which does include these taxes. At the end, the price I had to pay was way more than the email I received. Besides, the staff was absolutely unfriendly. They even had a wifi working for free, every one had the password (AMSt3rdm or something similar) and they kept on saying there was no Internet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (as I love the Upper West Side). It was a crazy hot week in NYC and the rooms all had excellent A/C, for which I was enormously grateful.

Disliked: Shortage of bathrooms on each floor made for some waiting time (unless one wanted to use early in the morning or late at night). No power outlets in the rooms. Lockers in rooms are really small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LUCAS NARIMATSU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 LUCAS would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the room, mostly. The bed is very comfortable, with all clean and good smell. There's a good air conditioner and shower.

Disliked: The elevator is small and old. The bathroom is old too and doesn't look very nice.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mariane Hungele

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2013

Liked: The Area is good. It's a walking distance to Central Park and just 10 minutes to Midtown. The muffins for breakfast.

Disliked: The bathrooms are just disgusting. They probably never clean it. The room doesn't have any closet or shelves for storage even it's a huge room. I had too keep all my stuff in my suitcase. The staff is rude! Especially the girl with the glasses and the guy with the cap!! Wifi is very expensive!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Wellington Francisco de Jesus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Wellington would recommend this property

Liked: hostel with a good localization and good neigthborwood

Disliked: the window does not open. only air conditioning

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are good. its not a 5 star hotel but it is still quiet good.

Disliked: the lady at the reception is rude and unhelpful. No one deserves to be treated the way she treats people. especially if all you've done is book a stay at this hostel. I am not just wincing about it. I know for a fact that if anyone treated a customer like that in Australia you'd be fired.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GEORGINA LABORIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 GEORGINA would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, the rooms are basic, and affordable price!

Disliked: GEORGINA left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 June 2013

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: It is poorly maintained. - There is no toilet paper - Dirty towels all over bathroom floor - Garbage spilling over -3,4th floor showers and faucets do not work

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Lubryka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, possibility of baggage storage.

Disliked: low standard of bathrooms, windows with no possibility to lock, laud climatization,

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Samantha Belgart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: The size of the rooms, the breakfast and the kitchen was fine too. It was not that noisy outside and quite in the night.

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty. The shower was cold in the evening, but I don´t know, maybe I just did´t get how to use it right. We had little cockroachs in our room, who were hiding under our bags and could lay eggs in our stuff.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

11 June 2013

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: The property is really shabby. A throwback to the SROs (Single room residence hotels) of the 1970s. Obviously they just took one over with the minimum of renovations. They seemed to take no thought about putting me in a room with a woman (I am a man). This seemed inconsiderate to female modesty and insecurity: to throw a woman into a shared room (bunk bed) with an unknown man.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

06 June 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff does not how to attend to the customer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome. My room was nicely decorated.

Disliked: Staff was friendly and helpful, except a lady with glasses in the front desk.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna-Maija Suutarinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Anna-Maija would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lot's of locker room in two people dorms!

Disliked: Internet wasn't working at the downtown computers, so I paid for it for nothing...Staff was rude, didn't speak very good English and were not very helpful at all.