HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.9% Overall Rating

284 out of 421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is good and near subway. It is good for travellers who didn't have a car."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
44.75 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
55.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 126 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1470 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Jazz on the Park
42.00 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1151 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

284 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 395 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated rooms, relatively close to center (bus stop near the entrance), good price

Disliked: The shared bathrooms are very unclear ( and the building itself was very old. The rooms do not have AirConditioning, only a fan in the window. The rooms are vey small, and some of them which face the street are very noisy (as there was no AirCond. I needed to open the window)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

vinicius chagas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

20 June 2011 vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good hostel, near the train station, good internet!

Disliked: I think that they could improve the bathroom.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really convenient location

Disliked: Very noisy and hot! Stayed in a room with a really, REALLY noisy heating pipe in the corner. Very little sleep had!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a pretty nice common room area with free coffee and tea which was lovely.

Disliked: The fact that they lost power for a day. I know this was out of their control but it did suck.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: It is at a very convenient location.

Disliked: The deposit I paid on HostelBooker was not recognized when I checked in. The charge me the full amount and did not give me refund when I realized the problem. 10% deposit is not that much. I mean I will not care if they just reply to me and say they can't refund but the fact that they ignore my email hurts me (the staff at the front table told me to send email to their mailbox and I know they check their emails very frequently). The hostel is close to the street and it's really noisy at night. I woke up by noises from the streets and people walking in the hallway very frequently at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a great experience although we met the big snow these days, people there are friendly and the location is good, if I will go to NYC next time, I will definitely stay there. But it would be perfect if it can provide more discount for people who live there a little bit longer. Or if the price is a little cheaper than what is now, it will appear more ladies to stay there.

Disliked: A little bit more cheaper will be perfect!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy

Disliked: looks a bit sketchy from corridors, but pretty nice in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Josie Hudspeth

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get into city.

Disliked: Having men living in rooms next to mine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is so good...

Disliked: wi-fi is not available in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly and helped a lots. Bathrooms on 2 and 3rd floor are clean.

Disliked: Bathrooms on 4th floor were a lil bit dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and accessability with public transportation. Nice and enough bathrooms.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 December 2010

Liked: location, easy to get to from subway

Disliked: security was not what they said it was and the kitchen was inadequate

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, very safe, the kitchen was a good place to hang out with different people, staff was nice, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner, but it wasn't that bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelina Hoglin

Alone

City break

23 November 2010 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I ever stayed in. Very clean and very cosy!

Disliked: Evelina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - no curfew-for girls only-friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: - earliest check in at 3 pm:(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuffs are very friendly and helpful. Besides, the location is really great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ann Mortensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: VERY good location. Big rooms, clean. Friendly staff. Very nice lounge/tv room and nice kitchen space.

Disliked: No lockers in the room (but luggage store room). And yeah, they have a mouse problem, so when they say "no food in the room", there's a good reason...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, bathrooms pretty clean, nice basement lounge. Fine for a cheap place to sleep in NYC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chiara Olivieri

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: Was really the best hostel I've ever seen!! The room was very clean, there were four bed and the bathroom inside the room. The furnishing was really nice, all pink!!! I was alone and were my first days in NY city and the staff had to made me feel like at home! Really enjoy my time there...and meet a lot of funny people!

Disliked: Chiara left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was near a subway to easy to access anywhere in the city. It wasnt to far way from everything. The price was good and what they offer here was great. This hostel is great for girls who are traveling by yourself as you feel really safe here.

Disliked: The staff needed to a little bit more friendly but they did always help you with any questions they had. A bit more communication from the staff to what the hostel had to offer would have been good. The room i stayed in was near the kitchen so it was really noisy in the morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locationtoilets and bathnice roomscomfortable beds

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location, its cleanliness, its safety

Disliked: the staff wasn't too helpful

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2010

Liked: The place was kept generally clean and the lounge area and TV facilities were good

Disliked: The staff were rude, my keycard to enter my room expired at random points in the day meaning i had to constantly go back to reception to get it updated- and this seemed to irritate the staff-as if it was my fault, the hostel is advertised as an all female hostel, however it is in an apartmant block with apartments that do not belong to pink in the city- they were often noisy and there were many men just walking around. Also in the lounge area the dvd's were not actually available to watch. Also the price stated when booking turned out to be a lot more expensive when you checked in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, well-located, clean and great communal space in the basement

Disliked: Could do with some curtains at windows rather than just nets