We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
24.50 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
54.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI - New York City NYC Hostel
54.99 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 679 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 1178 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabella Nicolas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: Great compared to similar ones in NYC

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011

Liked: - Lounge is great. - 1st and 2nd floors seem quite nice actually. Above that, it feels dodgy. Bathrooms were okay in the first 3 floors, and above that a bit of a mess. But they mentioned they needed renovation on arrival - still, it makes a difference. - People staying were great

Disliked: - Bathroom on MY level was horrible. - Has a dodgy feel above 2nd floor - Ought to be set up properly throughout the hostel, instead of just a couple of floors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Rukscha

Alone

City break

27 June 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: My booking was for a 2-bed room but they confused my request and gave me a 6-bed room. Anyway, they refund me the difference.

Disliked: -

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Luke Altieri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff are heinous, kitchen is useless, doors don't lock, pricey. Awful, awful place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Donnah MacKinnon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2011 Donnah would recommend this property

Liked: lounge. nice staff - they did what they could to enable a better stay. good location and not too loud

Disliked: beds where not that comfy. security.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location..subway nearby..

Disliked: wifi is only available in the lounge and not in the rooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, friendly staff, amazing location.

Disliked: I think i might have been bitten by bedbugs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated rooms, relatively close to center (bus stop near the entrance), good price

Disliked: The shared bathrooms are very unclear ( and the building itself was very old. The rooms do not have AirConditioning, only a fan in the window. The rooms are vey small, and some of them which face the street are very noisy (as there was no AirCond. I needed to open the window)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

vinicius chagas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

20 June 2011 vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good hostel, near the train station, good internet!

Disliked: I think that they could improve the bathroom.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really convenient location

Disliked: Very noisy and hot! Stayed in a room with a really, REALLY noisy heating pipe in the corner. Very little sleep had!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a pretty nice common room area with free coffee and tea which was lovely.

Disliked: The fact that they lost power for a day. I know this was out of their control but it did suck.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: It is at a very convenient location.

Disliked: The deposit I paid on HostelBooker was not recognized when I checked in. The charge me the full amount and did not give me refund when I realized the problem. 10% deposit is not that much. I mean I will not care if they just reply to me and say they can't refund but the fact that they ignore my email hurts me (the staff at the front table told me to send email to their mailbox and I know they check their emails very frequently). The hostel is close to the street and it's really noisy at night. I woke up by noises from the streets and people walking in the hallway very frequently at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a great experience although we met the big snow these days, people there are friendly and the location is good, if I will go to NYC next time, I will definitely stay there. But it would be perfect if it can provide more discount for people who live there a little bit longer. Or if the price is a little cheaper than what is now, it will appear more ladies to stay there.

Disliked: A little bit more cheaper will be perfect!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy

Disliked: looks a bit sketchy from corridors, but pretty nice in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Josie Hudspeth

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get into city.

Disliked: Having men living in rooms next to mine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is so good...

Disliked: wi-fi is not available in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly and helped a lots. Bathrooms on 2 and 3rd floor are clean.

Disliked: Bathrooms on 4th floor were a lil bit dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and accessability with public transportation. Nice and enough bathrooms.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 December 2010

Liked: location, easy to get to from subway

Disliked: security was not what they said it was and the kitchen was inadequate

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, very safe, the kitchen was a good place to hang out with different people, staff was nice, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner, but it wasn't that bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelina Hoglin

Alone

City break

23 November 2010 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I ever stayed in. Very clean and very cosy!

Disliked: Evelina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - no curfew-for girls only-friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: - earliest check in at 3 pm:(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuffs are very friendly and helpful. Besides, the location is really great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ann Mortensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: VERY good location. Big rooms, clean. Friendly staff. Very nice lounge/tv room and nice kitchen space.

Disliked: No lockers in the room (but luggage store room). And yeah, they have a mouse problem, so when they say "no food in the room", there's a good reason...