HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

74.7% Overall Rating

279 out of 406 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"Its in a good spot on the upper west, subways are close by, walking anywhere is pretty easy."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 113 reviews
Hostelling International - New York
58.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1464 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1141 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

279 out of 406 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 380 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 December 2010

Liked: location, easy to get to from subway

Disliked: security was not what they said it was and the kitchen was inadequate

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, very safe, the kitchen was a good place to hang out with different people, staff was nice, beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner, but it wasn't that bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelina Hoglin

Alone

City break

23 November 2010 Evelina would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I ever stayed in. Very clean and very cosy!

Disliked: Evelina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - no curfew-for girls only-friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: - earliest check in at 3 pm:(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuffs are very friendly and helpful. Besides, the location is really great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ann Mortensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: VERY good location. Big rooms, clean. Friendly staff. Very nice lounge/tv room and nice kitchen space.

Disliked: No lockers in the room (but luggage store room). And yeah, they have a mouse problem, so when they say "no food in the room", there's a good reason...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, bathrooms pretty clean, nice basement lounge. Fine for a cheap place to sleep in NYC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chiara Olivieri

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: Was really the best hostel I've ever seen!! The room was very clean, there were four bed and the bathroom inside the room. The furnishing was really nice, all pink!!! I was alone and were my first days in NY city and the staff had to made me feel like at home! Really enjoy my time there...and meet a lot of funny people!

Disliked: Chiara left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was near a subway to easy to access anywhere in the city. It wasnt to far way from everything. The price was good and what they offer here was great. This hostel is great for girls who are traveling by yourself as you feel really safe here.

Disliked: The staff needed to a little bit more friendly but they did always help you with any questions they had. A bit more communication from the staff to what the hostel had to offer would have been good. The room i stayed in was near the kitchen so it was really noisy in the morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locationtoilets and bathnice roomscomfortable beds

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location, its cleanliness, its safety

Disliked: the staff wasn't too helpful

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2010

Liked: The place was kept generally clean and the lounge area and TV facilities were good

Disliked: The staff were rude, my keycard to enter my room expired at random points in the day meaning i had to constantly go back to reception to get it updated- and this seemed to irritate the staff-as if it was my fault, the hostel is advertised as an all female hostel, however it is in an apartmant block with apartments that do not belong to pink in the city- they were often noisy and there were many men just walking around. Also in the lounge area the dvd's were not actually available to watch. Also the price stated when booking turned out to be a lot more expensive when you checked in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, well-located, clean and great communal space in the basement

Disliked: Could do with some curtains at windows rather than just nets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Céline Hainault

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 October 2010 Céline would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location with tube very close to the hostel.Good Value for money.A place comfortable to stay, after it depends on people who stay in the hostel.

Disliked: No individual locked wardrobe. It's cleaned everyday but people who stay in the hostel don't take care about the cleanliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's an adorable hostel and the location is perfect for me, close to subway and there are some stores, restaurants and pharmacy in the area. The room and bathroom are clean. I would recommend my friends to stay here next time.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice, an overall good experience

Disliked: everything worked just fine for me

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Lee

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 September 2010 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, dorms are basic but clean and well presented. Kitchen facilities great with free tea and coffee in the morning. Staff are great and always on hand a special mention to Sheryl who was really helpful and friendly - sorted out my airport transfer, checked me out at 4 am and made me coffee!!

Disliked: There isn't much space for your luggage in the dorms, especially if a few of you have big suitcases. I know I can't speak for all females but i know i have a hard time travelling light! There is virtually no other furniture in dorms apart from the bunks!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: There were toilets only in the bathrooms. I would prefer separate toilets. There were no lockers for our valuables.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kanté Fanta

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Shopping

21 September 2010 Kanté would recommend this property

Liked: T

Disliked: Kanté left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melissa Thomas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic. You can walk to Central Park, Times Square, Broadway or go one block over and take the subway where ever you want to go. I felt safe walking in the neighborhood and security was taken seriously in the building. The staff were always very nice and helpful. Bedding and towels are provided (Thank you!). It's cute, it's quirky, it's pink!

Disliked: If I could change one thing about this hostel it would be to add lockers to the rooms. Other than that the only other thing I didn't like was that the other hostelers weren't interested in socializing, but that's not the hostel's fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Scorer

Alone

14 September 2010 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: I like how safe I feel here, the staff are all friendly and there is plenty of things to do to stop boredom.

Disliked: The only thing I would ask is if possible could there be a pink in the city sign above the door, although I found my way without getting lost it would help people know whet it was.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, decor, location.

Disliked: no activities, and the fact that tenants live in the building.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice bathrooms

Disliked: The fridge is not big enough and it happend 2 times in a week that food vanished... if there would be a better organisation and especially more space for the food, it would be a lot easier.