HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.9% Overall Rating

284 out of 421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is good and near subway. It is good for travellers who didn't have a car."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 126 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1470 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Jazz on the Park
42.00 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1151 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

284 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 395 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very good and the area around it is clean and safe. The tv room downstairs was a nice addition.

Disliked: There were not enough bathrooms, only one per floor. The internet is poor at best anywhere in the hostel apart from when downstairs. When you arrive you see that there is an added $3.50 per night and no reason is given for this. The kitchen isn't really a kitchen. The most you can really do is microwave food as you only have two plug in hobs which are dirty and small. For the price you are paying I would expect an actual kitchen, there isn't even a kettle.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to subway, I stayed in a clean/nice room!

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit more welcoming?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: not enough bathrooms, no lockable blankets in the room, room with male ande female mixt

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, the cool lounge area with a huge TV.

Disliked: In some rooms there's no A/C so it got super hot,not nice.Wash basins in bathrooms were blocked and gross.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Joshua Braithwaite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: location people who stayed there

Disliked: not clean roaches overpriced no lock up in room for valuables Extra charge to lock up bag on main floor in common locker room bathroom lights not working for a few days staff allowing ghetto black guy to sleep in the common area every night and bother people

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: advertised as having lockers in room and didn't. Cooking facilities poor. not much atmosphere and got bed bug bites.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: 3pm check-in - pretty late

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located really well and everything was clean.

Disliked: The staff wasn't being friendly at all, they weren't very helpful and even gave me wrong directions at some point. All in all the atmosphere in that hostel just wasn't nice and it felt pretty anonymous. So I wouldn't recommend it for people staying alone. But I guess if you're simply looking for a bed and a clean shower it's totally fine.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: not too much, the location is OK

Disliked: It´ś not that clean (especially in the corridors, also the bathroom was not very clean and very old) and partly it feels a bit strange, because the rooms are all around the building, but it´s not entirely occupied by the hostel and there also seem to live families. It is really bad value as it is really expansive (even for a city as NYC, I think) and then you additionally you have to pay for the most essential hostel services, as internet and lockers, which i find ridiculous.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were better than expected.

Disliked: That the Wifi was broken and there was no explanation or solution to it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: There were no lockers, all valuables had to be put in the luggage storage room which was squashed and often left unlocked or unable to lock due to capacity restraints. Every time I wanted something from the room i had to wait at least half an hour for a staff member to appear, who knows where they went, and then wait for them to have time to open the room so i could get something out, and then repeat the process to put something back in. There were very limited bathrooms and one would have to wait at least half an hour in the morning for usage of a bathroom if you were not in an ensuite (which there were not many of). This is really annoying when someone is having a long shower and you need to pee.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Some bathrooms are out of service

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

alexei shelkovenkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was nearby the Central Park

Disliked: The hostel big but useless. Lift does not work properly. Kitchen has no proper facilities. Storage room is very tiny. Bathrooms are dirty. It is not worth the money you pay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the number 1 subway. What you see is what you get.

Disliked: Nothing really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: No lockers in my dorm. Rooms not that secure as interlinked with fire escape (window open because of heat)

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ayla Kaplankiran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: Nothing - Other tavellers I met was the only thing made it bearable at this hostel

Disliked: Check in at 3pm - many hostels says so but every single one of them I been to wouldn't mind checking in around 11-12pm as long as the room was ready, however, here they made me wait for 20mins (I was there at 2.40pm) to check in! The lady at check-in didn't care and wouldnt even look me in the face! How rude!! Too expensive - not worth the price. Its $4 to leave luggage after check out. Don't be fooled with free-luggage tick. Bathrooms were blocked - water would hardly run-down the drain. The younger girl at check-in desk around 8pm was very nice and helpful and thts about it. Don't be fooled with free tea-coffee thats available just about every hostel.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: The staff were kind, but useless at their jobs.

Disliked: I am a male and was put in a female dorm, we didnt report this to the staff as it wasnt a big problem. The security is a joke, i have entered the building since checking out as i still have my key card, the bedroom doors look like they could be broken with a hard push, The laundry soap machine was empty, the change machine was broken and they couldnt make change at the front desk to do your washing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Charlotte barber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: It is very close to everything, it is literally n your doorstep, it is modern in parts, there is an elevator and it's clean

Disliked: The wifi is only on the basement level, not in the rooms or the kitchen, there were no lockers in the room so when the person i was sharing the dorm with picked up a random guy for some hanky panky in the room (with me on the bottom bunk, no shame !) i stayed awake the whole night thinking this guy was gonna rob my stuff, a very unpleasant experience. i understand this is not the hostels fault, but the no lockers in the room or on same floor is !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabella Nicolas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: Great compared to similar ones in NYC

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011

Liked: - Lounge is great. - 1st and 2nd floors seem quite nice actually. Above that, it feels dodgy. Bathrooms were okay in the first 3 floors, and above that a bit of a mess. But they mentioned they needed renovation on arrival - still, it makes a difference. - People staying were great

Disliked: - Bathroom on MY level was horrible. - Has a dodgy feel above 2nd floor - Ought to be set up properly throughout the hostel, instead of just a couple of floors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Rukscha

Alone

City break

27 June 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: My booking was for a 2-bed room but they confused my request and gave me a 6-bed room. Anyway, they refund me the difference.

Disliked: -

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Luke Altieri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff are heinous, kitchen is useless, doors don't lock, pricey. Awful, awful place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Donnah MacKinnon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2011 Donnah would recommend this property

Liked: lounge. nice staff - they did what they could to enable a better stay. good location and not too loud

Disliked: beds where not that comfy. security.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location..subway nearby..

Disliked: wifi is only available in the lounge and not in the rooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, friendly staff, amazing location.

Disliked: I think i might have been bitten by bedbugs