We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

65.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

SABRINA GERPE OLIVERI thinks…

"The room was exactly as described; the staff was very helpful, polite and always friendly; the location was perfect, just a block away from the metro station, and with various restaurants and pubs…"

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
30.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 680 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 78.9% 1179 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
55.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Jonathan Cooke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: As exactly what it said on the tin. Bed, basic cooking facilities, shower, locker. Was relatively sociable so meeting other guests was easy.

Disliked: Seemed quite commercial and the staff didn't seem to care that much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY CONVENIENT

Disliked: A LITTLE EXPENSIVE

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Toilets were not working on one whole floor, no lights on others, no air conditioning/ventilation and no attitude for solving those problems!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near central park and subway stop. Clean and safe rooms and bathroom.

Disliked: No air conditioning in room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and practocal to visit the city

Disliked: We ordered 6 pax room, we were divided in diferent rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice single room

Disliked: kitchen facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ali sener

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 ali would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great location.

Disliked: There are people living at the 4th and 5th floors. So, you don't feel like you are at a private place. At the first floor, there was only one restroom. The bathroom and toilet should be seperate. Because when the shower is busy, you have to wait for a long time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very good and the area around it is clean and safe. The tv room downstairs was a nice addition.

Disliked: There were not enough bathrooms, only one per floor. The internet is poor at best anywhere in the hostel apart from when downstairs. When you arrive you see that there is an added $3.50 per night and no reason is given for this. The kitchen isn't really a kitchen. The most you can really do is microwave food as you only have two plug in hobs which are dirty and small. For the price you are paying I would expect an actual kitchen, there isn't even a kettle.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to subway, I stayed in a clean/nice room!

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit more welcoming?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: not enough bathrooms, no lockable blankets in the room, room with male ande female mixt

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, the cool lounge area with a huge TV.

Disliked: In some rooms there's no A/C so it got super hot,not nice.Wash basins in bathrooms were blocked and gross.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Joshua Braithwaite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011

Liked: location people who stayed there

Disliked: not clean roaches overpriced no lock up in room for valuables Extra charge to lock up bag on main floor in common locker room bathroom lights not working for a few days staff allowing ghetto black guy to sleep in the common area every night and bother people

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: advertised as having lockers in room and didn't. Cooking facilities poor. not much atmosphere and got bed bug bites.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: 3pm check-in - pretty late

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located really well and everything was clean.

Disliked: The staff wasn't being friendly at all, they weren't very helpful and even gave me wrong directions at some point. All in all the atmosphere in that hostel just wasn't nice and it felt pretty anonymous. So I wouldn't recommend it for people staying alone. But I guess if you're simply looking for a bed and a clean shower it's totally fine.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: not too much, the location is OK

Disliked: It´ś not that clean (especially in the corridors, also the bathroom was not very clean and very old) and partly it feels a bit strange, because the rooms are all around the building, but it´s not entirely occupied by the hostel and there also seem to live families. It is really bad value as it is really expansive (even for a city as NYC, I think) and then you additionally you have to pay for the most essential hostel services, as internet and lockers, which i find ridiculous.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were better than expected.

Disliked: That the Wifi was broken and there was no explanation or solution to it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: There were no lockers, all valuables had to be put in the luggage storage room which was squashed and often left unlocked or unable to lock due to capacity restraints. Every time I wanted something from the room i had to wait at least half an hour for a staff member to appear, who knows where they went, and then wait for them to have time to open the room so i could get something out, and then repeat the process to put something back in. There were very limited bathrooms and one would have to wait at least half an hour in the morning for usage of a bathroom if you were not in an ensuite (which there were not many of). This is really annoying when someone is having a long shower and you need to pee.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Some bathrooms are out of service

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

alexei shelkovenkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was nearby the Central Park

Disliked: The hostel big but useless. Lift does not work properly. Kitchen has no proper facilities. Storage room is very tiny. Bathrooms are dirty. It is not worth the money you pay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the number 1 subway. What you see is what you get.

Disliked: Nothing really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: No lockers in my dorm. Rooms not that secure as interlinked with fire escape (window open because of heat)

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ayla Kaplankiran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: Nothing - Other tavellers I met was the only thing made it bearable at this hostel

Disliked: Check in at 3pm - many hostels says so but every single one of them I been to wouldn't mind checking in around 11-12pm as long as the room was ready, however, here they made me wait for 20mins (I was there at 2.40pm) to check in! The lady at check-in didn't care and wouldnt even look me in the face! How rude!! Too expensive - not worth the price. Its $4 to leave luggage after check out. Don't be fooled with free-luggage tick. Bathrooms were blocked - water would hardly run-down the drain. The younger girl at check-in desk around 8pm was very nice and helpful and thts about it. Don't be fooled with free tea-coffee thats available just about every hostel.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: The staff were kind, but useless at their jobs.

Disliked: I am a male and was put in a female dorm, we didnt report this to the staff as it wasnt a big problem. The security is a joke, i have entered the building since checking out as i still have my key card, the bedroom doors look like they could be broken with a hard push, The laundry soap machine was empty, the change machine was broken and they couldnt make change at the front desk to do your washing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Charlotte barber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: It is very close to everything, it is literally n your doorstep, it is modern in parts, there is an elevator and it's clean

Disliked: The wifi is only on the basement level, not in the rooms or the kitchen, there were no lockers in the room so when the person i was sharing the dorm with picked up a random guy for some hanky panky in the room (with me on the bottom bunk, no shame !) i stayed awake the whole night thinking this guy was gonna rob my stuff, a very unpleasant experience. i understand this is not the hostels fault, but the no lockers in the room or on same floor is !