HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FIT HOTEL

Hostel | 201 W 87th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10024

74.7% Overall Rating

279 out of 406 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"Its in a good spot on the upper west, subways are close by, walking anywhere is pretty easy."

Read all FIT HOTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.1% 112 reviews
Hostelling International - New York
58.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1464 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1141 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

279 out of 406 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FIT HOTEL'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 380 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Some bathrooms are out of service

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

alexei shelkovenkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011

Liked: The hostel was nearby the Central Park

Disliked: The hostel big but useless. Lift does not work properly. Kitchen has no proper facilities. Storage room is very tiny. Bathrooms are dirty. It is not worth the money you pay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the number 1 subway. What you see is what you get.

Disliked: Nothing really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: No lockers in my dorm. Rooms not that secure as interlinked with fire escape (window open because of heat)

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ayla Kaplankiran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: Nothing - Other tavellers I met was the only thing made it bearable at this hostel

Disliked: Check in at 3pm - many hostels says so but every single one of them I been to wouldn't mind checking in around 11-12pm as long as the room was ready, however, here they made me wait for 20mins (I was there at 2.40pm) to check in! The lady at check-in didn't care and wouldnt even look me in the face! How rude!! Too expensive - not worth the price. Its $4 to leave luggage after check out. Don't be fooled with free-luggage tick. Bathrooms were blocked - water would hardly run-down the drain. The younger girl at check-in desk around 8pm was very nice and helpful and thts about it. Don't be fooled with free tea-coffee thats available just about every hostel.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: The staff were kind, but useless at their jobs.

Disliked: I am a male and was put in a female dorm, we didnt report this to the staff as it wasnt a big problem. The security is a joke, i have entered the building since checking out as i still have my key card, the bedroom doors look like they could be broken with a hard push, The laundry soap machine was empty, the change machine was broken and they couldnt make change at the front desk to do your washing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Charlotte barber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011

Liked: It is very close to everything, it is literally n your doorstep, it is modern in parts, there is an elevator and it's clean

Disliked: The wifi is only on the basement level, not in the rooms or the kitchen, there were no lockers in the room so when the person i was sharing the dorm with picked up a random guy for some hanky panky in the room (with me on the bottom bunk, no shame !) i stayed awake the whole night thinking this guy was gonna rob my stuff, a very unpleasant experience. i understand this is not the hostels fault, but the no lockers in the room or on same floor is !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabella Nicolas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: Great compared to similar ones in NYC

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011

Liked: - Lounge is great. - 1st and 2nd floors seem quite nice actually. Above that, it feels dodgy. Bathrooms were okay in the first 3 floors, and above that a bit of a mess. But they mentioned they needed renovation on arrival - still, it makes a difference. - People staying were great

Disliked: - Bathroom on MY level was horrible. - Has a dodgy feel above 2nd floor - Ought to be set up properly throughout the hostel, instead of just a couple of floors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Rukscha

Alone

City break

27 June 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: My booking was for a 2-bed room but they confused my request and gave me a 6-bed room. Anyway, they refund me the difference.

Disliked: -

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Luke Altieri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Staff are heinous, kitchen is useless, doors don't lock, pricey. Awful, awful place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Donnah MacKinnon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2011 Donnah would recommend this property

Liked: lounge. nice staff - they did what they could to enable a better stay. good location and not too loud

Disliked: beds where not that comfy. security.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location..subway nearby..

Disliked: wifi is only available in the lounge and not in the rooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, friendly staff, amazing location.

Disliked: I think i might have been bitten by bedbugs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated rooms, relatively close to center (bus stop near the entrance), good price

Disliked: The shared bathrooms are very unclear ( and the building itself was very old. The rooms do not have AirConditioning, only a fan in the window. The rooms are vey small, and some of them which face the street are very noisy (as there was no AirCond. I needed to open the window)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

vinicius chagas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

20 June 2011 vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good hostel, near the train station, good internet!

Disliked: I think that they could improve the bathroom.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really convenient location

Disliked: Very noisy and hot! Stayed in a room with a really, REALLY noisy heating pipe in the corner. Very little sleep had!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a pretty nice common room area with free coffee and tea which was lovely.

Disliked: The fact that they lost power for a day. I know this was out of their control but it did suck.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: It is at a very convenient location.

Disliked: The deposit I paid on HostelBooker was not recognized when I checked in. The charge me the full amount and did not give me refund when I realized the problem. 10% deposit is not that much. I mean I will not care if they just reply to me and say they can't refund but the fact that they ignore my email hurts me (the staff at the front table told me to send email to their mailbox and I know they check their emails very frequently). The hostel is close to the street and it's really noisy at night. I woke up by noises from the streets and people walking in the hallway very frequently at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a great experience although we met the big snow these days, people there are friendly and the location is good, if I will go to NYC next time, I will definitely stay there. But it would be perfect if it can provide more discount for people who live there a little bit longer. Or if the price is a little cheaper than what is now, it will appear more ladies to stay there.

Disliked: A little bit more cheaper will be perfect!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy

Disliked: looks a bit sketchy from corridors, but pretty nice in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Josie Hudspeth

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get into city.

Disliked: Having men living in rooms next to mine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is so good...

Disliked: wi-fi is not available in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly and helped a lots. Bathrooms on 2 and 3rd floor are clean.

Disliked: Bathrooms on 4th floor were a lil bit dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and accessability with public transportation. Nice and enough bathrooms.

Disliked: N/A