HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New York Homestay

Guesthouse | 17 - 8th Avenue, Newark, New York City, New York, USA NJ 07104

83.1% Overall Rating

37 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/10/2013)

"George is a wonderful host. He will go out of his way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The property is located outside New York, which is cost very effective in the long term. The city of…"

Read all New York Homestay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE - We are not located in New York City. We are over the bridge in NEWARK, close to the airport, with easy access into New York City.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

New York City HomeAway in NJ
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse
40.00 USD

Hostel 91.3% 111 reviews
The Executive Days Inn
149.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 65.1% 214 reviews
Hotel 309
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.0% 159 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
59.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 79.0% 329 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.2% 198 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

37 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New York Homestay'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: George is a wonderful host. He will go out of his way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The property is located outside New York, which is cost very effective in the long term. The city of Manhattan is easily acessible using NJ transit. 20 minute train ride and you arrive at NY Penn Station. Right in the buzz of the city!! You will feel right at home staying at this residence. We don't regret opting to stay there and we recommend it 100%. Thank you ever so much George!!! Aussies. :D

Disliked: N/A

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: When my boyfriend and I arrived, the property manager informed us that he had double booked our room so had to take us to another location that was 'only 10 min away'. He then proceeded to drive us for 30 min to a whole other town, to another home. He then explained that this has happened before on Hostelbookers (where rooms are double booked), and feels bad that he has to put guests up in his own home during these instances. So, he had taken us to his family home. His house was a 40 min bus ride to the train to get to NYC. Furthermore, he said he was going to charge us the same. My boyfriend and I then told him we were not going to stay there, so the manager then drove us back to Newark train station where we got a hotel.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Todd

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 May 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Our Host George Was Very Accommodating And informative During Our Stay, Great Value For People On A Budget

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul-Henri Picard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Paul-Henri would recommend this property

Liked: The neighborhood was pretty calm, the rooms were ok and everything was as expected.

Disliked: Just a bit too far from New York but really WORTH THE PRICE

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Mason

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 December 2012 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very well maintained, our room was very clean as was the bathroom. George, the property manager, was very helpful and seemed like an all around great guy. The building itself was very quaint and the atmosphere calming, I really felt like I was in a home rather than a place to crash for the night.

Disliked: While the experience as a whole was fantastic, walking to the property can create a bit of anxiety since the surrounding neighborhood is a little sketchy. However, once we saw the building and the rest of the block it is situated on we felt much more secure.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That is near a train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jose Luis Herrera Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Jose Luis would recommend this property

Liked: the big room, the whole house is nice and confortable, and a big nice shower

Disliked: no one from the owners in the house.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very special atmosphere, I loved it! The house is well-equipped, public transport is good, and George is very nice. Ideal for a budget holiday near New York.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed at the homestay for four nights and it was a really nice location. George is a very helpful host and can answer you a lot of questions about everything you want to know and is always very friendly and pleasant. The room was located in Rutherford, close to New York, with a bus stop directly in front of it, which take you to Manhattan in about 30 minutes. If you are looking for a safe, clean and good place to live nearby New York to experience the city, I can only recommend this homestay, we had a very good time there!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: George is an amazingly kind and helpful host. He was able to accommodate us despite a late arrival into Newark. It is really convenient for both Newark airport, Newark Penn Street Station and New York by train from Broad Street.

Disliked: The only issue is that it is a little far from any Grocery store.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property manager was friendly and extremely helpful! Everything was nice and clean and it really is a great deal for the cost.

Disliked: You need to just remember that you will have to take a train into the city,so it's not too convenvient to come back to the home stay midday to freshen up.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: George the owner was on the first day very friendly, he even drove us to the nearby restaurant and showed us Newark.

Disliked: It was very cold, 7° Celsius outside and there was no heating in the house, it was freezing cold! At last we managed to heat a little (George told the other girls that it is not possible to activate heating), but the radiators made weird sounds and we switched everything off again. Also there is no microwave. On our last evening we came home late (the other girls left in the afternoon) just to find out, that George (not the girls, they had left when we were still at home) threw all food away, also everything from our fridge, so everything we had for dinner were 4 oranges!!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Dale

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 December 2011 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The property is not boasting enough about itself. It is essentially a really spacious and quirky house with (I think) 2 rooms for rent. It is fully furnished with a great kitchen, so you can self cater easily! The bathroom is clean and ther'es plenty of hot water. Linen and towels are provided which saves loads of suitcase space! It is a quiet street in a safe neighbourhood and has fantastic character! really awesome place to stay! Free wifi was amazingingly helpful, and was fast enough for a good Skype call! Plus there are dvds and a radio available. The location was also perfect. It is about 50 metres from Newark Broad Street, which has a direct train to NY Penn, Newark Penn, and Hoboken amongst other, which at $5 per trip makes it an easy place to stay and cheaper than staying in the city!

Disliked: nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Philipp Vosshans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: - Pedro was very friendly - the idea behind the guesthouse: its more private than in hostels - good facilities (kitchen, bath)

Disliked: - the location was the only improvable thing, if you would like to discover the NYC nightlife you must be aware of the train connections (or the cab-prices lol)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy, traditional, home-feel

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was like being in your own home with a kitchen and lounge room...and it was much quieter than being in the heart of new York...loved it

Disliked: its a bummer the transport is a bit of a hassle

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: In my opinion, the Homestay was in an unsafe area on the outskirts of Newark. This made it difficult to go out in the evening for dinner so it was important to make self-catering plans. There is also only one NJ Transit service into New York every hour at the weekend (though you could walk 20 mins to subway), though this would not be safe in the dark.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephen cordes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: it is like having your own house near New York city. It is very easy to get into the city as it is only a block from Newark broad street station. Also getting to Newark airport is so easy, fast ,and cheap on bus GO28. Take an hour and wander around the neighborhood in the day to get a feel of New Jersey. When in New York I would definetly return to HOMESTAY.

Disliked: Getting into New York takes 20 minutes and 5 dollars each way but the HOMESTAY experience more than makes up for this.

The property's response is...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexander Venables

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2011

Liked: Very little

Disliked: The property was dirty. The floors, the worktops, kitchen utensils, etc were not at all clean, infact we had to purchase cleaning materials ourselves and clean the apartment to make it liveable. The bed linen and towels were changed only once in the 14 days we stayed there. We were a group of 4 but there were only 2 chairs in the lounge area. We asked George if he could provide us with 2 more, but this request was ignored. The property was supposed to have 24 hour internet access available, but there was no internet access what so ever. There was no plug for the main sink in the kitchen, again our request for one was ignored. Simple kitchen utensils such a tin-opener were not provided and the oven wasn't working. Prior to our arrival the fridge had been turned off and when we plugged it in, there the was a stale odor coming from it. There was no TV in the whole house. There was no laundry facilities at the property and no laundrette in the area. During our stay the weather was extremely warm and humid so we left the air conditioning on to keep the apartment cool. Even if we left the apartment for only a couple of hours George would enter the property to turn off the air con, leaving apartment uncomforably warm. George had also unplugged our ipods which had been charging. The area the property was situated, we felt was unsafe at night. There was also no supermarket or grocery store within a 3 mile radius making it difficult to purchase food. George himself was pleasent when we first arrived however his hosting abilities left a lot to be desired. We only seen him twice in our 2 week stay. It seemed like once he had received our payment, he wasn't interested in making our stay more comfortable and relaxing or answering any of our requests. I would not recommend this property to anyone, the information on hostelbookers was far from what the property actually delivered. I actually have family living about 30minutes train journey away from the property and we seriously considered just packing up and going to stay with them for the duration of our stay, the property left us feeling disgusted.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Kunac

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 September 2011 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: The house has everything you need for yor perfect holiday in New York. George is wonderful and does everything to make you feel like you're in your house!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Munro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: It was by chance that I ended up staying but it turned out to be a real blessing. George is extremely friendly and helpful and really seeks to do everything he can. Whether it's local advice or looking after you he goes the extra mile. I don't have a bad word to say about my time spent at Home Stay. I'll certainly be recommending it to friends. I've stayed at a lot of hostels in the area over the last few years and feel that the guest house atmosphere here is far nicer. Thanks for everything!

Disliked: It's not in Manhattan, but it is so close that this was hardly a factor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Little house with 2 rooms which you share with another guest. House was charming, clean and quiet. Perfect for visiting NYC. NJ transit ($5 to NYC) 3 mins walk away, PATH ($1.50 to NYC) about 20mins walk away. Good value for money.

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Carlson

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciated its convenience to rail transit and the homey charm of the interior. I also felt grateful by our host's friendliness and willingness to go out of his way to meet our needs (waiting up for our late arrival, checking into my flight for me on a computer).

Disliked: Compared to a similar room set-up and level of comfort in another market, I found this place quite expensive, but I realize that the NY area has its own economic inflation. Pricing by the bed rather than room also made for less than ideal cost/ value ratio for me: for example, if I were to do my stay over, I would probably request one of his rooms with only a single bed and pay half as much, but sleep two-to-a-bed.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Levente Szekely

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2011

Liked: Really, almost nothing.

Disliked: This could be a very long list. First of all, I think the overall rating this property has got so far is exceptionally overstated. If that rating really relatively reflects the situation in NY and its surroundings then I must say, without a shadow of a doubt that NY is about the filthiest place I have ever seen in my life. This was not a hostel, it was a homestay. But as I rated earlier: the room was small, not at all clean, had bugs and many many moths, the facilities were all very old, bedding was dirty, even stinky, no internet access (although advertised). But let's say this was all somehow acceptable. The thing which was absolutely NOT ACCEPTABLE was the owner's behaviour. Despite earlier emails and talks, the owner was not present when we have arrived at the house. For several hours way into that night nobody was answering the phone, nobody was opening the door. We already went back to Manhattan in search for a new place to stay when he called back from somewhere in Idaho. With difficulties and additional costs (phone & cab) his brother has let us in. We haven't seen any of them owners in the 5 days and nights we were there. But we noted with suprise that almost every day somebody went into our room and even searched our luggage. Second suprise: at the last day of our stay, without any further information, our credit card was charged with the rest of the amount due. (Although for the 1st night's unpleasantries we would have wanted to discuss with the owner for a discount, we figured it's still acceptable. After all, that was our initial agreement.) Third suprise: after 2-3 days of leaving NY for Washington, we have observed that the owner charged our credit card again for an additional $15, without any explanation. After several emails he had explained us that he was charging this amount for a missing pillow and towel. It took us some convincing and a payment challenge at our bank to stop this kind of abuse. (Of course, no towel or pillow was missing. We used our towels as the ones there were stinky and apparently not clean. We used the pillows used on and took from the airplane.) Anyhow, looking back after an almost 4 week trip through the USA, while also staying in Washington, Colorado, Las Vegas, San Francisco and even LA, in comparison to those, it strikes me as a decision bordering on stupidity to have been paid for such a stay and fiasco $90/night (2 persons).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KEVIN GEACH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2011 KEVIN would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very close to transport links.George was a very nice host and gave us local information.The home stay was nice with various ornaments adorning the property.

Disliked: About 15 minute walk to convenience store, although there was a Burger King and pizza place only 3 minutes walk from property.