We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Times Square House

Guesthouse | 526 9th Ave, 39th St - 40th St, New York City, New York, USA 10018

93.3% Overall Rating

210 out of 216 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2014)

Vancho Kocevski thinks…

"Great location in Hell's kitchen, and good access to the subway and buses. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean."

Read all Times Square House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

AWA New York Downtown Hostel
55.94 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
16.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
Hotel 31
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.8% 946 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 71.3% 248 reviews
Chelsea Inn
49.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

210 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Times Square House'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 213 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vancho Kocevski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2014 Vancho would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Hell's kitchen, and good access to the subway and buses. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean.

Disliked: There is no lift in the building and the walls are thin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Alejandra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warwick Devery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Warwick would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, Jesse the host was incredibly friendly and helpful, very clean.

Disliked: Nothing, though it is important to realise that this is a guesthouse and not a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Navarro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff, extremely clean and everything was new.

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mathew Lambert

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location , very clean , the asian guy who manages the house is god deam HOT to bad he did not batte for the same team :p. All in all really good value for the price.

Disliked: No tv :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Bancroft

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Was a bit like living in someone else's apartment, which was a bit weird but served it's purpose. This was perfect for me but maybe not to everyone's taste so it's good to know what you're getting into. Perfect location, good bed and linen, great host (possibly the most laid back guy I've ever met that wasn't on something). Very clean and even emergency soap etc was provided. Lots of good places to eat in the area, next to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (from where you can get anywhere), and within walking distance to Times Square. People commenting about the dodginess of the area should try living in Peckham.

Disliked: The lack of tours/trips etc. This was more like helping someone pay their mortgage by taking their spare room than the hostel-type atmosphere. If you want a comfy bed and a quiet life (as I did), this is perfect for you. Perhaps one too many house rules, but I can understand why they're there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 December 2013

Liked: I liked it's location and the fact that it is a smaller hostel. When they are larger, I feel my belongings are less secure/safe.

Disliked: You must pay in cash or travelers check only. I prefer paper trails or paying for facilities with CC. The no shoes policy was also inconvient; wood floors are extremely slippery in socks and while carrying my bag down I fell down the last few steps. Common area wasn't very inviting. I felt a bit like I was intruding when sitting down stairs with my laptop. The customer service by the manager was excellent though - way above my expectations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Sotelo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 November 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: I really love it! It´s a great place to stay: good atmosphere, safe, clean, in an excellent location and the manager is a great guy! Thank you for everything! Hope to come back soon!

Disliked: Liliana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Hamp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and perfect location, great stuff as well.

Disliked: Everything perfect.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was AMAZING for what you pay.

Disliked: Facilities didn't allow you to cook. Only microwave and fridge available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome property. Nice and clean, and very great location-literally yards from the Port Authority and super close to Times Square

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great location. Staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: No complaints

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yee Wee Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Yee Wee would recommend this property

Liked: Nice workers. Awesome location. Worth the $$

Disliked: Not very clean. top of the bunk bed was creaky on the lower floor bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laiz Moreira

Alone

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2013 Laiz would recommend this property

Liked: ALL! This hostel have good location, is cleaner and the staff is very helpfulness! I recommend for everyone!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Stacey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The help given at check in. Location was 2 blocks from times square. Full bathroom and kitchen offered. More like someones house than a hostel. Very good value.

Disliked: It is very hard to find the fist time around. The door is not labled at all. Need to fix this really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ainslie Gerritsen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Ainslie would recommend this property

Liked: The manager, Jesse, was fantastic & super friendly. He was more than willing to help with ideas of what to do, places to go and how to get there. The place was clean and location was great

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan hagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, really makes you feel comfortable.you are close to a lot things in ny. for people who are just looking for a bed to sleep in at night, this place is worth the money.

Disliked: no free coffee offered like described

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Grasnick

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Well priced for the location, and Jesse was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vitalii Babura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Vitalii would recommend this property

Liked: Literally a couple of words "everythyng fine"

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Le

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff, location and value.

Disliked: Monica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and convenient location. Highly recommended for budget travelers and those who just wanted a clean bed at the end of a long day.

Disliked: The cleaning detergent they used smelt a bit too strong in the kitchen/common area when we first arrived.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. First impressions for me were very good, and were maintained throughout my stay. Clean and tidy rooms and communal spaces, helpful and friendly staff (thank you Jesse), great facilities and ample storage space. As I was travelling independently, feeling safe was of upmost importance for me, and I felt very safe here. Ideally situated, this hostel on 9th Avenue offers a lot of good, affordable food and drink options for a very expensive city. Fantastic little farmers market offering fresh and affordable fruit and vegetables 2 minutes walk away (not sure it's open on Sundays). Great location for exploring the sights, and very reasonably priced. Have every intention of staying here again, recommend it highly.

Disliked: The only downside I felt was that the air conditioning in my room was less effective than perhaps it needed to be. It functioned more like a fan, so did little to cool the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aili Wang

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Aili would recommend this property

Liked: It is worth every penny! The location is very good and you can watch Broadway musical in evening and go back by walk. It is a super clean town house. They had a refrigerator in the kitchen so you can keep your food and drink. The living room had a computer for you to use for free. I lived in a four-bed room, it was very clean and had its own closet! The room is very quiet. The bed is very comfortable and totally no noise! So if you sleep in the bottom bed you don't need to worry about the noise from the upper bed. The people in the house are all very nice! I am lucky to have three nice roommate! I really enjoy the time there!

Disliked: The air-condition is a little noise in the evening but it didn't bother me, although I am a light-sleeper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Han Tan

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Jon Han would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN! Residents in the guest house are encouraged to keep volume down during stay, giving a quiet and comfy rest place after long days out in the big apple. The guest house had two floors with a toilet on each floor. Did not have much problem in terms of having to wait for toilet. There was also a coin laundry shop directly next door which was very convenient. A fridge and microwave was also available for use in the common area. Plenty of food options in the vicinity to choose from as well.

Disliked: Any luggage will have to be carried up to the third floor as theres no elevator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sigrun Sigurdardottir

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Sigrun would recommend this property

Liked: I chose Times Square House for my 3-day trip to NYC. It was very clean and comfortable, the guy taking care of the place was very nice and helpful and the location couldn´t have been better! I´d definately recommend it if you need a place to stay. Granted, I didn´t actually spend a lot of time there since I was out exploring the city (and slowly destroying my feet while doing it), but for a short stay it´s perfect!

Disliked: Sigrun left no negative feedback.