We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Times Square House

Guesthouse | 526 9th Ave, 39th St - 40th St, New York City, New York, USA 10018

93.3% Overall Rating

210 out of 216 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2014)

Vancho Kocevski thinks…

"Great location in Hell's kitchen, and good access to the subway and buses. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean."

Read all Times Square House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

AWA New York Downtown Hostel
61.59 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
13.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
Hotel 31
49.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.8% 946 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
27.50 USD

Hotel 71.7% 247 reviews
Chelsea Inn
59.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

210 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Times Square House'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Strasser

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best place I have ever stayed in New York City. Not only is the property right next to Times Square, but also it is only a couple of blocks from the Hudson River, which has tons to offer. Brian was great, and he gave us tons of advice on what to do and where to go. We felt welcomed, and the property is extremely clean and recently remodeled. Everything you need is in the kitchen, and the main subway station connecting you to everywhere is 2 blocks away. We will come back here every time we visit NYC.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jorge Manuel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very pleasant stay, the house was very clean, Brian, the manager was very helpful and friendly, I would definitely recommend this place to my friends

Disliked: It is a little hidden, and took some time to find, but it was worth it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, chilled atmosphere.

Disliked: the area was a little rustic, had to appease some homeless which admittedly was no problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable for theater-goers like me. Two blocks to Broadway. Security was good and the place was quiet. Bathrooms were clean. Liked free access to a computer since I did not bring one. Wall map of the NYC subway system was helpful.

Disliked: The four-person dorm got stuffy. We did not know we could have the window open with the AC on but it is really necessary. Did not like the mixed dorm situation but it is clearly stated in the description so it was my own bad luck. Could have more info about NYC for visitors. You are left pretty much on your own.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and quiet

Disliked: The direction written on hostelbookers is wrong (it depends of the room you booked)! Just before I arrived, they send me an email and tried to call me to tell me that it was not the direction indicated. Of course, as I was travelling, I didn't read the email, and I searched for the hostel during 45min with my luggage. It was across the street of the direction written in hostelbookers. And there is no sign or even a name on the door to indicate the hostel !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet place. Clean, looks new, aircon in rooms. Just perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location with air con and comfortable space and bed to relax.

Disliked: There seemed to be a lot of rules to remember about the property and this is not necessarily the place to meet people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonios Papamichail

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Antonios would recommend this property

Liked: Nice price and great place. I could recommenced it to anyone looking for a place to stay. Location is very near to Times sql. 10 minutes walking. Also subway is very near. The area is not dangerous at all and it's very quiet. The staff and especially Brian was very very helpful and kind. There is also a laundry right next to the hostel.

Disliked: maybe bigger lockers so you can lock your entire baggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top Lage, super nettes Personal, wenige Zimmer = entspannend, jeden 2ten Tag frische Handtücher, Klima im Zimmer

Disliked: Die Küchenausstattung ist etwas mager (wenig Geschirr). Aber in NY geht man ja eh zum Supermarkt an der Ecke zum Frühstücken.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Oliver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Excellent location for Times Square & surrounding area.

Disliked: Due to the nature of the property (loft apartment split into dorms) it is difficult to build up social interaction with other guests.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, not a backpackers but a guesthouse, so your getting a bed in a shared (2 ppl) room, clean and accessable. Not a place you want to be sitting around to talk with other travellers as most just sleep here, it is not a social point but if you are in NYC to see the city this is a great place to base from. Prices much better than ALL local hostels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location for a good price. Everything was clean, gear is safe and the staff were excellent in helping me out.

Disliked: Was a little difficult to find.. mainly because I didn't read the e-mails they sent me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place.. Close to everything including time square and subway lots of restaurants very clean and great facilities with helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kim bailey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 May 2012 kim would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to times squar which was great nice and clean and quite meaning that you got a good night sleep. The staff were quick to reply to any questions and gave me great directions on the best and cheapest way to get there from jfk

Disliked: kim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and room to ourselves! Great location and value for money. Loved it!

Disliked: Room was small so not a whole lot of space, but still great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Mcgregor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent to deal with. They were very helpful and accommodating. The facilities were very clean and tidy and in a great location!

Disliked: Ashleigh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Ponweera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Staff & location were great.

Disliked: Damien left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a guesthouse so there were only 2 rooms upstairs with 4 beds in each so it wasn't crammed like a hostel with problems with cold showers or not enough facilities. Felt more like living with roommates which was good. The tenant was very nice and willing to help with anything you needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: More like an apartment than a hostel and no organised events for travellers so not the best place to stay if you're on your own and want to meet people

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Danilo Cordeiro

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 April 2012 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: nice to go if you want a place just to rest!

Disliked: Danilo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davor Jancic

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 March 2012 Davor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and excellent location

Disliked: Nothing I didn't know of before I arrived.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Fabris

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, clean, comfortable and safe! Really a great place to stay!

Disliked: Everything was great, I have nothing to complain!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CARINA PRAT PUIG

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2012 CARINA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. The furniture was new and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: CARINA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great! access to everything. I've stayed at this hostel a couple years ago and everything is still maintained extremely well. Free wifi and laptop was always nice to use.

Disliked: didnt stay long enough to notice anything