HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Times Square House

Guesthouse | 526 9th Ave, 39th St - 40th St, New York City, New York, USA 10018

93.1% Overall Rating

205 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Warwick Devery thinks…

"Amazing location, Jesse the host was incredibly friendly and helpful, very clean."

Read all Times Square House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

AWA New York Downtown Hostel
101.14 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.1% 170 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 46.2% 12 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.8% 199 reviews
Equity Point New York @ Times Square
68.25 USD

Hostel 86.9% 194 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

205 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Times Square House'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 185 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff, nice comfortable new rooms, very quite.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very near time square.

Disliked: a little noise room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janette Fanio

Alone

Events / festivals

25 April 2013 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: great location with port authority and service

Disliked: location of being in a sketchy part of 8th ave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Mueller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Very wonderful hostel. I visit New York many times and stay many hostels. this is the cleanest and very comfortable. Thank you!

Disliked: Lars left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012

Liked: The facilities were good, and the location is fantastic. Literally five minute walk to Times Square etc. There is a laundromat right next door which is great. Port Authority is across the road, so transport is never far away. The beds are very confortable, however...

Disliked: ... after the second night I awoke to find several bed bug bites on my body. I reported this to the person on duty and was told the cleaner would be notified, and it would be looked into but I was told nothing further. Bed bugs happen, but what I found annoying the most was the issue seemed to be ignored. Luckily, I wasn't bitten all over, just a few bites throughout the stay there. But, it was not nice to know that they were there.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to the Times Square!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to Times Square and Port Authority Bus Terminal

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soo Park

Alone

City break

16 December 2012 Soo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Na

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location! Also clean and very peaceful place eventhough it's in Hell's kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and quiet, very clean, has a feel of a private house, the staff is extremely helpful but also leaves you a lot of free space to tank ones batteries after a hectic nyc day ;) Really recommendable

Disliked: Could have some more seats in the common area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, quite exactly what I was looking for

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, very helpful staff, even though its just 5 minutes from times square the room was very spacious!

Disliked: no possibility to store your luggage after check-out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rory Quinn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 November 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly guy who runs the place, clean, everything you need in the place. Nearly felt like it was your own appartment in the middle of NYC. Hope to come back in the not too distant future and would be hoping to stay here again.

Disliked: Rory left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy in charge is really nice and helpful. I needed to stay one night more, and as the house was full, he found me something only 2 blocks away, at the same price. Also, there are maps available if you forgot yours.

Disliked: No special comment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Rahman

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Times Square House felt very homey and chic - a comfy retreat from a busy day out in the city. It's just as described on the website and the staff was extremely accessible and accomodating.. and as a female traveling alone I felt very safe staying there. Each room was clean, I felt secure leaving my belongings there whenever I went out, and it's in a great central location, I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, friendly staff. Very 'homey' atmosphere.

Disliked: No bag check, which was annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - great location: central as in a few minutes walking from time square and close by port authority bus station so easy access to all kinds of public transportation. - clean - and I love the hardwood floors. - open and welcoming atmosphere thanks to Jesse

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatiana Delyagina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: I was impressed by the cleanliness and cosy of the Times square house. Brian (supervisor) is so great that I wanted to stay more days there. And the location is superb! Times square, Port authority bus station - just in 10 minutes by walk. Now I will stay in NY only in that guest house. Price performance ROCKS!!!!!

Disliked: nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: it was a perfect location and perfect guest house

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johannes Quiding Lood

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: central. clean.

Disliked: kitchen not well equipped. but on the other hand, cheap food on 9'th street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heung Beom Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Heung Beom would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at 4 hostel totally, it was the best hostel I've ever stayed.

Disliked: bed was too noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Figueiredo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very clean. It's quiet and the staff are very friendly. The position is perfect, close to time square and many subways. I recomend for everybody Time Square House.

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and quiet, highly recommended.

Disliked: Midtown is not my favorite place in NY, but it is very close to Times Square

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Strasser

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best place I have ever stayed in New York City. Not only is the property right next to Times Square, but also it is only a couple of blocks from the Hudson River, which has tons to offer. Brian was great, and he gave us tons of advice on what to do and where to go. We felt welcomed, and the property is extremely clean and recently remodeled. Everything you need is in the kitchen, and the main subway station connecting you to everywhere is 2 blocks away. We will come back here every time we visit NYC.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jorge Manuel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very pleasant stay, the house was very clean, Brian, the manager was very helpful and friendly, I would definitely recommend this place to my friends

Disliked: It is a little hidden, and took some time to find, but it was worth it.