We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Super Eight Hostel New York

Hostel | 139-01 Jamaica Avenue, Jamaica- Van Wyck Subway Stop, JFK Free Shuttles Airport New York City, New York, USA 11435

65.1% Overall Rating

19 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

MOI MOOI LEW thinks…

"The AAE Hostels New York JFK in fact is Super 8 hotel. We encountered problem to locate this hotel because we were not told during the booking. The driver bluntly asked for the tips when we…"

Read all AAE Super Eight Hostel New York reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
Twelve Towns YMCA
65.00 USD

Hostel 52.7% 138 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 444 reviews
Adventurehostel JFK/NYC
25.00 USD

Hostel 88.7% 323 reviews
NY Moore Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 156 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 345 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kamway Lodge
39.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.1%

Overall Rating

19 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Super Eight Hostel New York'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

MOI MOOI LEW

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: The AAE Hostels New York JFK in fact is Super 8 hotel. We encountered problem to locate this hotel because we were not told during the booking. The driver bluntly asked for the tips when we reached JFK airport.

Disliked: We were put into a room in level one which in fact is in the basement. We can hear the noise of people walking and the noise of the traffic.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Grace Carroll

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: for the price it was good cos we got our own room with a big bad, just like a normal hotel but didnt look as fancy. but we didnt care, it was the price that was most important. staff were nice, location is in a rough area but didnt really mind except men stare at u walking down the street, was a bit annoying

Disliked: stated above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011

Liked: Very clean, large room with an ensuite and many channels available on cable.

Disliked: Quite far to travel by subway to get to many areas in the city. Very expensive. Internet available on a computer in lobby for payment.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pedro Matos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

25 September 2010 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The very convenient shuttle service from JFK airport; The fact that it was advertised as a hostel with shared bathrooms, but ended up being a motel with private bathrooms; Close to the subway (30 minutes to Times Square)

Disliked: The fact that the real name of the property was not advertised on hostelbookers; The absence of a shared kitchen or other facilities that you would expect from a hostel; The fact that taxes were not included on the price advertised (annoying habit in the USA)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Bell

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 August 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: on the ionternet

Disliked: my own space and double bed

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

21 June 2010

Liked: Close proximity to the airport

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 June 2010

Liked: The wi fi and the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 May 2010

Liked: If you have to go to JFK early in the morning, choose this hostel. Otherwise don't

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

29 September 2009

Liked: hotel is Faling Apart

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 September 2009

Liked: Subway is nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

ADAM LORD

16 September 2009

Liked: not much. it's waterproof.what do i dislike? well it take about 1 hour at best to get there on the subway. dierctions to get there are very unclear and none of the locals had heard of it. phone number doesn't work so i couldn't ask them where they were. turns out check in is actually in a random separate building called "Super 8". when you check in they didn't tell me the code for the door, i had to prompt them, and then they told me. it was a very easy code to guess. basically i only went there because it was the last available hostel in NY (except the YMCA, lol) at short notice, and now i see why. Don't go there if you can help it.

Disliked: ADAM left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the airport. Helpful staff. Not the cleanest bathroom, but the dorm was nice and I slept really good there. Perfect if you're staying a night and travelling again from JFK the next day. Groceries and restaurants just around the corner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 August 2009

Liked: staff was really friendly, but the location is just horrible!!! Didn't feel safe at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the shower was disgusting ! the evacuation was blocked and clog. no people to meet, i was alone in the hostel. no breakfast included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 July 2009

Liked: They were full so they transferred us to the super 8 for the same price ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

cagil batu

31 October 2008 cagil would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to the airport..

Disliked: cagil left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Pritchard

18 October 2008 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the Shuttle was equally helpful when flying into and out of JFK.

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.