We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Serenity at Home

Apartment | 57 Rutland Road, New York City, New York, USA 11225 - 5312

92.3% Overall Rating

48 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2014)

"I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I…"

Read all Serenity at Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Deposit Requirement/Refund 50% deposit required at time of booking. Balance paid in cash upon arrival.Refund of deposit if cancelled within 14 days of receipt. If cancelled after aforementioned time, deposit is refundable only if time slot can be filled by another guest. If we are not able to rebook, you will forfeit your deposit. We accept cash ONLY Cancellation Policy: Cancellation notice must be received at least 20 days prior to scheduled arrival date otherwise 25% fee of balance amount and 5% transaction fee will be charged. *Please see separate note for refund of deposit amount. Last Minute Bookings No refund on last minute bookings, Last minute bookings are 14 days or less. Refunds are processed 10 business days from receipt of cancellation date. *There are no refunds for early departures. Late Arrivals We do not have a 24 hour reception area. Late arrivals 5:00 and 8:00 pm must be scheduled in advance of arrival. Arrivals after 8:00 pm will be considered a no show and subject to Full Payment. Check-ins after midnight are considered next day (check-in arranged between 9:30-10:00 am). Smoking Policy There is no smoking allowed in the guest house. Children We allow children ages 10 and older. State and city taxes payable on arrival: 14.75% + 3.50 per day/per room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 49 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
NYC Guesthouse
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 345 reviews
Seven Days Suites Hotel
26.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.6% 4 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.5% 13 reviews
NYC Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 67.1% 106 reviews
Five Spot Loft
3.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 96 reviews
Yoga Hostel
78.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

48 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Serenity at Home'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Disliked: I disliked nothing! Everything was above my expectations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franck Atangana

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Franck would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

Disliked: It was perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host, Zenobia, is so welcoming and gives the best suggestions for places to eat in the area. We felt very comfortable and would highly recommend this guesthouse to friends.

Disliked: Although the floors could do with re-finishing and the corridors re-painted, there is so much charm and character to the guesthouse. It feels like a home away from home.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good athmosphere, lovely hostess. The house has it's special character which has to be experienced.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved staying there, it really felt like home, especially with the soul music playing there all the time. Very nice and clean rooms, even the bathroom, for breakfast I could have everything I wanted, and Zenobia tried her best to create a friendly and family-like atmosphere.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Brown

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 December 2012 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Zenobia couldn't have made me more welcome and at home. It was my first time staying in Brooklyn and in a guesthouse after always using hotels in Manhattan previously and I will definitely return again - it's a totally different experience and a real home away from home.

Disliked: Lara left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely athmosphere and it always felt like "coming home" and not just like a random hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Zenobia is a wonderful host, probably one of the nicest persons on this planet. The atmosphere is amazing. It's an old brownstone house with nice backyard located in a small, quiet street near Prospect Park in an upcoming neighborhood called Prospect Lefferts Garden. Subway to Manhattan is close and other parts of Brooklyn like Williamsburg, Fort Greene or Park Slope are also fairly easy to reach. The rooms are beautifully designed and very spacious. You'll probably pay five times the money for a room this large in Manhattan. Plus, you get a sense of how "real", i.e. not super-rich New Yorkers live. A couple of decent grocery stores are located nearby on Flatbush Ave. All in all, Serenity at Home wasn't just a place to stay, but really a place to feel like home and it contributed a great deal to our wonderful stay in NYC.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we arrived we felt very comfortable and at home. Zenobi was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was great as we were only a short walk from the subway and we were also very close to shops, bars and restaurants. All the facilities were great and the choice of food at breakfast was also really good. We would definitely recommend Serenity to anyone staying in New York and we would stay there again if we ever return to New York. It was also made clear to us how much the guesthouse cost, as it can get confusing with the taxes that are added on.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Devon Kronenberg

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: The wonderful hosts and the great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly host, easy access to the subway and lots of places to eat nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Schuwerk

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 October 2011 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and caring hosts! Felt indeed at home!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Franziska Schobel

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: The host was very friendly and helpful, it was a great atmosphere and a nice historic Brooklyn house.

Disliked: Nothing really, the train ride to the city took about 30 minutes, but that was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience, the host and the room.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Genial and warm, the staff was a joy to deal with.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Location, room and facilities. Price is too high.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

René Jøhnke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 René would recommend this property

Liked: Zenobia was one of the best hosts we experienced on our travels.

Disliked: Towels could have been changed once or twice, but it all worked out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Xxxxxxx

Disliked: Problems with the booking: I didn'h know thah i should have paid 50% in advance as hostelbookers only charged me 10%. Therefore, they had given out my room. However, they were kind enough to provide another room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paulina Gonzalez

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 June 2011 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location in Brooklyn, convenient to transit, laundry mat down the street, away from touristy manhattan but close enough to visit, loved it!

Disliked: Not much!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Dugo

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

21 June 2011 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: Je recommande cette auberge à tout les voyageur de passage à N-Y pour quelque jours ou un long séjour cette auberge est parfaite. La décoration est très cossu et les chambres son ultra confortables. La maîtresse de maison est juste adorable et sera toujours là pour vous aider et vous donnez des petits conseils concernant votre visite de la ville. Vous vous sentirez comme à la maison dans cette auberge de jeunesse. Par contre je la déconseille à des jeunes en groupe qui parte à N-Y pour faire la fête car l'ambiance là-bas est calme est tranquille.

Disliked: Rien

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Kruse

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Zenobia is amazing. Beautiful old brownstone. Clean well decorated rooms. Great location to downtown Brooklyn. Lovely place to stay.

Disliked: The house is great. A bit far from Manhattan. Better if you are planning to do things in Brooklyn.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IAN HINGLE

Alone

City break

10 May 2011 IAN would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful! Almost like home...a great Brooklyn experience.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike - the place and the people were great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramsay Weit

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 May 2011 Ramsay would recommend this property

Liked: very welcoming and friendly hostess

Disliked: shower was problematic

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

polly Gitsham

10 February 2010 polly would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this Guest House, the owner was lovely and very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. Would definately stay there again. Was only a 5 min walk to Prospect Park and the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens and very cose to the Metro which took about 15 mins to downtown manhatten. Beautiful house in lovely quiet area.

Disliked: polly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location just a few minutes from the 'B' line which takes you directly into NYC in about 25 minutes total. A lovely family runs this historic B&B. Zenobia is tops!!! I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.