We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The New York Loft Hostel

Hostel | 249 Varet Street, New York City, New York, USA 11206

86.3% Overall Rating

407 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2015)

"I liked how they offered breakfast and the common area downstairs was great for encouraging people to get to know each other and hang out. The rooms had a lot of space to keep bags and move around."

Read all The New York Loft Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

“Please note NYC hotel tax not included in price. 14.75% in all rooms. Private Room: additional NYC Hotel Room Occupancy Tax $3.50 / room per night”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

NY Moore Hostel
55.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 170 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
39.95 USD

Hostel 85.1% 194 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
26.95 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 379 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Five Spot Loft
25.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 129 reviews
Lexington Inn Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 54.8% 12 reviews
Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 60.5% 44 reviews
AAE Super Eight Hostel New York
36.94 USD

Hostel 66.1% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

407 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The New York Loft Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 422 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how they offered breakfast and the common area downstairs was great for encouraging people to get to know each other and hang out. The rooms had a lot of space to keep bags and move around.

Disliked: The floors in the room were a bit dirty so I had to clean my feet after walking around. Beds were quite hard.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Widener

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 May 2015 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Colorful

Disliked: Bathrooms could be a littler cleaner, but hey... It's a hostel :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the people were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The only problem was the live band was loud as we were just above them.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nauman Saeed

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 Nauman would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Good place to crash after a busy day in NYC. close to the subway station

Disliked: shared washrooms is a problem sometimes

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ok. They had a nice bar downstairs with live music and comedy nights

Disliked: The lockers were too small and didn't seem to be very secure. But at least they had lockers! I arrived one day later because my flight got cancelled (because of snow). Texted them to tell that I will arrive one day late but still had to pay the whole night that I didn't stay there

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob Stepaschko

Alone

City break

30 January 2015 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms. Close to metro station

Disliked: Kitchen Close at midnight

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2014 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast in the morning was good, great location in the brooklyn area, close to transport and good restaurant/bars. Staff gave good recommendations

Disliked: Very noisy at night - not sure if this was because my room was located on the ground floor close to reception. But i was woken every night around 3/4am by noisy people coming into the hostel and staff and this was a tues, wed, thurs night. Also the beds were super thin mattresses so you could feel the springs through it

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Fitzpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities (washing, drying, etc), and free BBQ.

Disliked: Was not the best location (closer to Williamsburg would have been preferable) and staff were not overly helpful and were confused with the room situations (e.g. a man checked in to my three bedroom female dorm).

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The yard/outdoor livingroom was really nice.

Disliked: Room wasn't cleaned properly and the service at the reception wasn't friendliest.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardi Hernandez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Leonardi would recommend this property

Liked: The neighborhood at first site looks sketchy, but once you walk around everything about the sketchiness goes out the window. There a few local food trucks which facilitate a drunken hunger on the spot..

Disliked: Leonardi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location to Subway,and proximity to the Manhattan tourist attractions.

Disliked: Not a thing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tammy Byers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Tammy would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stay in a hostel. I was very pleased with everything about it. The building is secure, clean and quiet. The breakfast was good and I really like the proximity to the subway. Upon check out the desk called a cab for me. I would definitely stay there again and I recommend to other travellers.

Disliked: Tammy left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: efficient and well organized

Disliked: no charm

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcelo argolo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, nice outdoor area, good kitchen, great location

Disliked: I only stayed a day, but to me it seems like the hostel just needs some adjustments. There was no hot water on the bathroom next to the room and the locker next to my bed was broken. It's nice that the hostel offers breakfast, but - since it is offering it - it could be more diverse and healthier. Other than that, it's a really nice hostel, I liked it!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the rooftop, how the livingroom is open and connected with the kitchen comfortably and practical. I also love the garden and its furnitures.

Disliked: Everything is great, except one little things . First, the bathubs aren't really clean (after the check in which mean they should be very clean) Secondly, the front door to the hostel is not really locked. You don't need to have use the card to get in .. At first i thought it was like this only for day time. Turned out it wasn't for my whole stay( which was quite a while) Thirdly, and quite importance. There was one security guy that made me felt quite very uncomfortable. I believe he works night time. He wears glasses and has very builded up body with big muscles, black hair. He was talking quite weird to me and i caught him peak on me and walking after me quite often pretended to 'accidently' ran to me, a lot, in that small building. I'm pretty sure i'm not the type of person that looks like i'm going to make trouble so there should be no reason for him to 'accidently' run into me that much. There's one time that i was chilling upstair couch watching tv, that guy walked in to the kitchen and looked up to me and when he saw me looking at him he left. Then for not too long, he showed up to the little terrace of the second floor, looking at me. Pretty sure i didn't hallucinate myself. However, sorry for write this long but i just think that security guards suppose to make the place feel safe to the stayers. This might be just for me but maybe you can ask around if someone (especially the young woman who seems to be travelling alone) has the same feeling as me. Beside these three thing everything was wonderful especially the staffs who were really helpful and I had a fantastic time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hip and funky

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Artur Ansmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: - Very friendly and competent staff - great shared kitchen

Disliked: - sketchy neighborhood

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maria Silva

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: is really clean

Disliked: about the price, is expensive for just hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable and relaxed environment. Clean, light and friendly or caring atmosphere with opening windows in bedrooms. Communal spaces are functional and it doesn't feel crowded even when full. Easy to find, well located for access to The Metro and Manhattan. Good free wifi and decent beds. A worthwhile consideration for individuals and couples or a small group. The price is right and the neighbourhood is fun, with a good grocers and an interesting local scene full of good surprises whether you're into music or skateboarding (shop next door) or just hanging with a small creative community. Perfect! It's the real thing.

Disliked: Why knock something as rare and good as this? No comment.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really big. The staff was friendly and helpful. I like that I was able to check in late.

Disliked: The hostel is in a rehabbed industrial building. It is very noisy (slamming doors, people's voices and footsteps echo and travel), bring earplugs to wear when sleeping.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's was a simple room, with a nice staff that helped us. It's near restaurants, shops, I just loved the neighbourhood!

Disliked: The walls were not isolated. In fact, we could easily hear what the person next door was doing. I woke up several times because people were talking to loud.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice design of hallways, great common room.

Disliked: Misinformation regarding pubcrawls.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the loft style of the building and the large rooms. The whole building is very socially oriented which is excellent.

Disliked: The WIFI is horrible. More time is spent trying to get connected than actually being on the internet. This is the only reason that I would warn people away from this hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon champion

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly vibe, funky styling and nice location for exploring Brooklyn and surrounding area. Manhattan is a short subway ride away for all the main tourist spots.

Disliked: Rooms can be cold during colder weather as room heating is pretty poor but just ask for extra bedding or an electric room heater to fix that. I guess the rooms will also be hot during hit weather as there is no air-con.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious!

Disliked: The heat and water heaters are kind of weak but I'm sure it's great in the Summer.

The property's response is...