HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The New York Loft Hostel

Hostel | 249 Varet Street, New York City, New York, USA 11206

79.7% Overall Rating

384 out of 427 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"A comfortable and relaxed environment. Clean, light and friendly or caring atmosphere with opening windows in bedrooms. Communal spaces are functional and it doesn't feel crowded even when full. Easy to find, well…"

Read all The New York Loft Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

“Please note NYC hotel tax not included in price. 14.75% in all rooms. Private Room: additional NYC Hotel Room Occupancy Tax $3.50 / room per night”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

NY Moore Hostel
33.34 USD

Hostel 83.5% 150 reviews
The Portobello Suites
40.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Portobello 805
22.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Portobello 898
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.0% 7 reviews
Luke's Place
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 4 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
39.95 USD

Hostel 81.7% 84 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 302 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

384 out of 427 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The New York Loft Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 332 of 400 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable and relaxed environment. Clean, light and friendly or caring atmosphere with opening windows in bedrooms. Communal spaces are functional and it doesn't feel crowded even when full. Easy to find, well located for access to The Metro and Manhattan. Good free wifi and decent beds. A worthwhile consideration for individuals and couples or a small group. The price is right and the neighbourhood is fun, with a good grocers and an interesting local scene full of good surprises whether you're into music or skateboarding (shop next door) or just hanging with a small creative community. Perfect! It's the real thing.

Disliked: Why knock something as rare and good as this? No comment.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really big. The staff was friendly and helpful. I like that I was able to check in late.

Disliked: The hostel is in a rehabbed industrial building. It is very noisy (slamming doors, people's voices and footsteps echo and travel), bring earplugs to wear when sleeping.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's was a simple room, with a nice staff that helped us. It's near restaurants, shops, I just loved the neighbourhood!

Disliked: The walls were not isolated. In fact, we could easily hear what the person next door was doing. I woke up several times because people were talking to loud.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice design of hallways, great common room.

Disliked: Misinformation regarding pubcrawls.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the loft style of the building and the large rooms. The whole building is very socially oriented which is excellent.

Disliked: The WIFI is horrible. More time is spent trying to get connected than actually being on the internet. This is the only reason that I would warn people away from this hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon champion

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly vibe, funky styling and nice location for exploring Brooklyn and surrounding area. Manhattan is a short subway ride away for all the main tourist spots.

Disliked: Rooms can be cold during colder weather as room heating is pretty poor but just ask for extra bedding or an electric room heater to fix that. I guess the rooms will also be hot during hit weather as there is no air-con.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious!

Disliked: The heat and water heaters are kind of weak but I'm sure it's great in the Summer.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob Stepaschko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 January 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to meet People. My room was really big, for only three People.

Disliked: Kitchen closed at midnight. Could have been open longer

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ploch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Interior design ald friendly staff. Close to subway - easy connection with downtown Manhattan (10 min.) and JFK (45 min.)

Disliked: Neighborhood is close to streets you'd rather avoid :)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Psara Lassalle

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a great area, close to markets, bars, restaurants and to the subway as well. Clean, with a great common area, offers free bbqs no wednesdays and fridays. The heated tent is great in winter time.

Disliked: I think the receotionists could have been more friendly. Not all of them, but some..... come on you guys, you are Working in a hostel, not in años office. Enjoy that!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olga Didukh

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I like that i lived in tree badroom almost alone all the time) only in the night were some girls.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Rooms have space and convenient setup with a night light and small locker at each bed. Generally quiet when you want to get sleep. Decent kitchen.

Disliked: Mattress had a big hole in the center, although it surprisingly ended up not being uncomfortable. Wasn't the best for meeting other travelers the weekend I was there.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013

Liked: Good kitchen and breakfast facilities.

Disliked: The staff were horrible!! Firstly when we arrived, having booked 3 people in a 3 bed room, we were told we could either be split up or move rooms 3 times in 4 days as it was "very busy"!! This was despite booking 3 months in advance!! Next, we had no blankets because "other people were cold and needed 2"...so we got NONE!!! The staff seemed to think all of this was completely normal and barely apologised. In the end we got a refund and checked out early...VERY disappointing especially for the price. Also, the location was poor. Yes, it's in Williamsburg which is a great part of Brooklyn, but it is right on the edge and there is very little around it, you basically have to take the subway or a cab to all bars/ restaurants.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free BBQ on Wednesday and Friday.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael lucas

Alone

Events / festivals

30 September 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience(not my last) BETTER than expected! The staff was the Highlight of the Great Experience!!! If I'm back to Brooklyn area I'll stay here!

Disliked: the only dislike was the Subway stops were out the weekend I was here! Everything is great for next weekend!!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Innocent Azih

Alone

Business / conference

21 September 2013 Innocent would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and adaptable to every class of visitor

Disliked: When you have some very youthful and noisy room mates, or those with friends that come with a lot of chat

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carlos Gustavo Ramos

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2013

Liked: Very tiny, too small rooms and bathrooms. The rooms were not cleaned during the days. Imposible to stay in the rooms because of the size. Too far from Manhattan. Too expensive. Not worth it.

Disliked: Very tiny, too small rooms and bathrooms. The rooms were not cleaned during the days. Imposible to stay in the rooms because of the size. Too far from Manhattan. Too expensive. Not worth it.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a cool looking place and the backyard beer garden was great for socialising.

Disliked: It was all good

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the backyard area, kitchen and free wifi

Disliked: the backyard area closes and i would like that to be open 24 hrs

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The backyard was unique and I liked that they offered movies and BBQ even though I didn't actually do those things. I also liked the AC!

Disliked: The area is a bit weird, but if you don't mind being outside of Manhattan, it's fine. Lots of good graffiti if that kinda thing interests you.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Dosdall

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great and the staff were amazing. The rooms and common areas were spotless and safe. All the guests there were friendly and respectful, however, it can get a little noisy just from normal talking if your room is facing the courtyard. Yet it is a pretty comfortable place and after a few days I felt pretty much at home there! Again, I can't say enough about the helpfulness and accommodating manner of the staff; excellent.

Disliked: Be warned, there isn't laundry here, and the kitchen doesn't open until 6am each morning. Other than that, I would definitely return!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ROOMS: leave enough space for everybody to spread their belongings and make themselves feel at home. BATHROOMS: unusually clean and homely. BREAKFAST: sufficient (and the kitchen provided enough space and appliances to bring and prepare your own breakfast)

Disliked: Bigger lockers/closets could be useful.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice look.

Disliked: You can not check in until after 3pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect. Clean and safe.

Disliked: Breakfast too early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic overall. Great value for NYC. A very cool property. Good WIFI. The guidebooks behind the desk are awesome, thanks so much (trade for an ID). Awesome decor as well. The owners and staff ought to be commended.

Disliked: I'd like to see the "Free BBQ" become a "pay a few dollars BBQ" just so it can be an actual dinner. The vultures circle and devour eveything, quickly. Petty concern though. I'd love a few tables away from the kitched to geek it up too, but obviously space is limited.