HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The New York Loft Hostel

Hostel | 249 Varet Street, New York City, New York, USA 11206

83.5% Overall Rating

396 out of 439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Tammy Byers thinks…

"This was my first stay in a hostel. I was very pleased with everything about it. The building is secure, clean and quiet. The breakfast was good and I really like the proximity to the subway. Upon…"

Read all The New York Loft Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

“Please note NYC hotel tax not included in price. 14.75% in all rooms. Private Room: additional NYC Hotel Room Occupancy Tax $3.50 / room per night”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

NY Moore Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 84.0% 153 reviews
The Portobello Suites
40.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Portobello 805
22.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Portobello 898
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.0% 7 reviews
Luke's Place
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 4 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 78.9% 112 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
26.95 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 330 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

396 out of 439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The New York Loft Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 411 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location to Subway,and proximity to the Manhattan tourist attractions.

Disliked: Not a thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tammy Byers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Tammy would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stay in a hostel. I was very pleased with everything about it. The building is secure, clean and quiet. The breakfast was good and I really like the proximity to the subway. Upon check out the desk called a cab for me. I would definitely stay there again and I recommend to other travellers.

Disliked: Tammy left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: efficient and well organized

Disliked: no charm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcelo argolo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, nice outdoor area, good kitchen, great location

Disliked: I only stayed a day, but to me it seems like the hostel just needs some adjustments. There was no hot water on the bathroom next to the room and the locker next to my bed was broken. It's nice that the hostel offers breakfast, but - since it is offering it - it could be more diverse and healthier. Other than that, it's a really nice hostel, I liked it!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the rooftop, how the livingroom is open and connected with the kitchen comfortably and practical. I also love the garden and its furnitures.

Disliked: Everything is great, except one little things . First, the bathubs aren't really clean (after the check in which mean they should be very clean) Secondly, the front door to the hostel is not really locked. You don't need to have use the card to get in .. At first i thought it was like this only for day time. Turned out it wasn't for my whole stay( which was quite a while) Thirdly, and quite importance. There was one security guy that made me felt quite very uncomfortable. I believe he works night time. He wears glasses and has very builded up body with big muscles, black hair. He was talking quite weird to me and i caught him peak on me and walking after me quite often pretended to 'accidently' ran to me, a lot, in that small building. I'm pretty sure i'm not the type of person that looks like i'm going to make trouble so there should be no reason for him to 'accidently' run into me that much. There's one time that i was chilling upstair couch watching tv, that guy walked in to the kitchen and looked up to me and when he saw me looking at him he left. Then for not too long, he showed up to the little terrace of the second floor, looking at me. Pretty sure i didn't hallucinate myself. However, sorry for write this long but i just think that security guards suppose to make the place feel safe to the stayers. This might be just for me but maybe you can ask around if someone (especially the young woman who seems to be travelling alone) has the same feeling as me. Beside these three thing everything was wonderful especially the staffs who were really helpful and I had a fantastic time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hip and funky

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Artur Ansmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: - Very friendly and competent staff - great shared kitchen

Disliked: - sketchy neighborhood

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maria Silva

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: is really clean

Disliked: about the price, is expensive for just hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable and relaxed environment. Clean, light and friendly or caring atmosphere with opening windows in bedrooms. Communal spaces are functional and it doesn't feel crowded even when full. Easy to find, well located for access to The Metro and Manhattan. Good free wifi and decent beds. A worthwhile consideration for individuals and couples or a small group. The price is right and the neighbourhood is fun, with a good grocers and an interesting local scene full of good surprises whether you're into music or skateboarding (shop next door) or just hanging with a small creative community. Perfect! It's the real thing.

Disliked: Why knock something as rare and good as this? No comment.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was really big. The staff was friendly and helpful. I like that I was able to check in late.

Disliked: The hostel is in a rehabbed industrial building. It is very noisy (slamming doors, people's voices and footsteps echo and travel), bring earplugs to wear when sleeping.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's was a simple room, with a nice staff that helped us. It's near restaurants, shops, I just loved the neighbourhood!

Disliked: The walls were not isolated. In fact, we could easily hear what the person next door was doing. I woke up several times because people were talking to loud.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice design of hallways, great common room.

Disliked: Misinformation regarding pubcrawls.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the loft style of the building and the large rooms. The whole building is very socially oriented which is excellent.

Disliked: The WIFI is horrible. More time is spent trying to get connected than actually being on the internet. This is the only reason that I would warn people away from this hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon champion

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly vibe, funky styling and nice location for exploring Brooklyn and surrounding area. Manhattan is a short subway ride away for all the main tourist spots.

Disliked: Rooms can be cold during colder weather as room heating is pretty poor but just ask for extra bedding or an electric room heater to fix that. I guess the rooms will also be hot during hit weather as there is no air-con.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious!

Disliked: The heat and water heaters are kind of weak but I'm sure it's great in the Summer.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jacob Stepaschko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 January 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to meet People. My room was really big, for only three People.

Disliked: Kitchen closed at midnight. Could have been open longer

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ploch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Interior design ald friendly staff. Close to subway - easy connection with downtown Manhattan (10 min.) and JFK (45 min.)

Disliked: Neighborhood is close to streets you'd rather avoid :)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Psara Lassalle

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a great area, close to markets, bars, restaurants and to the subway as well. Clean, with a great common area, offers free bbqs no wednesdays and fridays. The heated tent is great in winter time.

Disliked: I think the receotionists could have been more friendly. Not all of them, but some..... come on you guys, you are Working in a hostel, not in años office. Enjoy that!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olga Didukh

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: I like that i lived in tree badroom almost alone all the time) only in the night were some girls.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Rooms have space and convenient setup with a night light and small locker at each bed. Generally quiet when you want to get sleep. Decent kitchen.

Disliked: Mattress had a big hole in the center, although it surprisingly ended up not being uncomfortable. Wasn't the best for meeting other travelers the weekend I was there.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013

Liked: Good kitchen and breakfast facilities.

Disliked: The staff were horrible!! Firstly when we arrived, having booked 3 people in a 3 bed room, we were told we could either be split up or move rooms 3 times in 4 days as it was "very busy"!! This was despite booking 3 months in advance!! Next, we had no blankets because "other people were cold and needed 2"...so we got NONE!!! The staff seemed to think all of this was completely normal and barely apologised. In the end we got a refund and checked out early...VERY disappointing especially for the price. Also, the location was poor. Yes, it's in Williamsburg which is a great part of Brooklyn, but it is right on the edge and there is very little around it, you basically have to take the subway or a cab to all bars/ restaurants.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free BBQ on Wednesday and Friday.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael lucas

Alone

Events / festivals

30 September 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first experience(not my last) BETTER than expected! The staff was the Highlight of the Great Experience!!! If I'm back to Brooklyn area I'll stay here!

Disliked: the only dislike was the Subway stops were out the weekend I was here! Everything is great for next weekend!!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Innocent Azih

Alone

Business / conference

21 September 2013 Innocent would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and adaptable to every class of visitor

Disliked: When you have some very youthful and noisy room mates, or those with friends that come with a lot of chat

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carlos Gustavo Ramos

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2013

Liked: Very tiny, too small rooms and bathrooms. The rooms were not cleaned during the days. Imposible to stay in the rooms because of the size. Too far from Manhattan. Too expensive. Not worth it.

Disliked: Very tiny, too small rooms and bathrooms. The rooms were not cleaned during the days. Imposible to stay in the rooms because of the size. Too far from Manhattan. Too expensive. Not worth it.

The property's response is...