We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.0% Overall Rating

1346 out of 1490 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2015)

Jason Ronald thinks…

"It's so easy to get places. The onsite shop is decent. They organize good outings."

Read all HI New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
Morningside Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
22.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 142 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 1196 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
21.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel
32.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 441 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

1346 out of 1490 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 940 of 1071 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marius Moldovan

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, definitely the best place to stay in new york at a decent price.

Disliked: I don't have any complains

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Ion Cozma

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Robert Ion would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, wifi everywhere.

Disliked: No breakfast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lisa Güse

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I like that it is close to the Subway and the breakfast was very well and cheap !!!

Disliked: The bathrooms are ok but the showers for girls were dirty, hairs everywhere !!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in manhattan very close to central park

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011

Liked: Subway is close by

Disliked: Rooms are not ventilated enough, windows can only open 10 cm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People

Disliked: Some staff were less than helpful.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge kitchen, nice living room, nice patio. Very close to the subway.

Disliked: It is too expensive for the services provided (you have to pay for everything beside the room, like if you want to leave your bag for the day...), the bathrooms were too small and a bit dirty, but most of all the building is REALLY noisy. And so was the room. We slept really bad, cery few hours, cause of the noise of the street/ other people/ air conditioning. I'd say, it's pretty clean for NY, and I might go back... but I hope I can find another plavce to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erika Gustafson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there were activities organized by the staff. So, I always had something to do.

Disliked: I was not a fan of the room situation. I think there should have been a preference about bunk choice (top or bottom). Also, the rooms kind of smelled.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice patio, close to subway

Disliked: Tiny room for 6 people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location; brilliant- 1 block from main subway lines to downtown manhattan, times sq etc. Clean; bathrooms were hotel standard, always hot water and no flip flops had to be worn in the showers for a change! Events; numerous daily and nightly activities going on, very easy to meet new people and enjoy the sites together and the beer! Atmosphere; generally a very very good hostel, I travelled down the east coast to 5 other major cities, but this hostel was by far the best in every area!! Recommended for singles, groups, old, young!

Disliked: nothing! could say that no breakfast was included, but for a hostel this size, would be near impossible!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marny Clulow

Alone

City break

24 September 2011 Marny would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! I knew before I stayed from reading other reviews that the location wasn't great (which is true) it's fairly far from NY's hubbub. However, travelling around on the subway is part of NY's charm, so it didn't really bother me. The hostel is clean, friendly and the shower/toilet facilities are great. highly recommended.

Disliked: The room was very very very hot when full of sleeping bodies!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the metro service

Disliked: slow elevator.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen is amazing, really close to the subway and central park

Disliked: not enough information

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: manhattan - clean - safe - cheap !

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access from subway in a good location in the city. Staff very helpful in answering my questions.

Disliked: Internet coverage was a bit patchy after 8pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of events planned each night, good location, easy to meet other travellers. Good sized rooms, plenty of bathrooms! Friendly staff.

Disliked: AC very noisey at night. Not enought staff at reception, always a que! No booze rule, Computers not free!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to subway, lots of events going on in the hostel, friendly staff, clean beds and bathrooms, nice outside area, wifi

Disliked: No powerpoints in the rooms! For 10 beds only 2 sockets. Elevator kept braking down

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & clean

Disliked: A bit of a walk from downtown NY

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janine Chartrand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway and Central Park; the location was great! It was also a clean and clearly well run hostel. My trip to New York was short, so I didn't take advantage of all the extras that this hostel put on (BBQ, tours, pub crawls) but I think others definitely did. I'd absolutely stay again

Disliked: 2nd night had to deal with excessive air con.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet in dorm areas.

Disliked: I don't have any dislikes about this property.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MELIZA MATOS KOO

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 MELIZA would recommend this property

Liked: staff was friendly and give great advice, very big and had every service

Disliked: the rooms were smelly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rhys Turrell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2011 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel puts on loads of great free activities which are easy to get involved in and are a great way of meeting fellow travellers. It is clean and spacious and has modern restroom facilities too. Staff are all very friendly and made sure my party all had a great time.

Disliked: It did seem quite expensive, although you are getting a good hostel for your money. Take advantage of the free Wi-Fi! Location isn't as bad as first thought either, there are some really cool 'locals' bars around the area, or a major subway line is about 2mins away.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Addison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Safe/nice neighborhood, clean interior, friendly staff, nice back patio. Got some much needed sleep too.

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hugo Gallagher

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2011 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Big historical building.

Disliked: Check in ridiculously slow. 40mins in 3 people queue.Tech probs.... Very slow elevator..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Angela Bennett

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Breakfast was not included, and the person who was supposed to be sleeping in the bunk above me went to sleep in my (lower) bunk. Not very happy when I came in just after midnight.