HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

88.2% Overall Rating

1327 out of 1470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

Hannah Carter thinks…

"Great location ! Everything is pretty close. A lot safer than another place I stayed on the east side. I felt safe walking around at night. For a female I think that's a pretty big deal. The Deli…"

Read all HI - New York City reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
55.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 127 reviews
Jazz on the Park
42.00 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1151 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
44.75 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
45.00 USD

Hostel 65.9% 421 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

1327 out of 1470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 922 of 1051 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janine Chartrand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway and Central Park; the location was great! It was also a clean and clearly well run hostel. My trip to New York was short, so I didn't take advantage of all the extras that this hostel put on (BBQ, tours, pub crawls) but I think others definitely did. I'd absolutely stay again

Disliked: 2nd night had to deal with excessive air con.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet in dorm areas.

Disliked: I don't have any dislikes about this property.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MELIZA MATOS KOO

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 MELIZA would recommend this property

Liked: staff was friendly and give great advice, very big and had every service

Disliked: the rooms were smelly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rhys Turrell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2011 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel puts on loads of great free activities which are easy to get involved in and are a great way of meeting fellow travellers. It is clean and spacious and has modern restroom facilities too. Staff are all very friendly and made sure my party all had a great time.

Disliked: It did seem quite expensive, although you are getting a good hostel for your money. Take advantage of the free Wi-Fi! Location isn't as bad as first thought either, there are some really cool 'locals' bars around the area, or a major subway line is about 2mins away.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Addison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Safe/nice neighborhood, clean interior, friendly staff, nice back patio. Got some much needed sleep too.

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hugo Gallagher

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2011 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Big historical building.

Disliked: Check in ridiculously slow. 40mins in 3 people queue.Tech probs.... Very slow elevator..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Angela Bennett

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Breakfast was not included, and the person who was supposed to be sleeping in the bunk above me went to sleep in my (lower) bunk. Not very happy when I came in just after midnight.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rhiannon Monckton

Alone

City break

14 August 2011 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom facilities were excellent. I also enjoyed a free comedy show one night.

Disliked: This is really quite a big hostel and felt a bit impersonal compared to a lot of others - the staff didn't help this as they didn't make much of an effort to be friendly. Though evening activities were advertised, I often couldn't find them or they were not well-attended.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stoney Brooks

Alone

City break

14 August 2011 Stoney would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to, nice features

Disliked: Loud, no control over volume in halls,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: probably one of the best hostels I've stayed at, and I've stayed at a lot. It was really clean and nice and they have awesome activities and tours that they run every day.

Disliked: It would be good if they did a free breakfast. Also, it was a little far from all the main sights but its only a short metro ride.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, clean, new, near to the subway.

Disliked: Too many people in the same room, it's noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff. Lovely building - really funky and a proper travellers place :) id normally preferthe smalletr,mor intimate hostel - but for a big place it doenst lose the ethos that hostelling is all about. Ive stayed hand full of times and im sure ill lbe back again soon. Roy in the cafe is awesome and so is Patrick on reception - very helpful and always friendly- makes your stay so much easier when its like that...keep it up guys. Also bathrooms are amazing - like luxury!!!

Disliked: The fact you cant smoke in the patio at the back any more...boo :((( :P

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Federico Jose Nerviani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Federico Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It's nice, clean, organized, it's not far from turistic places but not near either. It's close to a subway station so that brings all much more closer!! Bathrooms are always clean and with hot water to take a shower whenever you want. In-room air conditioning (adjustable from the room, wich came handy cause I'm not used to the american's subzero temperatures) and lockers (1 medium-size locker per bed). Wi-fi signal all around.

Disliked: Too expensive for a 12-bed hostel room. But, after knowing other Hotels and hostels quality-price relationship, it may not be THAT expensive..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common spaces, many opportunities of aggregation offered by the staff events and the shared areas, simple but clean rooms with big safe-deposit boxes

Disliked: one slow lift for 4 floors and many people, too strong air conditioning in the common room, poor breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most things

Disliked: Pity that some of the cookers in the kitchen were bropken;p it made life difficult particularly when large groups are staying there. This problem was hightened by the fact that the kitchen was being painted

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ida Marie Kragh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Ida Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a very nice atmosphere, nice people, good offers on day-trips, pubcrawls etc. The bathrooms are SO clean and nice!! They have a looot of common areas so your stay is pretty much what you make it! If you want to meet people and chill you can, or you can just say in your room. The patio is great!

Disliked: The location is not the best but there's a subway station 2 minutes away! So that's good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and facilities are quite good. Specilally I like to use kitchen. and the touring program was good but not all of them.

Disliked: In my case I went philladelpia tour me and guide. it was so bored and nothing special, finally I have to back to early. The tour fee was expensive and he didn't keep well what he wrote the PR paper. I sugest to reconsider about this tour and extend volunteer program,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: everything was ok

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Margo Bakker

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

31 July 2011

Liked: Facilities like store (for breakfast) and internet and lockers.

Disliked: My bed was double booked. I had to go to reception three times and at 11.45 pm I finally had my bed. I already suspected my bed was double-booked, but they told me every time it wasn't. So late at night this girl was laying in my bed. Weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Urquiza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location from the subway and bus stops, it's very nice inside, very friendly and colorful, the music was great.

Disliked: The music in the lobby sometimes is too loud, the food was a bit pricey.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the night out with the hostel people

Disliked: the lockers didn't have a pad lock, so we had to buy them for 5 dollars

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

huaixu yu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 huaixu would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and people are friendly

Disliked: A little bit too far to the centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location, and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness and facilities.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Kurniawan

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Too crowded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beniamin Czech

Alone

City break

25 July 2011 Beniamin would recommend this property

Liked: Not the best location to be honest - you need to take the subway wherever you want to go. Apart from the Central Park of course. There is a subway stop two minutes away from the hostel so no biggy after all. Soooo many things to do but for most tours you will have to pay $10 (the guides are very good though). They sell cheap Yankees tickets ($11!!) which is absolutely amazing. No breakfast included but there is a decent and inexpensive cafe on the lobby level. Awesome place to meet people. Biggest letdown for me: no sockets near beds so forget about charging your phone / laptop while you're asleep (unless you want to keep your precious valuables in the corner of a room full of strangers). Super clean and beautiful bathrooms / showers. Really high standard. Common areas are huge and comfy. Good hostel altogether.

Disliked: No sockets by your bed. Location isn't the best.