We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.0% Overall Rating

1346 out of 1490 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2015)

Jason Ronald thinks…

"It's so easy to get places. The onsite shop is decent. They organize good outings."

Read all HI New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
24.50 USD

Hostel 81.1% 142 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 74.3% 1197 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
21.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 441 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

1346 out of 1490 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 940 of 1071 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Salomone

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, knowledgable staff. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable.

Disliked: A little bit far away from most of the main attractions. But everything else was perfect

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right near subway. Great kitchen & lounge facilities Always plenty of hot water. Multiple organised activities every day & night

Disliked: Always a queue for showers morning & night. Almost too big - people seemed to stick to themselves. Doors to rooms need to be forcefully pulled shut to lock so I often found my room door left open

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tommy Hoeg garcia

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 January 2012 Tommy Hoeg would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was so friendly an helpfull. There was good entertainment if you didn't want to go downtown.

Disliked: It would have been nice if the cleaning crew changed the bed linens.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, 24 hours open, facilities were awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paulo Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cool environment!

Disliked: The rooms are not clean!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mel bel

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 mel would recommend this property

Liked: one of the cheapest most central accommodation options in nyc. close to subway, clean and quiet, hostel tours and activities

Disliked: had to go downstairs to get my keycard reset 4 times as I kept getting locked out of my room. also the tour guide for the 3 hour downtown tour was awful, i walked away halfway through the tour. also, my name was booked into the system under Mel Mel ??

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jennifer nicholson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm, very clean, good facilities. Breakfast (altho you have to buy it) had good choice on offer. This is one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in and would stay here again.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff in general with a couple of them shining extra bright. I messed up my reservation with the wrong arrival date but Alicia (I hope that's the correct name) sorted me out within seconds without ever losing her smile. Angel (and others) got all my other questions answered. To sum it up I'd say it's a hostel that has the routines comfortably in place and it all seams to run very smooth. I can definitely see myself returning to this property the next time I visit New York!

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederique Le Segretain

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2011 Frederique would recommend this property

Liked: location in manhattan near from subway,Near from a supermarket , staff very helping, the hostel is very clean, we can talk with a lot of nationalities of all ages. Pay intention you have to take a HI card if you don't want to pay more than the original price !! HI send you their own e mail confirmation !! the Price is not really expensive for a hostel in Manhattan. The staff is very professional

Disliked: Pay internet,

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Gabay

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This is the cleanest hostel I've ever visited and the staff could not have been friendlier. I love the neighborhood - lots to do, quiet and safe. I will definitely return. The bathrooms are newly renovated and beautiful.

Disliked: Bathrooms too small for the number of women staying on a floor. They were always crowded.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security, Friendly

Disliked: Would like to have had a community room on each floor

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and easy, basic hostel with dorms, bathrooms and lounge area. Serviced by nearby subway station.

Disliked: Very busy

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upperclass hostel. Very clean, very convenient, nothing really to complain.

Disliked: Even if it is precised on the internet site, they charge you 3$ more a day if you are not HI member (29$ a year). So with that it is a relatively expensive hostel. Also it is really crowded. There are a lot, lot of people so that it is a little bit difficult to meet people. A little bit impersonnal.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melanie Bozzo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: It's really cheap and located near to a subway station which can take you right into Time Square or all the way down to Battery Park to go see the Statue of Liberty.

Disliked: It didn't feel like there was efforts made so people travelling by themselves could gather and have fun at night. There were some renovations being made which made the place look disorganised.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you travel alone, in this hostel you can find people to sightseeing with.

Disliked: Everything was ok.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: noises from the banging doors and from people who chat (or shout) from outside balcony at the entrance.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Boehme

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. Also bathrooms really clean. Little breakfast. Events organized by the hostel. Kitchen and common rooms for the travellers. Super atmosphere. I am totally satisfied.

Disliked: Elevator was broken and one of the bathrooms on the floor was out of order, what caused long lines in the other.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one block away from the subway modern beds/ bathromms big lobby luggage facilities for only 5 dollars

Disliked: the bathroom is could be cleaned more often...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, big rooms and decent bathrooms. Enjoyed the activities run during the day and at night, really helped with meeting other people in the hostel. Good value for money considering how expensive NY is!

Disliked: Quite a distance from bus stations on arrival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very 'upper class' hostel. It is more expensive than typical hostels, but that is common in Manhattan. Great location and awesome facilities.

Disliked: Expensive. Facilities are great, but when you just want a bed....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Southgate

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: organised activities, free drinks at welcome parties and a real mix of interesting people

Disliked: could have been offered more extras by reception when booking in, wold have considered an upgrade if i had been offered it,only found out about some other services after being here a week so felt i missed out on a few things

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Mousa

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: It is the Best Hostel I ever stayed in. Clean and very friendly staff. Very close to the Subway. Many restaurants are close to it as well. Interesting activities and you get to meet many nice people from all over the world! Def recommend it.

Disliked: The 12 beds in the shared rooms was a bit noisy in the morning! when somebody's alarm rings, everybody wakes up! But its ok you better wake up early and explore the city instead of sleeping!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How clean and hygienic everything was, plus the bathrooms looked renovated too:)

Disliked: Nothing, I was 120% happy with everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret McGregor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Clean, very satisfactory facilities, and located in a nice area. Plenty of facilities, including kitchens, cinema, patio, computers (though you have to pay for computers - $2 for 20 mins). Also plenty of organised activities, like tours and bar crawls, which was really useful for a lone traveller like me! Tip - the lockers in my room just needed padlock and key, which you can bring yourself instead of paying reception for one. After checking out, you can use the big lockers downstairs to store your suitcases ($5 a day).

Disliked: There was a lot of painting going on, so I had to dodge wet paint when coming in and out of the hostel. Not a huge problem though, and I guess they've got to do it sometime. Generally speaking, I have no complaints :).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Bock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: everything is nice, clean and seems new; the big new kitchen; subway is not far away; all in all a very good hostel! :)

Disliked: staff sometimes seem that they don´t really care about the guests!