HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

88.2% Overall Rating

1327 out of 1470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

Hannah Carter thinks…

"Great location ! Everything is pretty close. A lot safer than another place I stayed on the east side. I felt safe walking around at night. For a female I think that's a pretty big deal. The Deli…"

Read all HI - New York City reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 126 reviews
Jazz on the Park
42.00 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1151 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
45.00 USD

Hostel 65.9% 421 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

1327 out of 1470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 922 of 1051 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, big rooms and decent bathrooms. Enjoyed the activities run during the day and at night, really helped with meeting other people in the hostel. Good value for money considering how expensive NY is!

Disliked: Quite a distance from bus stations on arrival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very 'upper class' hostel. It is more expensive than typical hostels, but that is common in Manhattan. Great location and awesome facilities.

Disliked: Expensive. Facilities are great, but when you just want a bed....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Southgate

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: organised activities, free drinks at welcome parties and a real mix of interesting people

Disliked: could have been offered more extras by reception when booking in, wold have considered an upgrade if i had been offered it,only found out about some other services after being here a week so felt i missed out on a few things

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Mousa

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: It is the Best Hostel I ever stayed in. Clean and very friendly staff. Very close to the Subway. Many restaurants are close to it as well. Interesting activities and you get to meet many nice people from all over the world! Def recommend it.

Disliked: The 12 beds in the shared rooms was a bit noisy in the morning! when somebody's alarm rings, everybody wakes up! But its ok you better wake up early and explore the city instead of sleeping!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How clean and hygienic everything was, plus the bathrooms looked renovated too:)

Disliked: Nothing, I was 120% happy with everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret McGregor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Clean, very satisfactory facilities, and located in a nice area. Plenty of facilities, including kitchens, cinema, patio, computers (though you have to pay for computers - $2 for 20 mins). Also plenty of organised activities, like tours and bar crawls, which was really useful for a lone traveller like me! Tip - the lockers in my room just needed padlock and key, which you can bring yourself instead of paying reception for one. After checking out, you can use the big lockers downstairs to store your suitcases ($5 a day).

Disliked: There was a lot of painting going on, so I had to dodge wet paint when coming in and out of the hostel. Not a huge problem though, and I guess they've got to do it sometime. Generally speaking, I have no complaints :).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Bock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: everything is nice, clean and seems new; the big new kitchen; subway is not far away; all in all a very good hostel! :)

Disliked: staff sometimes seem that they don´t really care about the guests!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ted brown

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 ted would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the city. Good value for your money. Inexpensive and free tours organized by the hostel which is great for solo travellers.

Disliked: Elevator dosen't work very well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Tours were plentiful and all that I went on were great.

Disliked: The room didn't smell great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Dias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome facilities and good daily activities organised by the staff. I booked because of the great reviews and it lived up to them!

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and basic, towels were provided without extra cost, it was easy to get to on the subway and I found the facilities to be clean and tidy and luckily the other people in my room were quiet and considerate.

Disliked: With 12 beds in a room, it's possible it could've been noisy, but luckily it wasn't a problem for me this stay. Oh and the lift is very slow, a problem when lots of people want to use it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Timbrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very knowledgeable about how to get to places and they were helpful as well.

Disliked: It was not located very close to many of the sights but most of these were only located a train ride away and the train was cheap.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In manhattan yet not too pricey. Very clean. Lots of self service facilities. Good wifi. Great tour options offered. Helpful staff. Safe area. Very close to supermarket & subway. Great bathrooms.

Disliked: A little bit of a trip to downtown (20mins-ish by subway). But really still very convenient, & nice to not be right in the thick of crazy Times Square.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alessandra Mariani

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Could not have asked for anything better while in New York - met loads of new people, everyone was super friendly and there was always something happening in the daytime/evenings! It is also very clean, safe and has all the amenities you could possibly want. Would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to the city.

Disliked: There aren't really any negatives about this place, but sometimes there would be a bit of a queue for the womens showers in the morning - just bare it in mind when planning your day.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Erin Pelton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 November 2011

Liked: NOTHING. THEY HAD BED BUGS!!!!!!

Disliked: BED BUGS BED BUGS BED BUGS DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!! I called and told them that I found bed bugs on me after I stayed at the hostel and all they said was "we've had no report of bed bugs". They did not even ask for my room number!! Obviously it is not a big deal to them that travelers get bed bugs when they stay there. I would never stay here again or recommend that anyone else stays here!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, friendly, great accessibility.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Huge kitchen, even though the place is huge we never had to wait to use it, some goes for the showers. Big lockers in everyroom. Offer lots of tours of the area/city and activities.

Disliked: Typical HI hostel in that it is so big it can feel abit souless.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard area, very clean, good facilities and location

Disliked: Staff were rude and very unhelpful. There were A LOT of families and older people, and large groups of schoolchildren which were a bit annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed Abdelsamad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is really neat and clean and offer alot of facilities

Disliked: but I wish more flexibility in securing your luggage after the checking out I had to store them in the locker by $5 while they have a room for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is probably the best hostel I've stayed at in NYC, and I've stayed in a lot of them. As opposed to many other hostels, it is clean, the rooms are spacious, the area is safe, the staff helpful... it's just great.

Disliked: can't think of anything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidyness. Friendly. Good free activities. Free clubbing incl free alcohol? Wow!

Disliked: Kind of too big. Slooow elevator. Use the stairs instead.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Mills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

24 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very big and clean. Staff helpful.

Disliked: A little sterile and not all that condusive to meeting other travellers. That doesn't really matter in New York though as you spend minimal time at the hostel as there is so much to do.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The organised tours they operated from the Hostel were amazing and perfect for the solo traveller, such as myself

Disliked: The disrespect of some of the other people staying there however this has nothing to do with the actual Hostel itself just the people that were staying there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, being close to a main subway line, central park, the guggenheim, etc. Staff were really friendly and helpful, as well.

Disliked: My keycard didn't work for my room for the duration of my stay, and the front desk didn't seem to know what to do about it. It was a little frustrating to have to wake people up just from knocking to get into my room each night. I felt bad about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hassan Bayouni

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Hassan would recommend this property

Liked: everything about the hostel was just fantastic , I had a great time and will definitvely go back again early next year

Disliked: The room was a bit hot at night and had to leave the window open which brings in traffic noise.