We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.3% Overall Rating

1374 out of 1520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

"It was my first time at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness. I found this hostel met my needs and was a decent value for the money."

Read all HI NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 131 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.1% 683 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
44.50 USD

Hostel 76.5% 157 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
42.00 USD

Hostel 76.0% 1214 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
31.25 USD

Hostel 67.2% 33 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT Youth Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 67.5% 470 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

1374 out of 1520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 962 of 1101 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were kind, and it was nice idea that they have events for people getting together!

Disliked: One of the water outlets in shower room was in bad condition.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siayng Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Siayng would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: so many people using bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere and the location, being a little outside the center and its rush and noise, but still so close to it. What I really appreciated was the welcome party, it was perfect to get to know people, especially if you're travelling by yourself.

Disliked: They turned our female dorm into a mixed dorm for one night, because they didn't have any room left for some boys. It was ok for one night, but it wasn't what I booked and expected... They asked us, if it was ok with us and I am sure, they would have found another solution if someone might have had a problem with it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bianco Santana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Bianco would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is really friendly and helpfull, the stand-up comedies and live music.

Disliked: Bianco left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Geanakakis

Alone

Business / conference

12 March 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the design of the various rooms for congregating, the locker and storage facilities, the cleanliness and convenience of the public restroom as well as the kitchen and bath/shower rooms, the location of the snack bar and the helpful and knowledgeable front desk staff!

Disliked: It is a bit far from the subway to walk (my fault for not wearing sensible shoes in NY) and there is only one elevator. I would add a few more live food or soup selections to the snack bar menu but I realize that space is at a premium in that area.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Werachai Supataravanich

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Werachai would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No breakfast. No alcohol in a hostel???

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, central, good lockers in the rooms, good staff, good cafe

Disliked: Room was a bit cold. I had the feeling my bed was not made with fresh sheets and it looks like other which had checked in early had the same problem. Expensive storage for luggage for 5$ per day, no credit card for this at the machine.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jaime Cornivelli

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: A nice enviromment with a wonderful kitchen facilities...

Disliked: I would recommend the HI NY but certainly would ask my friends to wacth out for mice on the rooms! A very disgusting situation that was reported to the staff who recognized such problem without providing real solutions...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paul teahan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 paul would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very well kept hostel. It is very clean an of good quality compared to many I have stayed in

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms are big an clean.

Disliked: You can listen everything that happens outside the rooms at night, even if people outside is not being too loud. And I don't like that breakfast is not included in the price.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt davies

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012 matt would recommend this property

Liked: clean dorms with plenty of space and big lockers(bring your own lock), lots of bathrooms and showers on each floor usually dnt have to wait, great vibe and atmoshpere, big social areas like couches and even a free pool table making it very easy to meet and socialise with other travellers, fun comedy shows and pub crawls most nights, had an amazing time would deffinately recommend to anyone! subway is super easy to get everywhere only a couple of minutes to get right into action of time square, 5th ave etc, :) have fun in NY!

Disliked: matt left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Thynne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: The organised tours on offer are a great option. Loved New York

Disliked: Sharon left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MANDY OKEEFE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 MANDY would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great facilities, great beds!

Disliked: nothing - everything was great.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beth Pinches

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: I was travelling alone so it was nice to know that there were organised tours and things I could join in with if I got tired of my own company! I just did the sunday night pub crawl which was intimite but lots of fun :0) Also having 24 hour access was really important in a city like new york and being in a fairly safe neighbourhood so near a subway was a godsend.

Disliked: It was a very cold weekend and I got a little bit chilly in the early hours of the morning and the room smelt like feet... but I think that's just a peril you have to face when hostelling anyhow!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEI DONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 LEI would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: LEI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jeff Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Nightly events if you care to stay in. Very clean! Staff is professional.

Disliked: It is in a great safe area, but it takes a bit of time to get down town. This is very minor b/c you wold be using the subway anywhere you stayed. Times square takes about 10 mins once on the train.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very clean bathrooms and all the facilities

Disliked: The elevator was way too slow

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessible, felt safe and comfortable, and quite clean!

Disliked: A bit out of the way? And no free breakfast!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Pocock

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so much nicer than I remember it being, for one thing the bathrooms have been renovated and are constantly being cleaned which is awesome. Plus the vibe here is so great. It's also close to the subway which is handy.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nikki Carney

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Even though the room had 12 beds in it, it wasnt full and you had enough space and didnt feel any different to other dorms. It felt clean and the bathrooms were nice.

Disliked: Nikki left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnes MESSANVI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Agnes would recommend this property

Liked: The property was neat. Lots of activities are organized each day. The hostel is spacious with a big kitchen, lounge, TV...

Disliked: the number of showers is limited.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Salomone

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, knowledgable staff. Bedrooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable.

Disliked: A little bit far away from most of the main attractions. But everything else was perfect

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right near subway. Great kitchen & lounge facilities Always plenty of hot water. Multiple organised activities every day & night

Disliked: Always a queue for showers morning & night. Almost too big - people seemed to stick to themselves. Doors to rooms need to be forcefully pulled shut to lock so I often found my room door left open

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tommy Hoeg garcia

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 January 2012 Tommy Hoeg would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was so friendly an helpfull. There was good entertainment if you didn't want to go downtown.

Disliked: It would have been nice if the cleaning crew changed the bed linens.

The property's response is...