HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International - New York

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

85.1% Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

tamara evans thinks…

"Mostly the cleanliness and good order of things. Staff was accomadating and nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean and secure. The property itself is well kept outside and in, with plenty of areas to…"

Read all Hostelling International - New York reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 113 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1141 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
FIT HOTEL
55.00 USD

Hostel 73.4% 408 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International - New York'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 918 of 1045 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How clean and hygienic everything was, plus the bathrooms looked renovated too:)

Disliked: Nothing, I was 120% happy with everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret McGregor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Clean, very satisfactory facilities, and located in a nice area. Plenty of facilities, including kitchens, cinema, patio, computers (though you have to pay for computers - $2 for 20 mins). Also plenty of organised activities, like tours and bar crawls, which was really useful for a lone traveller like me! Tip - the lockers in my room just needed padlock and key, which you can bring yourself instead of paying reception for one. After checking out, you can use the big lockers downstairs to store your suitcases ($5 a day).

Disliked: There was a lot of painting going on, so I had to dodge wet paint when coming in and out of the hostel. Not a huge problem though, and I guess they've got to do it sometime. Generally speaking, I have no complaints :).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Bock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: everything is nice, clean and seems new; the big new kitchen; subway is not far away; all in all a very good hostel! :)

Disliked: staff sometimes seem that they don´t really care about the guests!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ted brown

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 ted would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the city. Good value for your money. Inexpensive and free tours organized by the hostel which is great for solo travellers.

Disliked: Elevator dosen't work very well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Tours were plentiful and all that I went on were great.

Disliked: The room didn't smell great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Dias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome facilities and good daily activities organised by the staff. I booked because of the great reviews and it lived up to them!

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and basic, towels were provided without extra cost, it was easy to get to on the subway and I found the facilities to be clean and tidy and luckily the other people in my room were quiet and considerate.

Disliked: With 12 beds in a room, it's possible it could've been noisy, but luckily it wasn't a problem for me this stay. Oh and the lift is very slow, a problem when lots of people want to use it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Timbrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very knowledgeable about how to get to places and they were helpful as well.

Disliked: It was not located very close to many of the sights but most of these were only located a train ride away and the train was cheap.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In manhattan yet not too pricey. Very clean. Lots of self service facilities. Good wifi. Great tour options offered. Helpful staff. Safe area. Very close to supermarket & subway. Great bathrooms.

Disliked: A little bit of a trip to downtown (20mins-ish by subway). But really still very convenient, & nice to not be right in the thick of crazy Times Square.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alessandra Mariani

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Could not have asked for anything better while in New York - met loads of new people, everyone was super friendly and there was always something happening in the daytime/evenings! It is also very clean, safe and has all the amenities you could possibly want. Would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to the city.

Disliked: There aren't really any negatives about this place, but sometimes there would be a bit of a queue for the womens showers in the morning - just bare it in mind when planning your day.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Erin Pelton

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 November 2011

Liked: NOTHING. THEY HAD BED BUGS!!!!!!

Disliked: BED BUGS BED BUGS BED BUGS DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!! I called and told them that I found bed bugs on me after I stayed at the hostel and all they said was "we've had no report of bed bugs". They did not even ask for my room number!! Obviously it is not a big deal to them that travelers get bed bugs when they stay there. I would never stay here again or recommend that anyone else stays here!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, friendly, great accessibility.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Huge kitchen, even though the place is huge we never had to wait to use it, some goes for the showers. Big lockers in everyroom. Offer lots of tours of the area/city and activities.

Disliked: Typical HI hostel in that it is so big it can feel abit souless.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice courtyard area, very clean, good facilities and location

Disliked: Staff were rude and very unhelpful. There were A LOT of families and older people, and large groups of schoolchildren which were a bit annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed Abdelsamad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is really neat and clean and offer alot of facilities

Disliked: but I wish more flexibility in securing your luggage after the checking out I had to store them in the locker by $5 while they have a room for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is probably the best hostel I've stayed at in NYC, and I've stayed in a lot of them. As opposed to many other hostels, it is clean, the rooms are spacious, the area is safe, the staff helpful... it's just great.

Disliked: can't think of anything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidyness. Friendly. Good free activities. Free clubbing incl free alcohol? Wow!

Disliked: Kind of too big. Slooow elevator. Use the stairs instead.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Mills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

24 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very big and clean. Staff helpful.

Disliked: A little sterile and not all that condusive to meeting other travellers. That doesn't really matter in New York though as you spend minimal time at the hostel as there is so much to do.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The organised tours they operated from the Hostel were amazing and perfect for the solo traveller, such as myself

Disliked: The disrespect of some of the other people staying there however this has nothing to do with the actual Hostel itself just the people that were staying there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, being close to a main subway line, central park, the guggenheim, etc. Staff were really friendly and helpful, as well.

Disliked: My keycard didn't work for my room for the duration of my stay, and the front desk didn't seem to know what to do about it. It was a little frustrating to have to wake people up just from knocking to get into my room each night. I felt bad about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hassan Bayouni

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Hassan would recommend this property

Liked: everything about the hostel was just fantastic , I had a great time and will definitvely go back again early next year

Disliked: The room was a bit hot at night and had to leave the window open which brings in traffic noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Big, always something different and exciting happening, free drinks.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Thomas Halpin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location was good. Some staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Some of the staff were unhelpful and rude. I also had to change rooms each night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Millar

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so well organised. All the tours available are really helpful in getting to know New York. Everything is clean, bedding and towels are readily available, lockers in rooms are big enough for both laptop case and handbag as well as having hooks for hanging. The bunks were stable enough so that bunkmates' movements didn't wake me, there are individual lights above each bed, and the onsite cafe, vending machines and lounge/library/outdoor areas give plenty of space for chilling.

Disliked: Can't think of anything! Great stay, thank you! (Except maybe that one or two of the cafe staff never cracked a smile and seemed like they were having a bad day every morning - they're probably not even Hostelling International employees but it was a bit of a dampener!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Events organised by the hostel (pub crawls, bbqs, comedy nights) are really good and good for meeting people. Good location (upper west side), close to central park and subway. Really good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing