We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.0% Overall Rating

1346 out of 1490 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2015)

Jason Ronald thinks…

"It's so easy to get places. The onsite shop is decent. They organize good outings."

Read all HI New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
40.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
24.50 USD

Hostel 81.1% 142 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 74.3% 1197 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
21.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 441 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

1346 out of 1490 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 940 of 1071 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariano Gerez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2012 Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really helpful and cool the patio is a great place for a stop after a long day the subway is just 1 block from the hostel

Disliked: deffo, the non-alcohol policy was a shock!!, but it's OK beacause they allow children in the hostel. I guess it's not right getting drunk... in front of kids haha

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a café downstairs. The common kitchen looked nice too, I didn't use it though. The location is pretty good, one block from the metro station(15- 20mins to downtown) and two blocks from Central Park. They had good air conditioning, though it was quite loud in our room. The free wifi works in room too and it was quite fast as well.

Disliked: There were long queues to the toilets and showers sometimes. The 8 pers. dorm was quite small so someone's luggage was always either in front of the lockers or in the middle of the room. There were only four sockets so sometimes you had to wait sometime to charge your phone etc. The elevator was super slow and with so many people coming and going there was always queue too! The hostel is a bit expensive, but so is everything else in NYC.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Heung Beom Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012

Liked: It had various facilities such as cafe, sofa, internet computer, so on.

Disliked: I'm not satisfied at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rianne Breeschoten

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Rianne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, absolutely amazing. They had a lot of tour, some were free others you had to pay for, but worth it! It wasn't really close to a lot of the things we wanted to see, but there was a metro station nearby, so that wasn't really a problem.

Disliked: I thought it was really expensive, the facilities were ok, but you have to a lot of money for a youth hostel, i was traveling with my sister and it would have been cheaper to go to a hotel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michelle Keating

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The tours that the hostel organised around NYC were very good for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything I didn't like though I thought my bed sheets weren't the cleanest I've slept on in hostels and could have done with a few more showers overall.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael DiCandilo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good kitchen and lots of cool hangout areas.

Disliked: Nothing much...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony McLaughlin

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very well set up.

Disliked: Had no air conditioning working in the room for 4 nights, despite 3 people from my room complaining about it, we were told it was working. When they eventually came to look at the unit it took less than two minutes to fix the machine. AC is a must when at night time it is still 24+C! On the last day I asked if they could keep my bag while I went out for a few hours, I was told it would cost $5 to keep my bags there, ridiculous after spending money to stay there for 5 night, they had already held onto other peoples luggage for free, so a bit of a disparity in the treatment of guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flora Siegwalt--Baudin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: Locaux propres et spatieux, à 1minute du métro, 15 minutes de Central Park :D

Disliked: La climatisation qui faisait beaucoup de bruit et qui ne s'arrêtait pas même lorsque l on ouvrait la fenêtre. Il suffirait de mettre un bouton on-off accessible. L'unique assenseur qu'il faut attendre très longtemps, des fois, il ne vient jamais ^^

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cécile DIAZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Cécile would recommend this property

Liked: La propreté, la disponibilité du personnel, l'ambiance, la déco très moderne, le wifi accessible partout dans l'établissement

Disliked: Rien !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location for the price. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. Good beds.

Disliked: Not enough power plugs in the room with 8 people. Long ques on c/o in the morning (waited for 30min), too often jey didn't work, also stand in line to reactivate it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eric Hernandez Jimenez

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 June 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: i like that you feel that you are at your house with your mates, NYC and the HI hostel makes you feel that we are youth once, so let's party until the sunrise :)

Disliked: Too many people just for share washroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alpha Bond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Alpha would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Free wireless, great location, fun people. I'll use it again.

Disliked: Alpha left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many floors and hang out spots within hostel. Friendly staff and clients. Great place to meet new friends.

Disliked: I was in a 12 bed room and some of the girls didn't pay attention to the rule sheet and were talking loudly well past the 11 o' clock quiet time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were big and nice, pub crawls and tours organised everyday, welcome parties good staff and pretty good location with ease to subway, good beds

Disliked: little big and impersonal, not really much of a party atmosphere

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juliette Pavey

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012

Liked: Bathrooms were clean and lockers were large and secure. Had free breakfast of either a bagel or cereal and a piece of fruit and drink each day.

Disliked: Location was a bit out of the way, yet not too far a walk from a subway. I was supposed to be in a 6 bed dorm but was moved to a 12 bed. The elevator didn't work on the way down so had to take the stairs. It was too big a hostel, and I saw a mouse run through my room, yuk!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Luca Colombo

Alone

City break

17 May 2012

Liked: The hostel is nice, clean and not far away from Central Park. BUT…

Disliked: …BUT I've booked a bed in a room for 4 people and I was placed in a dorm of 8 people (!) because of overbooking. I was told about the overbooking issue only at the check-in, making it impossible for me to look for an alternative place where to sleep. As compensation I had a $6 (!) discount (on $100 total) and free breakfast (a bagel, banana and small coffee) for two days. A hotelier's job is to manage bookings and to make sure customers have the room they paid for, no matter if it's a hostel or a 5 star hotel. If in 2012 (with computer and internet) you still have overbooking issues, well it's better if you change your job and you go selling hot dogs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neighbourhood, close to subway, big lockers, nice lounge area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reeta Patel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Reeta would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities in the hotel and events planned were great fun!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. Location was convenient to a subway station - one block away. Area felt safe for a women traveling alone. Room was quite large for a 10 bed dorm so you didn't feel like you were tripping over people & the lockers were quite large in the rooms too.

Disliked: Only 1 powerpoint in the room with 2 sockets. Very inconvenient for 10 people. More shower stalls per floor would be good given the size of the place as it gets quite crowded in the morning. But my suggestion would be to shower at night-no crowds then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Malloch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, lots of good activities and tours on offer

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi Massive lockers Activities Facilities

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas and free wifi, large kitchen. The lift can take an age to come, but that's hardly their fault! Reasonable location - 5 mins or so's walk from the express 2/3 trains to 96th St. Good disabled access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricardo Gontijo Fernandes

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything brand-new.

Disliked: Ricardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Björn Baumgart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Björn would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place had a great time

Disliked: Björn left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. also the subway connection was very close, so no problem to get to downtown.

Disliked: it was very noisy, but i guess that's normal for hostels