We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.1% Overall Rating

1334 out of 1478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"I like the hostel and would everyone reccomend to stay there. The lobby is nice and they have places to relax with nice couches. There is a billiard and you can watch TV over a beamer. Additionally, I loved the kitchen:…"

Read all HI - New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
74.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 674 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Jazz on the Park
30.00 USD

Hostel 77.4% 1170 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
55.00 USD

Hostel 65.5% 430 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

1334 out of 1478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 929 of 1059 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alpha Bond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Alpha would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Free wireless, great location, fun people. I'll use it again.

Disliked: Alpha left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many floors and hang out spots within hostel. Friendly staff and clients. Great place to meet new friends.

Disliked: I was in a 12 bed room and some of the girls didn't pay attention to the rule sheet and were talking loudly well past the 11 o' clock quiet time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were big and nice, pub crawls and tours organised everyday, welcome parties good staff and pretty good location with ease to subway, good beds

Disliked: little big and impersonal, not really much of a party atmosphere

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juliette Pavey

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012

Liked: Bathrooms were clean and lockers were large and secure. Had free breakfast of either a bagel or cereal and a piece of fruit and drink each day.

Disliked: Location was a bit out of the way, yet not too far a walk from a subway. I was supposed to be in a 6 bed dorm but was moved to a 12 bed. The elevator didn't work on the way down so had to take the stairs. It was too big a hostel, and I saw a mouse run through my room, yuk!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Luca Colombo

Alone

City break

17 May 2012

Liked: The hostel is nice, clean and not far away from Central Park. BUT…

Disliked: …BUT I've booked a bed in a room for 4 people and I was placed in a dorm of 8 people (!) because of overbooking. I was told about the overbooking issue only at the check-in, making it impossible for me to look for an alternative place where to sleep. As compensation I had a $6 (!) discount (on $100 total) and free breakfast (a bagel, banana and small coffee) for two days. A hotelier's job is to manage bookings and to make sure customers have the room they paid for, no matter if it's a hostel or a 5 star hotel. If in 2012 (with computer and internet) you still have overbooking issues, well it's better if you change your job and you go selling hot dogs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neighbourhood, close to subway, big lockers, nice lounge area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reeta Patel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Reeta would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities in the hotel and events planned were great fun!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. Location was convenient to a subway station - one block away. Area felt safe for a women traveling alone. Room was quite large for a 10 bed dorm so you didn't feel like you were tripping over people & the lockers were quite large in the rooms too.

Disliked: Only 1 powerpoint in the room with 2 sockets. Very inconvenient for 10 people. More shower stalls per floor would be good given the size of the place as it gets quite crowded in the morning. But my suggestion would be to shower at night-no crowds then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Malloch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, lots of good activities and tours on offer

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi Massive lockers Activities Facilities

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas and free wifi, large kitchen. The lift can take an age to come, but that's hardly their fault! Reasonable location - 5 mins or so's walk from the express 2/3 trains to 96th St. Good disabled access.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricardo Gontijo Fernandes

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything brand-new.

Disliked: Ricardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Björn Baumgart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Björn would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place had a great time

Disliked: Björn left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. also the subway connection was very close, so no problem to get to downtown.

Disliked: it was very noisy, but i guess that's normal for hostels

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Garraghan

Alone

City break

29 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of space, good communal areas, many services provided

Disliked: Nothing in particular - was overall very satisfied

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Wallis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the Metro and the area seems nice. The bathrooms are VERY clean and the water was hot every time. The kitchen is spacious and clean, and the staff go out of their way to make sure you fit in and meet people. They have maps and books available for your use and fantastic WiFi free of charge.

Disliked: The rooms are very poorly ventilated and therefore become very hot and clammy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Akane Obata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2012 Akane would recommend this property

Liked: welcome party was great!

Disliked: I couldn't use shower one day because of failure of the boiler.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were kind, and it was nice idea that they have events for people getting together!

Disliked: One of the water outlets in shower room was in bad condition.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siayng Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Siayng would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: so many people using bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere and the location, being a little outside the center and its rush and noise, but still so close to it. What I really appreciated was the welcome party, it was perfect to get to know people, especially if you're travelling by yourself.

Disliked: They turned our female dorm into a mixed dorm for one night, because they didn't have any room left for some boys. It was ok for one night, but it wasn't what I booked and expected... They asked us, if it was ok with us and I am sure, they would have found another solution if someone might have had a problem with it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bianco Santana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Bianco would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is really friendly and helpfull, the stand-up comedies and live music.

Disliked: Bianco left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Geanakakis

Alone

Business / conference

12 March 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the design of the various rooms for congregating, the locker and storage facilities, the cleanliness and convenience of the public restroom as well as the kitchen and bath/shower rooms, the location of the snack bar and the helpful and knowledgeable front desk staff!

Disliked: It is a bit far from the subway to walk (my fault for not wearing sensible shoes in NY) and there is only one elevator. I would add a few more live food or soup selections to the snack bar menu but I realize that space is at a premium in that area.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Werachai Supataravanich

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Werachai would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No breakfast. No alcohol in a hostel???

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, central, good lockers in the rooms, good staff, good cafe

Disliked: Room was a bit cold. I had the feeling my bed was not made with fresh sheets and it looks like other which had checked in early had the same problem. Expensive storage for luggage for 5$ per day, no credit card for this at the machine.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jaime Cornivelli

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: A nice enviromment with a wonderful kitchen facilities...

Disliked: I would recommend the HI NY but certainly would ask my friends to wacth out for mice on the rooms! A very disgusting situation that was reported to the staff who recognized such problem without providing real solutions...

The property's response is...