We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

90.7% Overall Rating

1336 out of 1480 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

"It's a great place to meet other travellers. They provide great tours, pub crawls etc. The rooms are clean. The garden is amazing!"

Read all HI - New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 675 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
53.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Jazz on the Park
34.00 USD

Hostel 78.2% 1173 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
55.00 USD

Hostel 67.4% 432 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

1336 out of 1480 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 931 of 1061 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers provided in room for luggage. Breakfast provided by a cafe.

Disliked: Not all my luggage could fit in the locker. Can be a bit impersonal but that's to be expected from a large hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ariane Falardeau St-Amour

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 December 2012 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: Verry nice hostel! They have everything travelers would need and wish for! Clean rooms and toilets. Linens and towel. Plenty of rooms to hang out. Helpfull staff and many activiez going on. Pool table, cinema, big and nice kitchen. All of that in a nice, beautiful and full of character building.

Disliked: Unfortunately the hostel is verry expensive. It's a little bit far but less than a minute from the subway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the staff is awesome. I stayed in a dorm for 12 girls and we had no problems at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Garza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

23 December 2012 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: The people who gave me the service it was nice, kind and warm with me even i dont speak very much english!!

Disliked: Anything for me everything was good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Norberto Damián Rivada

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Norberto Damián would recommend this property

Liked: The locación is not The best, But is a great HOSTEL!

Disliked: Norberto Damián left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Dawson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. Easy to get to subway lines. Fun activities organised to meet other travellers which means its good if you see travelling alone. Would also suit a group or couple. The dorms are clean and pretty much what you expect for a hostel. The bathroom is very clean and I never had to wait. The cafe is great for breakfast.

Disliked: When I first went to have a shower there was no hot water. I found out from another traveller that it is turned on after 7pm. Once I knew this it was fine but would have been better to have some notice!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

danielle leece

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great cinema room, very clean kitchen, welcome parties with free drinks 3x weekly, free pub/club crawls, café in hostel (reasonably priced)

Disliked: Only 1 very slow lift for a very big hostel! When checking out I brought my suitcase down from the 4th floor to reception and asked if I could out it in bag hold, there was a $5 charge so I asked if I could either put it in the hold or leave my suitcase at reception while I went and got the rest of my luggage along with my money which was still in the room. The very rude receptionist refused either option and I had to take my suitcase back up 4 floors to collect my money and back down again. She was very rude and didn't offer any kind of apology for the inconvenience, one of the rudest/snappiest staff Ive ever came across travelling! Not much of a young hostel, real mix of ages and some families also staying at the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jente Goutier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Jente would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, very clean, convenient location.

Disliked: Its kind of expensive and I'm not sure if the extra money (compared to a hostel in Brooklyn) is worth it.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 October 2012

Liked: It's just a huge building where you can sleep - and best don't do anything else…

Disliked: way too big, dirty showers, loud

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mathew Fabris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the 1 train which is handy however it is quite far up from a lot of things you want to see but its not too bad. Night staffer Manny is great

Disliked: RATS! I moved rooms twice because of rats and by the third time I couldn't be bothered anymore and just put up with it. I could hear them going through peoples bags at night but maintenance poisoned the rat in my third room so there was a few nights of rat free sleep. If people didn't bring food into the rooms this could be avoided. Some rooms have very old wooden bunks which are super loud. I have stayed in 4 HIs so far and this was my least favourite, little atmosphere and its so big its just unwelcoming. There is only 1 small and dodgy lift They play horrible dance music in all common rooms Second week had no tv room as the projector died and everyone just slept on the couches...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, clean and good cafe

Disliked: Metal bunk beds- ppl wake each other up by wriggling about

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacinta mackle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: i loved all the interesting people i meet. i loved the down stairs area and the value for money walking tours (i did the Harlem tour) great having a cafe on site, tv room to blob in after a hard day walking the streets of NYC.

Disliked: few more toilets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite expensive bit it's New York in anyway. Could be a little bit more modern like the hi Boston is. 12 people per room is really crowded. It is very clean and the location is on upper east which is fine for me.

Disliked: Kind of wired people, not only traveller.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012

Liked: Decent location, only about a 20minute subway ride to the city center/times square. Lockers to secure your stuff, buy a lock at the front desk for only 3 bucks, not too bad. Free Wifi is a plus. Cheap.

Disliked: Hard to say it's a bad thing, but right on the edge of the projects. Walk forward and you're in a nice, wealthier neighborhood. Walk backward and you're deep in the Harlem Projects. Such is the case though with major cities..but we experienced no problems. Only stayed 2 out of the 4 nights. Our entire room smelled like a giant foot, bathrooms are community which is normal for a hostel, except the entire floor shares the bathroom, not just a room or two. Community in every sense of the word. Some guy cleaning himself at around 2 in the morning at the water fountain....Sometimes you just run into odd people in giant hostels like this. I'll never get the smell out of my head, though. If you're lucky, book a room with only a couple beds and make sure it's you and a couple friends. That would work perfect, otherwise, avoid it. Go to NYC in an offseason and even hotels near times square are dirt cheap for the location. Nothing like 40 bucks a night but we ended up staying about five blocks from Times Square at around 125/night which is fantastic for the privacy, location, and facilities. The hostel staff was GREAT to us, but the facility itself, beds, rooms, etc. is sort of mediocre to poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Atkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it was a bit far away from the main sights, it was right near a metro line, with another not far away, and you could transfer to an express metro at the next stop. That metro also goes to the train and bus stations. It had lots of activities on, too. The hostel was also near lots of shops and restaurants. My dorm was spacious, but I did see others that were smaller. There are lots of common rooms, and a theatre with with a big-screen tv.

Disliked: You have to pay $5 for luggage storage, and if you open your locker and still need it you need to pay the hire fee again! There were only 4 girls' showers on the whole floor, so there were often queues. There were no personal lights and only a couple of powerpoints in a 10-person room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Ikac

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and the atmosphere in the hostel! It was very clean and the hostel is very good equiped. Free WiFi is very handy to all guests and the garden and chill out ares are fantastic! The subway is just one block away and a little shop just across the road.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariano Gerez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2012 Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really helpful and cool the patio is a great place for a stop after a long day the subway is just 1 block from the hostel

Disliked: deffo, the non-alcohol policy was a shock!!, but it's OK beacause they allow children in the hostel. I guess it's not right getting drunk... in front of kids haha

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a café downstairs. The common kitchen looked nice too, I didn't use it though. The location is pretty good, one block from the metro station(15- 20mins to downtown) and two blocks from Central Park. They had good air conditioning, though it was quite loud in our room. The free wifi works in room too and it was quite fast as well.

Disliked: There were long queues to the toilets and showers sometimes. The 8 pers. dorm was quite small so someone's luggage was always either in front of the lockers or in the middle of the room. There were only four sockets so sometimes you had to wait sometime to charge your phone etc. The elevator was super slow and with so many people coming and going there was always queue too! The hostel is a bit expensive, but so is everything else in NYC.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Heung Beom Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012

Liked: It had various facilities such as cafe, sofa, internet computer, so on.

Disliked: I'm not satisfied at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rianne Breeschoten

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Rianne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, absolutely amazing. They had a lot of tour, some were free others you had to pay for, but worth it! It wasn't really close to a lot of the things we wanted to see, but there was a metro station nearby, so that wasn't really a problem.

Disliked: I thought it was really expensive, the facilities were ok, but you have to a lot of money for a youth hostel, i was traveling with my sister and it would have been cheaper to go to a hotel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michelle Keating

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The tours that the hostel organised around NYC were very good for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything I didn't like though I thought my bed sheets weren't the cleanest I've slept on in hostels and could have done with a few more showers overall.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael DiCandilo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good kitchen and lots of cool hangout areas.

Disliked: Nothing much...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony McLaughlin

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very well set up.

Disliked: Had no air conditioning working in the room for 4 nights, despite 3 people from my room complaining about it, we were told it was working. When they eventually came to look at the unit it took less than two minutes to fix the machine. AC is a must when at night time it is still 24+C! On the last day I asked if they could keep my bag while I went out for a few hours, I was told it would cost $5 to keep my bags there, ridiculous after spending money to stay there for 5 night, they had already held onto other peoples luggage for free, so a bit of a disparity in the treatment of guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flora Siegwalt--Baudin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: Locaux propres et spatieux, à 1minute du métro, 15 minutes de Central Park :D

Disliked: La climatisation qui faisait beaucoup de bruit et qui ne s'arrêtait pas même lorsque l on ouvrait la fenêtre. Il suffirait de mettre un bouton on-off accessible. L'unique assenseur qu'il faut attendre très longtemps, des fois, il ne vient jamais ^^

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cécile DIAZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Cécile would recommend this property

Liked: La propreté, la disponibilité du personnel, l'ambiance, la déco très moderne, le wifi accessible partout dans l'établissement

Disliked: Rien !