We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

90.1% Overall Rating

1349 out of 1493 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2015)

Gwendelyn Asante thinks…

"I arrived too early to check in, but they stored my luggage for me which allowed me to roam. Many levels to the hostel, including a cafe with lovely food. Good restaurants and grocery stores near buy"

Read all HI New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.1% 127 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
39.50 USD

Hostel 80.3% 149 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
28.00 USD

Hostel 72.9% 1201 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
32.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 73.7% 445 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

1349 out of 1493 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 942 of 1074 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 December 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the ability to meet new cool people. The location was perfect and I had a wonderful visit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

29 November 2006

Liked: lots of facilities, friendly staff, organized nights out.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

22 November 2006

Liked: It felt safe. It was useful having the cafe and shop on site. The range of trips and visits was very wide and the standard of guides high. There was a lot of information available

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

18 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, just a 10 minute subway ride to downtown Manhatten.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 November 2006

Liked: Its in New York, thats about it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

15 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The other guests are nice.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good sized clean rooms, nice location not too stressful to get to but quiet, coffee shop was a nice touch.. lots of info and tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

14 November 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: I found Ray, Angel, Juan and the many other staff including the girls & guy from the cafe to be very determined in their ability to provide solutions to any problems that presented themselves for your clients. I liked the fact that I had a locker in my room to store my belongings (need to offer a padlock service) but the facilities, beds, floors, bathrooms and lounges were all well equipped, well lit and very very clean. I actually met someone from my home town in Australia the minute I walked in to HI New York so it must be a very popular place with Australians. Thank you soooooo very much for making my time in NYC a very comfortable, memorable and safe one. It was a pleasure to come home to HI New York each day.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easily accesible, very nice lounge, Inet cafe, shop and food area in the basement. Nice people staying there. Very good security. Nice atmosphere overall. Friendly staff. Very clean!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 November 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they organize evenings and trips out. I went for the improv thingy that was absolutely thrilling!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

29 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, it was a great experience for the price. However, on my last night, someone stole my bed. I came earlier in the evening to drop off my belongings in my locker, then when i came back at night, the lights were off, and someone was sleeping in my bed. What a surprise!!!

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it easilly accomidated my needs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

29 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: clean, well-located

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CLEANLINESS

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

25 October 2006

Liked: too much security checking received all the time

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

24 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: very well run, great for the subway.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

24 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

23 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: The price quality was very good and i really liked the bagage safes

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting people, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: place was very convienent. place was clean and nice. there were many gd guided tours and activities planned

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

09 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Its efficiency and professionalism.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

09 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: clean, no fuzz when checking in or out, nice backyard and relaxed atmosphere in the TV room. Great to have access to computers at the hostel. Mostly helpful staff

Disliked: left no negative feedback.