We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.3% Overall Rating

1374 out of 1520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

"It was my first time at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness. I found this hostel met my needs and was a decent value for the money."

Read all HI NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 131 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.1% 683 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
32.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 156 reviews
Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel
42.00 USD

Hostel 75.9% 1212 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.2% 33 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT Youth Hotel
48.00 USD

Hostel 69.7% 468 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

1374 out of 1520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 962 of 1101 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

yvonne salone

26 June 2007 yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness and enthusiasm in the hostel,since i have stayed here before i knew what to expect. I like the cleanliness and space in the bedroom i stayed in.

Disliked: yvonne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Kirkpatrick

25 June 2007 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very fun because there were lots of people there from all over the world. Moreover, it was in a local neighborhood, and surprisingly the food in restaurants nearby was GOOD and CHEAP! ALso, having a snackbar in the hostel was convenient. My students had fun in the game room, esp. on "free pool" night. The only complaint- there was a group above us which was very noisy- the high celings make the acoustics exaggerate sound. It sounded like they were throwing each other off the top bunks at 2:00 a.m. in the morning! They didn't stay long- thank goodness!

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gillian Lomasney

24 June 2007 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Gerrys grand tour every saturday only $10

Disliked: Gillian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Viollaz

24 June 2007 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and general cheeriness of the place. The building is in great shape and the free wireless internet is wonderful! The bathrooms though could use renovation as they are very humid and slippery. The cleanliness of the rooms though is great.

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 June 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: books, tv, snack bar, internet access

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tellervo Valtonen

19 June 2007 Tellervo would recommend this property

Liked: The young people are so nice and helpful, also the non-drugs, non-alcohol politics is great and the feeling of home and safe. Really great experience, beats easily any hotel in NY where I also have been. I like the atmosphere most.

Disliked: Tellervo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean & secure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

neville -marcel matroos- stoof

17 June 2007 neville -marcel would recommend this property

Liked: the people, especially Theresa

Disliked: neville -marcel left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 June 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people you meet made it all worthwhile

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katie Reynolds

11 June 2007 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: it was very safe and clean...nice tv room and outside area...lots of computers to go on.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 June 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers, overhead lights, good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 June 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and professional

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andreas Menger

31 May 2007 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: money for value, security, location

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is great - so close to the 1 Subway (which goes to Times Square) and within easy walking distance of Central Park. We felt completely safe, there was a place to store our luggage after we had checked out, and a reasonably priced breakfast cafe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff´s helpfulness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Harrold

23 May 2007 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean,friendly guests great location for people going to Yankee stadium,quick check in and out,no hassles

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frank sachse

22 May 2007 frank would recommend this property

Liked: provided daily sign-ups for local excursions, many free... breakfast/sandwich restaurant inside... as well as location, staff friendliness, large common room (tv)... i even got kudos from my kids about the place - and it's not often that i make it onto the hip-o-meter... :)

Disliked: frank left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manli Liu

16 May 2007 Manli would recommend this property

Liked: it provides shuttle to JFK airport

Disliked: Manli left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michaela Schober

15 May 2007 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ralph van der Laak

15 May 2007 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to the subway, organized sightseeing, places where you can meet other people

Disliked: Ralph left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristian Lindahl

06 May 2007 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel felt very serious with video surveillance and 24 h guard in the lobby, and that you couldn't enter the hotel without your keycard. also the staff was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: Kristian left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Barlow

06 May 2007 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Really friendly staff, comfortable dorm rooms and good facilities like a coffee bar, internet, shop etc.. The location is a little bit far out of town - but it is right next to a subway station, so it doesn't really matter!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've definitely seen better bathrooms, kitchens, and common areas (I didn't try and use the kitchen). The beds were quite nice and the rooms very clean. The staff are very good at helping with info about the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and peachy colours of the hall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.