We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

91.3% Overall Rating

1340 out of 1484 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

"It's a great place to meet other travellers. They provide great tours, pub crawls etc. The rooms are clean. The garden is amazing!"

Read all HI New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 680 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
30.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Jazz on the Park
27.00 USD

Hostel 78.9% 1179 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
42.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
27.00 USD

Hostel 65.7% 433 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

1340 out of 1484 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 933 of 1064 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to central park

Disliked: everything was ok, room was cool after we turned the aircon up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Bird

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The organised tours and pub crawls are great, especially for single travellers hoping to meet people and make friends, and for all travellers to get a feel for the local spots. Having the cafe downstairs was useful, and there were so many options of spots to hang out in the hostel - theatre room, lounge room, kitchen, cafe area, outside courtyard.

Disliked: The 12-bed dorm room did get a bit smelly (even the all-girls room!), and the windows were sometimes difficult to open - may have been because of the heat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chen amrani

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 chen would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, great activities and tours

Disliked: Room is too crowded, no sense of privacy at all. During my stay there was a big party (something outside of the hostel with families and loud kids) that made a lot of noise and didn't end until midnight (although hostel's policy is quiet hours from 11pm)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Roman Shapovalov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good: west of the Central Park, close to the subway red line. Staff was moderately friendly. Each bed is supplemented by a personal light and a socket. Lockers are available if you have your own lock (or buy it in the store across the street).

Disliked: Someone occupied my bed by mistake, so I needed to wake him up in the night to settle it. Also, they charged a membership surcharge for whatever reason, so the final price was about $110 for two days in 10 person room, which was not cheap. Nevertheless, I did not took part in any activities or communicated with the other guests. While it was technically possible, staff did not encouraged that (like inviting to the party during check in), and I chose different activities in the city.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Steve Donnelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere promoted

Disliked: A little expensive for a hostel...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

abdulaziz almasoud

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 abdulaziz would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel because I can meet new people, and because it's not just a place to sleep there are other things you can do at the hostel.

Disliked: I think that there are too many people at the room(12).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: Some of the staff are rude beyond words, speaking to other people when they are serving you, ignoring you and being rather nonchalant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The whole package.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Macnie

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Although the hostel is on the Upper West Side, away from the major attractions of downtown, it's very conveniently located only one block away from the 1 subway line. You can get anywhere downtown in a matter of minutes. The hostel is immaculate when it comes to cleanliness! I stayed on the third floor and my room was clean, the beds were made every morning (quite like a hotel), and the bathrooms are modern and spotless. It didn't feel like staying in a "traditional" hostel at all. This was my fourth trip to New York and I honestly wish I had stayed here on my previous trips. From now on, this will be the only place I'll be booking for future trips.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefano Cataldi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of room where you can spend time and meet people and share your experience during your trip.

Disliked: I think is normal in New York, but I found the place really expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maheedhar Sonthineni

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2013 Maheedhar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danilo Menezes

Alone

Events / festivals

12 May 2013 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, one the best I've ever seen around the world. Location is good, even though I liked more the exciting from the mid and downtown, specially in the late hours. A very good place for those who, like me, consider the nightlife as an important part of any trip.

Disliked: I must say I saw a little mouse in my room, but i would definitely stay there again. It's not their fault, NYC is full of rats. The bathrooms are always clean, you see the cleaning staff working all the time...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very safe and clean in all places. There were good facilities such as lockers, wifi, snack bar (open very late), a reasonable free breakfast and the beds were comfortable. Free towels and shower slippers were provided.

Disliked: Some of the tables in the dining area was unstable and could do with being replaced. The hostel has a main road outside - this can sometimes be noisy in the bedrooms early in the morning. Other than that, this hostel was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samad Mohammed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Samad would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, value for money.

Disliked: Na

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vivian Stephania Santos Coutinho

Alone

Shopping

20 April 2013 Vivian Stephania would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty organized, clean and good location.

Disliked: Vivian Stephania left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, workers and the guided tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heidi Smakula

As a family with children

Business / conference

05 April 2013 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and knowledgable about the area. They provided me with addresses and phone numbers of nearby parking garages before my visit. Excited to see that a century building could be re-purposed for serving travelers like me.

Disliked: I arrived late in the evening, and checked out early. I wasn't there long enough to form a dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness. Well appointed bathrooms.

Disliked: The fact that the cleaning ladies came into men's bathrooms (and rooms for that matter) while men are using them without knocking or announcing themselves (or at all).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, guests were friendly, atmosphere was friendly and welcoming

Disliked: Not enough staff at the front desk (front desk was overwhelmed and thus not too friendly), room was COLD at night (I think the radiator didn't work).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Ortega

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very relaxed atmosphere. Tours are good and cheap. They also have several activities and amenities to help you socialize with other guests. It has a huge well equiped kitchen if you want to reduce your catering expenses. Rooms are quite crowded but good enough, and have a huge locker so you don't have to worry about your luggage. Though it's not on the best location, it's just a block from a very convenient subway stop so you never have to take cabs. Highly recomended.

Disliked: Many people on the rooms. Slightly expensive for a hostel (but not for NY). Not that many restrooms for the size of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samir Khanukaev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Samir would recommend this property

Liked: Very good excursions and time wasting offered by the hostel. Larry's tour of NYC was absolutely great! The staff is very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were very helpful and recommended cheap bars. The showers were very clean.

Disliked: The gender separated dorms as well the location was not amazing for the money you were paying.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is not bad. Close to subway and only 10 blocks from Columbia Univ.

Disliked: Rooms are old, and there are not enough power sockets. It is so damn hard to charge up phones if returning to dorm late, as there are only 2 sockets for 8 people to share!! Besides, there was a weird old guy in my dorm. He was complaining about everything all the time and, damn, he is smelly! I would recommend the hostel to keep smelly people away from hostel. They should have made it more clear that $3 more per night would be charged if you are not their member - but you definitely will not be their member if you are not an American or Canadian since they have no hostels outside North America.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. It was clean.

Disliked: Too expensive for a hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cristina Arevalo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near the subway, market, central park, and the hospitality is good.

Disliked: Once it was cold the hot water wasn't work so good but it took one day and they fixed up.