HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International - New York

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

85.1% Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

tamara evans thinks…

"Mostly the cleanliness and good order of things. Staff was accomadating and nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean and secure. The property itself is well kept outside and in, with plenty of areas to…"

Read all Hostelling International - New York reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 113 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 69.7% 1142 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
39.75 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
FIT HOTEL
55.00 USD

Hostel 73.4% 408 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International - New York'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 918 of 1045 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, workers and the guided tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heidi Smakula

As a family with children

Business / conference

05 April 2013 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and knowledgable about the area. They provided me with addresses and phone numbers of nearby parking garages before my visit. Excited to see that a century building could be re-purposed for serving travelers like me.

Disliked: I arrived late in the evening, and checked out early. I wasn't there long enough to form a dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness. Well appointed bathrooms.

Disliked: The fact that the cleaning ladies came into men's bathrooms (and rooms for that matter) while men are using them without knocking or announcing themselves (or at all).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, guests were friendly, atmosphere was friendly and welcoming

Disliked: Not enough staff at the front desk (front desk was overwhelmed and thus not too friendly), room was COLD at night (I think the radiator didn't work).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Ortega

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very relaxed atmosphere. Tours are good and cheap. They also have several activities and amenities to help you socialize with other guests. It has a huge well equiped kitchen if you want to reduce your catering expenses. Rooms are quite crowded but good enough, and have a huge locker so you don't have to worry about your luggage. Though it's not on the best location, it's just a block from a very convenient subway stop so you never have to take cabs. Highly recomended.

Disliked: Many people on the rooms. Slightly expensive for a hostel (but not for NY). Not that many restrooms for the size of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samir Khanukaev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Samir would recommend this property

Liked: Very good excursions and time wasting offered by the hostel. Larry's tour of NYC was absolutely great! The staff is very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were very helpful and recommended cheap bars. The showers were very clean.

Disliked: The gender separated dorms as well the location was not amazing for the money you were paying.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is not bad. Close to subway and only 10 blocks from Columbia Univ.

Disliked: Rooms are old, and there are not enough power sockets. It is so damn hard to charge up phones if returning to dorm late, as there are only 2 sockets for 8 people to share!! Besides, there was a weird old guy in my dorm. He was complaining about everything all the time and, damn, he is smelly! I would recommend the hostel to keep smelly people away from hostel. They should have made it more clear that $3 more per night would be charged if you are not their member - but you definitely will not be their member if you are not an American or Canadian since they have no hostels outside North America.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. It was clean.

Disliked: Too expensive for a hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cristina Arevalo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near the subway, market, central park, and the hospitality is good.

Disliked: Once it was cold the hot water wasn't work so good but it took one day and they fixed up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Robson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: No hot water for some of the showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good opportunity to meet people with activities. Very clean rooms and hostel looks good, bathrooms are great. Cafe is handy as well as the relaxation areas and kitchen, very close to subway and cheap eats and bars.

Disliked: Staff involved in activities are great, but others can be at times rude. The metal beds are really squeaky, which sounds stupid but in a 12 bed dorm that's a whole lotta noise you don't want in the night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers provided in room for luggage. Breakfast provided by a cafe.

Disliked: Not all my luggage could fit in the locker. Can be a bit impersonal but that's to be expected from a large hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ariane Falardeau St-Amour

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 December 2012 Ariane would recommend this property

Liked: Verry nice hostel! They have everything travelers would need and wish for! Clean rooms and toilets. Linens and towel. Plenty of rooms to hang out. Helpfull staff and many activiez going on. Pool table, cinema, big and nice kitchen. All of that in a nice, beautiful and full of character building.

Disliked: Unfortunately the hostel is verry expensive. It's a little bit far but less than a minute from the subway

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the staff is awesome. I stayed in a dorm for 12 girls and we had no problems at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandra Garza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

23 December 2012 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: The people who gave me the service it was nice, kind and warm with me even i dont speak very much english!!

Disliked: Anything for me everything was good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Norberto Damián Rivada

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Norberto Damián would recommend this property

Liked: The locación is not The best, But is a great HOSTEL!

Disliked: Norberto Damián left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Dawson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. Easy to get to subway lines. Fun activities organised to meet other travellers which means its good if you see travelling alone. Would also suit a group or couple. The dorms are clean and pretty much what you expect for a hostel. The bathroom is very clean and I never had to wait. The cafe is great for breakfast.

Disliked: When I first went to have a shower there was no hot water. I found out from another traveller that it is turned on after 7pm. Once I knew this it was fine but would have been better to have some notice!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

danielle leece

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great cinema room, very clean kitchen, welcome parties with free drinks 3x weekly, free pub/club crawls, café in hostel (reasonably priced)

Disliked: Only 1 very slow lift for a very big hostel! When checking out I brought my suitcase down from the 4th floor to reception and asked if I could out it in bag hold, there was a $5 charge so I asked if I could either put it in the hold or leave my suitcase at reception while I went and got the rest of my luggage along with my money which was still in the room. The very rude receptionist refused either option and I had to take my suitcase back up 4 floors to collect my money and back down again. She was very rude and didn't offer any kind of apology for the inconvenience, one of the rudest/snappiest staff Ive ever came across travelling! Not much of a young hostel, real mix of ages and some families also staying at the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jente Goutier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Jente would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, very clean, convenient location.

Disliked: Its kind of expensive and I'm not sure if the extra money (compared to a hostel in Brooklyn) is worth it.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 October 2012

Liked: It's just a huge building where you can sleep - and best don't do anything else…

Disliked: way too big, dirty showers, loud

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mathew Fabris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the 1 train which is handy however it is quite far up from a lot of things you want to see but its not too bad. Night staffer Manny is great

Disliked: RATS! I moved rooms twice because of rats and by the third time I couldn't be bothered anymore and just put up with it. I could hear them going through peoples bags at night but maintenance poisoned the rat in my third room so there was a few nights of rat free sleep. If people didn't bring food into the rooms this could be avoided. Some rooms have very old wooden bunks which are super loud. I have stayed in 4 HIs so far and this was my least favourite, little atmosphere and its so big its just unwelcoming. There is only 1 small and dodgy lift They play horrible dance music in all common rooms Second week had no tv room as the projector died and everyone just slept on the couches...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, clean and good cafe

Disliked: Metal bunk beds- ppl wake each other up by wriggling about

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacinta mackle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: i loved all the interesting people i meet. i loved the down stairs area and the value for money walking tours (i did the Harlem tour) great having a cafe on site, tv room to blob in after a hard day walking the streets of NYC.

Disliked: few more toilets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite expensive bit it's New York in anyway. Could be a little bit more modern like the hi Boston is. 12 people per room is really crowded. It is very clean and the location is on upper east which is fine for me.

Disliked: Kind of wired people, not only traveller.