HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International - New York

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

85.1% Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

tamara evans thinks…

"Mostly the cleanliness and good order of things. Staff was accomadating and nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean and secure. The property itself is well kept outside and in, with plenty of areas to…"

Read all Hostelling International - New York reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 113 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1141 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 69.7% 26 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
FIT HOTEL
55.00 USD

Hostel 74.7% 406 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International - New York'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 918 of 1045 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013

Liked: Kitchen was beautiful.

Disliked: So noisy at every midnight. It sounded like people upstairs were dragging something and jumping from their beds around midnight, even it was 2am. I didn't know if the cleaning staffs were working at night or the customers did that.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: metroの駅 103st から歩いて僅か3分ほどのところにあり、とても便利な立地です。ホテルの一階には早朝から深夜まで利用できるカフェが併設されており、夜中に急に飲み物がほしくなった時にも出歩く必要がなく助かりました。30歳をすぎてユースに泊まるのはどうだろうか、と思っていたが、宿泊者は老若男女、多国籍でバランスがとれていた。

Disliked: チェックインしたところ、ベッドメイクがされておらずシーツも前の滞在者のままだった。しかし、フロントに言うとすぐに交換してくれた。

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charmaine White

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Charmaine would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the subway, not too bad a walk into the city if you were up for it, I felt safe and my stuff secure in the hostel

Disliked: The bunks were quite squeaky. The hand drier in the women's toilet on level 3 was like a jet engine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Keys

Alone

City break

29 September 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro and friendly staff

Disliked: Noisy roommates lol

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big, and historic

Disliked: Out of town a bit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Wilson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and clean

Disliked: not easy to navigate, but not a major problem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Meredith Chai

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the subway line #1, literally like just 2 mins away, easy to get to from Newark International airport.

Disliked: Room has a stale smell, but doesn't matter much because I'm just there to lay my head for a night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: k

Disliked: k

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean

Disliked: the location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to subway, very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to central park

Disliked: everything was ok, room was cool after we turned the aircon up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Bird

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The organised tours and pub crawls are great, especially for single travellers hoping to meet people and make friends, and for all travellers to get a feel for the local spots. Having the cafe downstairs was useful, and there were so many options of spots to hang out in the hostel - theatre room, lounge room, kitchen, cafe area, outside courtyard.

Disliked: The 12-bed dorm room did get a bit smelly (even the all-girls room!), and the windows were sometimes difficult to open - may have been because of the heat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chen amrani

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 chen would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, great activities and tours

Disliked: Room is too crowded, no sense of privacy at all. During my stay there was a big party (something outside of the hostel with families and loud kids) that made a lot of noise and didn't end until midnight (although hostel's policy is quiet hours from 11pm)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Roman Shapovalov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good: west of the Central Park, close to the subway red line. Staff was moderately friendly. Each bed is supplemented by a personal light and a socket. Lockers are available if you have your own lock (or buy it in the store across the street).

Disliked: Someone occupied my bed by mistake, so I needed to wake him up in the night to settle it. Also, they charged a membership surcharge for whatever reason, so the final price was about $110 for two days in 10 person room, which was not cheap. Nevertheless, I did not took part in any activities or communicated with the other guests. While it was technically possible, staff did not encouraged that (like inviting to the party during check in), and I chose different activities in the city.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Steve Donnelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere promoted

Disliked: A little expensive for a hostel...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

abdulaziz almasoud

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 abdulaziz would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel because I can meet new people, and because it's not just a place to sleep there are other things you can do at the hostel.

Disliked: I think that there are too many people at the room(12).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: Some of the staff are rude beyond words, speaking to other people when they are serving you, ignoring you and being rather nonchalant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: The whole package.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Macnie

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Although the hostel is on the Upper West Side, away from the major attractions of downtown, it's very conveniently located only one block away from the 1 subway line. You can get anywhere downtown in a matter of minutes. The hostel is immaculate when it comes to cleanliness! I stayed on the third floor and my room was clean, the beds were made every morning (quite like a hotel), and the bathrooms are modern and spotless. It didn't feel like staying in a "traditional" hostel at all. This was my fourth trip to New York and I honestly wish I had stayed here on my previous trips. From now on, this will be the only place I'll be booking for future trips.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stefano Cataldi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of room where you can spend time and meet people and share your experience during your trip.

Disliked: I think is normal in New York, but I found the place really expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maheedhar Sonthineni

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2013 Maheedhar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danilo Menezes

Alone

Events / festivals

12 May 2013 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, one the best I've ever seen around the world. Location is good, even though I liked more the exciting from the mid and downtown, specially in the late hours. A very good place for those who, like me, consider the nightlife as an important part of any trip.

Disliked: I must say I saw a little mouse in my room, but i would definitely stay there again. It's not their fault, NYC is full of rats. The bathrooms are always clean, you see the cleaning staff working all the time...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very safe and clean in all places. There were good facilities such as lockers, wifi, snack bar (open very late), a reasonable free breakfast and the beds were comfortable. Free towels and shower slippers were provided.

Disliked: Some of the tables in the dining area was unstable and could do with being replaced. The hostel has a main road outside - this can sometimes be noisy in the bedrooms early in the morning. Other than that, this hostel was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samad Mohammed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Samad would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, value for money.

Disliked: Na

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vivian Stephania Santos Coutinho

Alone

Shopping

20 April 2013 Vivian Stephania would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty organized, clean and good location.

Disliked: Vivian Stephania left no negative feedback.