HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

90.3% Overall Rating

1331 out of 1475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

Lauren Reade thinks…

"One of the best hostels I have stayed in as a solo female traveller. Great location in the Upper West side, easy to commute around the city, very clean facilities, felt very safe around here. The…"

Read all HI - New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
48.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 131 reviews
Jazz on the Park
42.00 USD

Hostel 76.2% 1163 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
44.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
45.00 USD

Hostel 65.1% 424 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

1331 out of 1475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 925 of 1055 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Janowicz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (not the nicest area but: 2mins walk from Subway line 1 which takes you to the most important points in downtown Manhattan plus 5mins walk from Central Park) , clean, secure, very friendly staff, yummy cheap breakfasts (!), good internet access (big computer room plus wifi downstairs), lots of activities.

Disliked: I was staying in a 10 bed female dorm, room was much to small for 10 beds, beds were squeaky (imagine 9 other people rolling in beds at night...), and there were only 6 sockets hidden behind three of the beds, almost impossible to charge the mobile/ipod/camera overnight (!). Lockers in the room were good size but otherwise there were no jacket hooks, no table or anywhere to put your stuff. And no bedside lamps, so the main light was on most of the night when girls were coming in and out of the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ambiance in the lobby and in the garden was great!

Disliked: the big dorm-rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well organized, great sanctuary on a backpacking trip, thank you

Disliked: everything fine

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet at night

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location the building is great and you meet really nice and friendly people. I also really liked that the hostel offers you tour around the city for good deals and take you to bars and clubs... , the hostel works 24hours so you can always find a staff to help you .

Disliked: Well the internet connection was slow but not too bad . I hated the fact that some girls were leaving there hair after taking a shower ( thanx god that the hostel gives flip-flop's shower) , I think that people should clean behind them after having shower, even know the cleaning staff does it everyday but it isn't a reason, they should clean and respect the cleaning team's work .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: unfriendliness of the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hardy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean and well kept. Staff really helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy access

Disliked: Noise of room mates

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joss Hay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Joss would recommend this property

Liked: This is an awesome hostel in NYC, I have stayed in a few but this one is my favorite! there is a subway about 300m from the front the area is nice. All the facilities for showering and bathrooms are brand new. the people and the feeling inside is very chilled and its easy to meet lots of people. if your thinking about booking this hostel and i say is DO IT!

Disliked: nothing its all round to good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to easy to get around. The hostel was close to central park and subway. Good choice of free activities/tours available to see NYC

Disliked: No Breakfast included. Fairly pricey for a hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nicolas renault

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, the starbucks just in front of the hostel

Disliked: nothing especially

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only word: Simplicity !

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice and large hostel. Everything was really clean and there are enough facilities. They organize nice tours. They have bed lights!

Disliked: Its not that close to the center of manhattan but there are two subway stations real close so thats not that big of a problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, good beds excellent customer service.

Disliked: Nothing, all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yu Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Yu would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and it's very easy to get around. The staff members are also very helpful. And the shared bathroom was surprisingly clean!! The whole experience is just simply pleasant.

Disliked: I pretty much liked everything!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Randell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and good location

Disliked: No bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible!! Great activities, staff and the cafe is fabulous! Tasty and cheap!!

Disliked: My room was a little small compared to others that also had 10 beds in it! It was a little difficult to move around!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jasmin Woerner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: It's very big but it's really cool

Disliked: When i arrive in the middel of the night it was a littel bit stress

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was soooooooo good for me and my friend ! We can cook by our selves so we could save lots of money during the trip!

Disliked: We should move of room one time while we was stay and we checked in around 5pm so.. i didn't like that part . but except that i looooooooooooved there! If I have any possibilities that go to NY again, I definitely go to this hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very easy to meet people, as there is so much going on. Plenty of walking tours, pub crawls and even on-site comedy shows if you don't want to head out. It's easy to get to the subway, and it's close to Central Park and the museum mile... and even fairly close to Yankee stadium via the subway heading in the other direction.

Disliked: Checking in... the staff were so, so, so very slow to get everyone booked in. I understand the process, but it seems to take longer there than anywhere else I've ever been.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The possibility to meet people from all over the world. The services offered by the hostel such as a guided tour in Harlem including a worship with gospel singers. The great kitchen offered, the pool table, the cinema and of course the terrace to relax.

Disliked: Sharing a room with 10 people which was sometimes stressful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerald bailey

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: good location great staff good free tours

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had lots of space, clean bathrooms and helpful staff

Disliked: The lockers charge you to leave your luggage in them, unlike some other hostels where you can leave them for a short while without paying (ie; if you have a later flight)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katharina Reeh

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big kitchen, lot of entertainment

Disliked: a bit anonymous because of a lot of guest,, internet is far too expensive on computers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

03 May 2011

Liked: Nothing jumps out. Security everywhere helps.

Disliked: Not really as fun as it appears to be. Terrible wi fi coverage, always drops out. Rooms are clean but toilets need to be checked more often. Extremely rude staff. Blamed me for something in which I wasn't told about, and another lied to me which made it most unenjoyable. Wouldn't stay there again purely based on the rudeness. Cannot underline how angry I was at how I was treated.