HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostelling International - New York

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

85.1% Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

tamara evans thinks…

"Mostly the cleanliness and good order of things. Staff was accomadating and nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean and secure. The property itself is well kept outside and in, with plenty of areas to…"

Read all Hostelling International - New York reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 116 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 69.7% 1142 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
International Student Center
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 282 reviews
FIT HOTEL
55.00 USD

Hostel 71.4% 410 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1321 out of 1464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostelling International - New York'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 918 of 1046 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy access

Disliked: Noise of room mates

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joss Hay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Joss would recommend this property

Liked: This is an awesome hostel in NYC, I have stayed in a few but this one is my favorite! there is a subway about 300m from the front the area is nice. All the facilities for showering and bathrooms are brand new. the people and the feeling inside is very chilled and its easy to meet lots of people. if your thinking about booking this hostel and i say is DO IT!

Disliked: nothing its all round to good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to easy to get around. The hostel was close to central park and subway. Good choice of free activities/tours available to see NYC

Disliked: No Breakfast included. Fairly pricey for a hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nicolas renault

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, the starbucks just in front of the hostel

Disliked: nothing especially

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only word: Simplicity !

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice and large hostel. Everything was really clean and there are enough facilities. They organize nice tours. They have bed lights!

Disliked: Its not that close to the center of manhattan but there are two subway stations real close so thats not that big of a problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, good beds excellent customer service.

Disliked: Nothing, all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yu Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Yu would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and it's very easy to get around. The staff members are also very helpful. And the shared bathroom was surprisingly clean!! The whole experience is just simply pleasant.

Disliked: I pretty much liked everything!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kieran Randell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and good location

Disliked: No bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible!! Great activities, staff and the cafe is fabulous! Tasty and cheap!!

Disliked: My room was a little small compared to others that also had 10 beds in it! It was a little difficult to move around!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jasmin Woerner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: It's very big but it's really cool

Disliked: When i arrive in the middel of the night it was a littel bit stress

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was soooooooo good for me and my friend ! We can cook by our selves so we could save lots of money during the trip!

Disliked: We should move of room one time while we was stay and we checked in around 5pm so.. i didn't like that part . but except that i looooooooooooved there! If I have any possibilities that go to NY again, I definitely go to this hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very easy to meet people, as there is so much going on. Plenty of walking tours, pub crawls and even on-site comedy shows if you don't want to head out. It's easy to get to the subway, and it's close to Central Park and the museum mile... and even fairly close to Yankee stadium via the subway heading in the other direction.

Disliked: Checking in... the staff were so, so, so very slow to get everyone booked in. I understand the process, but it seems to take longer there than anywhere else I've ever been.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The possibility to meet people from all over the world. The services offered by the hostel such as a guided tour in Harlem including a worship with gospel singers. The great kitchen offered, the pool table, the cinema and of course the terrace to relax.

Disliked: Sharing a room with 10 people which was sometimes stressful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerald bailey

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: good location great staff good free tours

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had lots of space, clean bathrooms and helpful staff

Disliked: The lockers charge you to leave your luggage in them, unlike some other hostels where you can leave them for a short while without paying (ie; if you have a later flight)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katharina Reeh

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big kitchen, lot of entertainment

Disliked: a bit anonymous because of a lot of guest,, internet is far too expensive on computers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

03 May 2011

Liked: Nothing jumps out. Security everywhere helps.

Disliked: Not really as fun as it appears to be. Terrible wi fi coverage, always drops out. Rooms are clean but toilets need to be checked more often. Extremely rude staff. Blamed me for something in which I wasn't told about, and another lied to me which made it most unenjoyable. Wouldn't stay there again purely based on the rudeness. Cannot underline how angry I was at how I was treated.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from JFK/Amtrak/Greyhound ; just off the No 1 subway line. Similarly easy to get around NY from the hostel Very close to Central Park Great tours/events laid on by the hostel (some free, all cheap) Great kitchen and plenty of common space Good clean dorms and bathrooms

Disliked: No toilets on the lobby and basement floors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mercedes Fernández

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Mercedes would recommend this property

Liked: Absolute cleanliness, many free activities to do and meet people, very kind atmosphere, very comfortable place to stay.

Disliked: Some lockers aren't big enough for the bagagge.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: The bathrooms where nice

Disliked: I didnt like the area too much, I didnt like that they did not offer airport pickup. The staff was not very friendly. It was a very large not very cosy. Not a very nice atmosphere. No free breakfast, no free internet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kristina Kinne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Unpersonal, felt more like an English school camp than a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Millward

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel one of the best in the world. Organised tours every day, all cheap and some free! friendly helpful staff, great facilities, clean rooms, big clean bathrooms, lots of different areas to socialise/meet people/chill. I traveled alone, and had the trip of a lifetime all owed to the great organisation of this hostel! Even the location is great, and it's easy to get around on the subway.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, awesome hostel, awesome people!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly people to meet, lots of recommendentions about tours and basic needs.

Disliked: No control about loudy people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne-Charlotte Bappel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Anne-Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness is very good!!! and the staff is very openning and nice

Disliked: I dislike price of casiers