We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

90.9% Overall Rating

1338 out of 1482 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2014)

"It's a great place to meet other travellers. They provide great tours, pub crawls etc. The rooms are clean. The garden is amazing!"

Read all HI - New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
54.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.0% 678 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 136 reviews
Jazz on the Park
32.00 USD

Hostel 76.2% 1177 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
39.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
45.00 USD

Hostel 67.4% 432 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

1338 out of 1482 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 932 of 1063 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ida Marie Kragh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Ida Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a very nice atmosphere, nice people, good offers on day-trips, pubcrawls etc. The bathrooms are SO clean and nice!! They have a looot of common areas so your stay is pretty much what you make it! If you want to meet people and chill you can, or you can just say in your room. The patio is great!

Disliked: The location is not the best but there's a subway station 2 minutes away! So that's good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and facilities are quite good. Specilally I like to use kitchen. and the touring program was good but not all of them.

Disliked: In my case I went philladelpia tour me and guide. it was so bored and nothing special, finally I have to back to early. The tour fee was expensive and he didn't keep well what he wrote the PR paper. I sugest to reconsider about this tour and extend volunteer program,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: everything was ok

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Margo Bakker

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

31 July 2011

Liked: Facilities like store (for breakfast) and internet and lockers.

Disliked: My bed was double booked. I had to go to reception three times and at 11.45 pm I finally had my bed. I already suspected my bed was double-booked, but they told me every time it wasn't. So late at night this girl was laying in my bed. Weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Urquiza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location from the subway and bus stops, it's very nice inside, very friendly and colorful, the music was great.

Disliked: The music in the lobby sometimes is too loud, the food was a bit pricey.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the night out with the hostel people

Disliked: the lockers didn't have a pad lock, so we had to buy them for 5 dollars

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

huaixu yu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 huaixu would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and people are friendly

Disliked: A little bit too far to the centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location, and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness and facilities.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Kurniawan

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Too crowded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beniamin Czech

Alone

City break

25 July 2011 Beniamin would recommend this property

Liked: Not the best location to be honest - you need to take the subway wherever you want to go. Apart from the Central Park of course. There is a subway stop two minutes away from the hostel so no biggy after all. Soooo many things to do but for most tours you will have to pay $10 (the guides are very good though). They sell cheap Yankees tickets ($11!!) which is absolutely amazing. No breakfast included but there is a decent and inexpensive cafe on the lobby level. Awesome place to meet people. Biggest letdown for me: no sockets near beds so forget about charging your phone / laptop while you're asleep (unless you want to keep your precious valuables in the corner of a room full of strangers). Super clean and beautiful bathrooms / showers. Really high standard. Common areas are huge and comfy. Good hostel altogether.

Disliked: No sockets by your bed. Location isn't the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The high level of cleanliness, the great location so near to public transportation, and the great kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The WiFi was a little dicey at times. Needs improvement.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They put on lots of tours and social events which makes it really easy to meet other backpackers and make friends. It has a really good atmosphere.

Disliked: Location is a bit out of the way, but really only takes 15ish minutes to subway downtown.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaniless

Disliked: location not too central

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I arrived at the hostel at 3pm, the listed checkin time, and was told my room wouldn't be ready until 4pm. I waited and at 4pm they said my room wouldn't be ready until 5pm!! I paid $5 for a locker and came back at 7pm, because I had serious doubts the room was going to be ready anytime soon. When I did eventually check in a lady in my dorm told me that my bed had been made up at about 11am that day!! So I wasted $5 and my time in New York, for a bed that was actually ready when I first arrived. On top of this my key card only worked 50% of the time, and I was constantly going down to reception to fix it.. once in a towel after I had come back from the shower! Considering I was on the third floor and their lift was broken down almost the whole time I was there, this was pretty annoying!! Lift was always broken, $5 lockers unlocked themselves!! store in the lockers. I was told the locker would cost $5 for every day I left my luggage, and that while I was away in Washington for a few days all I needed to do was pay the $5 upfront and then $15 for the subsequent days upon my return, and it would remain locked. I asked three different members of staff just to make sure as I couldn't afford to have my bag stolen. All assured me this was how the lockers worked. When I returned from Washington I was more than a little horrified to find that actually.. the locker had unlocked itself after the first paid 24 hours were up and the door was wide open! I can not believe how lucky I am that my bag was still sitting inside considering what a large hostel this one is and how many people pass through the locker room!!! I have never disliked a hostel and it's staff more, mistake upon mistake was made and not only did I never receive an apology, I had to cop their rude, unprofessional and arrogant manner. Room was unbelievably hot as the air conditioning wasn't working. Lots of noisy school groups stay here too. Location sucks! There are tons of better places to stay in New York!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Phillip Owen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality hostel near Central Park

Disliked: Free wi-fi was unreliable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large, clean and comfortable. Had everything you could want from a hostel.

Disliked: Having to pay for Internet and breakfast on top of the price we had already paid was a bit annoying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andy Tsai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Neatness. I think this is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. What impressed me the most was the shower rooms, they were far better than what I expected. and not only the bathrooms and shower rooms, the bedrooms also have satisfactory cleanliness. Also, the breakfast they offered was good as well.

Disliked: The only thing about which this hostel could be picked on would be the loud noise of the air conditioner. It started making glitch-like noises on the second day, but somehow recovered itself on the last day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: organised activities

Disliked: maybe the beds could have been better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there are lots of different spaces to chill out in. Lots of activities going on and it's also very secure

Disliked: It's too big, so harder to meet people. Me and my friends door key stopped working atleast 4 times and it was a pain to go get another each time especially at 5am. The reception messed up my booking and charged me my nights stay a month earlier. Then they tried to overcharge my friend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. It was also really nice that they provided towels.

Disliked: In my case, it was the fact that the other travelers were really loud as they entered the room at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, really close to subway. They had a cafe and cheap laundry and I also went on their pub crawl which was a good way to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Rukscha

Alone

Shopping

26 June 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: The room smells very bad, as enclosed, and in the night is very hot and uncomfortable to sleep.

Disliked: See my comments

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ke chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 June 2011 ke would recommend this property

Liked: really good people from all over the world~~clean&safe place,helpful staff

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of common facilities,friendly staff,huge kitchen

Disliked: rather expensive luggage lockers and internet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing to complain.