HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel | 891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

90.3% Overall Rating

1331 out of 1475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

Lauren Reade thinks…

"One of the best hostels I have stayed in as a solo female traveller. Great location in the Upper West side, easy to commute around the city, very clean facilities, felt very safe around here. The…"

Read all HI - New York City NYC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 132 reviews
Jazz on the Park
42.00 USD

Hostel 74.9% 1164 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
45.00 USD

Hostel 65.3% 425 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

1331 out of 1475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - New York City NYC Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 926 of 1056 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

huaixu yu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 huaixu would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and people are friendly

Disliked: A little bit too far to the centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location, and friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness and facilities.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicholas Kurniawan

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Too crowded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beniamin Czech

Alone

City break

25 July 2011 Beniamin would recommend this property

Liked: Not the best location to be honest - you need to take the subway wherever you want to go. Apart from the Central Park of course. There is a subway stop two minutes away from the hostel so no biggy after all. Soooo many things to do but for most tours you will have to pay $10 (the guides are very good though). They sell cheap Yankees tickets ($11!!) which is absolutely amazing. No breakfast included but there is a decent and inexpensive cafe on the lobby level. Awesome place to meet people. Biggest letdown for me: no sockets near beds so forget about charging your phone / laptop while you're asleep (unless you want to keep your precious valuables in the corner of a room full of strangers). Super clean and beautiful bathrooms / showers. Really high standard. Common areas are huge and comfy. Good hostel altogether.

Disliked: No sockets by your bed. Location isn't the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The high level of cleanliness, the great location so near to public transportation, and the great kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The WiFi was a little dicey at times. Needs improvement.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They put on lots of tours and social events which makes it really easy to meet other backpackers and make friends. It has a really good atmosphere.

Disliked: Location is a bit out of the way, but really only takes 15ish minutes to subway downtown.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaniless

Disliked: location not too central

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: I arrived at the hostel at 3pm, the listed checkin time, and was told my room wouldn't be ready until 4pm. I waited and at 4pm they said my room wouldn't be ready until 5pm!! I paid $5 for a locker and came back at 7pm, because I had serious doubts the room was going to be ready anytime soon. When I did eventually check in a lady in my dorm told me that my bed had been made up at about 11am that day!! So I wasted $5 and my time in New York, for a bed that was actually ready when I first arrived. On top of this my key card only worked 50% of the time, and I was constantly going down to reception to fix it.. once in a towel after I had come back from the shower! Considering I was on the third floor and their lift was broken down almost the whole time I was there, this was pretty annoying!! Lift was always broken, $5 lockers unlocked themselves!! store in the lockers. I was told the locker would cost $5 for every day I left my luggage, and that while I was away in Washington for a few days all I needed to do was pay the $5 upfront and then $15 for the subsequent days upon my return, and it would remain locked. I asked three different members of staff just to make sure as I couldn't afford to have my bag stolen. All assured me this was how the lockers worked. When I returned from Washington I was more than a little horrified to find that actually.. the locker had unlocked itself after the first paid 24 hours were up and the door was wide open! I can not believe how lucky I am that my bag was still sitting inside considering what a large hostel this one is and how many people pass through the locker room!!! I have never disliked a hostel and it's staff more, mistake upon mistake was made and not only did I never receive an apology, I had to cop their rude, unprofessional and arrogant manner. Room was unbelievably hot as the air conditioning wasn't working. Lots of noisy school groups stay here too. Location sucks! There are tons of better places to stay in New York!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Phillip Owen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality hostel near Central Park

Disliked: Free wi-fi was unreliable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large, clean and comfortable. Had everything you could want from a hostel.

Disliked: Having to pay for Internet and breakfast on top of the price we had already paid was a bit annoying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andy Tsai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Neatness. I think this is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. What impressed me the most was the shower rooms, they were far better than what I expected. and not only the bathrooms and shower rooms, the bedrooms also have satisfactory cleanliness. Also, the breakfast they offered was good as well.

Disliked: The only thing about which this hostel could be picked on would be the loud noise of the air conditioner. It started making glitch-like noises on the second day, but somehow recovered itself on the last day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: organised activities

Disliked: maybe the beds could have been better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there are lots of different spaces to chill out in. Lots of activities going on and it's also very secure

Disliked: It's too big, so harder to meet people. Me and my friends door key stopped working atleast 4 times and it was a pain to go get another each time especially at 5am. The reception messed up my booking and charged me my nights stay a month earlier. Then they tried to overcharge my friend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. It was also really nice that they provided towels.

Disliked: In my case, it was the fact that the other travelers were really loud as they entered the room at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, really close to subway. They had a cafe and cheap laundry and I also went on their pub crawl which was a good way to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Rukscha

Alone

Shopping

26 June 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: The room smells very bad, as enclosed, and in the night is very hot and uncomfortable to sleep.

Disliked: See my comments

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ke chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 June 2011 ke would recommend this property

Liked: really good people from all over the world~~clean&safe place,helpful staff

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of common facilities,friendly staff,huge kitchen

Disliked: rather expensive luggage lockers and internet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing to complain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tours and comic nights

Disliked: the guided tours was a bit expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is close to the metro, making it only half an hour away from downtown Manhatten and other attractions. Lots of space to either hang out and make new friends, or to simply chill out and relax.

Disliked: could do with an extra bathroom on each floor, simply due to the shear size of the place. When it is busy you have to que.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and organised. Easy to go everywhere as there is a Subway whitin 2 min walk

Disliked: Its more like a big hotel where you share beds than a hostel, but its good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

damon sartori

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 damon would recommend this property

Liked: location atmosphere

Disliked: no breakfast included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERKAN TUGRAL

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 June 2011 ERKAN would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean they put towel and blanket to each bed they have locker bed and room are clean and baathrooms and wc is in the seperate place not in the room that is good administration

Disliked: there was place to buy meal and fruit in the hostel but sometimes it was open it can stay open for more time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great overall atmosphere, nice location. It was easy to find your way around. Bathrooms were extremely clean for a hostel. Subway not too far away.

Disliked: No dislikes, everything was good.