We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

76.0% Overall Rating

864 out of 1214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2015)

Emily Clark thinks…

"Very close to Central Park and local metro station, also a short walk to a supermarket"

Read all Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI NYC Hostel
57.99 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1520 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.1% 683 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
52.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 131 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
44.50 USD

Hostel 76.5% 157 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
31.25 USD

Hostel 67.2% 33 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT Youth Hotel
45.00 USD

Hostel 67.5% 470 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

864 out of 1214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 732 of 872 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Central Park and local metro station, also a short walk to a supermarket

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ford Banister

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2015 Ford would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Right next to Central Park. Friendly staff. Fun staff led beer pong and pub crawl.

Disliked: Man, this spot could use an elevator.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway station and easy to find and get around the city. Staff are helpful

Disliked: Not much events put on for single travellers

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good

Disliked: One member of staff was not particularly welcoming or helpful on arrival. However other members of staff were all friendly

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and security

Disliked: Bathrooms aren't that nice

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The impersonator of Micheal Jackson was really good he is doing animation there and keeping the atmosphere good otherwise would be a funeral. He is doing beer pong pub crawls clubs tour and shows of MJ and PRINCE

Disliked: NO kitchen NO breakfast Ridiculous for a hostel of 32$/night

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thiago Lamas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, good for its value

Disliked: modest

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudia Wadlegger

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2015 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly service, washing and drying machine in the House, corner Store and Subway near

Disliked: Showers not too clean,

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ann-Marie Bock

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2015 Ann-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The location right next to central park is great and you also get to the subway to the city really quick.

Disliked: Ann-Marie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convient location, subway accessible

Disliked: Outside of room bathroom door was slamming and squeaky each time someone went in, was a bit load at night while trying sleep

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite good (3 min from the subway and 50 meters from Central Park). For a low value I slept in a room with just another guy. Some of the staff is great and some of the staff is not so helpful, but overall it was a great place to spend a few nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The confirmation showed that I will have to pay 53$ but when I arrived in the hostel I had to pay 62$. The reception staff said that it was a price including tax. iAdvertisement seems to be cheaper than other hostels but It is not true if including tax. Be careful!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2015

Liked: the location. that's it.

Disliked: Rooms very far away from the entrance and up five floors by stairs (no elevator). The mattress was thin as a napkin, and there are not enough shared toilets for the amount of people per floor. I had to go down to the third floor toilet (the fourth doesn't have one!) for 4 days because the one on the 5th was broken. Can't leave any food or drinks in the fridge.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Lisa Schmölzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located right at the border of central park in a quiet area that felt quite save. (which was important to me, because I'm a solo-traveling woman)

Disliked: The hostel was really really basic. The rooms, were cold (march) and really run down. There were cockroaches in the bathroom and the whole hostel was lacking any charm at all.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janette Fanio

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2015 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: I like the rooms. They are pretty clean. They actually upgraded me to a 2 dorm from 6 to accomadate needs and I had no problem with that. Less people the better.

Disliked: Probably th only thing I didn't like was the hike to the station in the cold .

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Varpu Savolainen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2015 Varpu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and easy to reach, which made me feel safe during my stay. I was able to leave my big suitcase in a safe in downstairs, which was very nice since there was no elevator. The atmosphere all in all was pleasant and I felt welcome. The hostel was very easy to find and the location right next to Central Park was great.

Disliked: The room was dirty and the bed sheets hadn't been changed. Also the room was roasting hot when I got there but with a window open it was bearable.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015

Liked: Location was pretty good. And the room was clean and warm.

Disliked: I can use wifi only on main floor. Even sometimes not working. Everyone came down for wifi. There has No breakfast, No kitchen, No elevator. How can I carry my luggage to 5th floor? Doesn't make sense. And the bathroom where on 5th floor, was out of service for 7days. I never seen like this hostel.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lukas Babak

Alone

City break
Shopping

05 February 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some very strange house rules (no eating and drinking in rooms etc) - I have never come across rules like this anywhere in the world Nearest toilets were located 2 floors down from my room

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easily accessible by subway, safe to walk alone at night. Clean shared bathroom, decent bedroom size and furnishings.

Disliked: Heating is not adjustable! It was almost impossible to breathe, even with the window open in the middle of winter.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jakub Ritschny

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015

Liked: rooms and beds were okay

Disliked: Stayed in two rooms: One overheated, second ok, but blanket was too thin -I was freezing! Not enough bathrooms hang out area not nice

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Iain Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015

Liked: Location right near Central Park is good, and relatively close to a subway station.

Disliked: Wifi is very slow and only in common area. Toilets and showers for males located on a different floor from my room - why?!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rarig williams

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 rarig would recommend this property

Liked: being able to do laundry spacious rooms with less beds than other hostels per room warm rooms, enough bathrooms so you don't have to wait in a line like other hostels! the social atmosphere, I got to go to a NY club and dance with a group taking lots of pictures! It was like joining a school club and then getting to participate in the group activities! This was my second stay and I came back because of Jose and Marie!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the first hostel I stayed at on my travelling experience, and it was my first travelling experience, which meant I was really nervous to travel by myself and stay somewhere I didn't know anybody. The whole atmosphere of this hostel was great, particularly in the common area. There was always music playing at night to get people into a party mood. The staff at this hostel were all very friendly and accomodating. Encouraging me to come out to have a few drinks with people to make some friends. I felt it was all a great experience for me to stay in this hostel. The hostel was cleaned every day by the cleaners, so it was pretty decent to stay in. You can see Central Park from out the front of the hostel, as it is half a block away uptown. Even though this hostel is uptown, it isn't much to get downtown. You only have to walk about 2 blocks to get to the closest subway station and catch the subway. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind staying in hostels! The price is pretty good to stay somewhere in New York, that is close to places to get food and Central Park. So I would definitely say you get what you paid for. They also have a comedy show on Thursday and Sunday nights, which is really fun to go to! Great first experience in a hostel!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very convenient for exploring this part of New York!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was nice. They have a good living room which help guest interactions.

Disliked: They don't have plates, forks and knifes available.

The property's response is...