We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

78.5% Overall Rating

833 out of 1171 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
55.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1479 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 674 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

833 out of 1171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 698 of 830 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yui Maekawa

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2014 Yui would recommend this property

Liked: I'd stayed there 7 years ago but it was cleaner and safer.

Disliked: Shower didn't have anywhere to get changed or put clothes. Bed was shakey.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great.

Disliked: The noises from other guests slamming their doors, the air conditioning in the bathroom and other guests talking in hallways kept me awake. No elevator, wifi was unpredictable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Poor WiFi, no breakfast in hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nils Lehmbruck

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014

Liked: Close to Central Park and Metro. Bedrooms with just 2 beds.

Disliked: NO elevator or escalator! You have to carry your luggage 5 or 6 floors up! The bathrooms are digusting, old, no money seems to be invested here. Wi-Fi only works in the lobby, not in the dorms. Just one tiny toilet for dozens of people on the 5th floor! The mattress was as thin as a pillow. The lockers were damaged. Poor breakfast. On one day there was no breakfast at all because of an upcoming local inspection. No refund or anything for that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Purdie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and gave a lot of good tips on the city. Other travelers were nice and willing to socialise with each other.

Disliked: The first night an outside person was able to come into the sleeping area at about 5am which wasn't safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

April Wright

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 April would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james toohey

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 August 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very helpful and polite. They gave us free pizza on Monday :)

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere in the lounge

Disliked: Horrible bathrooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Not a good crowd

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TRANG Julie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: Big rooms Breakfast every morning 5 min walk from the 103st subway station Helpful and nice staff members

Disliked: Barely no wifi in the common room No wifi in the rooms No kitchen Very uncomfortable beds No shower in my floor, had to go downstairs

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tracy DiPaola

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 August 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how close it was to metro and staff was great!

Disliked: Some guy who was friends of the desk staff was totally hitting on my teenaged daughters while I was checking in - he looked 30 and was asking way too much information - did not strike me as a hostel type person.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Decent free Breakfast.

Disliked: Brett left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location close to subway. Great breakfast

Disliked: Small common area

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014

Liked: I really liked being waken up by two very loud, rude drunk guests at 1am who I believe were trying to set the record of the most junk food eaten in one night. Not.

Disliked: No water for most the evening due to a burst pipe. I would NOT stay here again. $8 for two people to leave luggage for a few hours after check out is a joke, especially when they add on so many fees when you check in. Breakfast very average. Tiny communal space for the size of the hostel. One toilet for the whole of the floor we stayed on. No kicthen other than one fridge and a microwave. No elevator and at 10am a hour before check out the staircase was being mopped with no hazard sign.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: online

Disliked: sheets weren't clean, mattress had big dent in the middle

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Benjamin Duenas

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2014

Liked: Location: subway and buses connectivity.

Disliked: The kitchen is only a microwave, you don't have proper plate glasses, forks, knifes and spoons, everything plastic. The breakfast doesn't include any healthy option (just one day we had apples, and they told me was going to be fruits in it) Wifi only in the lobby no wifi in other parts of the building The bathroom is a long way from the room Had problems with my card twice The rooms are half painted, the hall is dirty and almost every dust cover from the wall is unattached or losen It's expensive for what it is. Today I couldn't take a shower because the three showers were stacked with something and after some minutes we had a filtration from the second floor to right in the middle between lobby and kitchen area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marquis DeWitt

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 August 2014 Marquis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were GREAT and a really big help when I was trying to find something to do in this big ole city.

Disliked: The ONLY thing I didn't like was not being able to use wifi in the dorm room. I'm not big on crowds so sitting in the common area with all the loud music and loads of people.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hugo Jack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014

Liked: Pleasant enough, friendly staff. The location is not amazing (being quite far from the centre if town) but being right next to Central Park is a redeeming quality.

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere, the decoration and the cleanliness of the place left a bit to be desired - especially the bathroom- but the dorms were ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located a couple of blocks away from Subway and Central Park. The neighborhood is close to ammenities and a delicious bakery off of Broadway and 105th.

Disliked: Not free access to Wi-fi - it would be great to have this service included in the fee. Buying a wifi pass here is expensive considering you can't bank your 24 hours of access and the countdown is continuous after purchasing a pass so it kind of defeats the purpose of having to create an account and password if you can't log out and save your time. This was my biggest beef and I hope in future they can provide this service since as a traveler things can happen where you need to communicate/ manage accounts/ manage travel plans, etc. If there is concern about users abusing free wifi with movies/porn - unneccessary stuff, i'm sure you can set up restrictions so it's only used for necessary purposes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibes and silent rooms

Disliked: So far to the downtown

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rob Minney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: Hot water anyone? It's a typical big city American hostel: functional, but doesn't go out of its way

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hugo van Dantzig

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: The location, on the northwest side of Central Park is excellent, close to a subwaystation. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The plumbing left something to be desired. You could either get a piping hot or cold shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and seemed happy to help. There's 2 social rooms there, one being in the basement, which is pretty cool. It's not badly done out, I think for a hostel it's definitely one of the better ones.

Disliked: The toilets and showers could have been better, and perhaps a bit more to do like music and games, but I wouldn't say these services were bad, it was generally quite a nice place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Room was hot. Dirty bathrooms. Poor illumination

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Daniel Christie

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014

Liked: Bed was made up, didn't have to do it yourself. Also free towel and don't have to make your bed down when you leave.

Disliked: Pretty unhelpful reception, didn't inform me I had a specific bed in the room so I took a random one which annoyed everyone as it started a game of musical beds with everyone swapping. The bed was literally the worst bed i've ever slept in in my life. It's what I imagine criminals in the most hardened prisons in America bed down in each night. Horrible squeeky bunkbeds that are so loud you hear everyone turning over in the night from anywhere in the upper west side. Broken springs in the bed mean if i'd stayed more than the one night i Imagine i'd have needed a wheelchair to leave. The showers were crappy, no shelves in there, no where to hang your clothes or towel. Stayed in much better in New York, have a look at Royal Park if you're not travelling alone, or New York Loft if you are. Better in every way.