We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

72.9% Overall Rating

853 out of 1201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

Lisa Schmölzer thinks…

"The hostel is very well located right at the border of central park in a quiet area that felt quite save. (which was important to me, because I'm a solo-traveling woman)"

Read all Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI New York City NYC Hostel
51.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1492 reviews
Morningside Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.7% 125 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
39.50 USD

Hostel 80.3% 149 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
32.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 31 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
Jazz on West 87th Youth Hotel
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.1% 443 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

853 out of 1201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 720 of 859 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2015

Liked: the location. that's it.

Disliked: Rooms very far away from the entrance and up five floors by stairs (no elevator). The mattress was thin as a napkin, and there are not enough shared toilets for the amount of people per floor. I had to go down to the third floor toilet (the fourth doesn't have one!) for 4 days because the one on the 5th was broken. Can't leave any food or drinks in the fridge.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Lisa Schmölzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located right at the border of central park in a quiet area that felt quite save. (which was important to me, because I'm a solo-traveling woman)

Disliked: The hostel was really really basic. The rooms, were cold (march) and really run down. There were cockroaches in the bathroom and the whole hostel was lacking any charm at all.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janette Fanio

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2015 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: I like the rooms. They are pretty clean. They actually upgraded me to a 2 dorm from 6 to accomadate needs and I had no problem with that. Less people the better.

Disliked: Probably th only thing I didn't like was the hike to the station in the cold .

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Varpu Savolainen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2015 Varpu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and easy to reach, which made me feel safe during my stay. I was able to leave my big suitcase in a safe in downstairs, which was very nice since there was no elevator. The atmosphere all in all was pleasant and I felt welcome. The hostel was very easy to find and the location right next to Central Park was great.

Disliked: The room was dirty and the bed sheets hadn't been changed. Also the room was roasting hot when I got there but with a window open it was bearable.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015

Liked: Location was pretty good. And the room was clean and warm.

Disliked: I can use wifi only on main floor. Even sometimes not working. Everyone came down for wifi. There has No breakfast, No kitchen, No elevator. How can I carry my luggage to 5th floor? Doesn't make sense. And the bathroom where on 5th floor, was out of service for 7days. I never seen like this hostel.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lukas Babak

Alone

City break
Shopping

05 February 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some very strange house rules (no eating and drinking in rooms etc) - I have never come across rules like this anywhere in the world Nearest toilets were located 2 floors down from my room

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easily accessible by subway, safe to walk alone at night. Clean shared bathroom, decent bedroom size and furnishings.

Disliked: Heating is not adjustable! It was almost impossible to breathe, even with the window open in the middle of winter.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jakub Ritschny

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015

Liked: rooms and beds were okay

Disliked: Stayed in two rooms: One overheated, second ok, but blanket was too thin -I was freezing! Not enough bathrooms hang out area not nice

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Iain Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015

Liked: Location right near Central Park is good, and relatively close to a subway station.

Disliked: Wifi is very slow and only in common area. Toilets and showers for males located on a different floor from my room - why?!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rarig williams

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 rarig would recommend this property

Liked: being able to do laundry spacious rooms with less beds than other hostels per room warm rooms, enough bathrooms so you don't have to wait in a line like other hostels! the social atmosphere, I got to go to a NY club and dance with a group taking lots of pictures! It was like joining a school club and then getting to participate in the group activities! This was my second stay and I came back because of Jose and Marie!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the first hostel I stayed at on my travelling experience, and it was my first travelling experience, which meant I was really nervous to travel by myself and stay somewhere I didn't know anybody. The whole atmosphere of this hostel was great, particularly in the common area. There was always music playing at night to get people into a party mood. The staff at this hostel were all very friendly and accomodating. Encouraging me to come out to have a few drinks with people to make some friends. I felt it was all a great experience for me to stay in this hostel. The hostel was cleaned every day by the cleaners, so it was pretty decent to stay in. You can see Central Park from out the front of the hostel, as it is half a block away uptown. Even though this hostel is uptown, it isn't much to get downtown. You only have to walk about 2 blocks to get to the closest subway station and catch the subway. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind staying in hostels! The price is pretty good to stay somewhere in New York, that is close to places to get food and Central Park. So I would definitely say you get what you paid for. They also have a comedy show on Thursday and Sunday nights, which is really fun to go to! Great first experience in a hostel!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very convenient for exploring this part of New York!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was nice. They have a good living room which help guest interactions.

Disliked: They don't have plates, forks and knifes available.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for new York. Average / slightly below average when compared internationally though.

Disliked: Staff could be a bit friendlier / more welcoming.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014

Liked: Did not like at all

Disliked: My boyfriend came down with a vomiting bug while staying and the staff were not helpful- they had no extra towels and just said it was our fault for getting sick. Spent one miserable night before leaving for a hotel despite having paid for a second night. No refund was given. Hostel nightmare would never stay here again. In addition the room was dirty with people's toenails on the floor and hairs on the sheets.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the price

Disliked: Could have more facilities

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location right at the central park, very friendly staff, hair dryer in bathroom

Disliked: Running tabs in shower ans bathroom

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leilene Ondrade

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2014 Leilene would recommend this property

Liked: I love how it is close to the metro, I usually stay here to come for the holidays,The deli's in the Upper West Side area are great and there is a a lot of dining choices. They have great events one shopping excursion to Woodbury Common Outlets which is a must for the holidays!! Speedy internet and also laundry was super convenient. Sergio,Jose were super accommodating

Disliked: Leilene left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location made it the best choice for a Central Park fan traveler. Besides, the lavatory and bathroom are clean and well maintained.

Disliked: They didn't provide water heater or drinkable hot water.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Atsushi Shimanuki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2014

Liked: It is located next to Central parks

Disliked: Bed. Beds are bunk bed. We have to care of sleeping people on the lower bed

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and pretty cheap (in NYC)

Disliked: If you stay in the 5h floor you have a long walk ... Pretty poor wifi most of the time / no wifi in the rooms dirty showers and bathrooms

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was just as described & the area was nice as well. We had to chance to have breakfast in Central Park every morning which was the best.

Disliked: Our bed was pretty noisy so every time one of us turned around the other one would hear it.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yui Maekawa

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2014 Yui would recommend this property

Liked: I'd stayed there 7 years ago but it was cleaner and safer.

Disliked: Shower didn't have anywhere to get changed or put clothes. Bed was shakey.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great.

Disliked: The noises from other guests slamming their doors, the air conditioning in the bathroom and other guests talking in hallways kept me awake. No elevator, wifi was unpredictable.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Poor WiFi, no breakfast in hostel.

The property's response is...