We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

77.5% Overall Rating

834 out of 1172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2014)

"The hostel was just as described & the area was nice as well. We had to chance to have breakfast in Central Park every morning which was the best."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 1480 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.1% 675 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

834 out of 1172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 699 of 832 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, wide rooms

Disliked: there is no elevator and you have to carry your bags up to (even) 5th floor! and if you want to check-out and leave your luggage for few hours the same day at the reception desk - they want charge you for this (in other hostels it's for free). wireless internet is not available on higher floors.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jose Arevalo

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011

Liked: The staff is extra nice ! They been so helpful and friendly, specially Ramon and Alana .

Disliked: There is no place to set things in the bathroom! Slamming doors often, the bathrooms are Very far away for some genders .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Bates

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to the metro. Near Central Park made it quiet at night for sleeping. Clean. Smelled o.k.

Disliked: Very basic accommodation. Other comparable hostels in nYC are cheaper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lolita Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2011 Lolita would recommend this property

Liked: I like the property as it is closed to the subway, Central Park and to restaurants and dairy shops. The room I was assigned to was clean, spacious and pleasant to sleep to be replaced as not working.

Disliked: I was biten on my right face by an insect which I do not know what it was. It became swollen for a no. of days. Mosquitoes would bite me during the night. There was a toilet in Level 1 for Men in which Women can use it. That toilet needs replacement.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hanna Svahn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: it's safe and very clean. The staff is also super nice!

Disliked: the location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs and near by mta lines! Easy access to places in nyc!

Disliked: No wifi access in rooms, no hot water for drinking; making tea or coffee 24/7, limited microwave oven use; have to ask friendly staffs to help me reheat my food

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

William Scholz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and laid back. The location was great and I couldn't complain about the price since most hotels were charging $200 / night.

Disliked: The building could use some maintenance, but given the price I could understand.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly here - quick to suggest a good place for dinner, or to set you up with a password to access their wifi. The location was also quite good. It's relatively far from Times Square, Wall Street and other popular tourist destinations, but it's a stone's throw from Central Park, and going for a jog there was one of the highlights of my entire trip to New York.

Disliked: This hostel is not particularly clean. Neither of the stalls in the washroom across from my room was in order during my stay, and one looked like there had been an explosion of excrement. This wasn't really a problem, considering there was another washroom on the next floor, but none of the showers were very clean. The hostel boasts a continental breakfast, but it's quite disappointing. They don't have a toaster, so you're served slices of bread that you spread with what I think were jelly and butter. However, most of these inconveniences were frustrating because we had paid so much to stay here. My friend and I paid $140 between the two of us for two beds. The next night we paid $129 (before taxes) for a one-star hotel with superior accommodations and a more central location. If we had been able to get beds for $25 or so (they must book up very quickly), I wouldn't have cared about any of the other things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Lovelace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was provided and quite decent, considering that it was free. It's in a good location right next to central park. Good subway service too.

Disliked: Being on the fourth floor with no lift, but a lovely guy from reception did carry my suitcase up for me!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Bad toilets and baths. Unclean rooms. Bad beds to sleep in. Horribel staff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reka Sarudi

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011

Liked: The location of this hostel is very good, you can reach any sight very easily by subway. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: Location was convenient.

Disliked: The day I arrived the staff told me my reservation was double booked and I would have to either move to a mixed sex room or move to another hostel! The bedsheets were stained and even though I asked for them to be changed, they were never changed. Moreover, there was no elevator and I had to lift my heavy luggage up to the second floor. Finally, the toilets on my floor were out of service and I had to go two floors up every time I wanted to use the toilet. Overall, my stay was a bit disappointing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David Hermsdorf

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: The friendly stuff.

Disliked: The bedraggled accomodation. The dirty bathroom. The old broken beds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good location. It has all the facilities one needs: decent enough beds, lots of bathrooms and working showers, luggage room, free wifi and even offers some stuff to do...

Disliked: Half of the email addresses I found/was given didn't work at all and emailing to the others I didn't get me any replies. I strongly recommend phoning them if you want to change anything about your booking or have any questions!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Johannis Terzeon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Yakusheva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: No large lockers, and no locks already available for you, making it inconvenient

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, wifi, breackfast included, friendly staff. Great comedy shows!

Disliked: Noise, no curtains

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011

Liked: staff, entertainment (events organised, party...)

Disliked: not clean , and too loud.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011

Liked: Clean and functional

Disliked: Location is no-where near any major landmarks or tourist attractions (I don't count Central Park as you can reach it from almost anywhere), the is no elevator and it has 4 floors!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Spiers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: I got mugged while in New York and the staff here were very helpful ad managed to put my mind to rest as well as getting me on my return flight home...thanks again guys

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there is free wi-fi including in the rooms and it is very well located close to the metro station on 103rd St.

Disliked: Breakfast is included but expect terrible coffee and not many options.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: cleaness

Disliked: the building itself, the furniture and the facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

taejin kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011 taejin would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is quite convenience to get any place u like.

Disliked: Restroom & shower quipment is not well equipped.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the space available inside the accommodations.

Disliked: I didn't like the 4USD they charged for kipping the luggage stored after the check-out, even for just a couple of hours. This isn't in agreement with the principles of the backpacking world, at least the way I see it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ryan Power

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Having to go down 5 flights and back for a towell.