HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

78.1% Overall Rating

818 out of 1151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Conveniently located a couple of blocks away from Subway and Central Park. The neighborhood is close to ammenities and a delicious bakery off of Broadway and 105th."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1470 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
49.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 126 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
47.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

818 out of 1151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 680 of 810 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Spiers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: I got mugged while in New York and the staff here were very helpful ad managed to put my mind to rest as well as getting me on my return flight home...thanks again guys

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there is free wi-fi including in the rooms and it is very well located close to the metro station on 103rd St.

Disliked: Breakfast is included but expect terrible coffee and not many options.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: cleaness

Disliked: the building itself, the furniture and the facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

taejin kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011 taejin would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is quite convenience to get any place u like.

Disliked: Restroom & shower quipment is not well equipped.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the space available inside the accommodations.

Disliked: I didn't like the 4USD they charged for kipping the luggage stored after the check-out, even for just a couple of hours. This isn't in agreement with the principles of the backpacking world, at least the way I see it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ryan Power

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Having to go down 5 flights and back for a towell.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FEDERICO MAGNONE PRADERIO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 FEDERICO would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and safe.

Disliked: ...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: Big rooms Near central park European blonde woman who works on reception sometimes, was so friendly smily n helpful!

Disliked: staff (apart from woman mentioned above) - couldnt have cared less about guests, on phone all day, or out the front smoking, on facebook, dnt want to answer ur qs, so unhelpful. Equally poor staff to those at jazz on the beach, miami Breakfast - rlly bad, bread? not toast just cold bread? Facilities - there were none, shit common area, no kitchen, have to leave passport to use a towel! storage facility is the other end of building if u need to store luggage Check out/in policy is ridiculous, if u have to move rooms due to availability to have to atore ur bag between 11 and 3 n basically have no room. So stupid. Tv is on mute n cant hav the sound on... So overpriced! Paid nrly 70 us for a dorm one night!!! Prices keep changing every night too! They tell u theres no rooms when theres availability on hostelbookers...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stones throw away from the park/ subway station. Upper east side is a fairly quiet neighbourhood when it comes to bars and restaurants but subway is only round the corner and can get you right into times square for a more lively atmosphere

Disliked: My only criticisms would be that the bathroom was not as private as I would have liked but this would probably bother some people less than me.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christian Odenthal

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Central Park and subway 103rd St. Nice caféteria

Disliked: Room was very simply furnished. Just a bunkbed and lockers. No table/chair. Noisy A/C in the room. Wasn't provided the information that padlocks are needed for the lockers, so that I had to buy a padlock for $5 at a nearby deli.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: the rooms were like saunas. my keys repeatedly stopped working and i had to deal with 3 room changes at 4:00 am. 2 of which did not have any air conditioning, and the other room had barely any at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Lawrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 July 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The girl behind the desk when I got there was helpful almost to a fault, and it was great getting a free breakfast in the morning and chatting to other travellers.

Disliked: The rooms were a little basic, but you can't really complain for the price you paid in NYC

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2011

Liked: ...

Disliked: Terrible service. They have no organization and show no respect for the costumer.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap

Disliked: We were moved to their sister hostel Jazz on Lenox and it had cold showers. Also Jazz on the park should have somewhere to drink water and should stop using plastic plates etc for breakfast, disgusts me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there were free activities inside like a free comedy show and such

Disliked: The sheets were very bad, damaged. The breakfast was... passable. The showers had no place to change privately. It wasn't a problem for me, but it can be a problem for many people

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of young people you can hang out with in the lounge.

Disliked: I couldnt find a socket in our room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

silvia muñoz galindo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: I really like that hostel. The staff was amazing, really helpfull, kiind, ... The night I arrived (I had no luggage because the air company lost it) some of them were going party at night, and they made this kind of things often. I think that is the best place to meet people if you're travelling alone, ot even if you're travelling with friends. I really love the staff over there... Jose, Felipe, Angie, ... You're gonna love them!

Disliked: I really like everything! Maybe the sunday show it wasn't the best thing on the world... some of the performances were funny, others not...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed in the private dorms was very comfortable. The location also felt very safe and it was close to the subway which is nice.

Disliked: The first day there they ran out of jam and eggs but they did bring out new jam after 20 minutes. It was hot in the private dorms so we had to open a window to compensate for the heat since it is centrally heated.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dianne Geerds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Dianne would recommend this property

Liked: It's a place where the admosphere is about meeting other people from all over the world with an open mind. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and feeling responsible for all guests. It's a cheap place to stay and It's located near Central Park and a subway station, which is great. I just stayed for three nights but I've met so many nice people! I did go on a pub-tour or something last night and there were like 35 to 40 guest from the hostel attending because the staff was really enthousiastic about it (and it was really nice!)

Disliked: The heat in the bedroom: the heater did'nt have a turn-off thing (but we just opened the window and that was enough to solve the problem). And the matrass was not good at all (so be sure that you get really tired before you go to sleep ; ) And sometimes there is a lot of noise outsite so be sure that you bring your own earplugs (it worked for me) To book for more days when you dicide that you wanna stay longer is sometimes difficult because the hostel is too popular. I could stay tonight but would have to move to another room with male and femal mixed so i decided to go to another hostel because men smell and snore : 0

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Julie Chenay

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: it's easy to make friend and to meet people

Disliked: no kitchen

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: The hostel is located close by the subway station, which connects directly to 42cd St (Times Square), Financial District (Staten Island Ferry) and Brooklyn. Breakfast is alright - Other Food like Dinner, Lunch etc. is affordable.

Disliked: I stayed in lots of hostels in different countries, but this hostel was truely the most dirtiest place i´ve ever stayed in - the ladies bathroom was used by any gender - so there have been tons of "fast grabbing towel" moments, cos there wasn´t really a way to keep the doors shut - Showers, toilets were just a mess - The beds were really uncomfortable, it was hard to find a comfy sleepable position in the dorm beds - Roommates were so la la - Condoms on the floor and one night with a mid 40 man, who stinked like hell and was busy with remaining that cloud of stinkiness the entire night ;-) The Staff (at Check out Time) was just unfriendly, not everyone of them though

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011

Liked: nice party bar

Disliked: Room in fifth floor without elevator, only cold water in showers, heating on (~90°F) or off

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet other travellers, friendly staff, clean, it was quite cold during nights but extra blankets were easily fixed.

Disliked: A bit noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Atmosphere

Disliked: Combined cooking area with wifi and reception meant the smell of food was all over clothes if using internet, and towels smelled like food when i arrived.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010

Liked: Its location and proximity to the subway.

Disliked: Very unprofessional staff, out of control loud people everywhere, poor organization, too hot in the rooms (the heat was on 24/7), too many beds in a very tiny room making it impossible to get to the top bunk.