HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

76.7% Overall Rating

828 out of 1165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

TRANG Julie thinks…

"Big rooms Breakfast every morning 5 min walk from the 103st subway station Helpful and nice staff members"

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
55.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 1475 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 132 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

828 out of 1165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 693 of 824 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

William Scholz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and laid back. The location was great and I couldn't complain about the price since most hotels were charging $200 / night.

Disliked: The building could use some maintenance, but given the price I could understand.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly here - quick to suggest a good place for dinner, or to set you up with a password to access their wifi. The location was also quite good. It's relatively far from Times Square, Wall Street and other popular tourist destinations, but it's a stone's throw from Central Park, and going for a jog there was one of the highlights of my entire trip to New York.

Disliked: This hostel is not particularly clean. Neither of the stalls in the washroom across from my room was in order during my stay, and one looked like there had been an explosion of excrement. This wasn't really a problem, considering there was another washroom on the next floor, but none of the showers were very clean. The hostel boasts a continental breakfast, but it's quite disappointing. They don't have a toaster, so you're served slices of bread that you spread with what I think were jelly and butter. However, most of these inconveniences were frustrating because we had paid so much to stay here. My friend and I paid $140 between the two of us for two beds. The next night we paid $129 (before taxes) for a one-star hotel with superior accommodations and a more central location. If we had been able to get beds for $25 or so (they must book up very quickly), I wouldn't have cared about any of the other things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Lovelace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was provided and quite decent, considering that it was free. It's in a good location right next to central park. Good subway service too.

Disliked: Being on the fourth floor with no lift, but a lovely guy from reception did carry my suitcase up for me!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Bad toilets and baths. Unclean rooms. Bad beds to sleep in. Horribel staff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reka Sarudi

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011

Liked: The location of this hostel is very good, you can reach any sight very easily by subway. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: Location was convenient.

Disliked: The day I arrived the staff told me my reservation was double booked and I would have to either move to a mixed sex room or move to another hostel! The bedsheets were stained and even though I asked for them to be changed, they were never changed. Moreover, there was no elevator and I had to lift my heavy luggage up to the second floor. Finally, the toilets on my floor were out of service and I had to go two floors up every time I wanted to use the toilet. Overall, my stay was a bit disappointing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David Hermsdorf

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: The friendly stuff.

Disliked: The bedraggled accomodation. The dirty bathroom. The old broken beds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good location. It has all the facilities one needs: decent enough beds, lots of bathrooms and working showers, luggage room, free wifi and even offers some stuff to do...

Disliked: Half of the email addresses I found/was given didn't work at all and emailing to the others I didn't get me any replies. I strongly recommend phoning them if you want to change anything about your booking or have any questions!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Johannis Terzeon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Yakusheva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: No large lockers, and no locks already available for you, making it inconvenient

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, wifi, breackfast included, friendly staff. Great comedy shows!

Disliked: Noise, no curtains

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011

Liked: staff, entertainment (events organised, party...)

Disliked: not clean , and too loud.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011

Liked: Clean and functional

Disliked: Location is no-where near any major landmarks or tourist attractions (I don't count Central Park as you can reach it from almost anywhere), the is no elevator and it has 4 floors!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Spiers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: I got mugged while in New York and the staff here were very helpful ad managed to put my mind to rest as well as getting me on my return flight home...thanks again guys

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there is free wi-fi including in the rooms and it is very well located close to the metro station on 103rd St.

Disliked: Breakfast is included but expect terrible coffee and not many options.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011

Liked: cleaness

Disliked: the building itself, the furniture and the facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

taejin kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011 taejin would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is quite convenience to get any place u like.

Disliked: Restroom & shower quipment is not well equipped.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the space available inside the accommodations.

Disliked: I didn't like the 4USD they charged for kipping the luggage stored after the check-out, even for just a couple of hours. This isn't in agreement with the principles of the backpacking world, at least the way I see it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ryan Power

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Having to go down 5 flights and back for a towell.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FEDERICO MAGNONE PRADERIO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 FEDERICO would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and safe.

Disliked: ...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: Big rooms Near central park European blonde woman who works on reception sometimes, was so friendly smily n helpful!

Disliked: staff (apart from woman mentioned above) - couldnt have cared less about guests, on phone all day, or out the front smoking, on facebook, dnt want to answer ur qs, so unhelpful. Equally poor staff to those at jazz on the beach, miami Breakfast - rlly bad, bread? not toast just cold bread? Facilities - there were none, shit common area, no kitchen, have to leave passport to use a towel! storage facility is the other end of building if u need to store luggage Check out/in policy is ridiculous, if u have to move rooms due to availability to have to atore ur bag between 11 and 3 n basically have no room. So stupid. Tv is on mute n cant hav the sound on... So overpriced! Paid nrly 70 us for a dorm one night!!! Prices keep changing every night too! They tell u theres no rooms when theres availability on hostelbookers...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stones throw away from the park/ subway station. Upper east side is a fairly quiet neighbourhood when it comes to bars and restaurants but subway is only round the corner and can get you right into times square for a more lively atmosphere

Disliked: My only criticisms would be that the bathroom was not as private as I would have liked but this would probably bother some people less than me.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christian Odenthal

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Central Park and subway 103rd St. Nice caféteria

Disliked: Room was very simply furnished. Just a bunkbed and lockers. No table/chair. Noisy A/C in the room. Wasn't provided the information that padlocks are needed for the lockers, so that I had to buy a padlock for $5 at a nearby deli.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: the rooms were like saunas. my keys repeatedly stopped working and i had to deal with 3 room changes at 4:00 am. 2 of which did not have any air conditioning, and the other room had barely any at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Lawrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 July 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The girl behind the desk when I got there was helpful almost to a fault, and it was great getting a free breakfast in the morning and chatting to other travellers.

Disliked: The rooms were a little basic, but you can't really complain for the price you paid in NYC