We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

75.3% Overall Rating

847 out of 1190 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/01/2015)

"The atmosphere was nice. They have a good living room which help guest interactions."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1488 reviews
Morningside Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
27.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
22.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 139 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
23.75 USD

Hostel 67.1% 30 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
30.00 USD

Hostel 70.1% 440 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

847 out of 1190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 709 of 846 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kelli McGrail

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Kelli would recommend this property

Liked: Lots going on, plenty of planned events

Disliked: Staff seemed a little clueless sometimes about what constitutes good customer service. There were some seeming misleading ideas, like "ability to cook" wasn't really available, washing was only certain times and free breakfast was only hard boiled eggs and toast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. It's easy to find. I liked that they offer breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: While checking in I wasn't given a towel as it was supposed to.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bénédicte eid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Bénédicte would recommend this property

Liked: The place for the smokers

Disliked: We have to pay for the wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: It was rather clean and there were lockers in the room.

Disliked: It was very sober, nothing more than a bed and a shower (without shells/hooks). Everything extra had to be paid for, f.e. the internet (on the website it is for free!) or stalling your luggage on the last day. Not so friendly staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012

Liked: Lage

Disliked: sehr laut, teuer, schlechtes Frühstück

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: earlier breakfast would have been better so I could start tourism earlier.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: Not enough room for guests to sit and eat at breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Williams

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2012

Liked: Free breakfast.

Disliked: No a/c in rooms and it gets hot in summer!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Salimay on the front desk was great, close to train, very clean

Disliked: Internet is not free- it's $3 a day. I think this place is more about making money then creating a nice space for travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoria Bengtsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2012 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: I got a better continental breakfast than I have gotten at hotels that I have stayed at. It was clean.

Disliked: I would like to check out a bit later and to be able to check in a bit earlier.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Andrea Shettler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012

Liked: Nothing much really

Disliked: Lots. Not a good value for your money but maybe that's just new york. Staff could be helpful but only after prying information out of them.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ahmed Elbieh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The location , and the subway station is close breakfast was free and good

Disliked: - check in is 3 pm, check out is 11 am - WiFi is $ 3 per day - my room was in the 5th floor , no elevator - 14.75 % tax, which is normal ,+ $ 3.5 hotel tax (yes I'm a forginer , but can someone tell me what is hotel tax !! ) - luggage room after check out is $ 5 -staff is unfriendly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and good value what i god

Disliked: none

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

14 May 2012

Liked: Hot water in the showers (once I finally found a shower on the floor below). This place was the only available spot at the last minute for a price I could afford.

Disliked: Mostly everything! Extremely loud door opening/closing all night on the 5th floor. No elevators. Hard lumpy bed that was very cramped. Attendant didn't know where the women's showers were and I was not provided a towel. This place is like sleeping in a poor inner city high school building. The price was lower compared to many hostels, but with these conditions the price should have been lower still.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 April 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Well furnished rooms. 24 hour reception with helpful staff.

Disliked: Didnt sell beer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miriam Castillo Llurba

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: It's right next to Central Park and in a very nice neighbourhood in upper Manhattan. Subway and buses are very close, so mobility is not a problem. The bathrooms are ok and the facilities are nice, with two or three outside areas that can be really nice in summer. They offer free towels, which is always useful.

Disliked: Breakfast was scarce and not very good. Cereal, toast, and a disgusting juice-like liquid. The beds were a bit uncomfortable. We booked a double room for two people and it was a tiny room with only a bunk bed and a chair. Luckily we were not a couple.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Brezanova

Alone

City break

22 March 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right around the corner from Subway, nice clean and quiet, friendly staff and people, free breakfast. All in all pleasant experience.

Disliked: Room on the 4th floor oh well this is NYC so nothing surprising lol !

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: The fact that they lost our reservation, even though we e mailed to confirm we were coming and arriving late. When we got there they didn't have the room for us. The nice desk man got us into the last two beds in dorms, the next morning the manager said we had called 5 times to change it! (Hadn't called once) and tried to blame us for the mess up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, lots of social events going on, clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, the staff was very kind and helpful and the toilets and showers were well kept as were the rooms.

Disliked: It was a little cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent breakfast, nice staff, good location. Good value for money (but I paid 50% off). I thought that the showers and the rooms were very clean compared to other hostels I've stayed at in NYC and London.

Disliked: Wi-Fi only on first and second floor. The doors open/close very loudly, so it can be disruptive at night, but, manageable.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Robert Kraak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012

Liked: The Location was safe, 4 blocks away from the subway.

Disliked: Location is not that good, ok its close to the central park but it´s very far from downtown. No kitchen facilities like a fridge or like a fireside Very cold in the morning, the heater works only during the day, at night the heater is off. If you ask for a second blanket they look at you like if you want something very special. Also the matress is really hard. It´s very loud in the hostel, so bring earplugs if you want to sleep The wifi is just shit, it´s not always working and it´s slow. Also I didn´t like the showers. there was no place to put your clothes. you have have to put them on the ground. so everything was wet after showering. Also the cleaning ladies cleaned the showers every day between 9 and 10 when everyone wants to shower. I cant unterstand why they cant do that in the afternoon. Next time i would choose another hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Beds not very comfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very good atmosphere - what i liked most was that there were many actvities organised by the staff, like bar crawl, jazz club...

Disliked: - rooms were incredibly hot, dont know why they can`t control the heating!!