HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

78.1% Overall Rating

818 out of 1151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Conveniently located a couple of blocks away from Subway and Central Park. The neighborhood is close to ammenities and a delicious bakery off of Broadway and 105th."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1470 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 126 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
47.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

818 out of 1151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 680 of 810 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

siobhan stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012 siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms wern't overcrowded, great common areas, free wifi although it doesn't work in the rooms (unless you're lucky enough to get a room on the ground floor.) The entertainment guy Dane was awesome, I really enjoyed the pub crawl and he was really helpful, as were the other staff. Free towels, free breakfast, lockers.

Disliked: Rooms were incredibly overheated and the beds are horrendous. Although the hostel is super close to the subway, Central Park West is not a very exciting neighborhood. The whole bathroom situation needs to be rectified-having to go up a flight of stairs for a female toilet/shower is not cool and the showers are abysmal.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

James Bolton

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The people I met there were great.

Disliked: the beds were small and rather uncomfortable. The wifi was interemittent and slow, it was also unavailable above the 2nd floor.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Timothy White

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012

Liked: Nothing, location was claimed to be fantastic but actually approx 30 mins from anything interesting.

Disliked: Wifi limited to cramped foyer. Doors banging loudly throughout night from all angles Heating system regularly did not work and when did was way too hot. Bedding VERY low quality. A lot of street noise from the windows that would not close.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable accommodation in New York. Friendly & helpful staff. Discount with ISIC card. Although all the way up on West 106th, it's only 3 blocks from the Subway and there's loads to explore nearby anyway. Luggage room to store your bags if you arrive before check-in. though breakfast isn't anything fancy, it's sufficient to get you going for the day. I was also quite lucky and was staying in a large 4 bed dorm, so plenty of space. Although not best hostel I have stayed in, as far as I can tell it's pretty good for New York!

Disliked: Lack of privacy in the shower room. No lift, so prepare yourself for a workout when getting to your room - though I told myself it was good exercise! No kitchen for guests; instead a cafe area, which I never saw anyone buying anything from! The polystyrene plates & cups, plus plastic cutlery at breakfast was annoying - all of it was just trash, very unenvironmentally friendly. Despite all this, I would stay again if I needed budget accommodation in NY!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was very friendly and super helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kenji Sawai

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Kenji would recommend this property

Liked: Less than 5min walk to the subway sta. Close to the central park, walkable to Metropolitan Museum. They have storage for baggages before checking in. The included breakfast was nice, though I thought they can reduce the amount of disposal dishes. The wi-fi worked very well.

Disliked: The subway station is not so close to the airport. It's relatively cheap as an accomodation in NY, but still bit expesinve.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, wide rooms

Disliked: there is no elevator and you have to carry your bags up to (even) 5th floor! and if you want to check-out and leave your luggage for few hours the same day at the reception desk - they want charge you for this (in other hostels it's for free). wireless internet is not available on higher floors.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jose Arevalo

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011

Liked: The staff is extra nice ! They been so helpful and friendly, specially Ramon and Alana .

Disliked: There is no place to set things in the bathroom! Slamming doors often, the bathrooms are Very far away for some genders .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Bates

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to the metro. Near Central Park made it quiet at night for sleeping. Clean. Smelled o.k.

Disliked: Very basic accommodation. Other comparable hostels in nYC are cheaper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lolita Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2011 Lolita would recommend this property

Liked: I like the property as it is closed to the subway, Central Park and to restaurants and dairy shops. The room I was assigned to was clean, spacious and pleasant to sleep to be replaced as not working.

Disliked: I was biten on my right face by an insect which I do not know what it was. It became swollen for a no. of days. Mosquitoes would bite me during the night. There was a toilet in Level 1 for Men in which Women can use it. That toilet needs replacement.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hanna Svahn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: it's safe and very clean. The staff is also super nice!

Disliked: the location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs and near by mta lines! Easy access to places in nyc!

Disliked: No wifi access in rooms, no hot water for drinking; making tea or coffee 24/7, limited microwave oven use; have to ask friendly staffs to help me reheat my food

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

William Scholz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and laid back. The location was great and I couldn't complain about the price since most hotels were charging $200 / night.

Disliked: The building could use some maintenance, but given the price I could understand.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly here - quick to suggest a good place for dinner, or to set you up with a password to access their wifi. The location was also quite good. It's relatively far from Times Square, Wall Street and other popular tourist destinations, but it's a stone's throw from Central Park, and going for a jog there was one of the highlights of my entire trip to New York.

Disliked: This hostel is not particularly clean. Neither of the stalls in the washroom across from my room was in order during my stay, and one looked like there had been an explosion of excrement. This wasn't really a problem, considering there was another washroom on the next floor, but none of the showers were very clean. The hostel boasts a continental breakfast, but it's quite disappointing. They don't have a toaster, so you're served slices of bread that you spread with what I think were jelly and butter. However, most of these inconveniences were frustrating because we had paid so much to stay here. My friend and I paid $140 between the two of us for two beds. The next night we paid $129 (before taxes) for a one-star hotel with superior accommodations and a more central location. If we had been able to get beds for $25 or so (they must book up very quickly), I wouldn't have cared about any of the other things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Lovelace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 September 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was provided and quite decent, considering that it was free. It's in a good location right next to central park. Good subway service too.

Disliked: Being on the fourth floor with no lift, but a lovely guy from reception did carry my suitcase up for me!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Bad toilets and baths. Unclean rooms. Bad beds to sleep in. Horribel staff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reka Sarudi

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011

Liked: The location of this hostel is very good, you can reach any sight very easily by subway. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: Location was convenient.

Disliked: The day I arrived the staff told me my reservation was double booked and I would have to either move to a mixed sex room or move to another hostel! The bedsheets were stained and even though I asked for them to be changed, they were never changed. Moreover, there was no elevator and I had to lift my heavy luggage up to the second floor. Finally, the toilets on my floor were out of service and I had to go two floors up every time I wanted to use the toilet. Overall, my stay was a bit disappointing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David Hermsdorf

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: The friendly stuff.

Disliked: The bedraggled accomodation. The dirty bathroom. The old broken beds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good location. It has all the facilities one needs: decent enough beds, lots of bathrooms and working showers, luggage room, free wifi and even offers some stuff to do...

Disliked: Half of the email addresses I found/was given didn't work at all and emailing to the others I didn't get me any replies. I strongly recommend phoning them if you want to change anything about your booking or have any questions!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Johannis Terzeon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: You get what you pay for

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Yakusheva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: No large lockers, and no locks already available for you, making it inconvenient

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, wifi, breackfast included, friendly staff. Great comedy shows!

Disliked: Noise, no curtains

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011

Liked: staff, entertainment (events organised, party...)

Disliked: not clean , and too loud.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011

Liked: Clean and functional

Disliked: Location is no-where near any major landmarks or tourist attractions (I don't count Central Park as you can reach it from almost anywhere), the is no elevator and it has 4 floors!