HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

76.8% Overall Rating

817 out of 1150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2014)

Hugo van Dantzig thinks…

"The location, on the northwest side of Central Park is excellent, close to a subwaystation. The staff was friendly and helpful."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 1469 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
49.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 125 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

817 out of 1150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 679 of 809 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012

Liked: Lage

Disliked: sehr laut, teuer, schlechtes Frühstück

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: earlier breakfast would have been better so I could start tourism earlier.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: Not enough room for guests to sit and eat at breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Williams

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2012

Liked: Free breakfast.

Disliked: No a/c in rooms and it gets hot in summer!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Salimay on the front desk was great, close to train, very clean

Disliked: Internet is not free- it's $3 a day. I think this place is more about making money then creating a nice space for travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoria Bengtsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2012 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: I got a better continental breakfast than I have gotten at hotels that I have stayed at. It was clean.

Disliked: I would like to check out a bit later and to be able to check in a bit earlier.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Andrea Shettler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012

Liked: Nothing much really

Disliked: Lots. Not a good value for your money but maybe that's just new york. Staff could be helpful but only after prying information out of them.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ahmed Elbieh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The location , and the subway station is close breakfast was free and good

Disliked: - check in is 3 pm, check out is 11 am - WiFi is $ 3 per day - my room was in the 5th floor , no elevator - 14.75 % tax, which is normal ,+ $ 3.5 hotel tax (yes I'm a forginer , but can someone tell me what is hotel tax !! ) - luggage room after check out is $ 5 -staff is unfriendly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and good value what i god

Disliked: none

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

14 May 2012

Liked: Hot water in the showers (once I finally found a shower on the floor below). This place was the only available spot at the last minute for a price I could afford.

Disliked: Mostly everything! Extremely loud door opening/closing all night on the 5th floor. No elevators. Hard lumpy bed that was very cramped. Attendant didn't know where the women's showers were and I was not provided a towel. This place is like sleeping in a poor inner city high school building. The price was lower compared to many hostels, but with these conditions the price should have been lower still.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Kelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 April 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Well furnished rooms. 24 hour reception with helpful staff.

Disliked: Didnt sell beer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miriam Castillo Llurba

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: It's right next to Central Park and in a very nice neighbourhood in upper Manhattan. Subway and buses are very close, so mobility is not a problem. The bathrooms are ok and the facilities are nice, with two or three outside areas that can be really nice in summer. They offer free towels, which is always useful.

Disliked: Breakfast was scarce and not very good. Cereal, toast, and a disgusting juice-like liquid. The beds were a bit uncomfortable. We booked a double room for two people and it was a tiny room with only a bunk bed and a chair. Luckily we were not a couple.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Brezanova

Alone

City break

22 March 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right around the corner from Subway, nice clean and quiet, friendly staff and people, free breakfast. All in all pleasant experience.

Disliked: Room on the 4th floor oh well this is NYC so nothing surprising lol !

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: The fact that they lost our reservation, even though we e mailed to confirm we were coming and arriving late. When we got there they didn't have the room for us. The nice desk man got us into the last two beds in dorms, the next morning the manager said we had called 5 times to change it! (Hadn't called once) and tried to blame us for the mess up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, lots of social events going on, clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, the staff was very kind and helpful and the toilets and showers were well kept as were the rooms.

Disliked: It was a little cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent breakfast, nice staff, good location. Good value for money (but I paid 50% off). I thought that the showers and the rooms were very clean compared to other hostels I've stayed at in NYC and London.

Disliked: Wi-Fi only on first and second floor. The doors open/close very loudly, so it can be disruptive at night, but, manageable.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Robert Kraak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012

Liked: The Location was safe, 4 blocks away from the subway.

Disliked: Location is not that good, ok its close to the central park but it´s very far from downtown. No kitchen facilities like a fridge or like a fireside Very cold in the morning, the heater works only during the day, at night the heater is off. If you ask for a second blanket they look at you like if you want something very special. Also the matress is really hard. It´s very loud in the hostel, so bring earplugs if you want to sleep The wifi is just shit, it´s not always working and it´s slow. Also I didn´t like the showers. there was no place to put your clothes. you have have to put them on the ground. so everything was wet after showering. Also the cleaning ladies cleaned the showers every day between 9 and 10 when everyone wants to shower. I cant unterstand why they cant do that in the afternoon. Next time i would choose another hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Beds not very comfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very good atmosphere - what i liked most was that there were many actvities organised by the staff, like bar crawl, jazz club...

Disliked: - rooms were incredibly hot, dont know why they can`t control the heating!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michael Black

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in a nice part of town close to a subway, numerous delis/supermarkets and of course Central Park. It's really easy to walk to the bars that the Colombia kids drink in which I would definitely recommend going to and you can take a quick train downtown and see all the sites! The hostel has a pretty good range of activities going on in the evening ranging from pub crawls to comedy nights. Overall it was a fairly clean, warm and comfortable place

Disliked: The staff weren't particularly helpful and seemed more interested in hanging out with themselves as opposed to helping out travelers. Also I would say the beds were incredibly small so if you are over 6ft your feet will stick out the end, also my mattress was particularly thin so could feel the springs. Wifi was available in the rooms just incredibly slow. Breakfast started too late at 9am, fine for the hungover traveler but if you wanted a good day of exploring the city it's not ideal.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

margarita sevilla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012

Liked: I like the location

Disliked: NO ELEVATOR, NO LIGHTS ON THE ROOFTOP (WHERE THE ROOMS FOR 4TH FLOOR ARE LOCATED, NOT EVEN A SIGN AND THE STAFF DID NOT EVEN SAY ANYTHING).YOU HAVE TO PAY $4 PER BAG FOR STORAGE AFTER CHECK OUT.No kitchen to store food. no free tea/coffee during the day

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff. Looked to have good events available, though I didn't have time to partake of them.

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds - mattresses made of crinkly plastic and very hard. Room was sweltering hot as there was no way to control the heating. Even with the window open in January, the room was like a sauna.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ali Akaytay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: Cheap for New York conditions.

Disliked: Around 20 people have to use one restroom. Small beds. I stayed at 5th floor and it was cold at nights.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

siobhan stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2012 siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms wern't overcrowded, great common areas, free wifi although it doesn't work in the rooms (unless you're lucky enough to get a room on the ground floor.) The entertainment guy Dane was awesome, I really enjoyed the pub crawl and he was really helpful, as were the other staff. Free towels, free breakfast, lockers.

Disliked: Rooms were incredibly overheated and the beds are horrendous. Although the hostel is super close to the subway, Central Park West is not a very exciting neighborhood. The whole bathroom situation needs to be rectified-having to go up a flight of stairs for a female toilet/shower is not cool and the showers are abysmal.