We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

77.3% Overall Rating

831 out of 1169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Mark Purdie thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly and gave a lot of good tips on the city. Other travelers were nice and willing to socialise with each other."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 91.1% 1478 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 674 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
74.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
55.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

831 out of 1169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 695 of 826 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: No free wifi. The water of shower is too hot.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: staff not friendly, wifi not free

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: smell and mis advertisement of kitchen and our bed was ripped right thru to the springs and the ac was a noisy mofo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012

Liked: Hostel is a sad place without any social atmosphere and too expensive for what is worth.We could not sleep normally in the room because the Air Condition makes noise like a washing machine,i don't understand how somebody thinks that people can sleep with that much noise.Staff is not friendly at all ( a part from young Australian guy who does the breakfast,he was nice), i don*t know what it takes to smile to you.Lockers are too small and there is no locks on them and somebody stole my T-shirt .Location is ok because is still Manhattan,breakfast is basic but ok. HOSTEL OWNERS SHOULD REALIZE THAT MONEY DOES*NT GROW ON TREES AND THAT THEY SHOULD MAKE AN EFFORT TO GIVE A SERVICE THAT THEY ARE CHARGING!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2012

Liked: walking distance to the subway

Disliked: terrible 'free breakfast' - no coffee! doors to the rooms and the hallways banged open/shut staff were not knowledgeable on airport transportation options windows in the woman's washroom were left open with shampoo bottles

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Empress (Camille) Nontsikelelo (Hill)

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Empress (Camille) would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, centrally located, and wonderful staff people.

Disliked: unfortunately encountered a bit of prejudice with one of the dorm mates--but in this day and age, it still happens--did not ruin our stay in the 'Big Apple'. HAD A GREAT 3 DAYS.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't get a kep for the safe deposit right away and without asking.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Josh Veazey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012

Liked: Not alot, its location is good if you don't mind being outside the hustle and bustle of New York, however for this factor you would expect to pay a lot less, in terms of value for moey this place is terrible, i wanted a refund after the first day it was that bad and i don't usually complain.

Disliked: pretty much everything.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cherdsak Jungyingruangrung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Cherdsak would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and you can come back to the hostel any time even at 4am

Disliked: Air conditioner was making pretty loud noise. Plus it was not cold as expected.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anne-Sophie Reymond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Anne-Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: jolie chambre

Disliked: le wi-fi payant et le déjeuner à 9h

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kelli McGrail

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Kelli would recommend this property

Liked: Lots going on, plenty of planned events

Disliked: Staff seemed a little clueless sometimes about what constitutes good customer service. There were some seeming misleading ideas, like "ability to cook" wasn't really available, washing was only certain times and free breakfast was only hard boiled eggs and toast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. It's easy to find. I liked that they offer breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: While checking in I wasn't given a towel as it was supposed to.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bénédicte eid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Bénédicte would recommend this property

Liked: The place for the smokers

Disliked: We have to pay for the wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: It was rather clean and there were lockers in the room.

Disliked: It was very sober, nothing more than a bed and a shower (without shells/hooks). Everything extra had to be paid for, f.e. the internet (on the website it is for free!) or stalling your luggage on the last day. Not so friendly staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012

Liked: Lage

Disliked: sehr laut, teuer, schlechtes Frühstück

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: earlier breakfast would have been better so I could start tourism earlier.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: Not enough room for guests to sit and eat at breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Williams

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2012

Liked: Free breakfast.

Disliked: No a/c in rooms and it gets hot in summer!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Salimay on the front desk was great, close to train, very clean

Disliked: Internet is not free- it's $3 a day. I think this place is more about making money then creating a nice space for travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoria Bengtsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2012 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: I got a better continental breakfast than I have gotten at hotels that I have stayed at. It was clean.

Disliked: I would like to check out a bit later and to be able to check in a bit earlier.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Andrea Shettler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012

Liked: Nothing much really

Disliked: Lots. Not a good value for your money but maybe that's just new york. Staff could be helpful but only after prying information out of them.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ahmed Elbieh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The location , and the subway station is close breakfast was free and good

Disliked: - check in is 3 pm, check out is 11 am - WiFi is $ 3 per day - my room was in the 5th floor , no elevator - 14.75 % tax, which is normal ,+ $ 3.5 hotel tax (yes I'm a forginer , but can someone tell me what is hotel tax !! ) - luggage room after check out is $ 5 -staff is unfriendly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and good value what i god

Disliked: none