HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

69.7% Overall Rating

811 out of 1142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Riley Narada Inthisorn thinks…

"The staff were friendly - definitely the highlight of the stay. The two bed dorm room was perfect for us. The room was small but sufficient for its purpose. The location was great - right off the…"

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
Hostelling International - New York
58.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 1465 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 666 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 116 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 110 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
59.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

811 out of 1142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 676 of 802 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sandra Kostic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good place near everything we wanted to see in NYC :) the staff is super nice, especially the front desk guy with whom I spoke in spanish. the area is safe and the mexican store a block away is cheap and plenty of good pastries :D the room smelled really nice everyday and we had bunch of shampoos, gels and body lotions from the people before us and it's nice the housekeeping didn't throw it away...

Disliked: The window in our room was broken, we didn't have free breakfast (but they gave us back $4 per night) in my opinion every bed should have a towel on it and not that i go to the front desk to ask for it, my bed was the only bed in the room that didn't have a side protection (so if I fell from the bed and had everything broken it would be my fault) and the last thing, they should remove the no food and beverage rule.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alan Coxall

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012

Liked: Secure and nice location

Disliked: New management have taken down all the b/w pics of the Jazz masters which previously were a major attraction for me. Also, the mattresses were like bedrock made worse by the plastic coverings. The staff seem to have the tv glued to drivvle tbs repeats. I did not see one News bulletin on the tv in the common room, and changing my booking from 27- 29 Aug to 28-30th Aug by phone and in person was like pulling teeth. I was made checkout at 11am and checkin after 3pm prior to the last evening of my stay, which surely could be improved upon. Basically the new management has changed the whole vibe.. The common room bar is also now gone !

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alexandre Mathys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012

Liked: THe Hotel doesn't serve breakfast anymore, it didn't pass the cleanliness inspection. They didn't refund me anything.

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Justine Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: In Manhattan so good location for seeing sights and the staff were really friendly.

Disliked: The bathrooms were disgusting - the showers were full of hair and the floors were wet and the bathrooms smelled bad, the towel I was given was dirty (had hair stuck to it), there was no elevator and I was staying 5 floors up so couldn't even get my bag to the room, the AC was broken/non existant so the room was hot and we had to sleep with the window open and it was really noisy outside so was hard to sleep even with earplugs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Schoenert

Alone

City break

29 August 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms are sufficient and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately they have closed the bar (temporarily/permanently?), so it was not possible to get something small to eat/drink in the evening and also there was no breakfast in the morning. But there are several delis in the neighborhood, so it's not too bad.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012

Liked: The people.

Disliked: They charge you for many things unexpectedly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: No free wifi. The water of shower is too hot.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: staff not friendly, wifi not free

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: smell and mis advertisement of kitchen and our bed was ripped right thru to the springs and the ac was a noisy mofo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012

Liked: Hostel is a sad place without any social atmosphere and too expensive for what is worth.We could not sleep normally in the room because the Air Condition makes noise like a washing machine,i don't understand how somebody thinks that people can sleep with that much noise.Staff is not friendly at all ( a part from young Australian guy who does the breakfast,he was nice), i don*t know what it takes to smile to you.Lockers are too small and there is no locks on them and somebody stole my T-shirt .Location is ok because is still Manhattan,breakfast is basic but ok. HOSTEL OWNERS SHOULD REALIZE THAT MONEY DOES*NT GROW ON TREES AND THAT THEY SHOULD MAKE AN EFFORT TO GIVE A SERVICE THAT THEY ARE CHARGING!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2012

Liked: walking distance to the subway

Disliked: terrible 'free breakfast' - no coffee! doors to the rooms and the hallways banged open/shut staff were not knowledgeable on airport transportation options windows in the woman's washroom were left open with shampoo bottles

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Empress (Camille) Nontsikelelo (Hill)

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Empress (Camille) would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, centrally located, and wonderful staff people.

Disliked: unfortunately encountered a bit of prejudice with one of the dorm mates--but in this day and age, it still happens--did not ruin our stay in the 'Big Apple'. HAD A GREAT 3 DAYS.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't get a kep for the safe deposit right away and without asking.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Josh Veazey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012

Liked: Not alot, its location is good if you don't mind being outside the hustle and bustle of New York, however for this factor you would expect to pay a lot less, in terms of value for moey this place is terrible, i wanted a refund after the first day it was that bad and i don't usually complain.

Disliked: pretty much everything.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cherdsak Jungyingruangrung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Cherdsak would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and you can come back to the hostel any time even at 4am

Disliked: Air conditioner was making pretty loud noise. Plus it was not cold as expected.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anne-Sophie Reymond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Anne-Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: jolie chambre

Disliked: le wi-fi payant et le déjeuner à 9h

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kelli McGrail

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Kelli would recommend this property

Liked: Lots going on, plenty of planned events

Disliked: Staff seemed a little clueless sometimes about what constitutes good customer service. There were some seeming misleading ideas, like "ability to cook" wasn't really available, washing was only certain times and free breakfast was only hard boiled eggs and toast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. It's easy to find. I liked that they offer breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: While checking in I wasn't given a towel as it was supposed to.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bénédicte eid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Bénédicte would recommend this property

Liked: The place for the smokers

Disliked: We have to pay for the wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: It was rather clean and there were lockers in the room.

Disliked: It was very sober, nothing more than a bed and a shower (without shells/hooks). Everything extra had to be paid for, f.e. the internet (on the website it is for free!) or stalling your luggage on the last day. Not so friendly staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012

Liked: Lage

Disliked: sehr laut, teuer, schlechtes Frühstück

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: earlier breakfast would have been better so I could start tourism earlier.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean rooms.

Disliked: Not enough room for guests to sit and eat at breakfast.