We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

78.5% Overall Rating

833 out of 1171 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
55.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1479 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 674 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

833 out of 1171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 698 of 829 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katherine Lindqvist Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, perfect location

Disliked: The beds are kind of narrow and the bathrooms are not very many, often not on your floor! You have to pay for wifi!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadja Bruun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Nadja would recommend this property

Liked: I was only here for two nights, but I had a good experience. Can't complain. I hung out with some cool travellers in the common room with drinks. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Nadja left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicole Pavlik

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice there and it was not so fare from the city

Disliked: It could be a bit cleaner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

monica alonso alonso

Alone

City break

10 December 2012 monica would recommend this property

Liked: near tube station

Disliked: no lift, too many stairs for heavy suit cases, not even a ramp at the entrance stairs it says breakfast included in the web, not true whatsoever, not even a compensation, only cofee with powder milk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mathilde Martin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: great location in front of Central Park

Disliked: Mathilde left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mahaveer Lohana

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012

Liked: I will never go this place ever!

Disliked: everything!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012

Liked: location, friendliness of the staff

Disliked: very very simple infrastructure, not always very clean.A bad surprise; it was written during the checkin that breakfast is included whereas kitchen is closed by sanitary authorities....wifi only free on the ground floor. Pay attention! The prices on this site don't inculde taxes. Do not ensure to be able to put all the people from the same reservation in the same room, though they managed to do it for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in an 8 bed dorm. The room was very comforatble for the amount of people. The location was excellent. Close to Central Park and the subway. I felt it was a very secure location. I even stayed an extra night. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The complaing from some of the other guests. People complained about the lack of breakfast and the lack of an elevator. People were also complaining about the taxes, but that is clearly stated and will happen in all NY locations.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 2 bed dorm.

Disliked: Slow WiFi. No kitchen.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012

Liked: Free Wifi in the Lobby

Disliked: No Breakfast and it was very cold in the rooms.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Housna ZARANDY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Housna left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness. That's about all.

Disliked: The location. I hated the fact that it was secluded and kinda hidden from the activities, bars, restaurant and coffee places.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012

Liked: I liked that it was close to central park and close to public transportation

Disliked: No breakfast included, there was only a mens bathroom on my floor, the beds had no cushion and were very uncomfortable, it is pretty far from Times Square and other touristy areas, the staff was not helpful and did not seem to like working there. I would rather pay a few extra dollars and stay at a much better hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominika Wisniewska

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Dominika would recommend this property

Liked: Staff.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Futaba Shimizu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Futaba would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, and good location.

Disliked: too noisy in midnight. and so cold. so I recommend that you stay in summer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolina Silva

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building and clean rooms. I really enjoy the breakfast!!!

Disliked: The thing that i had to walk all corridor to find a toilet. Soem guests there were not used to live in comunity...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2012

Liked: It was close to the park and the subway.

Disliked: It was dirty and old.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Sagatio

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Very good every.....

Disliked: Victor left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Piotr Laskowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: not much

Disliked: dirty linens and showers receptionists that didn;t really care of guests

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this property as it is right beside central park on the upper west side and just a walk away from Harlem which is great. There is a subway just down the street and a bus on the corner which is really handy. Both take the metro card.

Disliked: What i disliked this time is that i was not notified before arriving of the issue with the kitchen. It is good customer service to advise guest if there is an issue because in the end they are advising that BF is included in the price. I The staff did not mentioned anything upon arrival and we had to hear from another customer of the issue. Which i feel is unacceptable. had asked to speak with the manager who was not there and i then sent him an email. he was kind enough to reply and provide some sort of compensation. A|though this was the least that could be done i would imagine that when something like this occurs customers are notified ASAP.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012

Liked: not alot

Disliked: caught leigionnaires off of poorly maintained air con and had to leave my holiday 2 months early. NOT HAPPY

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Abhishek Garg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012

Liked: Staff seemed good

Disliked: Location, they make you pay for every single thing , doesnt even have free wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sandra Kostic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good place near everything we wanted to see in NYC :) the staff is super nice, especially the front desk guy with whom I spoke in spanish. the area is safe and the mexican store a block away is cheap and plenty of good pastries :D the room smelled really nice everyday and we had bunch of shampoos, gels and body lotions from the people before us and it's nice the housekeeping didn't throw it away...

Disliked: The window in our room was broken, we didn't have free breakfast (but they gave us back $4 per night) in my opinion every bed should have a towel on it and not that i go to the front desk to ask for it, my bed was the only bed in the room that didn't have a side protection (so if I fell from the bed and had everything broken it would be my fault) and the last thing, they should remove the no food and beverage rule.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alan Coxall

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012

Liked: Secure and nice location

Disliked: New management have taken down all the b/w pics of the Jazz masters which previously were a major attraction for me. Also, the mattresses were like bedrock made worse by the plastic coverings. The staff seem to have the tv glued to drivvle tbs repeats. I did not see one News bulletin on the tv in the common room, and changing my booking from 27- 29 Aug to 28-30th Aug by phone and in person was like pulling teeth. I was made checkout at 11am and checkin after 3pm prior to the last evening of my stay, which surely could be improved upon. Basically the new management has changed the whole vibe.. The common room bar is also now gone !

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alexandre Mathys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012

Liked: THe Hotel doesn't serve breakfast anymore, it didn't pass the cleanliness inspection. They didn't refund me anything.

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.