We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

77.4% Overall Rating

832 out of 1170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 91.1% 1478 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 674 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
74.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

832 out of 1170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
70.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 698 of 829 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacob Knowles

Alone

City break

06 May 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostal to meet people, very friendly staff, good location and cheap compared to the rest of the city. Also some great bars just a few blocks away.

Disliked: Beds are not very comfy and the rooms can get very hot at night. Also the hostal can get quite loud, so maybe not great if you want a good nights sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenka Majnerova

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the subway and bus stops

Disliked: Lenka left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bed was extremely uncomfortable, I could feel the springs all night. I paid extra because I wanted to have breakfast, but breakfast finishes at 8.15. This must be a wind up. Not only this, but a room mate informed me (I didn't get up in time), that even if you get there at 8, lots of the food has gone. No soap in the toilet Men's toilets are only on every other floor You have to pay, a lot, for internet. Can't remember how much exactly. Any amount is pretty ridiculous for a hostel. Do not stay at this hostel. It was terrible. Go hosteling though! I love it usually.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013

Liked: At least I stayed in a spacious bedroom.

Disliked: Well, let's go to the list: 1) Bathrooms and toilets not in the same level as the bedrooms 2) The lady in the reception always in a bad moody and rude 3) Dodgy neighbourhood 4) Breakfast finished half hour earlier than the schedule time 5) Huge group of school teenagers staying at the hostel 6) Bad to go party (I was taken to the worst bars) 7) No elevators (had to take two heavy suitcases up to the fifth floor without any help) 8) Even though drinks in the rooms were not allowed, an old drunk man spent the 2 nights I stayed in this room drinking beers in his underwear 9) In addition, this man was together with a couple and a child. It was a nightmare as they did not have any respect to the orthers sleeping in the room making noise, talking loudly and talking on the phone inside the room at 7am and did not care when I asked them to not make such noise. The same thing happened in the following day 10) I couldn't receive a simple baseball ticket by mail as they are not able to receive any "package" even though I explained it was a small envelope. Changed the delivery address to the other hostel I stayed in and had no problem to get it. NOT RECOMENDED!!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: The bed is very uncomfortable. The room is small. No elevator, it's not convenient for someone who has a big luggage. This is the first hostel I have been to which doesn't have an open kitchen. I can't even get some water to drink. No food is allowed in the room. If food was found, it will be threw away by the cleaner, which means I cannot even buy some fruit and keep it in my room...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was amazing

Disliked: Basement was very weird...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shawn Lee

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Shawn

Disliked: no dryers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Zuchowski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2013 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, nice staff.

Disliked: Slamming corridor doors ;-)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Cameron Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013

Liked: I searched long & hard and couldn't find a thing.

Disliked: This is the 2nd negative / bashing I've written for a hotel in 56 countries, through all of Europe, Latin America Asia. So my comments are not coming from some hostel first timer. The staff openly don't care about their guests & display body language, that everything is all too hard. This attitude spreads through the hostel like cancer, ever guest I saw over 2 nights couldn't crack a smile. Breakfast finishes at 8.15 am - they'd may as well not offer it; where in the world is this the cut off for breakfast?? I arrived for breakfast at 8 am, to find there was nothing left & after asking staff if there any more the response was "well it finishes at 8.15 am anyway" You'd think for $45 for a pathetic bunk there 'd be some bonus' in the hostel. computers were $2 to use. No wifi in rooms. There is a kitchen & it has a fridge - with a huge padlock on it with guests cant use...??? What hostel has a fridge guests cant use? Isn't that one of the features of a hostel? Guests prepare their own food or store drinks? That's why they're not paying 3 times the amount & staying in Hotels. The mattress was just springs. the smallest bunk I can remember staying in. Having a chat with a few other guest I found out they all felt the same, which was reassuring as I just couldn't believe what sort of a 'hostel' I'd actually booked into.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aidan Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and people are friendly

Disliked: I thought it was a bit expensive for what was offered.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Antonia Hamova

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 April 2013

Liked: The location is very good and the stuff is nice, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms and the shared bathrooms are not clean and in bad conditions.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROGER ROBINSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 ROGER would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. I do prefer walking short distances to honoured events and this location is so what close to Museum Row & Others.

Disliked: The property character is modern and 24 hour staff ready to help. Loads of outdoor activities to keep me occupied. The only concern I have is the lack of a lift. The property has more than five floors that must be traveled by steps.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ABIGAIL EVERALL

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 ABIGAIL would recommend this property

Liked: It was right on the park and next to the subway so was really easy to get downtown. There was also Wifi and breakfast provided and activities run for people who wanted them.

Disliked: It was really really hot, particularly in our bedroom. One of the 2 female toilets had a broken lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heejin Yoon

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Heejin would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED how close it is to the park and the decoration of it all. The facilities are clean and well-lit and warm all the time. I loved it here.

Disliked: The showers are a little small, but it's a hostel. If you're looking for a jacuzzi bathtub you should not be looking at a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ana Lezama

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Central Park and walking distance from the subway station

Disliked: The only think I didn't like and it wasn't the hostels nor staff fault at all was that a roommate took my blanket!! I recommend you guys to tell people that if there's an empty bed doesn't mean that isn't booked! I came to the dorm late and ready to sleep and instead I shivered till the sun came out, not cool at all :/ I enjoy my stay, friendly staff, clean dorm, and the hot shower was the best!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Raphael Passos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

13 April 2013 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price-value where very good

Disliked: 5th stair floor and no towels

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Malcon Liyali Mazambani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013

Liked: The location; within walking distance to public transport and its more central. Its also easier to meet new people.

Disliked: The facilities are not good and the hostel is a little bit dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Bormioli

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Staff its really helpful and kindly. Breaksfast its great, coffee 24 hours, free wifi!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were particularly helpful and flexible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Laura Arango

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Only the location. Central Park is pretty central.

Disliked: I chose this hostel because of its price, Hostelbookers said it was 38 dollars per bed per night. When I got there, I ended up paying 47 dollars per bed per night, C'mon! I know there are taxes and everything, but this was too much for me, I have stayed in other hostels in New York with more reasonable taxes. Besides there is NO FREE WIFI, there is NO KITHCHEN OR FRIDGE!, the staff seem to be mad at you for some reason, the bathrooms are like the army, and there are free bagels in the morning (and they call that "free breakfast". If you are going to stay in a hostel in NY look for Q4, I also stayed there, was way cheaper and way, way better!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvaro Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Alvaro would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good place to stay, good people and really clean and safe

Disliked: Alvaro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Durai Prabhakaran R.T

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Durai Prabhakaran would recommend this property

Liked: Yaa, I love the location and very nice for short stay

Disliked: Durai Prabhakaran left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Maatman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, Jose and the others made it great easier for me . The hostel has free breakfast and free wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Valido

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Jazz on the Park for 7 days. I had an AMAZING time. I came from Miami and this was my first time staying at a hostel ever. I went with basically no expectations and even expected to "rough" it a little. All and all, the hostel was the best choice I made in the way of meeting new people and having fun everything was magical to me. I had a great time, met plenty of people in my situation and made drinking/ exporing buddies of them. The hostel organized pub crawls several times a week and it was a great way to get in the mix of things. I came with a happy go-lucky attitude and that got me a long way. I had such a great experience. My ability to speak French and Spanish helpped me connect with others I might have missed. I just had an awesome time. I would recommend and I will be coming back! The staff was really cool, Pedro, Chris, Megan really made my stay. No complaints about any of the staff at all whatsoever. The check girl who was in charge of event corridination was awesome too (her name escapes me)

Disliked: Although I was usually tipsy enough that it didnt really matter. The only thing that could have been better were the beds, a mattress pad would fix the problem, they were just a little springy.