HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

78.1% Overall Rating

818 out of 1151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Conveniently located a couple of blocks away from Subway and Central Park. The neighborhood is close to ammenities and a delicious bakery off of Broadway and 105th."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
HI - New York City
49.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1470 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.4% 671 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
49.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.4% 120 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
49.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 125 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 67.4% 28 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

818 out of 1151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 680 of 810 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were particularly helpful and flexible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Laura Arango

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Only the location. Central Park is pretty central.

Disliked: I chose this hostel because of its price, Hostelbookers said it was 38 dollars per bed per night. When I got there, I ended up paying 47 dollars per bed per night, C'mon! I know there are taxes and everything, but this was too much for me, I have stayed in other hostels in New York with more reasonable taxes. Besides there is NO FREE WIFI, there is NO KITHCHEN OR FRIDGE!, the staff seem to be mad at you for some reason, the bathrooms are like the army, and there are free bagels in the morning (and they call that "free breakfast". If you are going to stay in a hostel in NY look for Q4, I also stayed there, was way cheaper and way, way better!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvaro Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Alvaro would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good place to stay, good people and really clean and safe

Disliked: Alvaro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Durai Prabhakaran R.T

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Durai Prabhakaran would recommend this property

Liked: Yaa, I love the location and very nice for short stay

Disliked: Durai Prabhakaran left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Maatman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, Jose and the others made it great easier for me . The hostel has free breakfast and free wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Valido

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Jazz on the Park for 7 days. I had an AMAZING time. I came from Miami and this was my first time staying at a hostel ever. I went with basically no expectations and even expected to "rough" it a little. All and all, the hostel was the best choice I made in the way of meeting new people and having fun everything was magical to me. I had a great time, met plenty of people in my situation and made drinking/ exporing buddies of them. The hostel organized pub crawls several times a week and it was a great way to get in the mix of things. I came with a happy go-lucky attitude and that got me a long way. I had such a great experience. My ability to speak French and Spanish helpped me connect with others I might have missed. I just had an awesome time. I would recommend and I will be coming back! The staff was really cool, Pedro, Chris, Megan really made my stay. No complaints about any of the staff at all whatsoever. The check girl who was in charge of event corridination was awesome too (her name escapes me)

Disliked: Although I was usually tipsy enough that it didnt really matter. The only thing that could have been better were the beds, a mattress pad would fix the problem, they were just a little springy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to locate, clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: didn't have all girls or all boys rooms. Only mixed gender accommodations.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The location was very good and the room was spacious.

Disliked: I've never been greeted in such an unfriendly way at a place where I payed to stay. The staff wasn't helpful at all. The breakfast is like a bad joke, served only from 6.15 - 8.15 (not really the usual breakfast time for backpackers). When something is empty they don't refill it. Plus, linen and towels were bloodstained and the mattresses were extremely uncomfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location in NYC. Clean. Secure. Girl form Russia on reception was really friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Wi-fi must be free for everyone! There is no breakfast and kitchen is not available at the moment, so long stay wouldn't be nice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and close to subway.free breakfast is new since i last stayed and is a great change and the wifi now works in the rooms. not very fast but still on level 5 i can check my emails etc. the staff are ok.it is a hostel after all.

Disliked: the beds are pretty crappy and the mattresses are noisy. they must be covered in an anti vomit penetrating cover for the party goers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: large rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rhyan blazek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2013 rhyan would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, super friendly staff

Disliked: rhyan left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no elevator, restrooms on a different floor,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi. free breakfast, really friendly staff, nice

Disliked: nothing, just a super good hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Zaleski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 February 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff

Disliked: can't buy drinks that are locked up, breakfast isn't as good as it used to be. Seems to be more rules than before.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janette Fanio

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2013 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location near the park.

Disliked: Bathroom is too cold.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Central Park

Disliked: No breakfast. Can't use kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Samnick

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good price, nice staff

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Hostel, friendly staff and very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

guillaume terradot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013

Liked: quite cheap comparing to other hostels in the aera, good location on central park.

Disliked: beds are bad quality, no breakfast !!! no cafet and only one ccommon room, don't come here by your own might be hard to mee other people to hang out with, i didn't take part to thghostel activities though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the subway and the Central Park. If you book it with HostelBookers, you get free wifi :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to subway

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yumin park

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 yumin would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free coffee ,free wi-fi and the staff was helpful.Jose was very friendly and helpful with me and my friend all the time.

Disliked: nithing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel small

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean rooms, beds comfortable, showers hot!

Disliked: not enough lockers