HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

76.7% Overall Rating

828 out of 1165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

TRANG Julie thinks…

"Big rooms Breakfast every morning 5 min walk from the 103st subway station Helpful and nice staff members"

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
55.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 1475 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
55.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 132 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

828 out of 1165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 693 of 824 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was amazing

Disliked: Basement was very weird...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shawn Lee

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Shawn

Disliked: no dryers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Zuchowski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2013 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, nice staff.

Disliked: Slamming corridor doors ;-)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Cameron Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013

Liked: I searched long & hard and couldn't find a thing.

Disliked: This is the 2nd negative / bashing I've written for a hotel in 56 countries, through all of Europe, Latin America Asia. So my comments are not coming from some hostel first timer. The staff openly don't care about their guests & display body language, that everything is all too hard. This attitude spreads through the hostel like cancer, ever guest I saw over 2 nights couldn't crack a smile. Breakfast finishes at 8.15 am - they'd may as well not offer it; where in the world is this the cut off for breakfast?? I arrived for breakfast at 8 am, to find there was nothing left & after asking staff if there any more the response was "well it finishes at 8.15 am anyway" You'd think for $45 for a pathetic bunk there 'd be some bonus' in the hostel. computers were $2 to use. No wifi in rooms. There is a kitchen & it has a fridge - with a huge padlock on it with guests cant use...??? What hostel has a fridge guests cant use? Isn't that one of the features of a hostel? Guests prepare their own food or store drinks? That's why they're not paying 3 times the amount & staying in Hotels. The mattress was just springs. the smallest bunk I can remember staying in. Having a chat with a few other guest I found out they all felt the same, which was reassuring as I just couldn't believe what sort of a 'hostel' I'd actually booked into.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aidan Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and people are friendly

Disliked: I thought it was a bit expensive for what was offered.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Antonia Hamova

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 April 2013

Liked: The location is very good and the stuff is nice, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms and the shared bathrooms are not clean and in bad conditions.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROGER ROBINSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 ROGER would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. I do prefer walking short distances to honoured events and this location is so what close to Museum Row & Others.

Disliked: The property character is modern and 24 hour staff ready to help. Loads of outdoor activities to keep me occupied. The only concern I have is the lack of a lift. The property has more than five floors that must be traveled by steps.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ABIGAIL EVERALL

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 ABIGAIL would recommend this property

Liked: It was right on the park and next to the subway so was really easy to get downtown. There was also Wifi and breakfast provided and activities run for people who wanted them.

Disliked: It was really really hot, particularly in our bedroom. One of the 2 female toilets had a broken lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heejin Yoon

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Heejin would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED how close it is to the park and the decoration of it all. The facilities are clean and well-lit and warm all the time. I loved it here.

Disliked: The showers are a little small, but it's a hostel. If you're looking for a jacuzzi bathtub you should not be looking at a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ana Lezama

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to Central Park and walking distance from the subway station

Disliked: The only think I didn't like and it wasn't the hostels nor staff fault at all was that a roommate took my blanket!! I recommend you guys to tell people that if there's an empty bed doesn't mean that isn't booked! I came to the dorm late and ready to sleep and instead I shivered till the sun came out, not cool at all :/ I enjoy my stay, friendly staff, clean dorm, and the hot shower was the best!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Raphael Passos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

13 April 2013 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price-value where very good

Disliked: 5th stair floor and no towels

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Malcon Liyali Mazambani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013

Liked: The location; within walking distance to public transport and its more central. Its also easier to meet new people.

Disliked: The facilities are not good and the hostel is a little bit dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Bormioli

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Staff its really helpful and kindly. Breaksfast its great, coffee 24 hours, free wifi!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were particularly helpful and flexible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Laura Arango

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Only the location. Central Park is pretty central.

Disliked: I chose this hostel because of its price, Hostelbookers said it was 38 dollars per bed per night. When I got there, I ended up paying 47 dollars per bed per night, C'mon! I know there are taxes and everything, but this was too much for me, I have stayed in other hostels in New York with more reasonable taxes. Besides there is NO FREE WIFI, there is NO KITHCHEN OR FRIDGE!, the staff seem to be mad at you for some reason, the bathrooms are like the army, and there are free bagels in the morning (and they call that "free breakfast". If you are going to stay in a hostel in NY look for Q4, I also stayed there, was way cheaper and way, way better!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvaro Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Alvaro would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really good place to stay, good people and really clean and safe

Disliked: Alvaro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Durai Prabhakaran R.T

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Durai Prabhakaran would recommend this property

Liked: Yaa, I love the location and very nice for short stay

Disliked: Durai Prabhakaran left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Maatman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, Jose and the others made it great easier for me . The hostel has free breakfast and free wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Valido

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Jazz on the Park for 7 days. I had an AMAZING time. I came from Miami and this was my first time staying at a hostel ever. I went with basically no expectations and even expected to "rough" it a little. All and all, the hostel was the best choice I made in the way of meeting new people and having fun everything was magical to me. I had a great time, met plenty of people in my situation and made drinking/ exporing buddies of them. The hostel organized pub crawls several times a week and it was a great way to get in the mix of things. I came with a happy go-lucky attitude and that got me a long way. I had such a great experience. My ability to speak French and Spanish helpped me connect with others I might have missed. I just had an awesome time. I would recommend and I will be coming back! The staff was really cool, Pedro, Chris, Megan really made my stay. No complaints about any of the staff at all whatsoever. The check girl who was in charge of event corridination was awesome too (her name escapes me)

Disliked: Although I was usually tipsy enough that it didnt really matter. The only thing that could have been better were the beds, a mattress pad would fix the problem, they were just a little springy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to locate, clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: didn't have all girls or all boys rooms. Only mixed gender accommodations.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: The location was very good and the room was spacious.

Disliked: I've never been greeted in such an unfriendly way at a place where I payed to stay. The staff wasn't helpful at all. The breakfast is like a bad joke, served only from 6.15 - 8.15 (not really the usual breakfast time for backpackers). When something is empty they don't refill it. Plus, linen and towels were bloodstained and the mattresses were extremely uncomfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location in NYC. Clean. Secure. Girl form Russia on reception was really friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Wi-fi must be free for everyone! There is no breakfast and kitchen is not available at the moment, so long stay wouldn't be nice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and close to subway.free breakfast is new since i last stayed and is a great change and the wifi now works in the rooms. not very fast but still on level 5 i can check my emails etc. the staff are ok.it is a hostel after all.

Disliked: the beds are pretty crappy and the mattresses are noisy. they must be covered in an anti vomit penetrating cover for the party goers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: large rooms