We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

75.3% Overall Rating

847 out of 1190 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/01/2015)

"The atmosphere was nice. They have a good living room which help guest interactions."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1488 reviews
Morningside Inn
35.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.8% 682 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
27.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 124 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
22.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 139 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
23.75 USD

Hostel 67.1% 30 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
37.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
40.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews
FIT HOTEL
30.00 USD

Hostel 70.1% 440 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

847 out of 1190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 709 of 846 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013

Liked: Nice location next to Central Park

Disliked: The worst and most ugly hostel ever visited. Many things old rotten and broken. Stuff gives a damn about requests. No elevator to 5 th floor. Breakfast in filthy ugly basement. Everything quickly empty at breakfast.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aliaksandr Astashenkau

Alone

City break

31 May 2013 Aliaksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. Subway (A and B trains) is within short 2-3 minutes walk, you can get to downtown in about 20 minutes. Central Park is right across the street. Rooms are pretty large and comfortable (stayed in 6-dorm room). Everything is clean and tidy. I would also say that it's not expensive for this location.

Disliked: Aliaksandr left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina Janiec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff (specially jose was very nice and helpful)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fan Jia

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

23 May 2013 Fan would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, nice staff, free break fast and lost of parties!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofie Hegbom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

23 May 2013 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and nice location

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: At least we found a place in NYC, metro closeby.

Disliked: (Plastic!) matresses of upperbunk ripped (because of structure bed) not a nice view if you sleep under it. shower-area cramped, breakfast: very basic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoran Slamkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: There is always something exciting happening every night. It is a family here with all the stuff who is amazing and exciting.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Jose Jimenez Sandoval

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Rodrigo Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to many hotspots of NY. You are in a secure environment

Disliked: Everything was excellent

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a great location. RIght across from Central park, and only a short walk from the subway. A little out of the way, by residential area, but very nice cause it works as an escape from the hustle and bustle of the full days of site seeing! Showers and breakfast were very nice! Rooms were nice, need new beds and bedding though!!

Disliked: The beds were not very comfortable. The blankets were not very warm either, and kind of yucky There were no bed bugs or anything but just red, thin, velvet blankets and springs jabbing my back don't do it for me! They could definitely upgrade the sleeping arrangements. Staff wasn't very friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hing Yip Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Hing Yip would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good

Disliked: NA

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013

Liked: Staff is very helpful and nice Bike tour was awesome and the guide was really good Free internet in lobby They organize nice events for their guests

Disliked: Cleanliness Breakfast was sparse

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacob Knowles

Alone

City break

06 May 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostal to meet people, very friendly staff, good location and cheap compared to the rest of the city. Also some great bars just a few blocks away.

Disliked: Beds are not very comfy and the rooms can get very hot at night. Also the hostal can get quite loud, so maybe not great if you want a good nights sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenka Majnerova

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the subway and bus stops

Disliked: Lenka left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bed was extremely uncomfortable, I could feel the springs all night. I paid extra because I wanted to have breakfast, but breakfast finishes at 8.15. This must be a wind up. Not only this, but a room mate informed me (I didn't get up in time), that even if you get there at 8, lots of the food has gone. No soap in the toilet Men's toilets are only on every other floor You have to pay, a lot, for internet. Can't remember how much exactly. Any amount is pretty ridiculous for a hostel. Do not stay at this hostel. It was terrible. Go hosteling though! I love it usually.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013

Liked: At least I stayed in a spacious bedroom.

Disliked: Well, let's go to the list: 1) Bathrooms and toilets not in the same level as the bedrooms 2) The lady in the reception always in a bad moody and rude 3) Dodgy neighbourhood 4) Breakfast finished half hour earlier than the schedule time 5) Huge group of school teenagers staying at the hostel 6) Bad to go party (I was taken to the worst bars) 7) No elevators (had to take two heavy suitcases up to the fifth floor without any help) 8) Even though drinks in the rooms were not allowed, an old drunk man spent the 2 nights I stayed in this room drinking beers in his underwear 9) In addition, this man was together with a couple and a child. It was a nightmare as they did not have any respect to the orthers sleeping in the room making noise, talking loudly and talking on the phone inside the room at 7am and did not care when I asked them to not make such noise. The same thing happened in the following day 10) I couldn't receive a simple baseball ticket by mail as they are not able to receive any "package" even though I explained it was a small envelope. Changed the delivery address to the other hostel I stayed in and had no problem to get it. NOT RECOMENDED!!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: The bed is very uncomfortable. The room is small. No elevator, it's not convenient for someone who has a big luggage. This is the first hostel I have been to which doesn't have an open kitchen. I can't even get some water to drink. No food is allowed in the room. If food was found, it will be threw away by the cleaner, which means I cannot even buy some fruit and keep it in my room...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was amazing

Disliked: Basement was very weird...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shawn Lee

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Shawn

Disliked: no dryers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Zuchowski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2013 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, nice staff.

Disliked: Slamming corridor doors ;-)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Cameron Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013

Liked: I searched long & hard and couldn't find a thing.

Disliked: This is the 2nd negative / bashing I've written for a hotel in 56 countries, through all of Europe, Latin America Asia. So my comments are not coming from some hostel first timer. The staff openly don't care about their guests & display body language, that everything is all too hard. This attitude spreads through the hostel like cancer, ever guest I saw over 2 nights couldn't crack a smile. Breakfast finishes at 8.15 am - they'd may as well not offer it; where in the world is this the cut off for breakfast?? I arrived for breakfast at 8 am, to find there was nothing left & after asking staff if there any more the response was "well it finishes at 8.15 am anyway" You'd think for $45 for a pathetic bunk there 'd be some bonus' in the hostel. computers were $2 to use. No wifi in rooms. There is a kitchen & it has a fridge - with a huge padlock on it with guests cant use...??? What hostel has a fridge guests cant use? Isn't that one of the features of a hostel? Guests prepare their own food or store drinks? That's why they're not paying 3 times the amount & staying in Hotels. The mattress was just springs. the smallest bunk I can remember staying in. Having a chat with a few other guest I found out they all felt the same, which was reassuring as I just couldn't believe what sort of a 'hostel' I'd actually booked into.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aidan Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and people are friendly

Disliked: I thought it was a bit expensive for what was offered.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Antonia Hamova

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 April 2013

Liked: The location is very good and the stuff is nice, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms and the shared bathrooms are not clean and in bad conditions.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ROGER ROBINSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 ROGER would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. I do prefer walking short distances to honoured events and this location is so what close to Museum Row & Others.

Disliked: The property character is modern and 24 hour staff ready to help. Loads of outdoor activities to keep me occupied. The only concern I have is the lack of a lift. The property has more than five floors that must be traveled by steps.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ABIGAIL EVERALL

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 ABIGAIL would recommend this property

Liked: It was right on the park and next to the subway so was really easy to get downtown. There was also Wifi and breakfast provided and activities run for people who wanted them.

Disliked: It was really really hot, particularly in our bedroom. One of the 2 female toilets had a broken lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heejin Yoon

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Heejin would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED how close it is to the park and the decoration of it all. The facilities are clean and well-lit and warm all the time. I loved it here.

Disliked: The showers are a little small, but it's a hostel. If you're looking for a jacuzzi bathtub you should not be looking at a hostel.