We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

76.8% Overall Rating

830 out of 1168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Mark Purdie thinks…

"Staff were extremely friendly and gave a lot of good tips on the city. Other travelers were nice and willing to socialise with each other."

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
49.99 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1477 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.7% 674 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
74.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
55.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 135 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
47.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

830 out of 1168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 695 of 826 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Darren Lapthorne

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and great staff.

Disliked: The shower area is far to small

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Bed (if you can call it that) was terrible. I was unable to get a decent sleep and it impacted my days while sightseeing. The place looks promising at first glance, don't let the pictures fool you there was zero atmosphere. Shocking value for money as it is way over priced for what it is. Also a pest problem. STAY AWAY!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jurgen Wolfgang Fleischer Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Jurgen Wolfgang would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, well located.

Disliked: Jurgen Wolfgang left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were nice, liked having a sofa/table in the rooms. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: Pretty expensive. All the extra activities were for 21+

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Natalie Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013

Liked: The location was not bad, away from the craziness of NYC but close to the subway stations to get into the city easy.

Disliked: What I did not like about this place. the bunk beds and mattress was not nice at all. We took the mattress's off the bunk beds and put them on the floor to sleep in our private room, to try and make things a bit better. The showering room down the hall was not the best, and my girlfriend said hers smelt strongly of bleach, like it had been splashed around the showers and not washed away. Oveall this Hostel was ok, It was our most expensive and least liked acomadation on our six weeks of travel through the USA and Canada. But I guess that's just NY for you...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2013

Liked: Location is ok.

Disliked: Staff not friendly at all. Mattresses are horrible, dirty and expansive. No kitchen or lounge facilities in the hostel. Coffee bar is never open. ATM was out of service.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As always, it was the people who made the experience. The hostel staff were friendly and very good at organizing people to do activities. I met a BUNCH of other travellers and we had a great time. I appreciated the free wifi in the common room, the free luggage storage, and the location is good- next to Central Park and a 5 minute walk to a subway line. Also, the M60 bus from LaGuardia Airport drops you off within a few blocks of the hostel.

Disliked: The property itself is a problem. Breakfast is subpar and served far too early with not enough food for everyone. No communal kitchen or fridge, and no food allowed in the rooms. The place itself is somewhat dirty-looking, and during 4 days there I had not a single good experience with the showers. The high price of this hostel CLEARLY is from the good location, and does not translate to quality facilities. That being said, I tried not to spend much time in the hostel, so I would stay there again purely for the good location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Serdeczny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jan Pacner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Jazz on the park is very lovely hostel and its quite cheep. Very near to Central Park.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Szecowka

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: staff and all the free stuff they have. Also the cleanliness of the place.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013

Liked: Nice location next to Central Park

Disliked: The worst and most ugly hostel ever visited. Many things old rotten and broken. Stuff gives a damn about requests. No elevator to 5 th floor. Breakfast in filthy ugly basement. Everything quickly empty at breakfast.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aliaksandr Astashenkau

Alone

City break

31 May 2013 Aliaksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. Subway (A and B trains) is within short 2-3 minutes walk, you can get to downtown in about 20 minutes. Central Park is right across the street. Rooms are pretty large and comfortable (stayed in 6-dorm room). Everything is clean and tidy. I would also say that it's not expensive for this location.

Disliked: Aliaksandr left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina Janiec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff (specially jose was very nice and helpful)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fan Jia

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

23 May 2013 Fan would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, nice staff, free break fast and lost of parties!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofie Hegbom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

23 May 2013 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff and nice location

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: At least we found a place in NYC, metro closeby.

Disliked: (Plastic!) matresses of upperbunk ripped (because of structure bed) not a nice view if you sleep under it. shower-area cramped, breakfast: very basic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoran Slamkov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: There is always something exciting happening every night. It is a family here with all the stuff who is amazing and exciting.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Jose Jimenez Sandoval

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Rodrigo Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to many hotspots of NY. You are in a secure environment

Disliked: Everything was excellent

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a great location. RIght across from Central park, and only a short walk from the subway. A little out of the way, by residential area, but very nice cause it works as an escape from the hustle and bustle of the full days of site seeing! Showers and breakfast were very nice! Rooms were nice, need new beds and bedding though!!

Disliked: The beds were not very comfortable. The blankets were not very warm either, and kind of yucky There were no bed bugs or anything but just red, thin, velvet blankets and springs jabbing my back don't do it for me! They could definitely upgrade the sleeping arrangements. Staff wasn't very friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hing Yip Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Hing Yip would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good

Disliked: NA

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013

Liked: Staff is very helpful and nice Bike tour was awesome and the guide was really good Free internet in lobby They organize nice events for their guests

Disliked: Cleanliness Breakfast was sparse

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacob Knowles

Alone

City break

06 May 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostal to meet people, very friendly staff, good location and cheap compared to the rest of the city. Also some great bars just a few blocks away.

Disliked: Beds are not very comfy and the rooms can get very hot at night. Also the hostal can get quite loud, so maybe not great if you want a good nights sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenka Majnerova

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the subway and bus stops

Disliked: Lenka left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bed was extremely uncomfortable, I could feel the springs all night. I paid extra because I wanted to have breakfast, but breakfast finishes at 8.15. This must be a wind up. Not only this, but a room mate informed me (I didn't get up in time), that even if you get there at 8, lots of the food has gone. No soap in the toilet Men's toilets are only on every other floor You have to pay, a lot, for internet. Can't remember how much exactly. Any amount is pretty ridiculous for a hostel. Do not stay at this hostel. It was terrible. Go hosteling though! I love it usually.