We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

78.9% Overall Rating

840 out of 1179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2014)

Leilene Ondrade thinks…

"I love how it is close to the metro, I usually stay here to come for the holidays,The deli's in the Upper West Side area are great and there is a a lot of dining choices. They have great events one…"

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI New York City NYC Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 1483 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.8% 680 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
30.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 137 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
43.75 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

840 out of 1179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 703 of 837 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rob Minney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: Hot water anyone? It's a typical big city American hostel: functional, but doesn't go out of its way

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hugo van Dantzig

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: The location, on the northwest side of Central Park is excellent, close to a subwaystation. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The plumbing left something to be desired. You could either get a piping hot or cold shower.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and seemed happy to help. There's 2 social rooms there, one being in the basement, which is pretty cool. It's not badly done out, I think for a hostel it's definitely one of the better ones.

Disliked: The toilets and showers could have been better, and perhaps a bit more to do like music and games, but I wouldn't say these services were bad, it was generally quite a nice place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Room was hot. Dirty bathrooms. Poor illumination

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Daniel Christie

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014

Liked: Bed was made up, didn't have to do it yourself. Also free towel and don't have to make your bed down when you leave.

Disliked: Pretty unhelpful reception, didn't inform me I had a specific bed in the room so I took a random one which annoyed everyone as it started a game of musical beds with everyone swapping. The bed was literally the worst bed i've ever slept in in my life. It's what I imagine criminals in the most hardened prisons in America bed down in each night. Horrible squeeky bunkbeds that are so loud you hear everyone turning over in the night from anywhere in the upper west side. Broken springs in the bed mean if i'd stayed more than the one night i Imagine i'd have needed a wheelchair to leave. The showers were crappy, no shelves in there, no where to hang your clothes or towel. Stayed in much better in New York, have a look at Royal Park if you're not travelling alone, or New York Loft if you are. Better in every way.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast. good price.

Disliked: restroom is terrible small, ramshackle, and is one for all the plant. shower is imposible to regulate water temperature. amazing walking trough the roof and laberintic corridor to get in the room in the last floor. Door was broken.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Rebecca David

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2014

Liked: The bagels, close to the train.

Disliked: The guy at the desk. He was not welcoming. Where do I begin? He was classist and ageist. I would have preferred to stay elsewhere then be treated like crap. Just make a policy of no one over 30 and I would have just skipped this hostel entirely, rather than be treated like crap.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, atmosphere, clean

Disliked: The heating was always on full blast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful

Disliked: small bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Decent rooms (stayed in 6-person room)

Disliked: The beds are SO noisy! And not very comfortable. Also, no elevator (that I was told about, for my walk up 5 flights)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Alexander Werth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The complimentary breakfast is good for a free one. The wash room is cleaned every day. The pub crawl on Wednesdays was great for meeting new poeple.

Disliked: The beds are horribly uncomortable because they are cheap metal bunk beds with way too thin mattresses. There is no men's room on 2nd floor, you have to go upstairs. It was way too hot in the room because the heater was turned on all the time; we had to open the window AND to turn on the AC. After some days, the free wifi in the common room broke down and there was NO replacement.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luyu Lei

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Luyu would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway station. Cheap price. Nice staff. Other travelers were also nice. Free breakfast.

Disliked: No elevator but good thing my luggage was not to heavy to be carried to 4th floor. Free wifi only in the first floor and the connection was always terrible. The mattress was too soft and made me not comfortable. Even when I moved just a little bit on the bed the mattress made a huge noise. Hair dryer on my floor was not working.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jordon Christie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2014 Jordon would recommend this property

Liked: The people

Disliked: Door was busted and didn't close

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

maria courtney

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2014

Liked: Near a subway station.

Disliked: Rooms are too hot, and beds are uncomfortable. No tea/coffee facilities but there is a fridge. You are not able to make food on sight. Most hostels have a quiet time after 10pm, that doesn't happen here. No tv relaxing room. Our room was opposite the bathrooms that had a really loud fan, and people would shower at 3am. No duvet on the beds just a blanket, but it was so hot, and you couldn't turn the heat down. Also no lift. And if your on the 5th floor good luck with the stairs. Overall decor was snappy and unappealing. No free wifi in rooms only in common area (had to pay for wifi in rooms) Would not stay here again. I also had a private room with a friend which was overpriced.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

jeffer stigert

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2013 jeffer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near subway stations, friendly staff, good breakfast...

Disliked: No decent internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

furkan arda

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2013 furkan would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly people and nice location

Disliked: furkan left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gerard Dougher

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 November 2013 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience and easy location to the subway. Breakfast area, spacious rooms, and WiFi

Disliked: Staff didn't watch for folks who went out to the courtyard -- there are rooms right outside the courtyard and people were talking, playing music, smoking, and singing all night. Beds were really creaky - afraid to move because I didn't want to upset other folks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Ease of access. Majority of staff very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Lack of amenities such as laundry, slow intermittent internet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Dylan Gray

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, close to the subway (closest a being 103rd street) and about an hour and a bit walk away to Times Square.

Disliked: The beds were a little bit uncomfortable and extremely noisy as they have a rubber casing around it, the heater in the room I was in didn't seem to work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff - good atmosphere - location is quiet, very close to subway and safe.

Disliked: The bunk bed was so noisy that every time anyone moved it woke me up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcos adams goldraich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 marcos adams would recommend this property

Liked: it was one of the cheapest places i could find on NYC, so i can't complain much. it was clean, had a nice breakfast, close to subway..i'd recommend Jazz on the park to friends only if they don't mind the size of the room, which consists of a bed and a table, nothing more. we almost couldn't fit our luggage inside the room. anyway, NYC is not the kind of place that makes you want to stay inside your room, so it was ok for the price.

Disliked: the smallest room i've ever slept

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and very clean.

Disliked: The mattress was thin and not very comfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aiko Inoue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Aiko would recommend this property

Liked: Very multicultural place to stay. And a lot of events going on! There are movie night, comedy night, pub tour ..... And those are all free!!! Really good if you want to meet ppl around the world. Highly recommended!!!

Disliked: Aiko left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Lloyd Hodges

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013

Liked: The location by Subway good, close to Amsterdam St which has good bars.

Disliked: Our door was insecure, some power sockets didn't work. Basic lockers were an issue with a door that was easy to get through. Staff said maintenance would address but didn't and couldn't move rooms. Washing facilities in adequate for number of rooms on each floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susanne Urchs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were only amazing! I felt myself extremly welcome.

Disliked: I've got nothing negative to mention.