HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Jazz on the Park

Hostel | 36 West 106th Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10025

76.7% Overall Rating

828 out of 1165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

TRANG Julie thinks…

"Big rooms Breakfast every morning 5 min walk from the 103st subway station Helpful and nice staff members"

Read all Jazz on the Park reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

HI - New York City NYC Hostel
55.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 1475 reviews
Morningside Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 75.9% 672 reviews
Marrakech Hotel NYC
62.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 123 reviews
Broadway Hotel & Hostel NYC
50.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 132 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
37.25 USD

Hostel 66.9% 29 reviews
The Rivieria New York
50.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 14 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
50.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
International Student Center
50.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 283 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

828 out of 1165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on the Park'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 693 of 824 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Alexander Werth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The complimentary breakfast is good for a free one. The wash room is cleaned every day. The pub crawl on Wednesdays was great for meeting new poeple.

Disliked: The beds are horribly uncomortable because they are cheap metal bunk beds with way too thin mattresses. There is no men's room on 2nd floor, you have to go upstairs. It was way too hot in the room because the heater was turned on all the time; we had to open the window AND to turn on the AC. After some days, the free wifi in the common room broke down and there was NO replacement.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luyu Lei

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Luyu would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway station. Cheap price. Nice staff. Other travelers were also nice. Free breakfast.

Disliked: No elevator but good thing my luggage was not to heavy to be carried to 4th floor. Free wifi only in the first floor and the connection was always terrible. The mattress was too soft and made me not comfortable. Even when I moved just a little bit on the bed the mattress made a huge noise. Hair dryer on my floor was not working.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jordon Christie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2014 Jordon would recommend this property

Liked: The people

Disliked: Door was busted and didn't close

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

maria courtney

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2014

Liked: Near a subway station.

Disliked: Rooms are too hot, and beds are uncomfortable. No tea/coffee facilities but there is a fridge. You are not able to make food on sight. Most hostels have a quiet time after 10pm, that doesn't happen here. No tv relaxing room. Our room was opposite the bathrooms that had a really loud fan, and people would shower at 3am. No duvet on the beds just a blanket, but it was so hot, and you couldn't turn the heat down. Also no lift. And if your on the 5th floor good luck with the stairs. Overall decor was snappy and unappealing. No free wifi in rooms only in common area (had to pay for wifi in rooms) Would not stay here again. I also had a private room with a friend which was overpriced.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

jeffer stigert

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2013 jeffer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near subway stations, friendly staff, good breakfast...

Disliked: No decent internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

furkan arda

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2013 furkan would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly people and nice location

Disliked: furkan left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gerard Dougher

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 November 2013 Gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience and easy location to the subway. Breakfast area, spacious rooms, and WiFi

Disliked: Staff didn't watch for folks who went out to the courtyard -- there are rooms right outside the courtyard and people were talking, playing music, smoking, and singing all night. Beds were really creaky - afraid to move because I didn't want to upset other folks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Ease of access. Majority of staff very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Lack of amenities such as laundry, slow intermittent internet.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Dylan Gray

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, close to the subway (closest a being 103rd street) and about an hour and a bit walk away to Times Square.

Disliked: The beds were a little bit uncomfortable and extremely noisy as they have a rubber casing around it, the heater in the room I was in didn't seem to work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff - good atmosphere - location is quiet, very close to subway and safe.

Disliked: The bunk bed was so noisy that every time anyone moved it woke me up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marcos adams goldraich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 marcos adams would recommend this property

Liked: it was one of the cheapest places i could find on NYC, so i can't complain much. it was clean, had a nice breakfast, close to subway..i'd recommend Jazz on the park to friends only if they don't mind the size of the room, which consists of a bed and a table, nothing more. we almost couldn't fit our luggage inside the room. anyway, NYC is not the kind of place that makes you want to stay inside your room, so it was ok for the price.

Disliked: the smallest room i've ever slept

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and very clean.

Disliked: The mattress was thin and not very comfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aiko Inoue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Aiko would recommend this property

Liked: Very multicultural place to stay. And a lot of events going on! There are movie night, comedy night, pub tour ..... And those are all free!!! Really good if you want to meet ppl around the world. Highly recommended!!!

Disliked: Aiko left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Lloyd Hodges

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013

Liked: The location by Subway good, close to Amsterdam St which has good bars.

Disliked: Our door was insecure, some power sockets didn't work. Basic lockers were an issue with a door that was easy to get through. Staff said maintenance would address but didn't and couldn't move rooms. Washing facilities in adequate for number of rooms on each floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susanne Urchs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were only amazing! I felt myself extremly welcome.

Disliked: I've got nothing negative to mention.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john henry hedley

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 john henry would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent. Breakfast was enough to start your day, the staff were all super, even the floor technicians (cleaners) were happy and friendly. There were events organised every evening if you had nothing to do. Talk about a deal, including the state tax and bed levy it still cost only £40 a night. The cheapest hotel at the time in Manhattan was$200. Great location. Jazz on the Park is cool.

Disliked: Well this is a tough one. I was in a 4 bed mixed dorm and came in one night to find a lady in my bed. At this time I must point out that I had my 69th birthday today and have a passing resemblance to Shrek. For the management of Jazz to help celebrate my birthday in such a way is commendable to say the least. The fact that she had the physique of a middle weight boxer and could not have mounted the upper bunk anyway has nothing to do with anything. I was touched by the gesture but don't go too far trying to appease your guests.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

djalma junio pereira

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 djalma junio would recommend this property

Liked: location is really awesome

Disliked: no open wi-fi in rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice, clean, calm and safe place to stay. I got to meet some great people there! Overall I am very happy to have chosen this place!

Disliked: Everything worked great for me. Some people had trouble carrying theire heavy bags in the upper floors cause there is no elevator. But honestely there are always people around to ask if they can help you...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2013

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: not the cleanest

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Remo Stürmlin

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2013 Remo would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, nice stuff and great events

Disliked: the whole infrastructure could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karuna Kriengkrai

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 karuna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: karuna left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013

Liked: The location was good. Right next to central park

Disliked: The hostel is okay- I probably would stay again however in term of how much you pay (nearly $50 once tax and city tax) I expect the services to be much higher. Toilets were constantly dirty, no locks etc. You can't check in until 3pm which for 50 bucks is a bit unfair. Wifi is only in the lobby and tiny eating area...and it doesn't work at the best of times. Breakfast is fine but only served until 9.30am so be sure to set an alarm. Also my bedroom door wouldn't lock and the beds were extremely uncomfy.....you can get somewhere of equal distance from downtown for half the price in Brooklyn.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Selami Bildirici

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2013 Selami would recommend this property

Liked: It is close the central Park . You can walk to Time suqare on foot.

Disliked: I didn't stay the same room at the first night where I booked on the interhet online. I had an argumant about my booking. They could hardly find my booking..I transformed the room that I booked at the internet online the next day .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Darren Lapthorne

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and great staff.

Disliked: The shower area is far to small

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Bed (if you can call it that) was terrible. I was unable to get a decent sleep and it impacted my days while sightseeing. The place looks promising at first glance, don't let the pictures fool you there was zero atmosphere. Shocking value for money as it is way over priced for what it is. Also a pest problem. STAY AWAY!