HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Bourbon House New Orleans

Hostel | 1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70103

73.7% Overall Rating

147 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Jack Goodwin thinks…

"Atmosphere was fantastic met so many amazing new friends Caleb is the man to talk to so friendly and helpful. My favorite hostel employee ever by far."

Read all AAE Bourbon House New Orleans reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations must be 48 hours prior to the arrival date in order to avoid a charge for the 1st night, and on special events, can result in a 3 night charge.. All cancellations must be submitted through email. Holiday bookings (Mardi Gras, Jazz Fest, Voodoo Fest, July 4th, New Years, etc.) must be for at least 3 nights and must be canceled a full 7 days ahead of time

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Atlas House
18.00 USD

Hostel 99.0% 3 reviews
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
17.60 USD

Hostel 92.1% 12 reviews
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 61.9% 195 reviews
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.4% 259 reviews
Nola Jazz House
22.05 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

147 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Bourbon House New Orleans'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 165 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Maria Hainka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean. Food got stolen or thrown away by stuff. small common areas

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: It was cheap. Free Amtrak shuttle.

Disliked: Everything was just a bit shambolic. We arranged a transfer to the Amtrak station the night before and it simply wasn't communicated to the person on duty that she was going to have to do it. No hand towels in the bizarrely-split bathrooms. Ill-equipped kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Goodwin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was fantastic met so many amazing new friends Caleb is the man to talk to so friendly and helpful. My favorite hostel employee ever by far.

Disliked: Nothing like any traveller knows a hostel is a hostel You get what you pay for that's why we love em.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 March 2014

Liked: It's in the garden district

Disliked: If someone stays in another hostel in the city and then comes to this place, they will turn them down weather they have a booking or not. Horrible treatment and very shocking!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013

Liked: Staff helpful

Disliked: Very dirty. Many repairs needed. Noisy airconditioning unit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

FEDERICA ARNABOLDI

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 FEDERICA would recommend this property

Liked: L'ubicazione e la vicinanza von il centro commerciale e il bus. Il personale cerca di darsi da fare anche se non sempre efficientissimo

Disliked: Il servizio di pick up non é proprio come descritto non ho dovuto solo scrivere una mail ma anche telefonare e alla fine ho aspettato slla fermata del bus 1 ora

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Iedema

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: free parking, free pancakes and tea and coffee for breakfast, enough bathrooms for guests, social area outside at back, very comfy beds, tv in our private room, safe neighborhood, everything in walking distance; about five blocks easy walk to $3 all day Streetcar to French quarter, supermarket about two blocks away. (about 20 mins walk to French quarter if rather walk.) All reception and cleaning staff lovely and helpful, so much so we are still here as have extended our stay three more nights :)

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SNEHA AGRAWAL

Alone

Business / conference

22 November 2013

Liked: It was clean and well kept.

Disliked: There are 2 parts of the hostel searated by a sit out area. the Part beyond the sit out did not get heating! It got extremely cold and when we complained to the management, they said that nothing can be done and all they could do was provide extra blanket to brave the cold !! a room heater could have easily solved the problem The location is not the best. After dark, which was pretty much after 6:00pm, the locality was pretty shady.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Omar Hashmi

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: People were very friendly and the guy at the front was really helpful. Nice backyard area, but it was too cold to to make use of at the time.

Disliked: Showers could be cleaner

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will McGann

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel to meeting awesome people

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

june robinson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013

Liked: NOTHING AT ALL

Disliked: we had booked for 5 of us, all girls, a twin and a triple room. when we got there, only a twin available, and a room the size of a wardrobe with bunk beds and a spare added with only just enough room to close the door, & no windows.! we all ended up sleeping in the twin room,with one on the floor. the front door was broken, so everyone who wanted to get back in had to ring the bell and wait for someone,(anyone)to get up and go open the door,all night long.!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Peus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfull stuff. Breakfast Busstation to french quarter close

Disliked: -used Taxi instead Off Free Shuttle cause no One answered the phone -room was very, very loud!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TRUC HUA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 TRUC would recommend this property

Liked: The price is great Staff is very friendly Safe place Full kitchen and have water and ice. Air conditioning works good and quiet to sleep.

Disliked: TRUC left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Frederick Lansky

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Frederick would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for July 4th weekend. Extremely friendly staff, decent (but not great) location. Nice common area to meet other travelers. Nice public kitchen. Good air-conditioning all around. ATM machine onsite.

Disliked: The mattresses were not very comfortable. The bathroom near our room had a serious mold problem and smelled terrible, also the drain of the bathroom sink dumps right into the shower floor (gross!). We would have through the 3 person private room would have been a little bigger for what we were paying.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Very close to the Garden District which is beautiful and plenty of restaurant and bar options closeby. Stayed in a private room which was clean and spacious.

Disliked: Very far from the French Quarter. A little noisy in the early hours of the morning with loud young Aussie backpackers. Over-priced for what you get (as is the case in a lot of American hostels). Facilities/services very basic.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013

Liked: Staff was outstanding.Very knowledgeable,accommodating and helpful.

Disliked: Bathrooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: Great location near Magazine Street (great places around here), and easy streetcar to French Quarter. Nice patio (although unfortunately rooms all look out onto it...more in the dislike section...)

Disliked: COCKROACHES - yes, 3 big guys in the tiny room, must have been there before we arrived, meaning the room was NOT even cleaned properly - as they could not have been missed as the room was no bigger than the bed itself!! Most rooms overlook the outdoor patio so noise was constantly an issue throughout the night with people coming in/out. Terrible value for money.... way too much for what it is.... a HOSTEL, but you pay hotel price!!! I've stayed in many hostels world over and didn't expect much, but this was pretty bad. Unless you really want to stay in a hostel, I recommend fork out the additional funds for a basic hotel as you can still get the social scene at the cool, friendly Nawlins bars.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Airi Kobayashi

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

02 April 2013 Airi would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room that was very spacious and nice. It was two doubles, more like two queens. We could easily fit into one. There was also a TV so we weren't too bored whenever we had a little time before hitting the bed. The bathroom is outside the room, located in the common room and shared with everyone. It was always fairly clean when we used it. The location might be a bit far from the French Quarter. But it was actually nice to be between the French Quarter and Garden District as they were in walking distance of the hostel. Both streets leading to French Quarter and Garden District were scenic. They are some eateries along the way too in case you needed some bites before you head back to the hostel. The staffs were all very lovely and helpful.

Disliked: The only one minor downside I can think of is the noises from the common room. People weren't really loud in the common room. But voices traveled right through the hallway and the small thin window on top of our door.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ula, the staffer who introduced to and ran the place while we were there was awesome! She recommended places, was informative, and always accessible. The location itself is in a relatively quiet spot, which was great. It was near Magazine street which is a fun area and it's about a thirty minute walk from the French Quarter/Bourbon Street. The rooms and beds were fine. A small kitchen but it was well kept.

Disliked: The bathrooms were rather limited in size and number-- about four functional ones for something like 30-40 people. This can make for some frustrating waits for the restroom but other than that everything was solid.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Bourbon House is very charming and the staff was super nice!

Disliked: Unfortunately, we were in the room next to the entrance and it was really noisy. The place doesn't get very quiet at all, it's busy the all day and even if they ask people to not slaming the door, it happens every 2 mn. Hard to get some rest but it's a hostel, I don't forget that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location - it is close to the garden district. The bus is 2 streets away for daytime travel - A bus pass cost $3 and takes you to all the tourist areas. Safe area to leave your car. In the evening you can walk to the French Quarter which is a short taxi ride.

Disliked: The manager Janson is very helpful to travelers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, very friendly and clean. Delicious pancakes

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Seunarine

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The home efect and everything else that goes with it

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

David Don-Lopez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012

Liked: The courtyard

Disliked: The "breakfast" (only a big bowl with pancake dough), the bathrooms were not so much clean

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lesleyann Fleming

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Lesleyann would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff. Particularly Jason who upgraded us so that we could check in early after a long bus journey. Close to bus stop and is a short ride to the French Quarter. Short walk to Walmart.

Disliked: Lesleyann left no negative feedback.